FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

encikbuta
post Apr 2 2021, 03:32 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(yycclin @ Apr 2 2021, 09:50 AM)

Save to keep this fund ?
if it helps at all, i got the following reply from FSM when i asked about the United ASEAN Discovery Fund email:

FSM ClientHelp: "The new classes of units only means that the fund house wants to expand the fund in multiple foreign currency classes in order to grow the fund’s size, rather than only having MYR class like at the moment. Since the unitholders meeting has been arranged, the fund house would like to put as many resolutions as they can in order to be efficient. Whether the resolutions will get enough votes are still remain to be seen."

anyway, i voted 'yes' to all their resolutions biggrin.gif they did super well in 2019 and 2020 so i'm quite excited to see what else they can do with other currency classes.

This post has been edited by encikbuta: Apr 2 2021, 03:35 PM
encikbuta
post Apr 2 2021, 06:49 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 2 2021, 03:57 PM)
how did u vote?
They attached a form with the email. There are 3 resolutions on the form. Just mark 'for' or 'against', sign off then send back to FSM. They will send to the fund manager on ur behalf. I also asked them to sign as witness which they obliged.
encikbuta
post May 4 2021, 09:51 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(ryse_photo @ May 4 2021, 02:18 PM)
Hi, quick question. I'm planning on rebalancing my investment portfolio next month. Did some research on it, found the 2 methods of rebalancing;
1. Sell some of the overweight position & buy into the underweight position
2. No selling, only buy - Add more into the underweighted position

Is there any pro n cons with any of these method? If you have ever did a rebalancing before, can share ur experience ah? Thank you in advance!
p/s: this is my first time doing rebalancing. started investing in 2020, decided to do rebalancing annually on June
I'm currently going hard with Method 2. If you only buy underweighted positions, you just get hit with the 1.5% sales charge once when you first enter the position.

But with Method 1 (rebalancing), remember that you alrdy kena the 1.5% sales charge when you first enter the position. Say 6 months has passed and the fund has performed very well. It has now become overweight and you initiate your Method 1 tactic (sell overweight fund and buy underweight fund). In the process of buying the underweight fund, you will kena again 1.5% sales charge. Each rebalancing event, the 1.5% sales charge (on purchasing underweight fund) will keep eating into your profits. You COULD theoretically counter this by just buying funds from the same fund house (switching between same fund house is zero cost) but I have yet to stumble upon a fund house that performed well in every region or asset class.

In a world without sales charges, I would definitely go with Method 1 and be rebalancing every single month biggrin.gif
encikbuta
post Jun 3 2021, 11:32 AM

275 posts

I'm curious about this. In the month of May 2021, it was the good performance of the Principal Greater China fund (+3%) that pulled my portfolio into the green. I don't hold the AmChina A Shares fund but i had a look and it did very well also (+7%). May i ask what China/HK funds are you holding that dragged your portfolio down?
encikbuta
post Jun 14 2021, 12:35 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(ganesh1696 @ Jun 14 2021, 11:55 AM)
Hi friends,

Are there any options to invest in US based index fund in MALAYSIA apart from STASHAWAY.

I could only figure out options in Singapore (FSMONE and TIGER BROKERS)

Are these platforms safe and trustworthy enough to invest in ?
As I am residing in Malaysia, and I don't have any bank account in Singapore .
This means both deposits and withdrawal will be charged high fees.

Anyone have invested in US based index fund eg: VOO(Vanguard 500 Index Fund ETF) apart from (STASHAWAY MY & SG).

share your opinions.
like you, i too have very little trust in investing via foreign brokers (IBKR, FSM Singapore, Tiger Brokers, etc). so i am just waiting on FSM Malaysia to enable purchase of stocks/etf in NYSE. they said the feature will be enabled some time this year. if the fees are reasonable, then i intend to transfer all my funds in United Global Quality Equity Fund (UGQEF) to VOO (or whatever S&P500 index etf provided).

