Credit Card Chargeback Disputes, How to solve, please help

kawa_e
post Mar 8 2017, 11:54 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 8 2017, 11:48 PM)
I thought I saw something similar not too long ago. Someone familiar with the chargeback confirmed that seller would not receive the money. Hence better to sell on platform like lazada who will absorb these cases for a few percentage of your profit.
Any chance of directing me there ?
Cc holder filed dispute to bank and the bank is asking proof of delivery from the Marketplace. Merchant failed to present solid proof thus All the transaction is being charged back to seller..

Thanks for ur input. Never knew Lazada would absorb if such false claim made by customer exists.
lamode
post Mar 9 2017, 12:25 AM

anything could happen!
3,902 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 8 2017, 11:48 PM)
I thought I saw something similar not too long ago. Someone familiar with the chargeback confirmed that seller would not receive the money. Hence better to sell on platform like lazada who will absorb these cases for a few percentage of your profit.
i feel the same, haha ...
could it be this one? https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4197673

kawa_e sorry to say seller is on the losing end for most of the cases. sad.gif
kawa_e
post Mar 9 2017, 01:34 AM

383 posts

TS, did ipay88 disclose info on which order with fraud? Did you happen to have the customer name ? Might have similar case. Only that seller cod with customer. Paid everything via marketplace. Customer Disputed to bank saying didn't receive items after 5 moths. Made big purchase. Same pattern. HP not contactable. Decided to report police although chances of winning is slim.
SUSGrowTentProject
post Mar 9 2017, 02:13 AM

84 posts

to authorize payment from CC to gateway to merchant ... a OTP will need to be entered for transaction without the physical card .. OTP will be sent by the Bank to cc holders phone and then cc holder will need to enter it into the Bank website (will pop up)

OTP implement since 2012 as in BNM publication
http://www.bnm.gov.my/files/publication/fs...n/2012/cp05.pdf

with the OTP, it is the bank that authorized the payment to ipay88 (and ipay88 to forward the $$ to you) ...

i can say, the cc holder refuse to pay the bank ... and the bank refuse to pay ipay88 and pass it on to you .... what i;ll do is to offer to team up with ipay88 ... tell them, if you were to take on this alone, you can go BNM as well and threaten to go big ...

AND ... this is cc fraud case / scam .... with posting slip that contains name (and IC of receiver hopefully) and address ... you can really report to BNM ...

This post has been edited by GrowTentProject: Mar 9 2017, 02:18 AM
TSveronicachant
post Mar 10 2017, 04:43 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Mar 9 2017, 01:34 AM)
TS, did ipay88 disclose info on which order with fraud? Did you happen to have the customer name ? Might have similar case. Only that seller cod with customer. Paid everything via marketplace. Customer Disputed to bank saying didn't receive items after 5 moths. Made big purchase. Same pattern. HP not contactable. Decided to report police although chances of winning is slim.
We have the customer's name etc. But handphone for COD is uncontactable. Feels like that every part try to wash hands off because of the scammer.
jack2
post Mar 10 2017, 05:00 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(veronicachant @ Mar 10 2017, 04:43 PM)
We have the customer's name etc. But handphone for COD is uncontactable. Feels like that every part try to wash hands off because of the scammer.
Any update?

Able to get trace from courier? The recipient address is the good info to trace from.
Jinglexo
post Mar 10 2017, 06:12 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(GrowTentProject @ Mar 9 2017, 02:13 AM)
to authorize payment from CC to gateway to merchant ... a OTP will need to be entered for transaction without the physical card .. OTP will be sent by the Bank to cc holders phone and then cc holder will need to enter it into the Bank website (will pop up)

OTP implement since 2012 as in BNM publication
http://www.bnm.gov.my/files/publication/fs...n/2012/cp05.pdf

with the OTP, it is the bank that authorized the payment to ipay88 (and ipay88 to forward the $$ to you) ...

i can say, the cc holder refuse to pay the bank ... and the bank refuse to pay ipay88 and pass it on to you .... what i;ll do is to offer to team up with ipay88 ... tell them, if you were to take on this alone, you can go BNM as well and threaten to go big ...

