11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

post Jun 27 2017, 04:46 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(BAMyouhaveAIDS @ Jun 27 2017, 03:58 PM)
hi all, I'm a newbie in UT investments.. I'm looking to invest a min of 3 funds starting off with RM1000 each. I have a few fund in mind but need opinion from ktards

1. Eatspring Investments Small-cap fund
2. CIMB Principal greater china equity fund
3. Manulife Investment - India Equity
gauging from your fund choices, it seems you can afford aggressive funds. EI small cap cannot buy now. Buy KGF / Interpac Dynamic/Dana safi or even more aggressive - RHB Gold & General.
post Jun 28 2017, 10:17 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 28 2017, 08:45 AM)
hmm.gif I am trying to figure out reasons for your posting that says "CIMB Principal greater china equity fund this one for short term".
how/why do you say that? what is the rational for it?

I saw this in its Product Highlighted sheet

2. Who is this product suitable for? 
The recommended investment timeframe for this Fund is three (3) years or more.
The Fund is suitable for investors who: 
* have a medium-term to long-term investment horizon; 
* wish to participate in the growth potential of the Greater China markets; 
* can accept that investment returns may fluctuate significantly over the short-term and may even be negative; and/or 
* seek capital appreciation over medium-term to long-term.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...ceMYCIMB011.pdf
He might have meant he personally use it as a speculation tool.
post Jun 28 2017, 11:08 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 28 2017, 11:01 AM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif that is what i thought too....
i was a little "shocked" when i read that...for i got abit of CIMB GCEF in my portfolio which i planned for LONG terms

anyway will be waiting/looking forward for his rational in mentioning that.......maybe i got something to learnt from it....
My opinion only, does not constitutes truth.
Perhaps it is the perceived risk of the fund itself for the person having exposed to these funds for relatively short time.
In the past few years, CIMB GCEF has been a roller coaster with large ups and downs, compared to the India strong growth and the already low FBMKLCI which have been on a relatively stable upward trend?
Well this is just the perceived way of seeing the risk/reward of the funds. Hence I deduced that's why he might use GCEF for short term.
post Jun 29 2017, 06:25 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 29 2017, 06:04 PM)
Damn I have class on that day...hope someone can share some insights. So it is being upgraded from taylors campus to KLCC. FSM must have made loads during this one year.
post Jun 30 2017, 09:27 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 30 2017, 07:54 AM)
I think he saw that there is no buy button for those funds, thus he thought it was due to soft closing......
but in actual fact (based on me not FSM).....it is as per image.

btw,..
1) next time if encountered this same scenario,...don't say fund closed today? but try to say, why there is no buy button for this fund?
2) if want to buy, try to buy next week...most probably got discount announcement prior to coming seminar  innocent.gif
I guess it is Financial Year End, and each Fund House needs to resubmit their prospectus to SC.
post Jun 30 2017, 12:17 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 30 2017, 09:27 AM)
Looks like another strategic top up for ta global for today.

I'm going in....
Okay here's my top up for this month.

Esther Bond - 1000
Ta Global - 500
Rhb EMBF - 500
KGF- 500
Ponzi 2.0 - RSP 250

next month's strategic top up

Amasia reit 500
TA Global 500
KGF 500
Esther Bond 1000
Rhb EMBF 500
You have total of 6 funds in your port now?

post Jun 30 2017, 12:25 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 30 2017, 12:21 PM)
9 to be exact.
Hows the port look like? Care to share why no top up for others?
post Jun 30 2017, 12:43 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 30 2017, 12:29 PM)
No it doesn't. NAV or net asset value is not supply or demand driven.
Fund houses can manipulate fund prices easily.

For eg, if Fund A want to reduce it's NAV from 1.00 to 0.10, all they have to do is declare dividend of 1000% and walla you get 10X more units and the NAV is reduced to  by 10X.
I think many people think that the lower the NAV, you get more units per RM invested. Hence when the NAV increases, the gains is more.
But if the fund with high NAV is doing well, with less units per same amount of RM invested, your return in RM terms should still be the same.
If a fund with low NAV is doing similarly well, with more units per same amount of RM invested, your return in RM terms should be the same, since there are more units to divide the same gains.
Am I right? confused.gif
post Jul 3 2017, 12:05 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(Msxxyy @ Jul 2 2017, 11:21 PM)
Boss, what if the price is lower than you bought when you wana sell it after 5 years?

Few months back started with affin hwang quantum.
Now 1k for TA global fund, cimb dynamic n global titans other following Sifus suggestion on allocation (kgf, manulife reits, affin income bond n rhb em) but just do rsp for those...
"Too bad. You have made a loss. Thank you." End.
post Jul 6 2017, 11:07 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 6 2017, 11:01 AM)
This is really a pain in your know where. For long term, US you have my support to blast NK into pieces ! But make sure you have Russian and China on your side first before doing it !  devil.gif
Any funds that buys into US defense industries? biggrin.gif
post Jul 7 2017, 12:46 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Jul 4 2017, 08:28 PM)
Noob question.

