Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

ben3003
post Mar 4 2017, 02:45 PM

10,859 posts

which tvbox can play DTS-HD and TrueHD without much problem? Seems like mibox also cannot do so dunno y.. my old 3yrs tvbox can do, just that super slow and no much function so i wan upgrade..

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 4 2017, 02:46 PM
ben3003
post Mar 4 2017, 04:33 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 4 2017, 04:31 PM)
I'll make 1st page clearer soon...these I know for sure...

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=83778274
ok thanks.. if those cannot decode, but at least can do bitstream, no? Doesnt need the tvbox to decode the DTSHD or TrueHD

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 4 2017, 04:35 PM
ben3003
post Mar 4 2017, 04:55 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 4 2017, 04:49 PM)
"Dolby True-HD, Dolby True-HD ATMOS, DTS:X, DTS-HD MA, 5.1/7.1 LPCM, DTS, and Dolby Digital AC3 are all supported for downmix and bitstream (passthrough) using either the built in HiMedia video player app or any version of Kodi with HiMedia wrapper. 192Khz 24bit LPCM multi channel (5.1/7.1) FLAC / ALAC can be passed raw via HDMI." - Futeko
i mean is for mibox.. i saw latest update say kodi krypton can support.. anyone tried before?
ben3003
post Mar 4 2017, 08:34 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 4 2017, 07:13 PM)
right, that's the point.

if one has a basic tv, no home theater, no need good audio, basic speed and wants only kodi streams or ahem iptv, a cheap box can do the job.

heck, even the free hypptv box may do!

which is why it is impt for noobs to describe what they have, what they want, what they know and don't know.

if not, it is a joke to try to suggest anything.

like some asking "i want to buy a car, tell me which one to buy".

all u get is either "buy mercedes" or "buy proton".

and that is truly tragic for a forum where people should be exchanging better info than that.
if you are like me, will not settle for anything w/o hd audio, i can comment.

i did not realize this until 2 years ago - another forummer in this section reminded me that a only MINORITY of android boxes can do dsthdma/ddtruehd. i had taken it for granted becos, like u know, even 5-6 year old boxes can do that!

but the truth is, in the past, there were only pure media player boxes lihe WDTVlive and ACRyan - these were the cream and they do the video and audio playback codecs very well. then came androids, live streaming. media players got left behind, even obsolete. everyone jumped onto android streaming. but many gave up the audio part.

for hd audio, there are 4 categories for android boxes now:

1. those that have a native player, can handle dtshdma, ddtruehd, dtsx. ddtamos - on its own.
2. those that do not have a native player but a customized XBMC app to do some or all of that. these, u need to check out carefully becos with Kodi17 (new name for XBMC), it is very new and still evolving, the onus is on the box makers to deal with it on their own with their own hardware and firmawre.
3. those that can do only core dts/dd.
4. those cannot do even dts/dd, only aac2.0

happy to help! biggrin.gif
yes bro, i cant settle with normal DTS/DD, i can actually hear the differences even with only 3.1 setup, u just need a decent HT setup for that. Yeah, the old Realtek 1195 chip can do HD audio and 3D few years back no sweat, but now seems like even box selling for 300-400 also cant do that sad.gif

So bro, what's your recommendation for android box that can do that? i actually bought a mibox 3 enhanced edition for my parents to watch asteruk via internet, i having 5.1 setup at my living room so i was hoping that i can use that mi box to replace my againg 1195 media player. But currently outstation so unable to setup, gonna hope that people are correct with KODI r17 can passthru dtshdma and truehd

ben3003
post May 27 2020, 11:30 AM

10,859 posts

guys, i am thinking of shud i get apple tv 4k or nvidia shield 2019. i am using an iphone, but i see apple tv need expensive app like infuse pro to properly stream from PC. if use shield can use plex or kodi with plex to stream 4k remux from my PC. my tv is lg c9, but i heard plex quality is not so good if use TV to decode. the price almost similar for apple tv 4k and nvidia shield 2019.
ben3003
post May 28 2020, 08:11 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 27 2020, 10:04 PM)
what kind of PC are you hosting PLEX on? If you have a decent enough PC that can do encode on the fly, you can just use any chromecast capable device, like the chromecast (obviously), or mi box S. At my house I am using the 3rd gen chromecast for Plex and push it either from my browser or phone.

