Chubby Hamsters V4, Fun little furballs

daijoubu
post Mar 9 2007, 07:45 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

My hamster just died 25 mins ago. Already buried >.<

Dunno what happened. Was ok while it was in the car, when i driving back. But when i reached home, i put her in the room, and half hour later, she started acting strange.

To think of it, in car also abit strange already. Instead of the usual, silent and sleeping mode in car, she moving around, digging the beddings.

Anyway back to the room, when i discovered her, she doesnt want to eat her favourite treats. Another 5 minutes later, she slump flat on cage, not moving, just staring ahead, but breathing heavily.

45 mins later, dead sad.gif. What could it be? Heat stroke? Heart attack? She is quite plump for a dwarf, cause she eats alot T.T
daijoubu
post Mar 10 2007, 01:05 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 9 2007, 10:09 PM)
Was your hamster's mouth wet? Coz if it is in the car too long and if it was on a hot day, chances are that it could be a heat stroke. Chubby hamsters are prone to that as well as young hamsters.
its pouch was full of food which led me to believe she gather all her food up during the last moments before she lay still. weird behaviour

and her body was damp, but dont think the mouth was wet

i read up on heatstroke, and they advice to apply some water on its body, which i did, but they say it shoudl recover within 10 mins, which she didnt sad.gif

anyway just a question, with a small cage like the crittertrail mini, its not advisable to rear two dwarfs right?
i thought of getting another, but i contemplating between getting 2 for companion sake. is it advisable? or the hamster usually prefer solitariness?

thanks smile.gif
daijoubu
post Mar 10 2007, 02:12 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 10 2007, 01:11 AM)
Critter Trail Mini is way way way too small.... Just keep 1 would do. If you keep 2 in such a small tank, there is bound to be some fights and maybe another death.

Sometimes hammies die from unknown reasons... their bodies are small so they are prone to getting diseases that we can't detect... so heat strokes can be bad or stable... depends really.
Icic.. Should i sacrifice and buy a bigger cage, habitrail perhaps and keep two? Or stick wiht just one? Cause i've been thinking, would ww hamsters prefer company, or they would prefer solitary over company? Cause if they are happy being solitary, then i more than happy with 1

Anyway, im already missing my hammy sad.gif. Came home and got nothing to play with sad.gif. Bleh.

QUOTE(Only_Human @ Mar 10 2007, 01:25 AM)
My hammie  wub.gif
Take pic form hp ~ qualiti is not good  rolleyes.gif

Fat 1  flex.gif

should him keep fit  hmm.gif
Whoa so fat! Just like mine T.T. Even before die, she stuff her mouth full of food. Die full and well fed tongue.gif. And she doesnt like the wheel either tongue.gif.

daijoubu
post Mar 10 2007, 02:55 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(Only_Human @ Mar 10 2007, 02:17 AM)
Ya  nod.gif
True my hammie also stuff his mouth full of food  doh.gif  sweat.gif
And also got many eating style  shocking.gif
Can Sleeping + eating  shakehead.gif  doh.gif  sweat.gif
haizz ....
Haha yup ^^. Lol this is getting depressing for me lol keep remembering her T.T. Lol dont mind me. Anyway hopefully things will be better for my next pet.

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Mar 10 2007, 02:17 AM)
actually hamster r fine to be kept alone, no food and fighting problem.
Just that the owner feels a bit boring looking at a single hamster in the cage, so thats some owners keep 2 or more in a single tank.....
But 1 should be fine also.
Aite thanks for the info ^^.
daijoubu
post Mar 10 2007, 07:41 PM

