FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Sitting Duck
post Jan 4 2021, 10:21 PM

472 posts

Hi Guys,

Need some guidance. Can anyone tell me what's "Available Credit(s)"?

I noticed there's an amount in there after doing intra fund switch.

Does the credit has any expiry date?

Sitting Duck
post Jan 4 2021, 11:30 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jan 4 2021, 10:28 PM)
Every time u switch equity to bond in the same fund house, u will get credit. U can use this credit to off set the sale charge next time if u switch from bond to equity in the same fund house again.
e.g: switch affin balanced fund to affin select bond i will get certain amount of credit.
Later i switch principal bond to principal global titan, i can use this credits to off set sales charge n get 0 % sales charge, provide ur credit is enough

No expiry
Many thanks.
So the credit can only be use for intra fund switch (same fund house) from bond to equity only?

Don't quite get understand why credit is given, i thought intra fund switch does not incur any sale charges , whether it's bond > equity or vise versa.

Sitting Duck
post May 10 2021, 07:46 PM

472 posts

Hi Bros,

I've received a sms from Principle Asset Management that reads:

RM0 Principal: Refer http://coe3.us/PRSR2S for letter to default option members for Principal Islamic PRS Plus & Principal PRS Plus.

When I click on the link given, I don't quite understand what it means.
I'm investing in PRINCIPAL PRS PLUS ASIA PACIFIC EX JAPAN EQUITY - CLASS C via FSM since 2020, and I'm over 40 years old.

Does it mean that for my subsequent investment into this PRS fund that the investment would go into "Principal PRS Plus Moderate" instead of "PRINCIPAL PRS PLUS ASIA PACIFIC EX JAPAN EQUITY - CLASS C" unless I write in a letter?

This is the link to the FIRST SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE DOCUMENT:

https://www.principal.com.my/sites/default/...20-%20Final.pdf

Sitting Duck
post May 23 2022, 11:05 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ May 19 2022, 11:07 PM)
Usd1
For ETF RSP, the fee really USD1 only?
Any other hidden fees involved?

When I look at this site: https://www.fsmone.com.my/etfs/get-started/stock-fees

There are: processing fee, stamp duty, Exchange Trading Fees, SEC fees,etc.

So I'm confused what are the fees involved for ETF RSP.

Sitting Duck
post May 24 2022, 09:48 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 24 2022, 07:17 AM)
From your link,... There is this....
Maybe you can get an estimates to the actual cost.
Unknown to the actual value of your trades, thus unknown to the actual impact of the calculation
QUOTE(sgh @ May 24 2022, 12:04 PM)
Just to share for FSM Spore via ETF RSP above fees are still needed and they add one item called Processing Fee as fee to maintain this ETF RSP program I guess. I notice when you input say 100 it does not mean they will buy all 100 worth of shares. Somehow they buy less than that and use the buffer to pay the fees etc.
Thanks. Still confused but I'll start with RM200 first, bi-monthly. Planning to change it to RM400 monthly if I'm not selected as one of the lucky 300. USD1 for RM200 is > 2% cost so bi-monthly may not be a good idea.

Thanks all.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: May 24 2022, 09:48 PM
Sitting Duck
post Jun 21 2022, 09:27 PM

472 posts

Hi Brothers & Sisters,

I am trying to understand what is domestic ringgit borrowing and it's impact to investment?

I'm planning to take up 2nd car loan. As far as I know, one is consider to have no domestic ringgit borrowing with 1 house and 1 car loan.

With 2 car loans, one would be deem to have domestic ringgit borrowing. So what would be the impact on investing because I remember Fundsupermart ask for annual update on investor domestic ringgit borrowing status. I think banks also constantly asking for the same update yearly.

Does it mean that if an investor have domestic ringgit borrowing, one would not be able to invest in ETF or stock market abroad (US , China , Singapore)? Does it affect investments locally as well? Would my investment option be lesser/limited because of domestic ringgit borrowing status?

Hope someone can advice me. I tried to google but couldn't find much information.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Jun 21 2022, 09:27 PM
Sitting Duck
post Nov 15 2022, 10:22 PM

472 posts

Hi Sifu,

I was going through the semi/annual report for Principle Global Titan Fund - MYR, and notice the following section about Unit Holder Statistics.

For Class MYR, does it mean that as of 31 Mar 2022, there are only total of 8215 accounts/investor that holds this fund?

I was expecting more investors.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Nov 15 2022, 10:23 PM

Sitting Duck
post May 30 2023, 09:44 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(buffa @ May 22 2023, 11:25 PM)
Been using fsmone RSP for US ETF for a year, weekly contributions with the free process fees promotion last time.

