Working in Dubai, need advice

TSKokokrunch_1
post Feb 23 2017, 05:26 PM, updated 9y ago

55 posts

A friend of mine have recommended me to a company base in Dubai for a job as Field Service Representative (system base & handling airlines customers within that region). So i think there will be a lot of travelling.

But before i want to pursue further i need some info/advice.

1. Anyone having experience working in Dubai? Is is worth to go there
2. I know cost are high there. What is the ideal salary range to sort of survive there? I know it depends on the perks that the company gives, which i'm going to ask soon.

Any advice is welcome. Thanks!

joeylny
post Oct 10 2017, 08:49 PM

555 posts

Seems like not much forum members are working in Dubai. I also would love to find out more information bout dubai
acvon
post Oct 11 2017, 02:14 PM

1) worth or not depends on you, is it worth to go sg? some say yes some say no. so same thing
2) at least 12k and above if not forget it not worth financially

and yes i am here in dubai typing this while in abudhabi in a client meeting anyway.

weather's turning nicer nowadays twas hot af for a few months
eddie2020
post Aug 9 2018, 12:06 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(acvon @ Oct 11 2017, 02:14 PM)
1) worth or not depends on you, is it worth to go sg? some say yes some say no. so same thing
2) at least 12k and above if not forget it not worth financially

and yes i am here in dubai typing this while in abudhabi in a client meeting anyway.

weather's turning nicer nowadays twas hot af for a few months
Hi are you Malaysian? Those salary you get you transfer back to Malaysia bank rite? Do bank question us due to the fund is from other country and do we get taxes over there or in Malaysia? Ts do you have update? kokokrunch_1

This post has been edited by eddie2020: Aug 9 2018, 12:06 PM
someone_stupid
post Aug 9 2018, 12:46 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Aug 9 2018, 12:06 PM)
Hi are you Malaysian? Those salary you get you transfer back to Malaysia bank rite? Do bank question us due to the fund is from other country and do we get taxes over there or in Malaysia? Ts do you have update? kokokrunch_1
- transfer or bring physical cash back.
- bank will flag if u cannot prove it's a legit question
- uae is one of the few countries where there's no income tax and malaysia don't give a shit of income not obtained in malaysia

TBJ
post Aug 9 2018, 12:51 PM

374 posts

tax free country, any income earn oversea is also tax free in malaysia, go if salary is better than malaysia twice, and company include accomodation/ticket etc.
eddie2020
post Aug 9 2018, 02:02 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Aug 9 2018, 12:46 PM)
- transfer or bring physical cash back.
- bank will flag if u cannot prove it's a legit question
- uae is one of the few countries where there's no income tax and malaysia don't give a shit of income not obtained in malaysia
We have pay slip to show then should not be an issue right? Being cash back and change in money exchange counter? Sound risky..
QUOTE(TBJ @ Aug 9 2018, 12:51 PM)
tax free country, any income earn oversea is also tax free in malaysia, go if salary is better than malaysia twice, and company include accomodation/ticket etc.
I see.. Thanks for the input.. But living cost there is high as well even you get triple or over double is depend what your current salary here haha.. Let's say salary 1k myr go there 2k myr mana cukup.. If here 10k go there 20k maybe diff story.. Hehehe
TBJ
post Aug 9 2018, 02:27 PM

374 posts

living cost is ok since accomodation paid, all branded tax free = cheap.
someone_stupid
post Aug 9 2018, 03:24 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Aug 9 2018, 02:02 PM)
We have pay slip to show then should not be an issue right? Being cash back and change in money exchange counter? Sound risky..

I see.. Thanks for the input.. But living cost there is high as well even you get triple or over double is depend what your current salary here haha.. Let's say salary 1k myr go there 2k myr mana cukup.. If here 10k go there 20k maybe diff story.. Hehehe
why is it risky? blink.gif unless ure doing some dodgy shit then yea it is risky la but this if this is a legit job etc noneed to worry mer
eddie2020
post Aug 9 2018, 05:41 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Aug 9 2018, 03:24 PM)
why is it risky? blink.gif  unless ure doing some dodgy shit then yea it is risky la but this if this is a legit job etc noneed to worry mer
I mean risk of kena Rob if u bring alot cash lol
eddie2020
post Aug 9 2018, 05:42 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(TBJ @ Aug 9 2018, 02:27 PM)
Can you let me know the living cost? 10k per month is good enough or lower? Estimated cost if can breakdown is better..
TBJ
post Aug 9 2018, 05:56 PM

374 posts

need to ask the guy who's working in UAE now, i was living there for one month long time ago. i know the fish is dirt cheap
someone_stupid
post Aug 9 2018, 05:58 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Aug 9 2018, 05:42 PM)
Can you let me know the living cost? 10k per month is good enough or lower? Estimated cost if can breakdown is better..
depends where u work as well, type of contract, single or married? if married, moving with kids?

share this and see thumbsup.gif
BaDKiDz
post Aug 10 2018, 04:20 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(TBJ @ Aug 9 2018, 02:27 PM)
Haha OK is how much
QUOTE(TBJ @ Aug 9 2018, 05:56 PM)
need to ask the guy who's working in UAE now, i was living there for one month long time ago. i know the fish is dirt cheap
Live there for vacation?
QUOTE(max262 @ Aug 9 2018, 07:23 PM)
In a nutshell, Dubai has a little something for just about everyone.
If you like nightlife, there are a whole range of clubs and bars available.
If you are a practicing Muslim, the city is home to over 400 masaajid from what I remember to be the last count.
We're located on the shores on the Arabian Gulf, which means the beach is always near by.
Cars are generally cheaper than elsewhere.
Rents have fallen over the last three years coupled with much greater supply, making it considerably easier to find housing.
There is no income or corporation tax. However this is generally made up the by government with different forms of indirect taxation, this includes road tolls, various fees and levies for different government services. A general aim is to run all government departments like a profit making business.
I`v just come back from my vocation tour from UAE. And I`m really excited! You should visit this website https://www.wowgifts.ae/ to know how to get unforgettable experiences and life -lasting memories in this wonderful country!

Dubai has it's nuances, but is generally a great place to live and work.
Haha do you have range for the good offer
TBJ
post Aug 10 2018, 04:49 PM

374 posts

working
tishaban
post Aug 11 2018, 08:50 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(BaDKiDz @ Aug 10 2018, 04:20 PM)
Haha do you have range for the good offer
Google up the salary surveys and use that as a reference.

While full expat packages are rare nowadays, the offers I've seen typically include housing and education "assistance" ie. pay and claim with a limit biggrin.gif

someone_stupid
post Aug 13 2018, 01:05 PM

1,205 posts

hence that's why ask u to share ur range and we can tell u what we think however, if it's less than 10, i will not recommend
newbzie
post Oct 15 2018, 09:08 PM

182 posts

you need a pay package of 10k minimum .
BaDKiDz
post Dec 5 2018, 01:38 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Aug 13 2018, 01:05 PM)
hence that's why ask u to share ur range and we can tell u what we think however, if it's less than 10, i will not recommend
QUOTE(newbzie @ Oct 15 2018, 09:08 PM)
you need a pay package of 10k minimum .
you guys work alone here? its so boring in middle east.. feel depressed and feel Malaysia is better.. appreciate Malaysia when I am not I nmalaysia haha
ahmin829
post Dec 5 2018, 08:57 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(BaDKiDz @ Dec 5 2018, 01:38 AM)
you guys work alone here? its so boring in middle east.. feel depressed and feel Malaysia is better.. appreciate Malaysia when I am not I nmalaysia haha
so you are at oman or dubai now ahhaa

0.0184sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:32 AM