Mazda 323 Engine Swap, Looking to swap my engine

TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 09:54 AM, updated 9y ago

So I bought a 1991 1.6 Mazda Astina 323F (the one with pop-up headlights) and I'm thinking of doing a swap maybe one year down the road after getting all the vital stuff sorted out.

I'm looking at the B6T, but I have a few concerns.

1. Would it fit?
2. Is it carbureted? If not, will the wiring for injection cost a bomb?
3. Will JPJ decline the endorsement because of a stock turbo charged engine?
4. Is it even worth it?

Also, open topic for the Astina in general. Love the look and overall design of the car!
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:02 AM

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Feb 14 2017, 09:59 AM)
you should've taken all these into consideration, finding out the answer to all of the above questions BEFORE u buy it....  if that's your purpose of buying this car...
too late for that now icon_idea.gif
I understand, some people tell me the same thing like get a local car for better reliability yadda yadda heard it all before, the thing is I make poor financial choices to fulfill myself, and driving/repairing/restoring the Astina feels good so... No offense, but I'm looking for advice on the current rather than what should-have-been.
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(pakdamek @ Feb 14 2017, 10:03 AM)
nice car....reminds me of my childhood..
You can't imagine! After I got the car, started a lot of nostalgia-induced conversations with the elder generation.
My uncle's first car was a Lantis, absolutely loved it.
Was my father's dream car when he was younger (much younger)
One of my client's sister's first car and he would pinjam just to go out because of the pop-up lights

Not the most reliable or whatever, but absolutely charming to say the least. If can turn it into a sleeper... All the uncles flock to me sia lol.gif
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:10 AM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 14 2017, 10:07 AM)
like the other poster mentioned... home work should have been done before you invested in it....

1. Would it fit?
-anything can be made to fit.. even a b18c

2. Is it carbureted? If not, will the wiring for injection cost a bomb?
-no its electronic (iirc the turbo models were electronic.... carb engines with turbos? not a great idea if you ask me... abit complicated/difficult do deal with i guess....)
-oh ya a point.... dont ever bother converting a carb to efi... unless everything is readily available OR you just have lots of time and money to spend

3. Will JPJ decline the endorsement because of a stock turbo charged engine?
-should be no issue.... just mountings might be in question.(if the b6d has the same mounts, should be safe... you can ask jpj... they will get back to you by dis/approving it)

4. Is it even worth it?
-no idea... how much is a b6... anyway... money could have been spent on a dif build if you ask me....
-KF-ZE seems to be a great choice if maintanance is not really an issue
Thanks for the constructive feedback! Anyways not really something I'd do like next week, still open for suggestions.
What makes you say KF-ZE if maintenance not an issue?

BTW, not running on parents money don't worry. All the upgrades/restoration I tank the damage thumbup.gif
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:13 AM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 14 2017, 10:09 AM)
hmmm.... just a thought... why not a 3rd gen prelude with a h22 swap? i really like those things... sleek, sporty and some even have 4ws... cool2.gif

*edit* just realized you have already bought thecar  laugh.gif
Ah the Prelude...
3 months ago I've been browsing Mudah like a mad man.
First I wanted an AE92, over budget and plus restoration? I eat zapfan for every meal man.
Prelude also I watched closely. Maintenance too high according to some Honda kakis.
After a while of scrolling mindlessly, suddenly I saw 323 for the first time.

Love at first sight I tell ya, though its 27 y/o this year whistling.gif
Irresponsibe? Yes.
Fulfilling? Hell yes.
Money well spent? Maybe not brows.gif
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:15 AM

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Feb 14 2017, 10:13 AM)
Haha too slow bro, I already "heart" it in the app thumbup.gif
I hope don't get sold lah, now preparing for the big bill in April sia. Have to jimat2 for one year then can buy.
It's the one and only on Mudah some more, takut lah
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:18 AM

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Feb 14 2017, 10:07 AM)
i prefer lantis 323F .. walaaa.. childhood time ..

anyway, you can always research any alternative engine/part option you may choose ..

i heard people say mazda and ford some are sharing same part (during that era la.. )

anyway, happy modding  thumbsup.gif
Yup, on the JPJ TnC webpage (forgot where it went) Ford and Mazda is considered same same.
Though on Wikipedia, almost none of Ford's engine suitable for 323, newer Mazdas maybe can swap but not for mine.
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 14 2017, 10:16 AM)
I surprised people still willing to get cheated doing these

Most just get a new car that perform equally well and no hassle , throw a stone and anry csr will do 200 on the highway , in comfort and quietness
Cheated as in buying secondhand car and tuning/modding/restoring?
Maybe just personal perspective but here is my very very rough plan:
Car (4k) + Important repairs (8k) + Aesthetics (in and outside, around 3-4k) [also sponsored by lou dao]

As opposed to the Preve I wanted, the moment I buy the car, 10k off market value.