Gonna change to RSP monthly with the process fees.

Anyone also doing RSP with fsmone?
QUOTE(melondance @ May 23 2023, 06:00 PM)
I'm using FSMOne for RSP but only monthly though. Weekly seems too much IMO. I've enabled FPX E-Mandate to make it auto. Used Rakuten before but I'm not a big fan of their app and UI but they have cheaper fees.
I was doing RSP bi-weekly for US ETF for the past year due to free process fee during promotion and have now changed to monthly as well.

I am just wondering how much process fee going forward since i only invest small amount monthly. I hope the process fee wouldn't be too high. If it's more than 1% of my invested amount, I probably would change the RSP to Principle Global Titan fund.
Sitting Duck
post Jul 28 2023, 12:44 PM

472 posts

Received an email from FSM on RSP promotion for ETF.

"Dear Valued Investor,

Great news!

We're thrilled to announce our latest ETF Regular Savings Plan enhancement and a 0% subscription fee promotional campaign from 28 July 2023 to 31 December 2024, making it more rewarding to invest with us."

I wonder what is 0% subscription fee? Isn't it always been 0% subscription fee for RSP.

I've been RSP'ing into VOO for the past year about RM1000/month. I only know there are these fees for RSP ETF:

1. Processing Fees (USD 1.00)
2. MY Stamp Duty (USD 0.22)

I don't think these are "subscription fee". Any idea?

Sitting Duck
post Jul 28 2023, 06:51 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(zebras @ Jul 28 2023, 04:10 PM)

this is the subscription fee, i just got the answer from their customer service.

it mean ETF RSP will be 0% processing fee until 31 Dec 2024

innocent.gif
Thanks. I tried to get in touch with their customer service but couldn't get through.

So this is only applicable for new subscription to ETF RSP and not existing one?

I'm thinking to stop RSP to VOO and start a new one to QQQ to take advantage of the promotion.

I recall QQQ and VOO are almost similar.
Sitting Duck
post Jul 31 2023, 12:00 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(zebras @ Jul 28 2023, 04:10 PM)

this is the subscription fee, i just got the answer from their customer service.

it mean ETF RSP will be 0% processing fee until 31 Dec 2024

innocent.gif
QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 28 2023, 09:28 PM)
QUOTE(melondance @ Jul 29 2023, 04:08 PM)
Nice, seems like after 31 December 2024, there is no more minimum of 1 USD fee for ETF RSP. It is flat 0.08% now.

They also included AGG, SCHD, URTH ETF into RSP list.
https://www.fsmone.com.my/rsp
Just reached out to FSM CS and I was informed that existing ETF RSP would also enjoy this promo of 0% subscription fee.

I'll keep my RSP to VOO for time being and start RSP to QQQ once I have hit my target for VOO.

The 0.08% processing fee is also something wonderful as well. Based on my calculation, the overall cost for investing into ETF RSP would drop to about 0.25%, which is cheaper than UT.

However I'm doubtful it would really be 0.08% without any minimal amount. Maybe they just forgot to in that page.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Jul 31 2023, 07:48 PM
Sitting Duck
post Aug 21 2023, 07:36 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Aug 2 2023, 04:18 PM)
If it's really 0.08% flat. That would be nice haha.
Based on my latest RSP of RM1k / USD214.65, the only fee charge was MY Stamp Duty of USD0.22 (0.1x% fee) which is awesome.
Exchange rate was about ~4.65 on 15th of August.

On another side note, got an email from FSM about "AmAsia Pacific REITs".

"The purpose of the Unit Holders’ Meeting is to change the income distribution policy of the Fund to allow the Fund to declare distribution out of its capital and that FURTHER the Manager and/or the trustee of the Fund shall be authorised to do all such things necessary to give effect to the change of distribution policy of the Fund in accordance with the relevant laws, guidelines and the provisions of the Deed. "

Isn't this something that's bad for the fund that they are paying dividend even if the fund isn't performing?

Sitting Duck
post Aug 24 2023, 12:09 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(george_dave91 @ Aug 23 2023, 04:10 PM)
Hi Sifus

I’m planning to invest in PRS fund for the tax relief, but looking at most of the funds, the performance seems to be quite poor. Does anyone know of some decent PRS funds?

So far the principal Islamic equity growth seems to be alright-ish
I have 2 PRS with FSM.

Kenanga OnePRS Growth Fund - since 2016, 17.05% return, 2.36% annualized.