If you are watching h264 video, chromecast/mi box should play it natively. If you are playing something heavier like hevc h265 4K, the server will encode it to h264 on the fly before sending it to chromecast, so it depends on your server's capability
what u meant is transcoding right? i am playing 4k hdr h265 content most the time, and i prefer not to touch the original quality. encoding then i will lose out the dolby truehd thingy also.
ben3003
post May 28 2020, 04:02 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 28 2020, 09:40 AM)
Ah you want native HEVC. I have no experience with Apple TV so for me I'd gravitate towards the Shield
okies. apple tv is cheaper tho at rm888.. but more investment need for the software. i think i will get shield. the native TV apps still cant beat standalone player.
ben3003
post May 28 2020, 07:57 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ May 28 2020, 06:00 PM)
most of my video is running with native player on shield. but my video mostly h264 and h265 with normal codec.
so far i dont hv issue with it. using synology NAS ds video for playback on shield.

being apple, i know it would hv more limitations.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
ohh ok.. actually i just wan a player with less headache on all the codecs thingy. if below shield what else is a good one? but i look around macam tak ada that can do dolby vision etc. Now most my video is 4k hdr one.
ben3003
post May 28 2020, 09:07 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 28 2020, 08:25 PM)
Dolby vision only apple tv

if just playback there's the "hack OPPO player"
nvidia shield 2019 got dolby vision oledi lo.. not sure the extra features is good or not but maybe i can use VPN on the shield and can access other region netflix. now using TV macam tak dapat. hack oppo player very expensive right.. but i saw that it can read dolby vision track for blu ray rip.

anyone know what is the best way to get nvidia shield 2019? i saw bhphotovideo after convert and shipping around rm750, but i see need to add rm100 for sirim? then need to pay additional agent fee also?
ben3003
post May 28 2020, 09:08 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 28 2020, 08:31 PM)
Between both choices you picked? I'd ask you to go with the Shield hands down... For cheaper devices below those? That'd be the GT-King Pro. Thus far, it's simply a beast. Alternatively and if you can wait? It's successor (Beelink GS-King X) has been hitting the gym and will be officially launched next month... All I can say at this time is that it sports 2 HDD slots/bays for 3.5" drives AND it should ship with some core NAS features as well. Here are some pictures..

[attachmentid=10502843]
[attachmentid=10502845]

This is it with the Beelink GT-King Pro.. shocking.gif
[attachmentid=10502844]
wow.. the gs-king x macam overkill dah lol.. GT-King Pro can play netflix 4k dolby vision? gonna look for its specs.
ben3003
post May 29 2020, 10:17 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 29 2020, 04:18 PM)
Hey... i posted a reply to someone else over at my Beelink GT-King Pro review thread. Figured, it'd help you and others decide as well.

Hey.. I can now confirm now that the GT-King Pro does not support Dolby Vision, Dolby ATMOS, & DTS:X. Not natively and not via hdmi pass-thru tech. The issue is being worked on and once success, will be released along with a software update. Though it is expected to ship as default with the GS-King X. So I'll advise some patience either for the King Pro of the upcoming X version. In comparison, the MINIX Neo U22-XJ does have confirmed support for Dolby Vision and Audio right out of the box. One of the few AMLogic equipped boxes to support DV on regular Android (Android 9) OS. IIRC, the Amazon Cube is another DV capable device. Minix pays licensing fees to Dolby for this support. Although afaik, they aren't coming out to state officially that ATMOS is supported. hmm.gif .. As for DTS:X? That's unsupported.

One thing I do have to point out is that DV on the Minix Neo U22-XJ is being reported as a half-baked experience. Something I'm not familiar with where Minix devices are concerned. Minix are known to only release a new device with (at minimum) a stable firmware that does as they claim. They don't over-claim capabilities on their devices. So finding out about this and that they are being tight-lipped about it is unusual..IMO. Word online though is that they are aware of the issue and AMLogic has been alerted to the color issues/performance. Amlogic should by now have released another SDK version. From which Minix devs will get to work incorporating in to the next firmware update. If all goes well? there should be a firmware update soon and the DV issues should be resolved too.

