[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

Helldana
post Jun 10 2018, 02:50 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Jun 10 2018, 02:18 PM)
Thanks so much about the info about igpu on intel. Really didn't know that. So now I'm gonna go for Intel cpu for my workstation. I'm gonna tweak here and there for other hardwares.
Note that it's purely for the latest versions of Adobe products though (they pushed out a patch for the iGPU fairly recently) since for whatever reason, Adobe seems to side with Intel with these sort of things like photo/video editing.

Here's a link to a thread on Adobe's forum: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2366397
The chart for hardware acceleration between CPUs: https://youtu.be/ofdh-THQFpE?t=555
Though it uses 1700x instead the newer 2700x, performance should be similar between the CPUs.

You can still go the Ryzen route though, you'll only lose a small amount of performance compared to Intel for Adobe Premiere.
If you're multitasking and use other software etc., it's probably still best to go Ryzen.
You might also get a cheaper price building through Ryzen.

Also on another note, we'll never know if Adobe decides to push an update again in the future that might break the hardware acceleration, or in fact somehow Adobe pushes an update that fully utilizes Ryzen CPU and make them up to par with the current Intel line. Hardware/software is always changing.

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 10 2018, 02:32 PM)
With Spectre and Meltdown patch, Intel isn't that great anymore. Saw someome complaining about significant performance loss after patch.

(3)Sadly, Intel isn't there. Change of motherboard every year now.
Yes but for latest versions of Adobe products (mainly Adobe Premiere), the Intel's performance gain from hardware acceleration is higher compared to Ryzen CPUs due to Adobe utilizing Intel's iGPU. This is largely Adobe's fault for only catering to Intel CPUs though, I've seen a quite a few feedback on forums etc. about this.

This post has been edited by Helldana: Jun 10 2018, 03:08 PM
Helldana
post Jun 24 2018, 03:04 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Jun 23 2018, 09:32 PM)
Guys. If someone wanna build a pc, base on editing programs. Between Intel 8400 and ryzen 2600 which is a cheaper overall build considering..
1, 8gb or ram
2, mobo, wont oc on the cpu
3, psu, must be gtx 1060 6gb ready..
6, gpu, dont need it for now, but still need it for ryzen2600 right?

I wanna see a build thats cheapear between the two, and the gpu will be added in the future.. i wanna see the price different between mobo and considering the ryzen 2600 needs a gpu, iinm..
Personally I'd go with Ryzen:
Ryzen 2600x - 909 - Shopee
Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming - 600 - Lelong
G.SKILL Trident Z 3000MHz RGB DDR4 Single Channel 8GB - 409 - Shopee
Corsair TX650M - 360 - Lelong
Tecware Nexus - 175 - Shopee
Total - 2453

Get the 2600x if you don't plan to overclock, the 2600x also comes with a better stock cooler than the 2600
If you ever plan to get another 8GB RAM, make sure you get the same one I listed above
Also, you can cut the cost even further by getting a B350 mobo instead, just need to make sure it supports the 2600x out of the box
The x470 is just for future-proofing + it supports the 2600x straight out of the box

Intel build:
Intel i5-8400 - 685 - Shopee
ASRock B360M PRO4 - 323 - Lelong
CORSAIR RAM Desktop DDR4 8GB PC2666 CMK8GX4M1A2666C16R RED - 388 - Lelong
Corsair TX650M - 360 - Lelong
Tecware Nexus M - 117 - Shopee
Total - 1873

Not much to say with this Intel build, its likely to perform worse in threaded tasks as compared to the Ryzen build I made above
Helldana
post Jun 24 2018, 11:46 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Jun 24 2018, 10:13 PM)
With ryzen build, i still need a gpu for this to run right?
So we can build cheaper with Intel.. Really dont need a gpu, I'll add in the future, together with more ram.. It's really about cpu, and i won't oc on it.. So any mobo is no problem..
Yes you will need a dedicated graphic card with the Ryzen build since the 2600/2700 series does not come with integrated graphic.
If budget is really tight then go with the Intel build, then my only suggestion would be to get an SSD for the build.
Helldana
post Jun 25 2018, 12:12 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(LuRu @ Jun 25 2018, 11:05 AM)
[Budget] 3k

[Purpose] High FPS Gaming (140+ FPS)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] GPU, 550W PSU, Monitor, Peripherals

[What I'll need] CPU, MOBO, RAM, Casing, Win 10 Home Premium

Hi all,

Could anyone provide suggestion of specs for the above?

Thinking of upgrading my CPU first, GPU later on (probably 1080/1080 TI).
Just wondering if I need to upgrade my PSU 650W as well when I make that upgrade?

