[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

-kytz-
post Apr 25 2023, 04:14 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 25 2023, 01:20 PM)
I don't recommend to buy used gpu without any form of warranty unless the gpu is in good shape (which is hard to tell).
If u gonna game at 4k , it's gonna cost u. Why don't u start saving up and when u have enough budget, then begin the upgrade; Gpu and the platform
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 25 2023, 03:12 PM)
For 4k gaming. Advise to save up then upgrade one shot.
After seeing some gaming benchmarks at 4k max settings, I think I give up already laugh.gif
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMjgFJBRHVY

I'll aim for 1440p instead or medium-high at 4k resolution to get 60fps. Also the i3 is a really nice budget CPU lol, little difference in gaming performance with much more exp CPU, eg: i5-12400 or even the Ryzen 5 5600

TristanX appreciate your advice too bro
targon Noted on used gpu without warranty. TBH I had a bad experience one time before with a faulty 5870

Any comments on the build below with NEW parts?

1440p gaming or 4k at medium-high settings. Aiming for 60fps only. (Shopee price)
i3-12100F RM400
MSI B660M Pro RM419
RX 6700XT RM1,709
Kingston 16GB X2 RM378
Kingston KC3000 1TB RM351
[Reusing my Corsair HX750W PSU and my FD casing]
Windows 10 RM400
Shopee RM120 rebate now and RM150 coins cb -RM270
Total RM3387

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 25 2023, 04:32 PM
-kytz-
post Apr 25 2023, 07:16 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 25 2023, 04:33 PM)
Looks like u got the budget to spare and not so tight after all.
MSI Pro B660m-A wifi is a better board
i would prefer the 12400f
It's worth the money to get the above 2 at the same time. forget abt the 12100f. it's for those on super tight strings.
Get it right now and never regret later.
The MSI Pro B660M-A Wifi and i5-12400f cost around RM1,339, why not I top up just a bit more to get the Ryzen 5 7600 with Gigabyte A620M Gaming X for around RM1,559? biggrin.gif

Noted the Ryzen has 32MB L3 cache vs 18MB in the Intel
-kytz-
post Apr 25 2023, 08:49 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 25 2023, 08:23 PM)
And Ryzen 5 7600 gets crushed by i5-13500. Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 SE at RM139 can tame i5-13500 too.

Also, AM5 requires expensive DDR5 as well.
That would require extra RM200+ for 32GB DDR5 ram vs DDR4 hmm.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 26 2023, 11:02 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Apr 26 2023, 12:28 AM)
Imho since u got a 40 inch 4K monitor, playing 2K or low 4K feels kinda wasted if you dont mind me being frank.
Honestly you shouldnt try to skimp on budget and if you cant afford it now, save up and upgrade bit by bit

Firstly ur selected system needs a boost to play 2K high settings at high FPS but with an eye for 4K high, so here is my recommend:
i7 12700F or 13700F (get at least 8cores as AAA titles are becoming hogs now) if can get Ksku even better
MSI Pro B660M-A or Pro B760M-A
Kingston 16GB X2 3200MHZ DDR4
RX 6700XT RM1,709
Kingston KC3000 1TB RM351
[Reusing my Corsair HX750W PSU and my FD casing]
Windows 10 RM400
Thermal PA120, FS140, FC140, DCool AK500, AK620, ID SE226XT, SE207XT cooler (any that has up to 253TDP) or 360/420AIO for Ksku

Then later on for 4K high/ultra with RT, just need to upgrade GPU & PSU only;
RTX 4090 (or future Nvidia or AMD equivalent later)
At least 900-1000W A tier PSU

This way ur upgrade path to 4K high is more manageable (financially) and you wont need to change too many other parts for 4K playability.

AMD platform is expensive just cuz of "futureproofing" but it has no bearing to play 2K/4K, Intel LGA1700 platforms can do the same at cheaper price.
Thank you. Very valid points.

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 26 2023, 12:32 AM)
Also, with the issues going on for AMD. I would advise to stay away from them until they fixed it.

https://wccftech.com/asus-says-latest-am5-b...000-cpu-damage/

There is a chance of killing both CPU and motherboard.
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 26 2023, 10:17 AM)
He's reluctant to spend the moolah. Initially asking whats best gpu for 1k. Then he says want to game at 4k. So no point for you to suggest even those 65 watt i7 and even 4090.
Can spend but reluctant to spend tongue.gif

babylon52281

Actually my PC is definitely in need of an upgrade seriously but I need to really think what is important right now vs cost.