Now if all these bores you and or is too much work waiting, hacking la, etc? TBH, your safest choice would be to get the Nvidia Shield instead. Confirmed all 3 capable..Personally? I'd wait.. but then I love to tinker and don't mind getting my hands dirty..  brows.gif

As for Netflix DV? I'll assume that you already own a recent DV capable disply and these typically are Netflix certified devices and would ship with a Netflix app...Similarly YouTube. I suggest you use that instead and get an external media player for the other stuff. Most of these boxes won't even officially support Netflix UHD. Earlier I did post a list of certified UHD/HDR10..bla bla capable players. You should check that out if netflix be your criteria. Lastly, unofficially.. Beelink devices such as the GT-King & GT-King Pro have DRM L1 permission and can dualboot CoreELEC. Using the Netflix plugin within, you definitely can watch Netflix at 1080p. I mentioned this earlier... One only needs to install CoreELEC on a microsd card, insert and reboot.
Haha.. I hear you..  See your belt tight yet or not.. kek
ok thanks for your advice.. sounds super technical to me, i think better to get shield 2019 haha.. i am too occupied to do all these. cos i just want to back home and relax without mingle too much. I spend quite some time working offshore. Netflix 1080p is too low for me, if i have 4k dv capable tv i would want to get the most out of netflix. I dont wanna use TV netflix because it cannot be routed thru VPN even i tried to set in on my router.

Actually those tv boxes without official support for streaming apps are unlikely to be able to play dolby vision file, cos i see mkv doesnt seem to incorporate MKV for now as it is a separate stream. Would hope that could come in the future.

ben3003
post May 30 2020, 09:33 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 30 2020, 08:46 PM)
Just received my Mi Box S (Lazada managed to send it around 7pm!! Thank god I was still at the office to receive it). For a small device with only 2gb ram, it is quite smooth.

My only complaint would be the lack of Ethernet port but most of my plex collection should not overburden the 5ghz wifi (hopefully)
i saw this mi box s cannot do 4k remux streaming. if not i will consider also since it is cheap.
ben3003
post Jun 1 2020, 03:04 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 30 2020, 09:57 PM)
Yeah. But then again i don't have any 4k TV so this is good enough for me
i see, ya if that's the case mibox s is still good.
ben3003
post Jun 1 2020, 03:09 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 29 2020, 04:18 PM)
Hey... i posted a reply to someone else over at my Beelink GT-King Pro review thread. Figured, it'd help you and others decide as well.

Hey.. I can now confirm now that the GT-King Pro does not support Dolby Vision, Dolby ATMOS, & DTS:X. Not natively and not via hdmi pass-thru tech. The issue is being worked on and once success, will be released along with a software update. Though it is expected to ship as default with the GS-King X. So I'll advise some patience either for the King Pro of the upcoming X version. In comparison, the MINIX Neo U22-XJ does have confirmed support for Dolby Vision and Audio right out of the box. One of the few AMLogic equipped boxes to support DV on regular Android (Android 9) OS. IIRC, the Amazon Cube is another DV capable device. Minix pays licensing fees to Dolby for this support. Although afaik, they aren't coming out to state officially that ATMOS is supported. hmm.gif .. As for DTS:X? That's unsupported.

One thing I do have to point out is that DV on the Minix Neo U22-XJ is being reported as a half-baked experience. Something I'm not familiar with where Minix devices are concerned. Minix are known to only release a new device with (at minimum) a stable firmware that does as they claim. They don't over-claim capabilities on their devices. So finding out about this and that they are being tight-lipped about it is unusual..IMO. Word online though is that they are aware of the issue and AMLogic has been alerted to the color issues/performance. Amlogic should by now have released another SDK version. From which Minix devs will get to work incorporating in to the next firmware update. If all goes well? there should be a firmware update soon and the DV issues should be resolved too.

Now if all these bores you and or is too much work waiting, hacking la, etc? TBH, your safest choice would be to get the Nvidia Shield instead. Confirmed all 3 capable..Personally? I'd wait.. but then I love to tinker and don't mind getting my hands dirty..  brows.gif

As for Netflix DV? I'll assume that you already own a recent DV capable disply and these typically are Netflix certified devices and would ship with a Netflix app...Similarly YouTube. I suggest you use that instead and get an external media player for the other stuff. Most of these boxes won't even officially support Netflix UHD. Earlier I did post a list of certified UHD/HDR10..bla bla capable players. You should check that out if netflix be your criteria. Lastly, unofficially.. Beelink devices such as the GT-King & GT-King Pro have DRM L1 permission and can dualboot CoreELEC. Using the Netflix plugin within, you definitely can watch Netflix at 1080p. I mentioned this earlier... One only needs to install CoreELEC on a microsd card, insert and reboot.
Haha.. I hear you..  See your belt tight yet or not.. kek
Bro, can this beelink GT-King Pro use Plex to play video? Or i need to setup my PC to share the folder for it to read? I see nvidia shield 2019 alot no stock, got stock but cannot send to miri sad.gif so i thinking like what u said earlier, use my PC for DV content, then use Beelink for others. I dont really need all the sophisticated setup like flashing around with firmware etc, just need a solid device that can play 4k HDR remux hevc file smooth and can output at least DTS-HDMA or trueHD since i not yet have atmos setup now.