This build doesn't come with a stock cooler btw:
CORE I5 8600K (6C/6T) - 990
ASROCK Z370 PRO 4 - 555
CORSAIR 3000C16 VENGEANCE LPX - 836
TECWARE NEXUS TG ATX- 185
MS WINDOWS 10 ( RETAIL ) - 454

Total - 3020
Compu-zone Prices

This one comes with a stock cooler but not as good as the build above's performance:
CORE I5 8400 (6C/6T) - 705
MSI B360M BAZOOKA - 390
CORSAIR 2666C16 VENGEANCE LPX - 800
TECWARE NEXUS TG MATX - 139
MS WINDOWS 10 ( RETAIL ) - 454

Total - 2488
Compu-zone Prices

This post has been edited by Helldana: Jun 25 2018, 12:20 PM
Helldana
post Jun 28 2018, 11:17 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Marcion @ Jun 28 2018, 10:16 PM)
if I buy Western Digital BLACK PCIE M.2 NVMe SSD I will ditch intel optane if got, is it wise to do so?
If you get an NVMe SSD, you won't need an Intel Optane.
And I recommend looking into Adata XPG SX8200 instead of WD Black.
Helldana
post Jun 30 2018, 06:36 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Y.O.N @ Jun 29 2018, 10:22 AM)
Hello, i would like to upgrade my mobo and cpu.. Any recommended.. As my Tp-link wireless adapter already burst.. i would like to have onboard wireless.. Thanks..

Intel i7 6700k
Z170 PRO GAMING
GTX 980 Ti
Only mobo and CPU?

If rig is purely for gaming:
i5-8600k - 986
ASRock Z370 Extreme4 - 739
OR mobo with onboard wifi ASROCK Z370 KILLER SLI/ac - 639

If rig is for multitasking:
Ryzen 2600x - 925
ASRock Fatal1ty X470 Gaming K4 - 669
OR mobo with onboard wifi - GIGABYTE X470 AORUS GAMING 5 WIFI - 780

All above are Lelong prices

You can look into PCIe Wireless cards, they're usually better in terms of range and durability than a wireless USB adapter.

This post has been edited by Helldana: Jun 30 2018, 06:51 AM
Helldana
post Jun 30 2018, 09:57 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Jun 30 2018, 03:18 PM)
Hi All,

[Budget] 4.5k

[Purpose] Gaming and movie

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] AAA game titles, occasional movie and drama streaming

[Personal preferences] I've listed the below from Etech:
CORE I5 8400 (6C/6T) - 711
GIGABYTE B360M AORUS GAMING 3 - 337
G.SKILL AEGIS SERIES 8GB DDR4 2400MHZ x 2 - 658
ZOTAC GTX 1070 Ti MINI 8GB GDDR5 - 2000
WD BLUE DESKTOP 1TB - 170
GALAX 240GB GAMER L - 254
FSP 650W HYPER M85+ 80+ BRONZE - 269
TECWARE NEXUS M TG M-ATX CHASSIS - 139
CM HYPER 212 LED TURBO BLACK - 141
Total: 4679

[Location] PJ/KL

Like to know from the above if:

1) Best bang of buck for my budget?
2) That PSU is good to go for a non-OC build?
3) That SSD is fine for entry usage? never use SSD before
Want to comment on some parts:
- ZOTAC GTX 1070 Ti MINI 8GB GDDR5 - 2000
You can get the GALAX GeForce® GTX 1070 Ti EX-SNPR WHITE for RM1999 which would be better than the mini 1070 Ti you have there.

- WD BLUE DESKTOP 1TB - 170
Try looking at Seagate Barracuda 1TB (ST1000DM010) if you want better performance. And I'm pretty sure they should be cheaper too.

- GALAX 240GB GAMER L - 254
Not sure what your budget is like, but if you can spend RM50 more, try getting the Crucial MX500 instead.

- FSP 650W HYPER M85+ 80+ BRONZE - 269
Look into Cooler Master MasterWatt 550W (not the Lite version), should be better than the PSU you picked.
Helldana
post Jun 30 2018, 10:14 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 30 2018, 01:33 PM)
Hello sifu out there,

Currently I have bought parts as following:-

Casing - Cooler Master Masterbox 5
PSU Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W
SSD Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
HDD WD Blue 1TB
RAM G.Skill RipJaws V 2800MHz 8GB x 3
Fan Cooler Master Air Balance x 2, Air Pressure x 1, Noctua NF-A14 3000 PWM x2
CPU cooler  Cooler Master Hyper 212X?

Would like recommendation on the rest components:
CPU
Mobo (If it comes with WiFi then great!)
GPU (Very very light gaming)
CPU cooler? (Heard CM hyper 212X is good? Or any good air cooler choices here?)
Monitor (preferable 23 and above, can recommend few choices here?)
Lightning isolator/ Protector / etc?

