80 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

WhitE LighteR
post Jan 29 2018, 03:11 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 29 2018, 02:15 PM)
Since this is a FSM thread, let's say a few things good about FSM.

1. Customer service is definitely better than eUT.
2. FSM has managed portfolio.
3. FSM has credit system.
4. FSM has tier discount on S.C.
5. FSM graphing and tools are more sophisticated.
6. FSM range funds is wider, including wholesale funds.
7. ......
7. FSM is my first love
8. ......
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 29 2018, 03:40 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Did eUT organized an event like FSM before?
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 29 2018, 04:07 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Jan 29 2018, 03:50 PM)
yes, annual event, even with food & drink provided.
Open to all or just their own members? FSM last one seems to be open to anyone...
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 29 2018, 04:44 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(tcgien @ Jan 29 2018, 04:43 PM)
Thinking when is the time to re enter Interpac Dana Safi again.

Seems like this fund keep non stop diarhea.
From the chart, definitely not now... It's still in downtrend
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 29 2018, 07:52 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Jan 29 2018, 07:29 PM)
I think not well publicised, but was invited as existing customer
Awww.. too bad then.
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 29 2018, 11:14 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(biastee @ Jan 29 2018, 09:55 PM)
Semi-annual report emailed to me last week showed that the cash fraction has increased further to 36%.
[attachmentid=9556743]
TA global tech is becoming more like mixed asset fund now. They have about 292 million in bank earning less than 3% p.a interest

You can see at page 24 of the report.
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 31 2018, 08:57 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Jan 31 2018, 08:31 PM)
correction is good, time to buy more haha
How can u be sure this "correction" won't be a start of a crash laugh.gif
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 1 2018, 10:55 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(jangyelo @ Feb 1 2018, 10:48 PM)
Does it normally take T+4 days for you guys when you purchase an investment into a fund?
Yes
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 2 2018, 12:48 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 2 2018, 11:12 AM)
Another month has passed and it is time for Algoport™ ver four update:

Jan 2018 is a suckish month for my port. I made a loss of 0.4% M-o-M. The loss is mainly from IDS [ -5.22 % ] and RHB - EMB [ -3.64% ]. Both I have sold mid Jan 18 with a cut - loss intention. Moved them to Dinasti and KGF.

IDS was an experimental exposure for me, I placed only a small amount, about RM 15K only for test water.

As for RHB - EMB, I entered in July 2017 because it offered a good risk to reward ratio [ 1.5 ] at that time and a low corr-coeff. It was also a bet on the strong USD / MYR movement. Now, two of the three criterias are no longer there, it does not look attractive to me anymore and have no place in my port. Forex is a double edged sword. It cuts both ways... I shall remember that.

For those who play forex, remember, you are a trader not an investor. In my book, a trader role is buy-sell an asset, whereas an investors are passive, they are not concern with the daily up and down. Neither are wrong and both group of people can make money. You just need to be aware which group you belong too because the strategies employed will be different.

On Esther bond, she is behaving badly recently... like Aoi Sora on a bad flu day. I have identified a replacement for her. I have also identified the exit point, if and when she [ Esther Bond ] hits a certain threshold, she will be replaced.

On the winner side, I have TA Tech, KGF and Dinasti to mitigate my loss.

Some technical indicators:

12 mths rolling ROI is 6.XX %

12 months rolling Std-dev is 8.XX%

12 months rolling risk to reward ratio < 1. Not so good... will try to be better.

Skewness is slight positive, which means the port has a slight tendency to have an outcome that is +ve to the mean.

Kurtosis is negative. Negative kurtosis means that the data points have greater tendency to congregate at the mean outcome than a positive kurtosis. I lay man's term, positive kurtosis aka excess kurtosis means the sample set has a greater tendency for extreme outlier outcome.

Xuzen

p/s Nothing much to be excited about my port, now looking forward to another ang-pow / bonus. That is to say, KWSP's distribution announcement. Two more weeks of waiting.

Please take note that SSPN has already announced their 4% dividend for 2017, and the dividend is already in the system.
I'm interested to add std-dev and risk to reward ratio into my excel calculation. Can you share how can I calculate this values?
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 2 2018, 02:37 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 2 2018, 02:34 PM)
For anal engineering people like wongmunkeong, see this:

for those lazy people like xuzen, see below:

Xuzen
Tq. Tq. I definitely not interested to try the anal method
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 2 2018, 02:39 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

What about the risk to reward ratio calculation?
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 2 2018, 02:51 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 2 2018, 02:43 PM)
sorry ar ! Forget about this: Risk to reward = ROI / [ Std - dev ]

Manyak senang.

Actually more accurately should be stated reward to risk, but don't know why sudah biasa cakap risk to reward pulak. All those people in finance industry says risk to reward all the time.

Xuzen
Tqvm. I shall add this to my excel calculation now... laugh.gif
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 2 2018, 11:24 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

January market is bleeding red...

My portfolio Profit went up by 1.04% due to buying low for additional top ups this month but M-o-M ROI went down by 3.37% due to new fund purchase

My new Kenanga and Dinasti fund, as well as Manulife REIT drag down the ROI number.

Ever faithful Ponzi 2 and TAGTF is main profit contributor this month.

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Feb 2 2018, 11:25 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 5 2018, 07:20 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Wow, all my funds in red today. So bloody Monday...
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 6 2018, 02:22 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Maybank Research cautions investors on more correction ahead
Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...mh1tsTg6BEPE.99

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Feb 6 2018, 02:22 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 6 2018, 05:43 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Calm down people.. stop looking at it. Close all chart. Come back next month if you're cannot tahan see red type ppl. Be confident with your portfolio. U keep switching just incur more lost nia later...
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 6 2018, 09:29 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Feb 6 2018, 09:10 PM)
I don't quite understand all forumers keep talking about top up whenever there is a market clash.

And buy in again when the markets rise or when there is a sales charge promotion.

It cannot be only BUY but no SELL right ? No SELL where got capital to BUY again ?

There is sure at one point the portfolio will balloon until any top up amount becomes insignificant.

Unless people here know how to print money lor.....
I think most people here r hold n top-up ppl. .
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 6 2018, 09:33 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 6 2018, 09:25 PM)
this morning, switch < 10% of my fi to equity fund.
If tomorrow is as bad as today, or worse than today,
will switch the other 10% bond fund to equity fund as I have 6 digits credit to dispose, that I held for almost  1 year.

I m the only one in this thread who took action today?
Maybe only u got so large warchest to utilize laugh.gif
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 9 2018, 11:20 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Might not be such a good idea to top up just yet. VIX just shoot up. Might go down even more
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 9 2018, 01:50 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 9 2018, 11:35 AM)
VIX is a measure of volatility meaning how " swinginess " is the S&P 500. It means the higher the VIX the more " swinginess " the S&P 500 index around its mean.

When it is time like this, there are three things an investor can do:

1) Sit out, stay out come back when the dust is settled.

2) Don't give a Fcuk! Just DCA all the way.

3) Buy low sell high b'coz ya feelin' lucky!
[attachmentid=9579066]

Which type of investor are you?
DCA all the way baby... laugh.gif

80 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0485sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:18 AM