4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Vanguard 2015
post Feb 15 2017, 05:13 PM

3,541 posts

This must be the most active thread in Lowyat. I don't think we need to monitor the share market anymore. Just monitor this thread. If it is very active, this means the share market is going up. tongue.gif

When is a good time to take profit? To wait for Trump's 100 days honeymoon period to finish? Or to do it now?

If you are doing it now, how much profit to skim off? For the ultra conversative or kiasu, they will skim off all the excess profit.

For those practising Value Averaging, if your profit is more than 4% from 1st January 2017 until 31st March 2017, then to skim off the extra 1% profit ala Value Averaging style. This is based on the assumption that you intend to make 12% per annum or 1% per month. The percentage to skim off will depend on your targeted annual profit.

For those who think they have over invested in US, they may sell off certain funds completely.

P/S: The more elegant term seems to be portfolio rebalancing rather than skimming off profits. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Feb 15 2017, 05:15 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 15 2017, 05:30 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 15 2017, 05:23 PM)
madness portfolio up 4.96% in 1 month from 12.1.17!!
gain from 61.9k to 73.8k
burstinganytime.
Congrats. Taking profit now or continue to ride the roller coaster?
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 17 2017, 05:38 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 17 2017, 01:17 PM)
thanks sold 20k, switched 20k, cant be too greedy.
Sounds like a good move. thumbsup.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 18 2017, 05:54 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(cogito @ Feb 18 2017, 04:41 PM)
hi, i'm new to ut
to all sifu here, do my profile like this look ok?

Libra AsnitaBond Fund - 10%
Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund - MYR - 15%
RHB Emerging Markets Bond Fund - 15%
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund - 20%
CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund - 20%
CIMB-Principal Greater China Equity Fund - 20%
My 2 cents, you may consider dumping CIMB Greater China and substituting it with CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Fund. Wider coverage.

Buy Affin Hwang Select Asia Quantum Fund 10% and put remaining 10% into the Eastspring Emerging Global Market Fund.

No wrong and right answer. Your money, your decision, bro.

P/S: My proposed portfolio will also cover the China markets but with better risk reward ratio.

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Feb 18 2017, 05:56 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 19 2017, 12:37 PM

3,541 posts

Newbies, please listen to T231H. His 2 posts above are some of the best advice you can get.

You have been warned by Xuzen.

Vanguard 2015
post Feb 21 2017, 05:50 PM

3,541 posts

I switched out all my RHB Small Cap Opportunity Unit Trust into the RHB Money Market Fund. Eventually this money will be transferred out into my stock market portfolio.

Maintaining KGF and ESIC in my FSM portfolio.
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 21 2017, 06:03 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 21 2017, 05:58 PM)
planning to buy which stock bro? let's share some info.
Please see my signature for the list of stocks which I have purchased in the past 2 weeks since I started my stock market investment (or trading) journey. I am active in Traders Kopitiam. Out of respect for the members here, we can continue our discussion there.

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Feb 21 2017, 06:09 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 21 2017, 06:49 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 21 2017, 06:41 PM)
ah shit. mobile can't view signatures. sure sure buddy! onward to stock exchange!
Happy Investing. Huat ar.

BTW you can switch to "desktop version" on your mobile phone by clicking on the button at the bottom of your screen.
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 23 2017, 11:05 AM

3,541 posts

I just switched my entire Eastspring Investments Global Leaders MY Fund into the Eastspring Bond Fund.

I need more ammo to top up when the market corrects itself in the future. I am maintaining my CIMB Global Titans Fund and the TA Global Technology Fund for exposure to the US market.

puchongite
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 23 2017, 05:35 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 23 2017, 12:00 PM)
Wahai sahabat penjaga van,

If you desire and wish for exposure to US stock-market, would it not be more efficient to participate in TA GTF in lieu of CIMB GTF. TA has approximate 75% US exposure whereas CIMB GTF is 33% US.

But if 100% US exposure is one's desire and wish, then Manulife US is a better product for that purpose.

Xuzen
My friend, I also need some exposure to global market like Japan and Europe as well. I don't have your bola besi to only invest in a few funds. biggrin.gif

That's why I chose TA GTF.
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 23 2017, 05:43 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 23 2017, 11:15 AM)
Thanks for the heads up.

p/s: care to reveal that's how many % of US focus switched out ?
If you are referring to my RHB US Focus Equity Fund, I have switched out completely as well.

This is not because I believe the US market will correct itself soon. It may or may not. Only God knows. What I know is that I have made some profits and I need to increase my bond portfolio, i.e. to adjust my asset allocation.
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 26 2017, 07:49 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(fingertips @ Feb 25 2017, 11:33 PM)
Hi sifu im 26 this year, want to invest 50k , u say what I just follow. Pls guide me lol.
Actually the FSM Recommmeded Portfolio is a good starting point. You can use it as a guide and tweak your portfolio from there.