No overclock, budget around 2.5 - 3k

I'm assuming you're more on multitasking and not towards gaming?
If yes then I suggest going Ryzen instead:

CPU - RYZEN 5 2600X (6C/12T) - 999
CPU Cooler - The Ryzen 2600x already comes with a good stock cooler, and your 212X might not come with AM4 bracket but if it does then you can use that too.
MOBO - ASROCK X470 MASTER SLI / AC - 695 (has onboard wifi, and if you do get this mobo, make sure it has the MASTER SLI/AC)
GPU - GALAX GTX1050TI 4G EXOC - 725
Monitor - VIEWSONIC VA2419-SH - 499
Lightning isolator/ Protector / etc - Do you really need it?

TOTAL - 2918
C-zone prices

This post has been edited by Helldana: Jun 30 2018, 10:15 PM
Helldana
post Jul 1 2018, 01:02 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jul 1 2018, 12:01 AM)
Hi, thanks for your input.
Probably just light - medium gaming..Is Ryzen lack quite a bit in term of gaming? If yes, how much need to top up for intel build? unsure.gif
For the mobo, may I know MASTER SLI is referring to model specific or bios unlock?
Besides viewsonic, any other monitor model would you recommend ?  icon_question.gif

Thanks again!  thumbsup.gif
Depends on what game really, some games benefit more from single core performance so Intel currently wins in that department.
But I don't think the performance difference is really that big from Intel to Ryzen. You can get an intel build for a similar price for sure.
Something like this:
INTEL I5-8600K - 990
ASROCK X370 KILLER SLI - 619 (this model does not have onboard wifi, hence why there is no SLI/AC in its model name)

The MASTER SLI/AC is just the model name, and yes all of the Ryzen mobo are unlocked so you'll be able to overclock your CPU.
Not sure about monitors really, you'll have to read other people's review and recommendation.

This post has been edited by Helldana: Jul 1 2018, 01:03 AM
Helldana
post Jul 4 2018, 04:25 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(linkinawe @ Jul 4 2018, 03:09 PM)
Hi all sifus,

[Budget]
budget max 3.5k no need max out the budget , prefer best bang for bucks.

[Purpose]
I need a rig only, no need monitor. Mainly office usage, for staff

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
null

[Monitor resolution]
null

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Programming software

[Personal preferences]
What I need:
- Processor at least i5 standard, prefer intel
- 16gb ram
- 256gb SSD
- No GPU
- Power supply, mobo, rig case
[Location]
KL Selangor
CPU: CORE I5 8400 (6C/6T) - 719
MOBO: GIGABYTE B360M-D3H - 369
RAM: CRUCIAL D4 PC2400 16GB - 650
SSD: WD BLUE 250GB NAND - 320
PSU: CORSAIR VS450 - 159
CASE: TECWARE CORE - 89

TOTAL = RM2306
Compu-zone prices

You can also throw in a 1TB HDD if you want, something like the Seagate Barracuda or WD Blue.
Helldana
post Jul 5 2018, 07:50 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(thelung @ Jul 5 2018, 06:43 PM)
hello.. 

just wanna ask, what is the current best value for 2.5" SSD?
For >250GB, I'd say either the Crucial MX500 or the Samsung 860 Evo
Anything less than 250GB, just look for WD Blue
Helldana
post Jul 10 2018, 05:45 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(derthvadar @ Jul 10 2018, 01:58 AM)
Will you consider this? I'm using this case right now. Much better than Nexus.

https://www.lelong.com.my/tecware-neo-dual-...7-01-Sale-I.htm

It's on sale plus free shipping.

Thanks for the link btw
I was waiting for my local IT store to bring them in but they're still not available yet
Since it's free shipping, I just ordered one lol

This post has been edited by Helldana: Jul 10 2018, 05:46 AM
Helldana
post Jul 14 2018, 06:44 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(haryzXIII @ Jul 14 2018, 03:03 AM)
This is my current rig. I'm getting monster hunter world as well. What's the best part to upgrade at this point?
I5 3470 3.2ghz
8gb ram
HDD1TB
SSD180GB
GTX1050TI 4GB
K6 GAMING CASING
Let's say I have 1k budget.
You should be able to play the game at maybe low/medium settings.
But if you insist on upgrading something, then maybe getting another 8GB RAM will help.
Helldana
post Jul 17 2018, 06:08 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(GarageSales0202 @ Jul 17 2018, 05:18 PM)
Appreciate the reply. Regardless, i thought of getting a nzxt h500 pc case because i really like the design & to motivate me to save enough to build my very first gaming rig! Getting a pc case beforehand should be somewhat 6months-ish-future-proof right? since it is just a hardware and wont be so affected so much like software.
I would agree with Kristal's reply though, buying the case now sounds a bit absurd
Imagine if the prices drop (or not lol) or maybe a newer; revamped version of the H500 comes out then you'll miss out on it since you purchase the ealier model sweat.gif
I imagine the H500 being more like the initial S340 model, then they came out with the S340 Elite which was much better except its more expensive

0.0575sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:51 PM