Different Market Value from Banks and Valuer

TSdanone116
post Feb 21 2017, 11:17 PM, updated 9y ago

26 posts

Hi Sifus,

I need your expertise.

I am planning to sell off my house.

I have contacted few agents to check market value of my house to determine the selling price.

What happen is all agents got back with different market value and some is very huge diferrent i.e. RM100K.

When i question them why other banks offer lower/higher market value and they said it is depends on the banks. Some banks can offer higher/lower market.

So, my question is which market value i should follow? Dont we have standard market value?
mafa2801
post Feb 22 2017, 10:54 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(danone116 @ Feb 21 2017, 11:17 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I need your expertise.

I have contacted few agents to check market value of my house to determine the selling price.

What happen is all agents got back with different market value and some is very huge diferrent i.e. RM100K.

When i question them why other banks offer lower/higher market value and they said it is depends on the banks. Some banks can offer higher/lower market.

So, my question is which market value i should follow? Dont we have standard market value?
u can check brickz.my

valuation depends on the valuer itself, certain valuers only rely on last transacted price
certain valuers, they check on the renovation cost with approval etc..

If bank A have higher valuer, so why not sell at the said price.
TSdanone116
post Feb 22 2017, 10:12 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(mafa2801 @ Feb 22 2017, 10:54 AM)
u can check brickz.my

valuation depends on the valuer itself, certain valuers only rely on last transacted price
certain valuers, they check on the renovation cost with approval etc..

If bank A have higher valuer, so why not sell at the said price.
Thank you for you info and appreciated.
enriquelee
post Feb 27 2017, 01:33 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

For house there is no such thing as fix market value, it is very subjective. It involve too many factors.
TSdanone116
post Feb 27 2017, 10:47 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Feb 27 2017, 01:33 PM)
For house there is no such thing as fix market value, it is very subjective. It involve too many factors.
Thank you. I will go with highest market value then
enriquelee
post Feb 28 2017, 08:52 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(danone116 @ Feb 27 2017, 10:47 PM)
Thank you. I will go with highest market value then
Ya, that will be a good start.
Good luck ya.
oxm8
post Feb 28 2017, 09:06 PM

1,458 posts

Why not hire a valuer. Spend some $$$ & get a valuation report
not satisfy... hire another valuer...
TSdanone116
post Feb 28 2017, 10:06 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(oxm8 @ Feb 28 2017, 09:06 PM)
Thank you for ur advise
zr125
post Mar 25 2017, 07:52 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(oxm8 @ Feb 28 2017, 09:06 PM)
may i know how to hire a valuer?
hanhanhan
post Mar 27 2017, 02:12 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,200 posts

QUOTE(zr125 @ Mar 25 2017, 07:52 PM)
may i know how to hire a valuer?
call the valuation company , there are couple of famous/reputable ones like JS Valuers, raine & horne.

engage them to conduct a valuation on your property. their fees would be depending on the value of your property.
zr125
post Mar 27 2017, 02:38 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Mar 27 2017, 02:12 PM)
call the valuation company , there are couple of famous/reputable ones like JS Valuers, raine & horne.

engage them to conduct a valuation on your property. their fees would be depending on the value of your property.
With that, can we use for loan application? let say, purchase price is 200K, but value is 250K, can we apply loan based on 250K ?
hanhanhan
post Mar 27 2017, 02:44 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,200 posts

QUOTE(zr125 @ Mar 27 2017, 02:38 PM)
With that, can we use for loan application? let say, purchase price is 200K, but value is 250K, can we apply loan based on 250K ?
loan always apply based on SPA price.

Bank sometimes give lower margin because their valuation is lower than the SPA price.

They won't give u more than 90% even if their valuation is much higher than your SPA price.
zr125
post Mar 27 2017, 03:04 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Mar 27 2017, 02:44 PM)
loan always apply based on SPA price.

Bank sometimes give lower margin because their valuation is lower than the SPA price.

They won't give u more than 90% even if their valuation is much higher than your SPA price.
so if spa price is 250K. we can apply 90% loan based on this? eventhough actual buying price from owner is 200K (should not be stated not stated in SPA right?)
oxm8
post Mar 28 2017, 06:15 PM

1,458 posts

QUOTE(zr125 @ Mar 27 2017, 03:04 PM)
so if spa price is 250K. we can apply 90% loan based on this? eventhough actual buying price from owner is 200K (should not be stated not stated in SPA right?)
Yes
200k stated in another piece of paper
leo_kiatez
post Apr 19 2017, 07:42 PM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(oxm8 @ Mar 28 2017, 06:15 PM)
Yes 
200k stated in another piece of paper
Then, how the extra 50k from bank loan can be credited to the buyer's account?
wild_card_my
post Apr 20 2017, 12:10 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(danone116 @ Feb 21 2017, 11:17 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I need your expertise.

1. Different banks use different valuers

2. Different agents use different valuers, some of them only use 1 valuer too.

3. As a seller you can sell the house at which ever price you want, but keep in mind that the maximum valuation should be the figure that the banks' panel valuer value that house at. This is because your buyers would most likely be buying the house using a bank loan, and they can only get the maximum of 90% (or 70%) of the maximum valuation (or the SPA price, whichever is lower) of the house.

4. In addition, there is no such thing as "bank valuation", the term you are looking for are the valuation by the banks' panel valuers. Hence the confusion. Each bank can easily have a list of more than 20 valuers.

hanhanhan
post Apr 20 2017, 04:35 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,200 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 19 2017, 07:42 PM)
Then, how the extra 50k from bank loan can be credited to the buyer's account?
not credited directly to buyer account.

refer to ur lawyer, they know how to do it.

0.0181sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:11 PM