Since you have RM50k to invest and assuming this is a substantial part of your savings, I would suggest you do DCA for the next 5 months or every alternate month. Just put RM10k for your initial investment into different funds and RM10k for the 2nd tranche, 3rd tranche, etc.

This is because the market can be volatile and you don't want to be caught investing one lump sum just before the storm hits.

Good luck in your investing journey!
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 27 2017, 11:45 AM

3,541 posts

Speaking from personal experience and after still being trapped in a private equity fund with a lock in period of 5 years, I would advise forumers here to stay away from them.

This is especially for close ended funds with minimum investment of RM100K with no possibility of DCA to average down the price. In this respect, I should have listened to Sifu Xuzen. bangwall.gif

Please learn from my mistake.

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Feb 27 2017, 11:46 AM
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 27 2017, 02:46 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 27 2017, 12:12 PM)
OIC! OIC!

I have always wondered why there are people in the FSM thread who can afford or qualify to buy wholesale unit trust fund (qualify as accredited / sophisticated status) and yet still insist to play around at the kiddie pool. Now, at least I can understand in a small way reason for this.

But sahabat penjaga van, what if it is a closed ended fund that offers capital guaranteed return or fixed return fund like bonds closed ended fund leh? Would you change your mind?

Xuzen
Sahabat Xuzen, I won't change my mind in the future even if the fund is capital guaranteed (sounds like an endowment policy but that's a story for another day).

I would rather have the chance to do DCA or VA or leap to another better horse within 5 years rather than being locked in.

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 27 2017, 12:17 PM)
Please share. What is the fund actually ? What caused it to tumbledown ?
The fund in question is RHB Pre-IPO & Special Situation Fund 3. It was launched in November 2015. Currently at -2.98%.

I won't say that the fund has tumbled. I am looking at the opportunity cost. I could have invested in other unit trusts like KGF as suggested by Xuzen. Even the fixed deposit rate would have beaten it hands down.

The previous RHB Pre-IPO was giving about 20% return per annum (Note to self : Past performance is not indicative of future performance).

But RHB Pre-IPO still have 3 years plus to go. Hopefully it will pick up (Note to self : This time it will be different? Or it would not be different? The hope of a delusional investor?) sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Feb 27 2017, 02:48 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Feb 27 2017, 04:43 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 27 2017, 04:22 PM)
Sahabat Penjaga Van,

Do not be disheartened. I, too, have attended the prelaunch seminar for the fund stated by you, organized by RHB. Let me recap some of the salient / selling points to you.
Xuzen

p/s a 15% annualized return will turn the MYR 100K into MYR 201,136.00 in five years time.  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif Hold till it mature.
Hi Xuzen, thank you for your encouraging words.

I still have much to learn in terms of keeping my ego and greed in place.
Vanguard 2015
post Mar 4 2017, 09:08 AM

3,541 posts

Why about using either constant dollar investing or value averaging to lock in the profits? Isn't that a better option than to cash out from a fund completely?

For e.g., for constant dollar investing, your equity fund portion is constant. Let's say you bought Eastspring Small Cap for RM10k. It has now increased 20%. You then transfer RM2k into Eastspring Bond Fund. Your EISC value is still RM10k. After 6 months, the market corrects and EISC drops 20%. You switched back all the Eastspring Bond into EISC free of charge using credit points. Note: Another variation of buy low, sell high?

Just my own thought. No right or wrong answer. Everyone has different investing style. 👍
Vanguard 2015
post Mar 9 2017, 11:26 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 9 2017, 11:12 AM)
Don't jinx it bro. =)
Kaka is a sis. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 9 2017, 11:23 AM)
rolleyes.gif  Just update it today... feeling happy!

This year did not purchase or topup any UT yet to date... everything has been good
Sis, no time no see. Sudah hilang pergi mana?
Vanguard 2015
post Mar 14 2017, 04:41 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 14 2017, 09:37 AM)
Seeing MYR at near all-time low against USD and SGD, and recent slowing down of RHB Asian Total Returns, I'm dumping all to raise cash, park in CMF.

But keeping RHB EM Bonds, portfolio yield still reasonably high at 5-6% (Re: United EM Bonds fact sheet from FSM Singapore website).
Pink Spider, am I reading your post correctly? Are you saying that you have sold off ALL your unit trusts in FSM except for RHB EM Bonds and park it under CMF?
Sounds rather ominous. Like the unit trusts are going to crash or something. sweat.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Mar 14 2017, 04:57 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 14 2017, 04:48 PM)
he dumping all as in Asian total return as the currency fluctuations affect it
Walao. I will wait for Pink Spider's confirmation. So he doesn't do asset allocation anymore between different funds in FSM?
Vanguard 2015
post Mar 14 2017, 07:13 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 14 2017, 05:31 PM)
I dumping RHB Asian Total Return only lar tongue.gif

Still keeping...

[
My take is that the potential gains have all been "milked", time to cash out
Okie, okie. Thanks for the clarification. You nearly gave me a heart attack with the earlier post. thumbsup.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:39 PM