PRINCIPAL PRS PLUS ASIA PACIFIC EX JAPAN EQUITY - CLASS C - since 2020, -3.38% so far sad.gif

I'm in for tax relief, any profit made is a plus.

PRS tax relief is until 2025. So 3 more years to go (hopefully gov extends it).

Sitting Duck
post Sep 1 2023, 02:10 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(zebras @ Sep 1 2023, 09:35 AM)
Eh? I thought processing fee would be 0% until end of the 2024 or all new and existing subscriptions. Based on the picture, seems like new subscriptions after 30th September would no longer enjoy the 0% processing fee confused.gif

Edited: Just spoken to FSM customer service, and got this reply "The promotion will only applies to those ETFs that you have applied earlier. Those after the campaign will not eligible to the 0% processing fees".

So it applies to ETF RSP applied earlier, which is awesome biggrin.gif

Anyone has any other good ETF under RSP list to recommend apart of VOO?
I was thinking to add SPY or QQQ but both are almost identical to VOO.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Sep 1 2023, 02:58 PM
Sitting Duck
post Sep 1 2023, 09:46 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(zebras @ Sep 1 2023, 05:15 PM)
SMH for semicon? semicon is the new oil
Thanks for the recommendation. SMH looks very interesting.

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Sep 1 2023, 05:32 PM)
QQQ is not identical to VOO 🤦‍♀️ when VOO has BRKB and UNH as their top holdings 🤦‍♀️

VOO and SPY and IVV are basically the same thing 🤦‍♀️ as they benchmark against the S&P 500 index

The only thing that they are identical is that all of them hold magnificent 7 plus NVIDIA albeit QQQ has heavy weightage on it
Thanks for the feedback. It looked pretty same from their top 25 holding. So I did a quick check in chatgpt and got the following answer. Pretty interesting.

==== CHATGPT ====

SPY, VOO, and QQQ are all exchange-traded funds (ETFs) that are traded on the stock market, but they track different indices and have distinct characteristics. Here are the key differences between them:

Underlying Indices:

SPY (SPDR S&P 500 ETF Trust): SPY tracks the S&P 500 index, which consists of 500 of the largest publicly traded companies in the United States, covering various sectors of the economy. It is designed to represent the performance of the overall U.S. stock market.

VOO (Vanguard S&P 500 ETF): VOO also tracks the S&P 500 index, so it provides similar exposure to large-cap U.S. stocks as SPY. The main difference between the two is the issuer and expense ratio, with VOO being offered by Vanguard, known for its low-cost ETFs.

QQQ (Invesco QQQ Trust): QQQ tracks the NASDAQ-100 index, which includes 100 of the largest non-financial companies listed on the NASDAQ stock exchange. These companies are often technology-focused, including major tech giants like Apple, Microsoft, Amazon, and Alphabet (Google).

Holdings:

SPY and VOO primarily consist of large-cap U.S. stocks, offering broad exposure to the U.S. equity market.

QQQ focuses on a narrower segment of the market, with an emphasis on technology and growth stocks. This makes it more tech-heavy compared to SPY and VOO, which have a more balanced sector allocation.

Performance and Risk:

The performance of these ETFs will vary based on the performance of their respective underlying indices. Historically, the NASDAQ-100 (tracked by QQQ) has shown more volatility and the potential for higher returns due to its tech-heavy composition, while the S&P 500 (tracked by SPY and VOO) is considered a broader representation of the overall U.S. market.

QQQ may be more volatile and may have higher potential for gains but also higher potential for losses compared to SPY and VOO.

Expense Ratios:

Expense ratios represent the annual fees charged by the ETF issuer to manage the fund. Generally, lower expense ratios are preferred by investors because they result in lower costs. VOO typically has a lower expense ratio compared to SPY, while QQQ's expense ratio is also competitive.
Dividend Yield:

SPY and VOO tend to have higher dividend yields compared to QQQ. This is because the S&P 500 index includes a broader range of companies, including those that pay dividends, while the NASDAQ-100 includes many growth-oriented companies that reinvest their profits rather than paying dividends.
In summary, the main differences between SPY, VOO, and QQQ lie in their underlying indices, sector exposures, risk profiles, and expense ratios. Your choice among these ETFs should align with your investment goals, risk tolerance, and preferences for sector exposure.

Sitting Duck
post Sep 4 2023, 12:45 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 4 2023, 09:37 AM)
Ahh was thinking to RSP 200 each time, but if the stamp duty is min RM1 then it doesn’t make sense
RM 200 with USD0.22 stamp duty / ~RM1 stamp duty is about 0.5% fee.