If we include Cash Management Fund in the Portfolio Spreadsheet, would it affect the calculated IRR?

Personally, I include it for record wise. But in the list number (first column), I change the number to 0. So it would not take into account for ROI. But IRR still counts because it is an uninvested amount of your whole portfolio. ROI only take into account the 'money invested'.

Correct me if I'm wrong
post Jul 8 2017, 06:19 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(ronho @ Jul 8 2017, 03:07 PM)
FSM what on offer ??
What is FSM?
post Jul 9 2017, 10:29 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 9 2017, 08:53 AM)
I got a report for replying to that question. Please tell me if you get a report, then I know I am no way comparable to you. I think with your fans, you are near to being God already. LOL.
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 9 2017, 11:50 AM)
lol just look at the title of the thread..
Its FundSuperMart @ FSM tongue.gif
I'm appalled some people do not see the sarcasm; some do not realise I have been regular participant in this thread.
post Jul 13 2017, 09:37 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 13 2017, 07:32 AM)
I am not challenging it but I am wondering where did you get the data from and whether you have accounted for the case of nominee accounts.

Since FSM is one big nominee account, the counts of account holders within FSM will be useful information which might not be available to Interpac.
TL;DR, from what I am looking at the annual report ends 31 March 2017

of course, things may have changed a lot in 3 months.
post Jul 14 2017, 12:37 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(yruns1 @ Jul 14 2017, 12:26 AM)
many thanks Sifu..
I have checked and indeed the RHB is just a "shell" for the real fund, which is actually managed by UOB, and the detailed annual report is found on FSM Singapore
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/funds/factsheet/UOB033

Btw, FSM Singapore website is just, wow.. so much better than FSM MY!  icon_idea.gif
which is quite bad for the retail investors, simply because they act as shell, basically do nothing apart from doing paperwork to SC compliance, because the FM of the fund they feed into does all the work, but the shell get free profit from it.
post Jul 14 2017, 10:41 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 14 2017, 09:59 AM)
Feeder fund investor pays more for the managements fees ? That will be another UT topic.

I am reading this.

http://www.investopedia.com/terms/f/feederfund.asp

But still wonder if feeder fund investors will actually pay more.
maybe need other sifus to shed light on this.
take TA GTF for example.
we pay 1.88% to TA Investments & Maybank Trustee
then the master fund (Henderson Horizon Global Technology Fund) charges 1.88% management fee also.
If that assumption is true then the underlying assets must be doing extremely well for the retail investors to be able to profit.
post Jul 14 2017, 09:11 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(HahaCat @ Jul 14 2017, 08:07 PM)
See u all tomorrow, I will be at front row. Interpac > all fund. Interpac up up up. Double nett worth in a year. Next year sell all and buy bond also nvm. #goalachieved U need to make one big informed bet at least once or else u r juz saving sex for old age. Wowowoowowowoowow.
Not trying to be mean, but bragging only happens when you win.
When you win, everything you do seems to be right, you would think it is an informed decision.
If you lose, whatever due diligence you might have made before betting seems to be a vain effort.
Look at Jack Ma. Nobody knows him 10 years ago. Now suddenly everything he did and doing seems to be right thing.
Then take a look at Ron Wayne who has sold his share in Apple for a few hundred bucks, and now being called dumb ass because he pulled.
These are all retrospect / hindsight.
And of course, nobody would brag if they lose.
Even if they made the most informed decision (so they think) to bet on the market, when they lose, they are just dumb ass losers to the winners.

Cheers to your winning. I'm also heavily in Interpac. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by 2387581: Jul 14 2017, 09:12 PM
post Jul 14 2017, 10:05 PM

755 posts

The thing about dupe account hasn't cross my mind.
1. FSM have a buy call on this fund a few months ago (early 1H2017)
2. 1H2017 Bursa has been going bull
3. Interpac offers 0% SC, and no withdrawal penalty
4. on the Chinese forum, Interpac is a golden-egg laying goose to many. There's even this guy who proclaim he borrow money to buy Interpac rclxms.gif
post Jul 14 2017, 10:10 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 14 2017, 10:08 PM)
I think people like Lee Sook Yee is going to get worried if this fund manager is really a powerful fund manager.
speaking of which, my newly bought KGF about 2 month ago is still in the reds. And it has been going sideways.
post Jul 19 2017, 11:33 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 19 2017, 10:43 AM)
Come come. Amanah saham. Good time, bad time, one gets min 6%.
It is out of the question as there are no available units for people other than Malays/Bumi...?

This post has been edited by 2387581: Jul 19 2017, 11:35 AM

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0640sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:40 PM