- main priority of upgrading PC to play Blue Protocol at 60fps on 1440p or 4k
- most of my gaming now on the PlayStation 5
- may not buy any AAA titles on the PC due to above unless the title really requires mouse and keyboard to play nicely (eg: MMO)
- didn't really utilize the cpu processor throughout these 11 years only with very occassional picture editing.
- pc indeed needs a total upgrade (had tons of issues throughout the years, freezing, WiFi constantly not working, USB power failures, very small 120GB SSD for the OS, pc cant even work with my RM1k USB DAC, etc) but these issues I can still tolerate.

Thinking of getting the GPU first (new rx6700xt or used rx6800) and see how much does it bottleneck. If bottleneck is too heavy, will proceed to upgrade entire system. If a miracle happens and the gpu bottlenecks but I can still get 60fps on either 1440p ultra or 4k high on Blue Protocol, I dont need to upgrade my cpu+mobo+RAM+SSD for now.

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 26 2023, 11:08 AM
-kytz-
post Apr 26 2023, 02:23 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Apr 26 2023, 12:59 PM)
Honestly ur current rig is way too old for any meaningful upgrade if intend to play at 2K or 4K. Even if you shove in a 4090, everything else will bottleneck it.

If financially too tight but willing to spend when you save up, try this;

1) Upgrade GPU to 6700/6750XT or 6800. This will give you a decent FPS base for 1080 High or 2K mid.
2) Then later on full system upgrade(reuse the GPU) I suggested in a year in preparation for 4K(but i doubt you can still get Intel ADL stuff)
3) Then later on the GPU & PSU upgrade for 4K high

But No2 is tricky as older gen gets replaced from the market. If u dont get this year, ur bound to spend more for 13700+B760+DDR5 next year or so. In that case I'd put No2 as No1 priority.

If you spend low like the system you ask for, ur bound to need to upgrade the CPU later on so spending even more money down the line.
Thanks. Yes I plan to do steps 1-2 for now.

Just curious u mentioned
If u dont get this year, ur bound to spend more for 13700+B760+DDR5 next year or so

Do you mean cpu and mobo prices expected to go up next year and so on?
-kytz-
post Apr 27 2023, 11:20 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 27 2023, 12:42 PM)
Tomahawk mainstream king mobo...hehe...
MSI B660 Tomahawk seems to be great.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PEa0vcJ0lRY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19-XzZExkqw

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 28 2023, 01:22 AM
-kytz-
post Apr 24 2024, 12:14 AM

12,573 posts

Hey guys, what's the best B760M or B660M board to pair with an i5-12400f and a RTX4070? Budget around RM4-4.5k for these parts:

4k gaming or 1440p

Shopee prices:
i5-12400f - RM599
Motherboard - MSI B760M-A RM649
Inno3d RTX 4070 Super - RM3,029
Patriot 3200 8GBX2 DDR4 RAM - RM180

(reuse 120GB SSD and several HDDs)
(reuse Corsair HX750 PSU)
(reuse FD R6 case)

Total: RM4,457

1) Perhaps I could spare RM300 ish for a budget M2 SSD? Any recommendations?
2) Any recommended cheaper but legit Windows 10 license from the internet? I would need to reinstall Windows since I am changing motherboard?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 24 2024, 12:23 AM
-kytz-
post Apr 24 2024, 11:25 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Apr 24 2024, 11:07 AM)
That MSI mobo you selected is the best of budget boards.

RM 300 too low for any decent Gen4 SSD with DRAM cache if you want to use as bootdrive.

Anything cheaper than Microsoft MSRP is in the grey area of legit. There are plenty of Win keys sellers if that is what you want.
Anything cheaper than that motherboard in the range of RM400 ish?

Btw I also noticed RTX4070 super beats 7900 GRE by a wide margin when it comes to RT or DLSS

My current W10 is an OEM license. Do you know if I could transfer it to the new PC?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 24 2024, 01:45 PM
-kytz-
post Apr 26 2024, 05:46 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Apr 26 2024, 01:40 AM)
Rm400? Not really.

