FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Vintage
post May 14 2017, 10:03 PM

229 posts

Hi guys, I just opened an account but I'm already feeling so overwhelmed with all the information provided not only on the website but in this thread. I understand what a trust fund is and the general investment tips like diversifying portfolio and all but I really have no idea on how and where to start.

Please advise me on the right direction as I have never invested before. I'm ready to invest RM2,000 and see how it goes.
Vintage
post May 30 2017, 09:41 PM

229 posts

hi peeps,

after opening an account i contacted the in-house investment specialist dude and he was really helpful in giving an in-depth recommendation on how i should get started. i'm quite convinced with his recommended portfolio but of course, it would be nice if i could gather some thoughts from the sifus here before i start committing into it.

kenanga growth fund - 10%
kaf vision fund - 10%
eastspring investment global emerging market fund - 10%
cimb principal asia pacific dynamic income fund - 20%
cimb principal global titans fund - 10%
rhb emerging market bond fund - 10%
affin hwang select bond fund - 10%
libra asnita bond fund - 20%

60% eq/40% fi

good portfolio to start off with?
Vintage
post May 30 2017, 10:15 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 30 2017, 09:54 PM)
Consolidate KAF > KGF = 20%
Eastapring > 5% Manulife india + 5% cimb greater china/10% india
Consolidate Rhb Emerging + Libra asnita > affin hwang.

You can use eUT to buy affin hwang select bond fund if you have >=rm5k. For this bond fund, ok to do lump sum one shot. This will save you few RM/year (no need to pay FSM MY platform fees).
thanks for the quick reply but could you please elaborate a bit why i should be considering your suggestions?

i heard from my gf to not buy manulife india for now as it's back up again. is it still a viable fund choice?

QUOTE(T231H @ May 30 2017, 09:59 PM)
yes, can try start with that portfolio for 2~3 yrs.....
in the meantime try to feel how your emotion response to the mkts movements.....
maybe you will feel that your portfolio returns maybe too slow or to volatile.......if in need and if possible try to make adjustment after the 2/3 yrs period.
if you really cannot sleep at night...then don't wait to make adjustment.
yes, i agree with you that i shouldn't touch my initial portfolio so soon as it's beneficial for me to learn markets movement through it. i'm open to any tweaks to the portfolio i posted if you have any!

Vintage
post May 30 2017, 10:46 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 30 2017, 10:42 PM)
read post# 5113, page# 256
sorry mate but i'm chinese illiterate. any english articles so i can read more in depth on the indian economy?
Vintage
post May 30 2017, 10:49 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 30 2017, 10:48 PM)
me too....I read that article in English....
at that site...select ENGLISH ....(located at upper RIGHT hand corner)
try it to see if it works....
oops didn't notice the english option. my bad.
Vintage
post Jun 5 2017, 05:33 PM

229 posts

i was discussing with my mother about fsm and all these platforms in general and she has concerns on their legitimacy. what kind of evidence does fsm provide to show that they actually made the investments on your behalf? do they provide a proof of purchase from the trust fund itself?
Vintage
post Jun 16 2017, 11:01 AM

229 posts

as a new fsm user, could someone here explain how long it takes for the ut to redistribute the units after a unit split?
Vintage
post Feb 25 2020, 06:17 PM

229 posts

hi guys, i've been holding kenanga growth fund since may 2017 and i still have negative growth at -2.39% as of today. if i were to sell the fund and reinvest to an up-and-coming fund, what would you all recommend?
Vintage
post Dec 28 2020, 07:06 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 28 2020, 06:13 PM)
Due to unit split exercise, Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Growth Fund - MYR NAV (24/12/2020) is also adjusted to 1.1379
Sorry, my maths very bad but how do I calculate my actual holding values currently? Is it my units * 1.6 * 1.1379?

0.0637sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:44 PM