Insurance Talk V4!, Anything and everything about Insurance

Mightypc
post Dec 10 2018, 02:51 PM

200 posts

Hello guy, I am currently on my 10 years old AIA Flexi-premier income, CI and medical plan. The plan is too old and I would like to update it.

Just started surveying recently and find insurance is quite confusing thing. Need help for some advice on market rate and how much should i cover. I have no idea what "package" are available. I am non smoking male engineer aged 34.

Would like to explore other company than AIA (not really happy with their service bangwall.gif )

Hope sifus here can shed some light for me to kick off my insurance shopping~ laugh.gif
Mightypc
post Dec 10 2018, 05:00 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Dec 10 2018, 03:20 PM)
Here's something below to kick off your insurance shopping journey:

Life/TPD: The sum assured amount depends on your individual financial situation. If you have a lot of money and no debts then you might not even need any cover. A generic way of determining the sum assured is 10x your annual income. So have a think how much you need, list down your commitment and imagine if you lose the ability to work for life, how are you going to cover these expenses and what is the appropriate amount of cash at bank that you would need to continue living your life.

Medical card: Most companies offers annual coverage > RM1mil with no lifetime limit. Choose whichever that you find most appropriate.

Critical Illness: Understand whether you want to cover from early to advance stage or only advance stage. Critical illness insurance also known as income replacement insurance purpose is to as its name suggests replace your income in the event you are diagnosed with a CI. So imagine 1st stage cancer, maybe I take 1 - 2 years off from work for recovery, how much income do I need during that time of recovery?

These are the 3 items you need to do more homework on, the rest are Personal Accident (PA) and Waiver. PA, suggest you buy from a general insurance company. Waiver is up to you if you want, personally I'd advise you to put the money into CI if you're on a budget.

The best case scenario, which a client of mine did was line up interviews with agents from different insurance company then get them to pitch.

Whereas to your question to what kind of package you can refer below:

- Life/TPD: RM100k
- Early - Advance CI: RM100k
- PA: RM100k
- Medical card: R&B250: RM1.2mil, no lifetime limit
- Waiver

Note: the RM100k are all independent of each other. Meaning if I've claimed RM100k for PA, then subsequently claim another RM100k for CI then upon death another RM100k. So that's a total of RM300k claimed. Note, not all insurance company products are design as such.

Premium: RM3,600/annum

Again, this is just a very generic quote but you get the idea.

Do your research, when you're ready arrange interviews then decide which insurance company and agent can serve your needs.

🤓

Best,
Jiansheng
Thanks for the crystal clear guidance! Really appreciate it.

For the CI, that's mean I have to specifically inform the insurer to get to cover early to advanced stage, else they will by default only cover advanced stage?
During the early stage of CI, presuming I am under treatment but I still able to work, so I will not be entitled to claim?

For the example you quoted RM3.6k/annum, all these premium will be burnt right?

Mightypc
post Dec 10 2018, 05:04 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Dec 10 2018, 04:40 PM)
Best to get your financial need analysed to see what is best to propose for you.
I am having problem with getting the "market rate" of those fancy medical treatment. Say I touch wood i got a 3rd stage lung cancer, what's the medical fee range per year would be.

With the reliable info then i could estimate what i need. You have any idea where can I get those info?

Many thanks
Mightypc
post Dec 10 2018, 05:14 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Dec 10 2018, 05:02 PM)
hmm... not happy with AIA customer service or your agent? its really subjective when it comes to this. basically almost every company also got customers complain before.

Anyway back to topic, medical plan is quite common whereby the available plans in the market offer at least RM1million a year medical claims.

For life insurance, a simple rule of thumb is make sure any amount payout can settle all your outstanding loans and also provide your family a certain x years of income.

whereas for critical illness payout benefit also, make sure amount is enough for at least 3 to 5 years transition period or best is at least a 100 months of income (or can be 60% - 70% of current income).

it all depends on your needs. there is no fixed amount. so long you know how well the plan can help you then you are good to go.
Haha, thanks for your valuable inputs, with that i could roughly calculate my need!

For the AIA services, it change 4 times during my 10 years period (is that normal??). First one was good, subsequent one really no eye see. Second agent don't even know the business well. I believe she was fresh agent. 3rd one was not really responsive once he heard i change location to other state. Another issue was I was on credit card direct debit and call to stop the service, agent asked me go to their branch to fill and submit form manually. And they don't open during weekend.

Every company has their own service problem, but I am willing to explore to other service provider regardless of how good are them, at least i step out of something which i had unpleasant experience with.
Mightypc
post Dec 10 2018, 05:17 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Dec 10 2018, 05:08 PM)
Medical rates are hard to be determined, if you had 3rd stage lung cancer today, then perhaps a 1 mil hospitalization plan would suffice for a decent coverage.

The same can't be said 10 - 20 - 30 years from now on.

As time progresses you will constantly require to review your existing coverage.

What's important is to cover the present lifestyle from unforeseen circumstances instead of worrying too much about future planning.

With limited finances, you will never be able to achieve the perfect amount that you would like to purchase for your insurance.

Which is why it's important to get a proper insurance agent to understand your priority and assist you in proposing the right plan. Not hastily quoting a figure like a salesman.
Any idea how frequent should i review my plan?? maybe 3 or 5 years??

Frankly speaking my 10 year old plan only cover RM110k per annum, current now market is like 10x higher!!!! blink.gif blink.gif
Mightypc
post Dec 11 2018, 09:26 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Dec 10 2018, 05:33 PM)
so it is agent's issue after all. then dont worry about that. we all are humans and cannot guarantee to serve whole life too. Most importantly you know which company you have your policy with then it is all good. so far i help my client to service their AIA policy, their customer service is ok to me. of course finding an agent that is willing to help most of the time is also important too.
if status change (married/having newborn/acquire new asset/etc...), then can review immediately. else once per year is the best of course. normally when i meet up with customers to have a casual makan makan also can do a review already.
Getting correct agent is really important. If i not happy with any agent, I can contact the company to change to another one?

I really particular with agent. I met one financial planner few years back, she was super aggressive and even told how i must live my life, giving her my 10~20% of my monthly income for her investment product. I have phobia meeting agent since then wink.gif

This post has been edited by Mightypc: Dec 11 2018, 09:26 AM
Mightypc
post Dec 11 2018, 09:32 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Dec 10 2018, 11:33 PM)
Any comments on Tokio marine as an investment linked life\36ci\medic insurance ?
As compared to Prudential ?

Purely from a company standpoint.
Assume both agents are superb.
Are you sure you want to get investment linked product? Personally I am not a fan of such product from insurance company. Don't like being a fish on chopping board.
Mightypc
post Dec 11 2018, 12:28 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Dec 11 2018, 10:53 AM)
sure is financial planner? lately even some insurance agents also called themselves financial planner. financial planner must always think on behalf of clients.
She quoted herself as financial planner. I think nowadays no many insurance agent called themselves insurance agent.
Look at those banks telemarketer, always say themselves are not selling insurance, but after listened to their plan at the end is asking me to pay a premium to get some protection.

0.1065sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:58 AM