For 12400 you could go down to MSI Pro B760m-E (lower version of the -A) or Asrock B760m PRO RS for slightly less maybe with deals & vouchers can get down to RM 500.

Define 'wide margin' as the difference is only 9% in an average of 14 RT games, in upscaling FSR loses to DLSS only 3% in average of 7games. Not such a big loss considering GRE will have a longer playable lifespan with 4GB extra VRAM that I said in another tered. (Techspot did a similar comparison https://www.techspot.com/article/2661-vram-8gb-vs-16gb/ )

Imho should be yes but you will need to reregister your product ID key. Best if you bind it to your MS account beforehand and activate via that said account.
Hey bro, I just got all the parts from yesterday's sales and vouchers:

Intel i5 12400f + ADATA DDR4 8GBX2 = RM708
MSI B760M-A WIFI = RM549
Samsung 990 PRO 1TB = RM518
Inno3d RTX 4070 Super OC white = RM3,021

Total damage= 4,796

(reuse HDDs, Corsair HX750 PSU and FD R6 case)

Yeah, noted on the VRAM difference, tbh I think I'll upgrade again end of next year or..... maybe I won't.

What do you think about the results below?
https://www.techspot.com/review/2826-geforc...adeon-7900-gre/

Looks like rasterization, 7900 GRE wins by 5%++ in 4k but loses in RT and upscaling in 4k?

I'm changing both my motherboard and SSD boot drive to the above, would Windows still work lol? Yes, I have linked my Microsoft account and the product key is with me (it is an oem key)

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 26 2024, 11:37 PM
-kytz-
post Apr 26 2024, 11:38 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Apr 26 2024, 11:27 PM)
One way to know for sure is to install, turn it on and see what happens right? If it doesnt work just install a generic Win10 version

Btw, what do you think about the results below?
https://www.techspot.com/review/2826-geforc...adeon-7900-gre/

Looks like rasterization, 7900 GRE wins by 5%++ in 4k but loses in RT and upscaling in 4k?
-kytz-
post Apr 27 2024, 05:12 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Apr 26 2024, 11:48 PM)
Didnt I ady said what I think in this tered and in Nvidia tered? Since you ady bought the 4070S no need to look back. Just enjoy what you chosen.
Thanks ya i decided to keep the 4070 S. Just arrived today biggrin.gif

Btw, do you have any recommendations for low profile (not too bulky) cpu air cooler that is easy cleaning and maintenance too? White colour is a plus biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 27 2024, 05:19 PM
-kytz-
post May 1 2024, 05:28 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 27 2024, 08:26 PM)
You are on Fractal Design R6. Shouldn't have space issues. Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 SE is great price / performance. If you still want low profile...

Thermalright AXP120-X67
AXP90-X53

I wouldn't go lower than that for 6 core CPU.
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Apr 28 2024, 10:08 AM)
R6 is solid panel case, not very airflow efficient so you will need a beefier CPU cooler to prevent overtemps. In your case, you will need to overspec your cooler with a dual tower like this best value performer PS120

Low profiles have much poorer cooling performance
Thank you.

TBH I don't like the bulky air coolers because they don't look nice in the case but I'm willing to give them a try yeah.. Here are what I found for white RGB coolers:

Thermalright Frost Spirit 140 White ARGB: RM235
Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 White ARGB: RM219
Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 SE White ARGB: RM159
Thermalright Assassin X Refined SE ARGB white: RM89

I feel like trying the Assassin X because it is like 2x cheaper than the Peerless Assassin 120 SE and I doubt the Peerless is 2x the performance..

Also another question, I plan to replace my Fractal stock fans with the Thermalright TL-C12C-S white RGB fans, would these new fans be better? Saw good reviews at hardwarecannucks but not sure how much better than the FD stock fans

This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 1 2024, 05:36 PM
-kytz-
post May 1 2024, 11:38 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ May 1 2024, 06:48 PM)
GN had a comparison done of both coolers (Assasin X is just a rebranded Assasin Spirit)

For 123W which is about your R5 CPU TDP, PA120 performance is cooler 5degrees than AX but this is Asia so any chance you can make your CPU cooler is better.
How do i sync the rgb lights in my system to display or have the same colour flow?

