8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

AthrunIJ
post Apr 23 2023, 01:51 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 23 2023, 12:38 PM)
deliberately post it here for ppl considering X3d builds.
Just to remind ppl that Zen is no longer an attractive option with 7xxx/x670 pricing given the finicky nature of Zen platforms.
And don't rely on those raving reviews, they re not reliable in pointing out platform issues.
Luckily not yet time to get x3d yet.

Wait for more point of failure reviews

πŸ‘€πŸ·πŸΏ
AthrunIJ
post Apr 25 2023, 03:12 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 25 2023, 11:21 AM)
Guess what, I decided to use back my 40inch 4k monitor again and it does look gorgeous. Didn't use it previously due to space constraint in my new place.

As such, I am looking to play Blue Protocol at 4k if possible and I have decided to try getting a used GPU under RM2k.

1) How is a RTX3080 at RM1.7-1.8k without warranty? Or a RX 6800XT with warranty at 1.8-2k or a RX6900XT at 2.2k no warranty. These are all used units.
2) I saw a used i7-3770 for RM180, would it be able to reduce the bottleneck vs i5-3450? Worth upgrading to it as it only cost RM180..Really, getting a new CPU now have to buy a new motherboard, ram and SSD which easily cost RM1.5K++. rclxub.gif

My current rig:
40inch 4k VA panel display
I5-3450 Ivy bridge
Gigabyte B75m D3V with pcie 3.0
Palit GTX 1060 3GB
16GB DDR3 Ram
120GB SSD
Corsair HX750 PSU
Fractal design R6 casing
For 4k gaming. Advise to save up then upgrade one shot.

AthrunIJ
post Apr 25 2023, 04:31 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 25 2023, 03:20 PM)
Root cause found. Its another AMD blips. Kills motherboard too.
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd-ryzen...ltages-to-blame
Sweet.

Now at the very least know what to do when getting the new pc.

πŸ‘€πŸΏπŸ·πŸ€€
AthrunIJ
post Apr 25 2023, 06:17 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 25 2023, 04:35 PM)
hehe.. now know y i told u not to rush
I also know.

First buyer is usually the test drivers.

πŸ‘€πŸΏπŸ·πŸ€­
AthrunIJ
post Apr 26 2023, 09:44 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Windsux @ Apr 26 2023, 08:39 AM)
So nowday mobo no more tomahawk ? Planing to upgrade to Ryzen 7000 series looking for mobo ram and recommended processor any sifu can recommend ? I still using my Rx 6800xt
There is.

I was quoted MSI tomahawk wifi for ryxen 7x3d series.

Look around i guess
AthrunIJ
post Apr 26 2023, 02:07 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Windsux @ Apr 26 2023, 02:03 PM)
Yea looking around and see what the sifu recommend and  7x3d some tell me now not the time yet I’m not sure
It is actually.

Quite stable. Now just need AMD to communicate properly with its vendors.

I will be getting 7x3d in June ish. I understand what is the problem and will be prepared for it anyways.

All ze best bruh
AthrunIJ
post Apr 26 2023, 02:08 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Windsux @ Apr 26 2023, 02:07 PM)
Sorry to interrupt I’m not a rig expert but as far I know if wanna go 2k or 4K is not possible without a great GPU such as the xx80 or xx90 rite ?
Depending on your settings and what are playable fps for you.

But pretty much ball park xx80 and above for 4k while the lower will be 2k then xx60 1080p.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 26 2023, 02:12 PM
AthrunIJ
post May 27 2023, 08:05 PM

2,992 posts

Aik, thanks to all the sifus here.

Paid deposit for ma rig. Hopefully get it by next week.

7800x3D + 4080 combo 🀀🀀

πŸ‘πŸ‘
AthrunIJ
post May 28 2023, 04:47 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ May 28 2023, 04:44 PM)

Friend selling this rig for RM2.5k-RM3k

worth getting?
Ask for full spec info including mobo casing and power supply then we can estimate good or not haha

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: May 28 2023, 04:47 PM
AthrunIJ
post May 29 2023, 07:28 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ May 28 2023, 05:01 PM)

I try to look at shopee cannot find anymore. The best they could give me was this
I believe this is the link

If any sifu can give opinion if its worth to get it.
Oddly, the link I can't see.

However, prebuilt usually comes with oem designed parts to cut cost. Which means if mau upgrade in the future then your choice is limited.