Long run... If can take care I believe secondhand car much more eco, value already kosong biggrin.gif
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Feb 14 2017, 10:20 AM)
why not you take picture and start journal of your build .. i think would be fun when u look back what you have done!  thumbup.gif
"Project ASTINA" is almost complete, "Project ASTINA : Phase 2" going into motion soon rclxms.gif
Got myself a gray TE37 recently,

"JDM af"
-Honda kaki laugh.gif
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:23 AM

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Feb 14 2017, 10:19 AM)
someone like to baked the cake themself and someone like to buy cake outside ..

both not get cheated..
The baker learns how to bake cake
The buyer knows where to buy cake thumbsup.gif
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 14 2017, 10:23 AM)
oh god older than my car..... hi5 we should create an old car club!!
The "Financially Unwise Car Owners That Are Frowned Upon By The General Public Because The Car Is Fking Old"
FUCOTAFUBTGPBTCIFO Club icon_idea.gif
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(acbc @ Feb 14 2017, 10:25 AM)
Old Japanese cars always reliable. Myself driving a 1990 Mitsubishi Galant Super Saloon converted to VR4. Only problem is ECU wiring. Every now and then, engine will fire up as 2 cylinders. A little knock on the dashboard and all done.

Try that with latest cars. Too many computers and electronics.
Yeah that's my main concern... The car came carbureted stock? If convert to ECU could be quite troublesome I think
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:37 AM

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Feb 14 2017, 10:32 AM)
BPT Mazda? better choice but Damn hard to find..

Owned Ford TX3 Coupe BD back in 90's .. with B6 DOHC... that car damn fast..
BPT like don't even exist in Malaysia. Mudah no result, Google also come out discussions nia.
According to wiki, I only see European variants and Japanese versions that has slightly more power. No mention is the US or elsewhere in Asia so... Either I strike lottery and ship from overseas, or the lord and savior give me one plus extra cash for labor and JPJ on my birthday

Other than BPT and B6T, other options either Toyota or Honda VTEC engines.
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:41 AM

Crap I just recalled, need to touch gear box if change to let's say, the B6T?
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 14 2017, 10:39 AM)
I like it!
if maintanance isnt an issue the v6 should be more interesting..... (tho mods might be very limited)
The K series engines has V6, but due to JPJ limitation and also realism, a bit overkill to get them. Not saying I wouldn't like a V6 or a V8 thumbup.gif
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 14 2017, 10:51 AM)
what jpj limitation?? 1.6>2.0, no issues.... have seen one or 2 converted units around.... (one was a really nice red unit on sale last year, around 20-25k....)
Oh ya 2.0 no problem, thanks for reminding! The KF model would be the best la but still.. Expensive, hard to find, and even harder to maintain.

TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(cedyy @ Feb 14 2017, 10:53 AM)
Sporty looking and nice interior but choppy ride.
Choppy? hmm.gif
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 11:21 AM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 14 2017, 11:10 AM)
There are no mechanics that do proper job, claim they can , but have no idea what to do.

In the end , engine seldom runs properly , full of warning lights, overheating , leaking oil ,

All they do is trial and error, change this maybe change that
Again nobody will do a proper job, just hacks that are wasting your time and see that big water fish arrive with daddy support can chop maximum .

If father willing to fork out close to 15k , you can buy hot hatches already . Fiesta st,

Seriously try out the new generation vehicles, it's a buyer's market now , if you take 2016 model, discounts of 10,000 or more is not unheard of
Sir again you're missing the point here... I already have the car, this thread adheres to the topic I've initially set out on, not "Just bought Astina 323, was it a good idea?"
Maybe the mechanic you encounter sucks, I also see many before (mum's sis') and they just buat and in the end more problems, end up have to overhaul.
The mechanic I visit every time also say my car troublesome, but good thing is he enjoys fixing it because he always get common cars. The price he charge me also considered super reasonable, I won't say super cheap lah.
All in all... I understand why you don't agree with my choice, like I said before a lot of people also say money hole lah or bad choice what not.
Well let's just put it this way: I saved up for a car to get around, but I also wanted something that I actually like rather than full on 'reliable', no fun cussing at a 15 year old Iswara anyways rclxub.gif

We have totally different views, I'm open to warnings or advice but my mind is already set on restoring the car. Expensive hobby as compared to collecting vape mods (?) or golf, but in essence it is still a hobby to me.
Some like sports, some like collecting, and some like to spend a fortune to restore old cars biggrin.gif
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 14 2017, 11:25 AM)
If it was a collector car no issue, worth to spend some money , but it's just a run of the mill car, keep it running but not worth spending anymore money on it

And get a new car
kepala keras betul... bro, if I want financial advice I know who to ask ok, not on lowyat shakehead.gif

Attached image(s)
TSPolitricks
post Feb 14 2017, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 14 2017, 11:35 AM)
ehhh just read.....

u got the car for 4k?? whats the condition like?
Car (4k)
-i hope its in decent condition
Important repairs (8k)
-i assume the engine swap falls within this scope..
-remember you might want to replace wear and tear bits on a halfcut engine... hoses, belts, turbos, sparkies, gaskets (if not gone)
-dont know if you need a new exhaust system.... of if its got holes in it
-bushings/mounts (this can cost a few k alone)
-absorbers if gone
-pads
Aesthetics (in and outside, around 3-4k)
-now heres where its difficult...
-2k would get you an ok paint job...
-interior, this is where things can get scarry.... dash alright cracks? any missing trim? the trim alone can cost a big bomb... rewrappig the seats a few hundred.... dash bits cost quite alot, steering hu all that.

really depends on how far you want to take it......
Car went for cheap cuz owner had to go Australia ASAP, important repairs included gasket change, spark plugs, wheels and rims, ignition leads, gear bush lower arm bushings + ball joints, power steering hose, timing belt, AC belt, alternator belt, radiator hose, new set of HWL absorbers, brake pads, and steering (old one can snap in half easily)

0.0233sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:51 AM