FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

roarus
post Jan 19 2019, 12:34 PM

1,042 posts

Anyone who wants to make use of the 0.5% sales charge code (valid 19 Jan 2019 only), please feel free:
CODE
6VGSKT

T&C:

Do comment if you've used it as it says one time use only.
roarus
post Mar 24 2019, 05:26 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(phoenix24 @ Mar 24 2019, 08:48 AM)
Hi guise,
Was wondering which is the best bond fund in you guise opinion? I have affin hwang select bond fund .. but i crave for better performance in a bond fund hehe
I for one like to keep my fixed income really boring, my candidates:
1. AmBon Islam (the one I choose personally)
2. AmBond

- Investment grade (AAA to BBB) rated and in MYR (no foreign currency risk)
- AmBon Islam has a pinch higher sharpe ratio, lower volatility and higher YTD yield than the 'gold standard' Libra Asnita
- AmBond has a pinch of higher risk and YTD yield than its Islamic sibling AmBon Islam and Libra Asnita
roarus
post May 13 2019, 08:48 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(maxxng12 @ May 13 2019, 04:54 PM)
what your favourite UT at this trade war escalation phase? and why
QUOTE(David83 @ May 13 2019, 08:12 PM)
KGF drops to -8.1% laugh.gif
Since Mar - plan to every 2 months switch Kenanga Bond 500 units to Kenanga Growth, but that's just my fun punting allocation trying to buy it while it dips cool2.gif

This post has been edited by roarus: May 13 2019, 08:48 PM
roarus
post Jun 1 2019, 05:56 PM

1,042 posts

It would seem FSM has abandoned updating this section after launching managed portfolios locally?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/res...commended-funds
roarus
post Jun 1 2019, 10:41 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jun 1 2019, 06:25 PM)
IINM I think it's once per year , you can always check out FSM sg focus list
Thanks! However, I'm looking for Malaysia specific equity funds to keep an eye on for now. Wondering if the recommended by FSM are still Eastspring Investments Equity Income and Kenanga Growth
roarus
post Jun 4 2019, 02:44 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Jun 4 2019, 01:52 PM)

I wondered whether it is wise to hold bond fund for long term since it incur platform fees...
You'll always hold bond/fixed income, because you'll hold more as you approach retirement and beyond it as you glide down your risk from equity exposure.

Well unless you can hold it in another platform that doesn't charge, then that will obviously be wiser laugh.gif
roarus
post Jun 5 2019, 09:29 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Jackrau @ Jun 4 2019, 11:54 PM)
Hi, I am newbie to FSM. May I know, if  am not a sophisticated investor can I still invest on Nomura i-income fund and wholesale bond ?
The paranoid side of me tells me just because none of the members got check randomly doesn't exclude you from being the first lucky one. This statement that you agree to is worrying - while you're able to buy, can FSM reject your sell instruction later on?
If any information is found false or misleading, or if the need to obtain further information/documents is not met, iFAST may reject any of my application and/or instructions including but not limited to, any transactional-related activities.
roarus
post Jun 7 2019, 01:46 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Jun 7 2019, 12:54 AM)
Example?
Thanks all for the answers. I shall keep the fund then.
Go to https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/fun...d-selector/////
1. Assets Class - select Fixed Income
2. Click button Generate Funds Table
3. By default table generated displays Annualised Performance Table, switch to Information Table view
4. Check out the column Platform Fee(%)

Alternative platform, eunittrust.com.my it has its own thread (https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4268975) you may direct your questions specific to the platform there
roarus
post Jun 7 2019, 03:50 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Jun 7 2019, 02:36 PM)
i have this holding, is it still safe to keep after default?
I'd say Islamic Bonds (general category - as long as investment grade) is pretty safe and strong performer in Malaysia. Default will happen but the fund still holds a whole bunch of other performing bonds.

RHB Islamic Bond fund has already recovered almost back to it's pre-dip value within 1 week.

Also noticed more local funds (e.g. AmBond, AmBon Islam) have picked up Malaysian Government Securities since the 1 month or so after being let go by foreign fund(s).
roarus
post Jun 7 2019, 10:17 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 7 2019, 08:50 PM)
Could these local funds have been forced to take-up the MGS after foreign funds disposed ?
Initially thought the sell off was lump sum, searched and found that it's gradual instead. So not likely to have mandate to scoop them up immediately.
roarus
post Sep 18 2019, 03:35 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 18 2019, 03:15 PM)
Anyone still holding Kgf? Feel like dumping it for other funds
Me and still accumulating. Just started around Mar and in green at the moment.