5,193 posts

are puddings mix of ww and rc?
daijoubu
post Mar 11 2007, 05:33 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Mar 11 2007, 04:24 PM)
few days ago i bought one water bottle - brandless one (RM4.90 only).  The water also kept dripping.  Then 2 days ago, i bought one new bottle again from the brand Living World (RM 8.90 or RM 9.90) and it's good.  The water din drip at all.  I think it's more like "one quality one price" concept.  If the water keepts dripping, of coz da bedding would be soaked wet and personally, i think it's uncomfortable for the hammie.
had this problem before too
got the cheaper one and it dripped, so went back and bought the living world one, which is good until now smile.gif

daijoubu
post Mar 12 2007, 09:36 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Mar 12 2007, 07:28 PM)
MY syrian is found dead in his cage!!!! I went to class whole day and now i came back and found him dead!!! WHY??? What's the reason wor ??  cry.gif  cry.gif  He couldn't be dying from old age coz he's not even 1 year old!!! And remember I told u guys my syrian has been very skinny lately and how I asked for advice to make him chubby??  Why did he die ??? He eats like normal and sleeps like normal.  He plays with me like normal as well.  Just that his motion slowed down a bit and he became skinny.  But why ??? Can anyone tell me ?  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  I jz played with him last nite and he was like his usual self.  I don't see any sickness symptoms or pain from him except that he's thinner than before.  WHY???  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
i share in your pain sad.gif
mine passed away few days ago too and dun know the reason either

daijoubu
post Mar 19 2007, 04:04 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(Rena_blue @ Mar 18 2007, 11:38 PM)
Ahem!!
I have a news ..long time din post hamham pic rite me . coz it been months they dun notti n give me pups ! juz normal simple hamie day!
guess what !
today morning my hamham give me 2nd batch of pups !!
1st batch + 2nd batch!
i FEEL GOOD...
[attachmentid=206312]
[attachmentid=206313]
wow the white hammy is darn fat tongue.gif
what is the species of the white one?

btw, i just got my hammy today! thanks to joanalooidog =D
quite a runner she is ^^
daijoubu
post Mar 19 2007, 05:58 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Mar 19 2007, 08:55 AM)
Those hamster are known as Russian Campell, have nice colors, but some of them a bit aggresive.
But the white one, got some issue on them, and very sad to hear about it. If u wanna know more, can google for RC breeding, those might be gene defect.....
If u r interested, so take a look at this page, almost at the end.....
http://www.answers.com/topic/campbell-s-dwarf-hamster

Hope u like the little Fat Gurl, eat a lot and like to run on wheels, but very tame when handled.....take good care of her oh. If got any questions, ask here, many of them r very experience. And remember, post pics here............
thanks for the info there =D
my old hamster was like the above one, whitish and greyish mix

the one i got is tame, but likes to bite my fingers cause she keeps thinking its food lol
my fault for not washing properly tongue.gif
gonna buy a better wheel for her soon to encourage her running more tongue.gif
daijoubu
post Mar 19 2007, 11:10 PM

5,193 posts

one question, what are giblets? tongue.gif

oh another, is it ok if i just keep the foodbowl filled up? do they eat in moderation or they'll finish whats in the foodbowl? i dont want my this hamster end up like my old hamster, eat too much until so fat.

daijoubu
post Mar 21 2007, 07:27 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Mar 21 2007, 02:33 PM)
Hi guys, I just bought 2nd hand cage from petshop in serdang area...here it is

Im planning to put Robos inside this cage..is it ok?  rolleyes.gif
how much u bought the cage for? =D
and where is the shop? sri serdang area? near mCD? want to got here too

btw, my ww seem to like to bite my finger alot, not irritated bite but kinda like eating bite. perhaps her teeth very itchy. can recommend any tidbit/snacks that is long lasting for her to bite? or shud i get a mineral stone?
daijoubu
post Mar 21 2007, 07:38 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Mar 21 2007, 07:28 PM)
I bought it for RM20...sweat.gif is it expensive? sweat.gif
very cheap thumbup.gif
good for u luu
definately a bargain
where is the place? if still have i also want to get tongue.gif
daijoubu
post Mar 22 2007, 02:36 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Mar 21 2007, 07:27 PM)
btw, my ww seem to like to bite my finger alot, not irritated bite but kinda like eating bite. perhaps her teeth very itchy. can recommend any tidbit/snacks that is long lasting for her to bite? or shud i get a mineral stone?
can any1 give me advise regarding this?? notworthy.gif

0.0442sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:26 PM