ben3003
post Jun 2 2020, 12:52 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 1 2020, 11:35 PM)
One of the known MiBox flaws.. Good thing is, even if it has to be placed at a poor wifi location, there are USB-Ethernet dongles that still work. So as long as your network is stable enough, okay-ish bitrate 1080p local files or streaming, or legit Netflix @ 1080p without hassle? The MiBox works quite well for such usage.
Hmm for starters, I'm not entirely sure that we can successfully get DV out of a PC and to display properly on the TV (I stand corrected). As with most things DV, I can't test em out myself and say for fact something works and others don't. So bear with me on that. Even the CoreELEC on the promising ODROID N2 still couldn't deliver DV. So AFAIK, it's just not possible at this time or if it is, you'd need to spend considerably more money to just achieve that over paying for the Nvidia Shield that we know can handle DV nicely. Unfortunately, given your location.. It appears difficult to get it down there?? PM me and I'd be glad ot assist. I could just pick it off for you here and ship it to you. That's if you still don't find a local seller already willing to do that. Tried the Garage Sales section on the forums?

Yes, you can simply use your existing PC as a Plex server or "NAS". Personally, I recommend to either use a proper NAS and or simply hook up the ext HDD to the Beelink GT-King Pro for playback. These methods are less prone to interference. Possibly one of the primary reasons as to why the GS-King X was conceived & set for launch soon. Similarly like HiMedia's Q10 Pro, capable of taking a 3.5" drive.. This time though we are talking max 32TB drive(s), larger and with NAS features. However, I'm willing to further test out Plex, see how it performs on the GT-King Pro. I just need some patience from you, as I need to take time off other work to backup current ROM, flash latest stock and test. sweat.gif
Wow thanks for the effort bro.. salute.. i dont normally keep the video file i have watched, maybe the bee-link can download from torrent? If i invest more then the price would be more than buy shield lol. Gt king pro aint cheap also..
ben3003
post Jun 7 2020, 08:26 AM

10,859 posts

Pulled trigger for nvidia shield 2019.. hopefully i wont regret. So far The most hassle free if wan loseless audio+dolby vision+dolby atmos and 4k netflix all.
ben3003
post Jun 9 2020, 12:42 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Jun 9 2020, 09:46 AM)
Mind sharing from where and how much?
from shopee got 1 seller rm899 but with the 10% coins can save rm89.9 equivalent coins. So still not a bad price. Saw nvidia shield has it streaming problem also like matching frame rate to remove judder but if use kodi no issue. The only thing is beelink cannot passthru dtshd and no atmos etc which is a real let down for me la cos if this cannot then is same like i use my TV playback already. My tv all file can read but canot passthru loseless. At least shield can do so. Maybe the new king with nas one is the ultimate but it aint cheap and really super bulky lol like mini itx pc already. But Using PC is really a problem also, the implementation of hdr is really bad and not straightforward.
ben3003
post Oct 1 2020, 06:44 AM

10,859 posts

wow the new chromecast 2020 sounds like an instant winner at just usd50. not sure how well it can stream plex 4k hdr remux file..
ben3003
post May 21 2021, 08:34 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ May 21 2021, 08:17 AM)
Thanks for summarizing this up. thinking to compliment one of these with my SOny android TV
ur sony tv is old or new? if new android tv, is already equivalent to new chromecast 4k. i think don need any unless u say ur sony tv usb cannot play those bluray remux mkv files.

if not, i think the best is chromecast if u need streaming 4k only.

This post has been edited by ben3003: May 21 2021, 08:34 AM
ben3003
post May 27 2021, 02:21 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ May 27 2021, 12:30 PM)
1) actually, its kindda new. yet to fully utilize it  rolleyes.gif yes it supports 4k.
2) just thinking of what apps to install at the playstore.
3) just scared not enough memory , onboard storage is : 16GB
actually if use for streaming, the 16gb more than enuf.

0.1164sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:31 AM