I would not get it unless you really need it. With the pricing seems good value if you are desperate to need 1 now.

If not just save up and get a better pc which is recommended by sifus here.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: May 29 2023, 07:29 AM
AthrunIJ
post May 29 2023, 08:30 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ May 29 2023, 08:10 AM)
Test
My last rig was also recommend here by sifu, 1070 that was ages ago.

Now got some time to balik main game. My friend he selling his prebuilt at 2500, and i look at 3070 price also 2.5k lebih.

And yea seems good value to take and play some of the newer games now.
Like I said.

Prebuilt is a bit iffy. But if you don't mind it. Quite a good value.

For me I won't get prebuilts haha.

AthrunIJ
post May 29 2023, 10:04 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ May 29 2023, 09:25 AM)
Beside heating issues, anything else I should be concerned about? The other person mention the PSU also not great?
Yea, theway is correct.

You will need to swap out the psu to at least 650wattage. Recommended psu power needed for 3070.
AthrunIJ
post May 29 2023, 10:10 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ May 29 2023, 09:25 AM)
Beside heating issues, anything else I should be concerned about? The other person mention the PSU also not great?
Yea, theway is correct.

You will need to swap out the psu to at least 650wattage. Recommended psu power needed for 3070.
AthrunIJ
post May 29 2023, 11:28 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ May 29 2023, 11:20 AM)
The big problem for prebuilt as i see is casing size, and non standard psu
Will cause not easyway to upgrade G Card,
As card is very big now, casing cannot fit. like HP i buy is 500w psu, i not sure can fit RTX 3050 OR 3060 for that psu
I rarely upgrade part, unless borken
Yea, as I pointed out.

For me I won't get prebuilt because non standard parts and uses oem parts to cut cost.

Usually psu is skimped and you will need to upgrade it.
AthrunIJ
post May 31 2023, 11:37 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Chiggah @ May 31 2023, 11:44 AM)
What atx case would you recommend out of the 3 for airflow ?

Lancool 216 RM390
O11 air mini (Rm200)
Corsair 4000D (rm290 +-)
Corsair 4000D

Using it in ma company as AI PC.

Using 5000D as ma personal rig.

Looks awesome and chill

AthrunIJ
post May 31 2023, 11:39 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ May 31 2023, 11:15 PM)
Congrats can share the full specs and price please?
CPU AMD 7800X3D
CPU Cooler Deepcool AK620
MOBO MSI B650 Tomahawk WiFi
GPU Zotac RTX 4080
RAM Kingston Beast 6000MHz 2x16GB
SSD Kingston Renegade 2TB
Casing Corsair 5000D iCUE Airflow RGB
PSU Corsair RM850 Shift
Windows 11 Pro
1x AF120 Corsair Fan

RM12600ish

πŸ‘€πŸΏπŸ·

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: May 31 2023, 11:40 PM
AthrunIJ
post Jun 1 2023, 08:02 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jun 1 2023, 07:59 AM)
Well done on not skimping the cost. Now this is what I would call a proper 4K gaming PC!
Got help from sifu here ma.

Will get a proper monitor upgrade next year or so. Currently using 1080p monitor tongue.gif

For now, will not get 4k monitor as 4080 for ne is not enough to satisfy with with 4k and high fps yet. Aiming for a good 1440p monitor.

Max out budget for rig liao. 😭

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Jun 1 2023, 08:03 AM
AthrunIJ
post Jun 1 2023, 09:36 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jun 1 2023, 09:30 AM)
Y deepcool fan.. thermalright is king now...

Dell g3223Q 4k 144hz.. hehe.. got 1 last unit
Both also all right.

On par with noctua without the crazy price tongue.gif

As for monitor. Probably next year only start looking for 1440p monitor.

AthrunIJ
post Jun 1 2023, 09:39 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jun 1 2023, 09:37 AM)
Pa120 rm180. Deepcool rm240 rite

Thermalright 6yr warranty
Ye, I prefer the cleaner look of Deepcool.

Haha, got some aesthetics involved abit and the shop carry deepcool so faster.

tongue.gif
AthrunIJ
post Jun 9 2023, 02:13 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(MadKat @ Jun 9 2023, 01:13 PM)
Abit over budget
Pro wifi...is that needed?
If you want to connect to WiFi without external adapter then yea. Standard good mobo.

Got lower end mobo but don't expect to last that long.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.3038sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:49 PM