P/S: My UGQEF is underperforming the S&P500 Index sad.gif
encikbuta
post Jun 14 2021, 05:05 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 14 2021, 04:30 PM)
you don't have Stashaway? Its is in general able to match SP500 for the 36% Risk Index portfolio.
hope this isn't off topic to this thread. yea, i am also invested in StashAway 36% but right now, it's 20% GLD, 40% Asia and only 40% USA. so it is not mostly invested in USA like i hoped. That said, I will still keep StashAway in my portfolio (for now) because their portfolio allocation has been doing quite well. and i will accept from time to time, they will change their USA & Asia & Precious Metals weightage based on whatever their system decides.

but going back to ganesh's question, i still prefer to have a portion of my investment to be fully (or mostly) invested in USA at all times. right now that would be United Global Quality Equity Fund but i'm hoping in the future to move it all to an ETF that tracks the S&P500 i.e. VOO, IVV, SPY.
encikbuta
post Jul 16 2021, 05:38 PM

275 posts

i'm sexcited damn it!

hoping the fees will be competitive notworthy.gif
encikbuta
post Jan 4 2022, 03:15 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(ROSS_Solar @ Jan 4 2022, 02:51 PM)
Any new re: what had happened to RHB Islamic Bond?
-14.59% in one go.... not a distribution
related?

CIMB says MEX RM1.3b Islamic Bonds Suspended

i think RHB bond fund holds quite a bit of MEX.

This post has been edited by encikbuta: Jan 4 2022, 03:16 PM
encikbuta
post Jan 11 2022, 04:09 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jan 11 2022, 03:18 PM)
Hey guys I'm planning to use FSMOne to purchase some ETFs. I know IBKR is lower transaction fee, but if I'm making trades around RM10,000, the USD8.80 feels like it's an acceptable tradeoff for the convenience (no need open overseas account and do Wise to IBKR etc.)

Or are there other better local platforms available?
strictly talking about local SC-approved platforms, FSMOne seems to be the best option (disclaimer - I haven't started myself yet because i'm waiting on Rakuten Trade, more on that later).

MIDF Invest is a close competition (USD8 for <USD 1,000/trade) but the rating on Google Play Store suggests that the interface is quite buggy.

Very far in 3rd place are the bank-related platforms like HLebroking & Maybank which has a USD25 min trading fee sad.gif

Rakuten Trade is introducing US trading on their platform really soon so i'd wait for (hopefully) a more competitive fee structure from them before settling down on FSM.

This post has been edited by encikbuta: Jan 11 2022, 04:09 PM
encikbuta
post Feb 25 2022, 02:43 PM

275 posts

ah crap, they decided to close the United Global Quality Equity Fund from new investors. invest via RSP is still allowed but problem is, i invest different amount every month (not RSP) sad.gif

time to look for another global-type fund to pump in future money.

encikbuta
post Mar 9 2022, 02:30 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Mar 9 2022, 02:07 PM)
It does make me feel better to know that I'm not alone. Others had it much worse.
yea let's all do a "loss-porn" thread!

i lost a total of RM36k from August 2021 till now, lol. that includes FSM, StashAway & stocks ler.

almost half of that total loss (~RM15k) incurred from this month alone, haha.
encikbuta
post Mar 9 2022, 02:43 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Mar 9 2022, 02:36 PM)
Can I know you started investment in Aug 2021 only? That is considered fairly newbie. So unlucky to get hit with market correction. But if you have other investment that is started say 10 years ago they are also bleeding red color? In investment time horizon quite important.
nah, i invested since i started work ~12 yrs ago. i picked Aug-21 coz it's when my portfolio began bleeding coz of China big tech crackdown & US inflation. then Russia war really sped the losses up in Feb-22 & especially Mar-22!

but no worries, that's life smile.gif it was a long time coming since my portfolio made +20% in year 2020, haha.

oh to answer your last question, my overall portfolio still very much green la. like you said, time horizon makes a lot of difference.