AND ... this is cc fraud case / scam .... with posting slip that contains name (and IC of receiver hopefully) and address ... you can really report to BNM ...
I'm confused. If the buyer key in the OTP isn't it the cc holder authorise the transaction? And that even if the buyer initiate a dispute isn't the bank will inform the buyer he/she is liable at first place? I had a fren just gone thru this. Disputed wrong tranx. 😂

SUSGrowTentProject
post Mar 10 2017, 06:39 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Jinglexo @ Mar 10 2017, 06:12 PM)
I'm confused. If the buyer key in the OTP isn't it the cc holder authorise the transaction? And that even if the buyer initiate a dispute isn't the bank will inform the buyer he/she is liable at first place? I had a fren just gone thru this. Disputed wrong tranx. 😂
Buyer > Bank > Ipay88 > you

if at buyer end, no one key in OTP when prompt, then the bank will not authorize payment to ipay (and to you d) ...

how the buyer can dispute this ?? he can say its not him he never authorize (cause never receive any OTP etc) ........ like this most probably bank at fault lar, he never key in OTP how come bank still authorize payment to ipay ??

like this never follow protocol as set by BNM ... ask ipay for information such as CC and which bank card issued from as entered by the buyer during check out ...

jack2
post Mar 10 2017, 06:59 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(GrowTentProject @ Mar 10 2017, 06:39 PM)

if at buyer end, no one key in OTP when prompt, then the bank will not authorize payment to ipay (and to you d) ...

how the buyer can dispute this ?? he can say its not him he never authorize (cause never receive any OTP etc) ........ like this most probably bank at fault lar, he never key in OTP how come bank still authorize payment to ipay ??

like this never follow protocol as set by BNM ... ask ipay for information such as CC and which bank card issued from as entered by the buyer during check out ...
This one has been higighted to ts before.

Also, scammer can deny he never received it. Thus need investigation from bank.

If i work in those fraud department, i can get the answer within one day as everything can be traced thereon but i dunno how they need so long time to check.
jack2
post Mar 10 2017, 07:02 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

But if the card holder is innocent and someone misused his card, the scammer is able to direct the otp to another phone number.

Well, it is still can be traced.
Jinglexo
post Mar 10 2017, 07:44 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(GrowTentProject @ Mar 10 2017, 06:39 PM)

I thought if bank issue otp, then buyer is confirm liable liao . Coz otp sent out, bank can trace. And usually if didnt key in otp will expired.
SUSGrowTentProject
post Mar 10 2017, 08:05 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Jinglexo @ Mar 10 2017, 07:44 PM)
I thought if bank issue otp, then buyer is confirm liable liao . Coz otp sent out, bank can trace. And usually if didnt key in otp will expired.
this is between buyer and banks ...

in CC case, if CC holder refuse to pay ... then banks will look for other way out, push the blame to others ...

everybody want to take the easy way out .... hoping merchant also diam diam give back money

thats why have to fight abit
jack2
post Mar 10 2017, 08:15 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(GrowTentProject @ Mar 10 2017, 08:05 PM)
this is between buyer and banks ...

in CC case, if CC holder refuse to pay ... then banks will look for other way out, push the blame to others ...

everybody want to take the easy way out .... hoping merchant also diam diam give back money

thats why have to fight abit
I am interested to know how soon the cardholder made dispute report upon this case.
SUSGrowTentProject
post Mar 10 2017, 08:43 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 10 2017, 08:15 PM)
I am interested to know how soon the cardholder made dispute report upon this case.
hopefully, he/she make the report and fight it lar .... dont just pay up ....

i might suggest Merchant team up with gateway (after all gateway services are paid a fee by merchant and have input details by the "buyer" during check out) ... they should provide all information and advise to merchant and not let him/her fight blind (at least advise and represent them abit since they are paid) ...
kawa_e
post Mar 10 2017, 09:31 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(veronicachant @ Mar 10 2017, 04:43 PM)
Could be same person. Who knows....
I cant contact this scammer too. If he is so genuine why cnt he let me contact him ? He said he didnt receive any of these items.. Why he didnt look for the marketplace or merchant ? Why need take 5 months to realise u didnt receive items only u dispute to the bank... Shit so angry now.. Haih

Even with all the proofs this scammer can say he never COD, receive, sign and do anything... Everything u prove, he will deny and the bank still accepts this .. So disappointing.

kawa_e
post Mar 10 2017, 09:35 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 10 2017, 05:00 PM)
Any update?

Able to get trace from courier? The recipient address is the good info to trace from.
The address could be anywhere not the actual address. If its a well planned scam then he has already planned a nice location for the delivery. Just maybe waited there to collect and buzzed off after collection. Even he could put up a fake id and name on the consignment

kawa_e
post Mar 10 2017, 09:48 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 10 2017, 08:15 PM)
If ts and my case, 5 months gap only he realised he purchase/ receive the items. Funny that bank accepts such large gap time for dispute. Doesnt make sense since the anount is high. Genuine buyers would be nervous as hell if 1 week they didnt receive the items.