0.5% fee is a very reasonable seeing that UT charges more than 0.5%.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Sep 4 2023, 12:46 PM
Sitting Duck
post Sep 4 2023, 10:54 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 4 2023, 03:06 PM)
Thanks bro. Have you compared the latest ETF promo from FSM vs IBKR in terms of the fee?

Assuming I have 500 to be DCA into VOO every month, is FSM the cheapest way ATM?
Sorry bro. I don't have IBKR and never done a comparison.
For me IBKR is complicated (opening IBKR account, foreign bank account , transfer money, lump sum investment). I did read up the guide given in another thread but it was still complicated for me.

When FSM introduced ETF RSP with 0 processing fee back in 2021, I jumped into it immediately since it was my first and only opportunity to invest in US ETF with limited amount of RM I have.

I've no plans nor much time to study market. Just planning to DCA monthly, like a force saving.
I'm hopeful the return would be better than FD by the time I retired.

Since I'm already DCA'ing into VOO, I'm planning to apply RSP for SMH.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Sep 4 2023, 10:55 PM
Sitting Duck
post Sep 5 2023, 12:13 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 5 2023, 12:23 AM)
Do you have to reapply the RSP in order to get the 0% processing for your VOO?
No need to reapply to get the 0% processing fee.
The promotion is valid for existing and new RSP applied before 30-September.
I've checked this with FSM customer service.
My VOO RSP for month of August was 0% processing fee (RM1/USD0.22) only.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Sep 5 2023, 12:16 PM
Sitting Duck
post Sep 5 2023, 10:18 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(ehwee @ Sep 5 2023, 08:06 PM)
I also thought IBKR is bit complicated for me, having a unofficial bypass solution to use IBKR is a troublesome for me, just wonder why IBKR don't apply necessary permit or license from BN, or what are the reasons why BN doesn't recognize IBKR?

How is your ETF RSP experience with FSM btw, are you earning now? can share with us, thanks.
I'm happy with FSM and i feel that the fee is reasonable compared with UT (not IBKR).
I have no bad experience with FSM customer service nor ETF RSP.

Only thing to take note is probably there's a fix schedule monthly to sell partial unit (unit less than 1). and make sure you have sufficient fund in the cash account for the RSP.
I think the 0 processing fee is only applicable to buy orders and not sell order. Not sure anyone has any info about fees when selling.

Started RSP to VOO in May 2022 with RM200 then slowly increased to RM1000/month. So far the return is about 12% (note that the market was really good since June 2023).

Btw, this is my own experience and not financial advice to invest. I'm not an expert nor certified financial planner. Just a small duck trying to save as much as possible for golden years.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 5 2023, 08:53 PM)
Cause ibkr deal with Forex stuff and Malaysian govt doesn't like Forex. Also Malaysian ringgit is not widely traded unlike SGD. So no point they have license in Malaysia.

Sitting Duck IBKR is not complicated. You just need to spend one time opening account. You can skip foreign bank account opening id you dont want to save money long term. You can just open Ibkr andpay using Malaysian bank.
Thanks for advice. Probably I'm just lazy to go through the whole process. Now that there's FSM, I'm happy with FSM for now. Will explore IBKR in the future if FSM disappoints me. For now I don't want to deal with a foreign investment company and I feel safer with FSM since FSM is regulated in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Sep 5 2023, 10:23 PM
Sitting Duck
post Feb 3 2024, 08:24 PM

472 posts

Hi All,

I'm still confused what to answer in this question "Do you have Domestic Ringgit Borrowing".

In BNM website,

Domestic ringgit borrowing refers to any ringgit advance, loan, trade financing, hire purchase, factoring, leasing facilities, redeemable preference shares or similar facility in whatever name or form, except: •Trade credit terms extended by a supplier for all types of goods and services;
•Forward exchange contracts entered into with licensed onshore banks;
•One personal housing loan and one vehicle loan obtained from residents;
•Credit card and charge card facilities; and
•Inter-company borrowing within a corporate group in Malaysia.

whereas the definition of Residents:

Residents:
•Citizens of Malaysia (excluding persons who have obtained permanent resident status of a territory outside Malaysia and are residing abroad);
•Non-citizens who have obtained permanent resident status in Malaysia and are residing permanently in Malaysia; or
•Persons, whether body corporate or unincorporated, registered or approved by any authority in Malaysia.

So if I have 1 or more car loan/house loan from banks (not Resident), and I do invest ETF in overseas, does it mean I have choose Yes for "Domestic Ringgit Borrowing"?

The definition is confusing to me since I'm not financial background.

Anyone can help?

Thank you

0.0741sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:07 PM