Malaysian Estimated Weekly RON95/RON97 Price, RON95 ◆, RON97 ◆ on 7/3 (Estimation)

HalseyFrangipane
post Apr 21 2021, 11:07 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 21 2021, 07:31 PM)
Huhuhu 53c difference with 95! No problems, got plenty of octane boosters already.

But the 3x molecules unsure.gif
HalseyFrangipane
post Oct 27 2021, 07:48 PM

503 posts

Oof I guess it's time to start pumping 95 instead. Any octane boosters suggestion or recommendations?
HalseyFrangipane
post Oct 27 2021, 09:12 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 27 2021, 08:52 PM)
Rich people la, and usually such cars are rarely driven.
What car do you drive actually, I can't recall. Most normal cars don't need 97 actually, just people shiok sendiri! Lol
I use Bardahl on my Evo and Swift Sport.
E46 325i. Owner's manual recommends 98 while minimum is 91.

Where do you source yours from? I see official Bardahl Shopee Store selling at RM21 per bottle (148ml) while 2 other listings with lots of sales/reviews are at RM10-12 each.
HalseyFrangipane
post Oct 28 2021, 12:37 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 27 2021, 10:32 PM)
E46 just drinks pure 95 no issue, just like my Mark X. Barely any difference, I don't even put octane booster on my Mark X. If I were you I won't even bother with octane boosters for that car.

I got from shopee, just around rm10/btl. Tested on my Evo, it works good as my check engine light not flickering/remains off even during boost up to 1.4 bars. If I use pure 95, it may occasionally flicker on boost meaning the ECU may begin to retard timing just a bit.
I see. I do drive it hard daily, and go for late night runs or morning touge runs often as well. So I thought I'd feed it with its recommended fuel grade.

But based on your advice, I guess it's negligible to bother with octane on these cars?
HalseyFrangipane
post Oct 28 2021, 08:56 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 28 2021, 08:55 AM)
Yes I'd think not really significant effect. My Mark X fuel range recommendation is 95-98 but also don't feel much different when drinking 97 no matter how hard I drive it. Same case with Swift Sport to be honest. I suggest you just try first with pure 95. It surely won't damage your engine, just a matter of whether you can feel the slight performance gain or not. Me personslly, I'd only consider filling up 97 on these cars if the price difference is less than 30c.
Roger. Thanks for the advice. Have a great day ahead!
HalseyFrangipane
post Nov 9 2021, 10:26 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 9 2021, 05:54 PM)
Woohooo, another 10c up ya. I love octane boosters! Lol
Just want to ask, does Bardahl's octane booster contain lead?
HalseyFrangipane
post Nov 10 2021, 08:13 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 10 2021, 12:10 AM)
No, all octane boosters now use MMT, no more lead cuz lead is already illegal.
Does MMT cause issues with the cat con and o2 sensors?
HalseyFrangipane
post Nov 20 2021, 06:47 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 10 2021, 09:02 AM)
No, it won't.

Edit: sorry, it seems got inconclusive studies wherrby some study may show impact while others not. What most mention consistently though that it may accelerate spark plug wear.

https://www.jstor.org/stable/26273472
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 10 2021, 09:34 AM)
i love my car which don't demand 97 as minimum
Runs perfectly fine on 95 but recommends 98, and you wouldn't notice it much on straight-line highway driving but I can feel a significant difference when pushing it on touge runs.

I'm still hesitant on using octane boosters due to contradicting info on MMTs' effect. Spark plugs are cheap to change but the oxygen sensors.... sweat.gif

0.0771sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:12 PM