2x Adata XPG Spectrix D35G RGB DDR4 rams
3x thermalright TL-C12CW-S fans
1x thermalright peerless assassin 120 white ARGB

Motherboard is the MSI pro B760m-A wifi DDR4

This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 1 2024, 11:40 PM
-kytz-
post May 5 2024, 06:42 PM

12,573 posts

Any recommended magnetic dust filter to recommend? Something which has a good balance between filtering dust and airflow...

I'm interested in the Tecware VXN Evo but it does not come with a dust filter for the side intake fans...
https://www.tecware.co/vxn-evo
-kytz-
post May 11 2024, 12:43 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ May 11 2024, 09:43 AM)
Any good suggestion for rig below 2k? I'm helping my nephew to ask. Mainly for games, what he told me is he play FIFA only. Spec below ok tak?
i3-14100f
B760m wifi

16gb 3200mhz
500gb m.2 ssd western digital
1650super
550w or 500w corsair power supply
An i5-12400f is way better than that i3 processor..

IMO, considering the really tight budget, I'd go with a cheaper board like a H610..

That GTX 1650 Super is a 5 year old card, are you open to getting USED graphics cards?

Perhaps another question most might want to know is, would your nephew be able to upgrade his graphics card in the future?

Certain parts like the processor, you can't just upgrade to the latest generation due to potentially different cpu socket and when that happens u need to replace the other parts such as the motherboard and possibly RAMs too. But for graphics cards, u can easily upgrade..

So in your situation, it could possibly be:

1) Get a cheaper i3-12100f for around RM3XX with shopee vouchers/sales but get a more beefy graphics card.
2) Get a more expensive i5-12400f but a cheaper graphics card but the graphics card u can upgrade in the future

Waiting for other sifus to reply biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post May 17 2024, 10:34 PM

12,573 posts

Guys, a bit confused here. I need more fan ports for 6 casing fans with ARGB.

My motherboard MSI Pro B760m-A Wifi only has 2 sysfan and 1 pump fan.

I bought the item below but it didn't work because the 4 pin could not even fit into the sysfan. The 12V one
https://my.shp.ee/nMy9Vem

I have also bought this item but have not received it. This is for ARGB right? https://my.shp.ee/psKRT6J

What item should I be getting?

-kytz-
post May 17 2024, 11:19 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 17 2024, 10:40 PM)
Fan power + signal and ARGB are different.

Here's one for 12V PWM fan.
Thanks, and this item should be connected to which fan port on my mobo? Sysfan or pump fan?

Btw what about this? https://my.shp.ee/VLsGaMW

Also my thermalright tl-c12cw-s 4pin 12v fan could not spin at all when connected to sysfan or pump fan?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 17 2024, 11:52 PM
-kytz-
post Jun 13 2025, 02:36 PM

12,573 posts

Hey guys, my 40inch 4k VA monitor from AMH just broke down and I need a new monitor. Budget RM1.5k or less. Some criterias include:

1) Budget: RM1.5k plus minus
2) Must be 32 inches with 4k
3) Unsure about VA or IPS
https://youtu.be/34bqY7CToHg?t=245
4:00 onwards, not sure if applicable to current monitors
4) Usage: Media consumption (youtube/torrents so I'd greatly appreciate deep black levels), photo & video editing (something close to 100% SRGB would be great) and light gaming
5) More than 60Hz refresh rate is a bonus
6) Unsure about curved display.....

What I'm seeing in the market is the lack of IPS monitors with my main criterias (32 inches, 4k, IPS), currently looking at the following. Also, kinda hard to get any reviews sad.gif

- Viewsonic VA3208-4K-MHD (VA)
- LG 32un500-w (VA)
- Dell S3225QS (120Hz VA)
- PRISM+ C315 Max (VA curved)
- Samsung 32'' ViewFinity S7 (VA), strangely the 27" version is IPS
- Asus va32uq (IPS, 5 years old model...)
- Illegear Apex 32 (IPS, 144hz)

I'm also open to buying relatively lesser known brands since I have bought an AMH monitor before (mostly unknown) from ebay years back.

0.1032sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:10 AM