This post has been edited by encikbuta: Mar 9 2022, 02:48 PM
encikbuta
post Apr 13 2022, 04:18 PM

275 posts

Deleted - FSM called me again to clarify about the FX spread for the cash account. for those interested, at around 5pm today, the rates are:
- Buy (MYR -> USD): 4.25251
- Sell (USD -> MYR): 0.23768

Roughly 1.06% spread

This post has been edited by encikbuta: Apr 13 2022, 05:17 PM

encikbuta
post May 19 2022, 11:22 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(george_dave91 @ May 19 2022, 03:29 AM)
Btw what do you guys think of the fact that many personal finance influencers often demonise investing in unit trusts. How have your experiences been with UTs, robos(most are practically mutual funds in a way), other collective investment schemes vs your own direct investments in stocks?

I feel this is really bad as the younger investors would then be led to think that if they just do “the work” they would be the next warren buffet. Meanwhile they’d be missing out on the comppunding effect that is absolutely crucial in the early years. I would generally encourage investors, especially newbies to start out with UTs. Set up the min and dca the minimum in that collective investment scheme. But then eventually if one has extra I feel they should use it to invest in stocks directly. That way they can see if they can do better than a ut. If they can then great! You’re part of that 1%. However, if we are honest about our returns, I’m sure the majority 60-80% of retail investors actually have terrible returns in the stock market, but keep it a secret. There’s nothing wrong with that tho. Learning how to choose a decent ut and dca-ing into them would easily put you miles ahead of your poor performance from pretending to be a fund manager. Nothing wrong with 5-8% annual returns vs hoping to make double digit returns but effectively making -ve returns or 3–6% returns at best.

Back in the days they’d say those who say UTs are great and downplay direct stock investing are probably agents whore trying to make money out of you. However these days it seems to be the reverse. Most of those who trash UTs are probably selling you a course, making lien y from YouTube videos about stocks etc.

Guess the moral of the story is, be honest with yourself, what’s your actual capability. Not everyone is made for stock investing and there’s nothing wrong with that. Just look for the alternative that has the highest chance of success instead of looking for the highest potential outcome.

The statics have been well studied. The majority of investors are plain bad at investing. Most of us here (personal finance nerds hahaha) are what those statistics refer to. Yes it’s us the personal finance nerds, who think we may be the next warren buffet. Reality check tho, these stats are not referring to the general public, cz the general public don’t invest to begin with. Be honest with your capabilities guys. Serious stock investing is a full time job (the job here being studying mostly). To quote William J. Bernstein “ No one in his right mind would walk into the cockpit of an airplane and try to fly it, or into an operating theater and open a belly. And yet they think nothing of managing their retirement assets. I've done all three, and I'm here to tell you that managing money is, in its most critical elements even more demanding than the first two”

That being said, don’t get me wrong, I’m not discouraging people from investing in stocks. I’m all for it actually. I think we should all try. It certainly keeps our ears to the ground. Depdjimg on your performance you’d know which portfolio should be your core investment. What I’m outlining here is bashing UTs and other collective investment schemes.
Hahaha sorry for the unnecessarily long rant that no one asked for guys. Just thinking about how I would’ve done things differently.
my humble two cents:

1. Actively Managed Funds (Unit Trust / Mutual Fund / Active ETF): Good for inefficient & unstable markets where price discovery (i.e. discounts) can be found by skilled & well connected fund managers. Malaysia is a prime example. The local reputable mutual funds perform WAAAYYY better than the KLSE index.

2. Self-Investing (stock picking): Can only speak from own experience. It sucked balls. In 3 years dabbling in Bursa, while I managed to earn like 50 - 100% returns in about 5x stocks, I lost 20 - 30% in the other 20x stocks. Overall, I made only 1% p.a. in 3 years, lol. I personally believe that commoners like us have very little chance against the whales of the stock market. With enough time & effort, good returns can be made but you'd have upgraded yourself to a professional fund manager, not really a part-time investor.

3. Passive Funds (Index Mutual Funds, Passive ETFs): Good for efficient & developed markets (i.e. USA & Eur) where price discovery opportunities are very low.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.9079sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:12 PM