QUOTE(GrowTentProject @ Mar 10 2017, 08:43 PM)
hopefully, he/she make the report and fight it lar .... dont just pay up ....

i might suggest Merchant team up with gateway (after all gateway services are paid a fee by merchant and have input details by the "buyer" during check out) ... they should provide all information and advise to merchant and not let him/her fight blind (at least advise and represent them abit since they are paid) ...
Will make a police report on my case. I cant diam diam. Its so obvious a scam. Even my winning chance is almost 0.1% since i had removed all my most important evidences (nvr thought this could have happened and its been 8 months+)
And about teaming with marketplace, its almost 0%. When i asked more details about the dispute and maybe info of that scammer, the marketplace is like defending him. Said cant disclose this la bla bla bla... Need protect the privacy of the customer. Im not sure what i asked is right or not but i need accurate info to be provided to the police.

But i agree that everyone is pushing the ball to the merchant and hope we pay.
ListenToTheAngin
post Mar 10 2017, 09:48 PM

25 posts

kawa_e

May I which marketplace is that? If it's 11st, afaik once the buyer ckick on Confirm Purchase, they can no longer say they didn't receive the good right? Afterall, a sane person would only click that after they got what they bought.
jack2
post Mar 10 2017, 10:22 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Mar 10 2017, 09:48 PM)
If ts and my case, 5 months gap only he realised he purchase/ receive the items. Funny that bank accepts such large gap time for dispute. Doesnt make sense since the anount is high. Genuine buyers would be nervous as hell if 1 week they didnt receive the items.
Will make a police report on my case. I cant diam diam. Its so obvious a scam. Even my winning chance is almost 0.1% since i had removed all my most important evidences (nvr thought this could have happened and its been 8 months+)
And about teaming with marketplace, its almost 0%. When i asked more details about the dispute and maybe info of that scammer, the marketplace is like defending him. Said cant disclose this la bla bla bla... Need protect the privacy of the customer. Im not sure what i asked is right or not but i need accurate info to be provided to the police.

But i agree that everyone is pushing the ball to the merchant and hope we pay.
is your case still going on?

question bank the bank why the gap is so huge for cardholder to realise? And because of the cardholder refused to pay, the bank kiasu and perform such claim from provider and provider claims from merchant.

I think you should submit the case to BNM as well as the bank has broken the conflict of interest to protect themselves since the claim period has been lapsed but still they initial the claim.

This post has been edited by jack2: Mar 10 2017, 10:25 PM
kawa_e
post Mar 11 2017, 12:48 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheAngin @ Mar 10 2017, 09:48 PM)
kawa_e

May I which marketplace is that? If it's 11st, afaik once the buyer ckick on Confirm Purchase, they can no longer say they didn't receive the good right? Afterall, a sane person would only click that after they got what they bought.
Can't really disclose but I can say it's not 11st. But it's top 3 marketplaces in malaysia. 11st is protecting the seller at least with that system. If a customer did not confirm purchase within a period of time, it will be automatically confirmed so that only the money will go to the seller.

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 10 2017, 10:22 PM)
is your case still going on?

question bank the bank why the gap is so huge for cardholder to realise? And because of the cardholder refused to pay, the bank kiasu and perform such claim from provider and provider claims from merchant.

I think you should submit the case to BNM as well as the bank has broken the conflict of interest to protect themselves since the claim period has been lapsed but still they initial the claim.
Yes, we just received the dispute from marketplace saying this customer did not receive any of the items he purchased. The marketplace said the customer has the right to file for dispute to bank from 180 days -365 days. That's very absurd vmad.gif all I know Was that this customer bought in July and filed dispute in Nov-Dec. Is this logical/reasonable amount of time for the customer to realize ? vmad.gif

Bank who initiate the claim is cimb. The scammer used cimb cc for purchase. This is my guess only or unless he could go to any bank to initiate the dispute ? I am dealing with the marketplace so all the info Regarding this customer is non disclosure.

Unfortunately as mentioned earlier, I can say I lost all the important evidences. Only screenshots of receipts as proof of. Collection. As for BNM, do I still stand a chance to report with them. I just finished drafting my police report. It is painstaking since I need to squeeze the juice out of my brain to remember all the details of dealing between the scammer and I sad.gif

This post has been edited by kawa_e: Mar 11 2017, 12:54 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0191sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:10 PM