But that's my local allocation, I have global too.
roarus
post Sep 26 2019, 11:24 AM

1,042 posts

Black: AmBon Islam
Orange: Libra Asnita
Blue: Eastspring Investments Bond

Ouch, AmBon Islam took a big dip yesterday and it doesn't look like due to distribution

Update: My bad, their distribution is semi-annually @ Mar & Sep. I thought it was annually @ Mar

This post has been edited by roarus: Sep 26 2019, 11:34 AM
roarus
post Oct 25 2019, 01:24 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Oct 25 2019, 12:00 PM)
Libra Asnita Bond Fund - yay or nay?
Yay you're not horny for high yield
roarus
post Nov 2 2019, 10:58 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 2 2019, 12:59 AM)
Yes. Recently been more challenging. The return has been all over the place.
Indeed, even bonds who'd been steady all year long turned jumpy
roarus
post Nov 25 2019, 11:47 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(pigscanfly @ Nov 24 2019, 09:28 PM)
Hi sifus. I would like to ask your advice regarding Nikko AM Singapore Dividend Equity Fund. Apparently this unit trust has MYR class and is also offered in Malaysia, in addition to SGD class. I have accounts in FSM MY and POEMS SG, allowing me to buy UT either in MYR or SGD class.

I have made comparisons between the two classes, and both offer dividend yields of 5.13%
3 year annualized votalitiy 9.62 (MYR) vs 9.20 (SGD)
3 year Sharpe ratio 0.58 (MYR) vs 0.62 (SGD)

Are there any other factors that I need to consider (besides currency exchange fees) when choosing MYR or SGD class? Are there any advantages of choosing the SGD class over MYR? In dilemma right now  rclxub.gif

Your comments are highly appreciated
There's no hedging for the version of fund sold via FSM - MYR class will be converted to base currency (SGD). As you can see both moves almost tick to tick after conversion to MYR:

Based on prospectus, it mentions no hedging too:
Foreign Currency Risk
The Managers do not actively hedge the foreign currency exposure of investments of the Fund and therefore, the Fund may be exposed to exchange rate risks.
Conclusion: If you dead set on buying it - buy MYR if you're earning MYR, buy SGD if you're earning SGD
roarus
post Nov 25 2019, 05:17 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(pigscanfly @ Nov 25 2019, 02:26 PM)
Thanks for the detailed explanation roarus. But could you please explain why "buy MYR if you're earning MYR, buy SGD if you're earning SGD"? Wouldn't it be better to buy in the base currency of the fund, to avoid any further foreign exchange risk (considering that non-SGD classes are not hedged as you pointed out)?

And wouldn't it be advantageous to us if we buy SGD, and SGD appreciates against MYR?
What I meant was to simply fund it in whichever currency you have access to easily. Since from morningstar you can see both moving concurrently together after currency conversion, it'll be more efficient to let the fund manager handle the currency conversion

The moment you transact (regardless of MYR or SGD), you end up holding the same underlying things - a mixpot of stocks in DBS, UOB, OCBC, Keppel, Venture Corp, Sing Tech, Capitaland, Thai Bev, SingTel, etc.

Stocks are part ownership in company and not hard currency

This post has been edited by roarus: Nov 25 2019, 05:19 PM
roarus
post Nov 26 2019, 10:52 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(pigscanfly @ Nov 26 2019, 12:46 AM)
Thanks for the clarification roarus. After reading WhitE LighteR and your comments, I was considering buying the MYR class. But I realised FSM MY imposes sales charge, so does Phillip Mutual. However Phillip Mutual is having a zero sales charge promotion ending 29/11/2019. Unfortunately I do not have a Phillip Mutual account.

Good thing that POEMS SG has 0% sales charge and 0% platform fees  rclxms.gif

Thanks for your enlightenment sifus. Much appreciated  notworthy.gif
Why not consider opening eunittrust account? It's about the same process as FSM, all done online. They have 0 fee promo every few months or so if you're not in a hurry, and you can park money in their fixed price money market fund in the meantime.
roarus
post Nov 27 2019, 08:42 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 27 2019, 07:39 PM)
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/art...formance-Review

Are PRS fund managers that bad? I'm seeing negative and low 2-4% return  rates.
Each fund have their own published strategy, asset type/ratio and geographical coverage e.g. if Malaysia region market performs bad compared to the rest of the Asia Pac countries - Malaysia region funds will suffer while Asia Pac funds will breakaway.

I personally like Asia Pac region funds - it's the widest net you can cast with PRS at the moment. I'll dial it down and switch to moderate/conservative later when I'm older.
roarus
post Dec 2 2019, 03:36 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 2 2019, 03:13 PM)
Guys what are you buying now?

Sold some stuff, now cash sitting in CMF waiting for the next undervalue unit trust.
Same old track for UT whole year: PRS monthly, KGF every 2 months
roarus
post Dec 3 2019, 02:18 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(NotHideOnBush @ Dec 2 2019, 11:59 PM)

Now buy PRS via FSM no need to fill forms?

Link: https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/m/research/article/11460
Based on CS info for new PPA and new PRS provider - for mobile no need form. Via PC still need form. rclxub.gif

0.0502sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:51 PM