Buying starter e.guitar. need advice, Amp and guitar
TSRyeeson
Feb 28 2007, 09:59 AM, updated 19y ago
Hai everyone,
i'm currently play classical guitar but i think the time is come for me to play classical rock. hemm.. i've been watching the Canon Rock by jerry C at YouTube and i like it very much.
I've been searching for the Vox amp 15w here in Kota Kinabalu but it is no way to be found. I found the SX start err.. not sure what model but they selling it for rm500.
beside the VOX 15w amp, what else amp brand that you all think better to start with? i got limited choice here.
Thanks in advance -Ray
Everdying
Feb 28 2007, 10:08 AM
Two is One and One is None.
roland microcube.
soulfly
Feb 28 2007, 11:57 AM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
Roland MicroCube + Ibanez GIO (fixed bridge) = superb combo
i'm not sure what can you get in KK .... but I think Ibanez starter kit should be fine if you're not too demanding with tone
Criptonox89
Feb 28 2007, 02:57 PM
My friend just got a pakage of amp+guitar.....ibanez GRG270 + Roland Microcube...IMHO....i never regret encouraging him to purchase the MicroCube....it's really loud and the sound are distorted even in low volume.....kinda versatile at the price range....r-fier mode is powerful though.....clean channel + little bit delay + some chorus is really rocks! It's really a portable, compact, loud, decent pratice amp at bedroom level....what i was impressed is can be runned with ac power and battery...try to take in consideration.....hope you like it too...Good luck..
TSRyeeson
Feb 28 2007, 05:02 PM
i see, seem that the microCube got something  by the way, how much is the microCube 15? Added on February 28, 2007, 5:04 pmQUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 28 2007, 11:57 AM) Roland MicroCube + Ibanez GIO (fixed bridge) = superb combo i'm not sure what can you get in KK .... but I think Ibanez starter kit should be fine if you're not too demanding with tone How much is the Ibanez Gio bro? Added on February 28, 2007, 5:07 pmQUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Feb 28 2007, 02:57 PM) My friend just got a pakage of amp+guitar.....ibanez GRG270 + Roland Microcube...IMHO....i never regret encouraging him to purchase the MicroCube....it's really loud and the sound are distorted even in low volume.....kinda versatile at the price range....r-fier mode is powerful though.....clean channel + little bit delay + some chorus is really rocks! It's really a portable, compact, loud, decent pratice amp at bedroom level....what i was impressed is can be runned with ac power and battery...try to take in consideration.....hope you like it too...Good luck.. bro, compare with the sx guitar [cheaper one] with this Ibanez GRG270, wich one would you prefer? This post has been edited by Ryeeson: Feb 28 2007, 05:07 PM
Criptonox89
Feb 28 2007, 05:09 PM
My friend bought it at RM420....Bentley is selling RM400...You can consider other brand too....Vox, Marshall...I think the Vox DA5 is not bad too....don't have much info about it... Added on February 28, 2007, 5:07 pmbro, compare with the sx guitar [cheaper one] with this Ibanez GRG270, wich one would you prefer? [/quote] I would still prefer Ibanez...Sry bcoz i'm ibanez fan..hehe.  I just dislike its bridge.. This post has been edited by Criptonox89: Feb 28 2007, 05:11 PM
TSRyeeson
Feb 28 2007, 07:21 PM
Nice, how much is the Ibanez GRG270 bro?
soulfly
Feb 28 2007, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Feb 28 2007, 05:02 PM) i see, seem that the microCube got something  by the way, how much is the microCube 15? There is only one Micro Cube, and that's the Micro Cube, 2Watts amp with three available flavors (red/black/cream white). Bentley Music selling it for about RM400 before discount. If you want a bigger Cube, that is the Cube 15x .... around RM490 before discount I think. GIO = Ibanez GRG/GSA/GRX series ..... anything with G in front of the model type But if you can get a GRG121.... that should be great. You get fixed bridge (stable tuning, save all the headache from tuning a tremolo bridge), neck and bridge humbuckers, 24-scale neck. The looks, tone and playability is great.
TSRyeeson
Feb 28 2007, 08:30 PM
i c.. that make me less noob then. How much is the GIO series? i've seen some of the ibanez here in KK but i'm not sure if they are G series. Aren't those SX guitar fixed bridge?
BlueSilver
Feb 28 2007, 08:38 PM
has anyone seen the red microcube lately?
Criptonox89
Feb 28 2007, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Feb 28 2007, 07:21 PM) Nice, how much is the Ibanez GRG270 bro? RM870 before discount....but i think you should get GRG121...get rid of those tuning headache on a tremolo bridge....as soulfy mentioned....If you don't mind it...just go for it... QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Feb 28 2007, 08:38 PM) has anyone seen the red microcube lately?  No leh....you still haven't got yours..? My friend's one is in White...have to take extra good care to prevent it get dirty... This post has been edited by Criptonox89: Feb 28 2007, 08:48 PM
Everdying
Feb 28 2007, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Feb 28 2007, 08:38 PM) has anyone seen the red microcube lately?  cannot get anymore, cos was limited edition. the white one also is limited, so if you want it get it fast. i might go get the black one this weekend, at a pretty decent price.
valkyrie1232
Feb 28 2007, 11:45 PM
Microcubes are so cute! It'd be even cuter if you get all three colours! To answer BlueSilver, I've seen the Red Microcube in Harmony Music Damansara Uptown and the Cream White in Bentley.
I would suggest not getting the Cube 15X though, Ryeeson. From what I know, it doesn't have any effects like the Microcube as well as less kick a** amp modeling! It simulates Metal Zone or whatnot, if I'm not wrong.
If you wanna use it for strictly bedroom, I say go for Microcube!
Everdying
Feb 28 2007, 11:54 PM
when was the last time you went harmony? 3 months ago?  i was just there 2 days ago, they have 1 white and 2 blacks now.
valkyrie1232
Mar 1 2007, 07:45 AM
Er yeah...actually you're right..last I went was probably 3 months ago
sinergy
Mar 1 2007, 01:33 PM
you might want to look into the GSZ as well. Sounds and plays reasonably well.
BlueSilver
Mar 1 2007, 01:45 PM
aiyah aiyah, i haven't got mine yet cos i want to get the red one oh.  I saw one white one selling at one of the shops here. Really limited wan ah?  Then i better fast fast go lor.
alinafia
Mar 1 2007, 01:52 PM

Why not buy decent guitar and the cheap rp50 from digitech? Sx is ok I think, just use normal pc speaker can brought for below rm20. U can get much more range of sound with low price.
Just my suggestion thou, since I used that setup at home. Rp50 also can use with headphone, so no more loud noise during midnight practice.
quarantined
Mar 1 2007, 04:13 PM
I've been using PC speakers until I got a white MicroCube, and it blows me away ever since. I heard good stuff for the RA5 but it's much more expensive than the microcube.
soulfly
Mar 1 2007, 05:21 PM