Laptop/Notebook Repairings Thread, Post ur enquiry here.

TSWinfeel
post Feb 26 2007, 05:41 PM, updated 18y ago

"The road to disaster is often paved with good intentions
Store Representative
1,103 posts

This thread discussed before ,

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/403472

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/403472/+20

is quite important for future reference.I decided to pin it for continueing discussion in the coming future.I hope it also serves ur problem too.And of course it is also for the mutual beneficial between u as forummer and us as reseller.

Thank you for ur very kind attention direct from my sincere heart. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Winfeel: Mar 16 2007, 06:02 PM
TSWinfeel
post Apr 4 2007, 06:11 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Apr 3 2007, 01:53 PM)
I've a Acer 4502 Laptop which struck by lightning.
Assuming either procs or motherboard spoilt already.

1. How much to repair if it is repairable?
2. Any charge if it is not repairable?
3. How much can sell if I sell off everything except harddisk and bagcase?
KL add: Lot 3.IT-9A/9B,3rd Floor,No.7,Jalan 1/77,Off Jalan Bukit Bintang,Kuala Lumpur

I suggest u just bring the notebook to the above location.
1.It depends.
2.Maybe not and maybe yes.Sometimes small service fees is needed but must get ur permission first.
3.This,u have to refer to the service center,the repairer will guide u thru and be no worry, no forceful of anyway.Take it easy.

Picture of the service location below this link.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/307360

Have a nice day. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Winfeel: Apr 4 2007, 06:13 PM
TSWinfeel
post May 24 2007, 04:57 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(calvin_yit @ May 24 2007, 01:47 AM)
i have a Acer Aspire 1690
bought it 2 years ago...been heavily using it as a desktop replacement
Sumtimes have left it open nonstop for 3to4 days.
6 months ago, the fan have been giving me weird noises. like as if there is no oil and it is spinning while hitting sumthing, i opened it and cleaned the fan but
problem still persist. Last week, the sound disappeared and i suspect that the fan may have kaputt!!!

I wanna know whether it is possible to replace it on my own at home. Is there any special expertise required? My laptop have ran out of warranty
I have adequate pc knowledge, but not to overclocking or modding level. Is it gonna cost a lot? Running short on money . Thnx
Please read below before come out ur final`decision smile.gif
1.Acer has stopped provide fan to reseller.
2.The original fan is only available thru their service's agent. sweat.gif
That the service's agent is highpoint.

3.When bring to Highpoint ,before repair ,their service fees is Rm 100.00 if I am not wrong.
4.Hence, you have no choice but bring the laptop to the agent as the part is not availabled in outside unless some shops still keep the old stock but it is rare to say.

Thank you for ur enquiry. icon_rolleyes.gif

TSWinfeel
post Oct 9 2007, 08:57 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(adri4n @ Aug 28 2007, 10:44 PM)
it started when the laptop hung ... nothing can be done except for restarting the whole machine.

when trying to restart (normally you'll get acer screen during bios initialisation) it will show blank screen ... nothing there .. not even the cursor blinking in the top left corner..

try restarting few times on off the main power still remain the same... after 6-7 tries... the machine starts to boot up again normally with the acer screen in bios... logged into windows normally .. when i tried to startup WoW ... it hung again.. n this time much more intresting ..

the screen which hanged... starting to show burning signs around the top and right layer of the screen.. the burn mark gets darker and darker.. so before anything gets worst .. i turn off the machine again...

try restarting 5-6 times .. and the laptop boots again..

now ..my questions. what is going wrong wit my laptop sad.gif
the warrranty period is over ..  i nid to get a reliable repair shop to fix this at a affordable price.. any recommendations ?
Very sorry for late replying ur question being posted.If you have solved the problem,leave this.
But if have not , just PM me .I will try to help you out there. smile.gif

Thank you with sorry
Have a nice day.
TSWinfeel
post Oct 20 2007, 04:52 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(adri4n @ Aug 28 2007, 10:44 PM)
it started when the laptop hung ... nothing can be done except for restarting the whole machine.

when trying to restart (normally you'll get acer screen during bios initialisation) it will show blank screen ... nothing there .. not even the cursor blinking in the top left corner..

try restarting few times on off the main power still remain the same... after 6-7 tries... the machine starts to boot up again normally with the acer screen in bios... logged into windows normally .. when i tried to startup WoW ... it hung again.. n this time much more intresting ..

the screen which hanged... starting to show burning signs around the top and right layer of the screen.. the burn mark gets darker and darker.. so before anything gets worst .. i turn off the machine again...

try restarting 5-6 times .. and the laptop boots again..

now ..my questions. what is going wrong wit my laptop sad.gif
the warrranty period is over ..  i nid to get a reliable repair shop to fix this at a affordable price.. any recommendations ?
QUOTE(IceBikers @ Oct 20 2007, 08:25 AM)
i have the same problem too acer tm4102, i was watchin movie then the screen got blank so i restart the laptop
n the screen is blank too...

what is the problem???
The percentage problem is high usually caused by LCD Screen.In most case, Lcd spoilt that resulted all this problem.

That is a way to check .You link to a normal monitor /PC Monitor(Lcd), use Function (Fn) + (F2/F3/f4, either 1) ,see whether the display appear on both screen.If not ,then for sure the LCD is spoilt liao.

Note : And use control panel-device manager-display setting for LCD setting)

Added on October 20, 2007, 5:03 pmThru the experienced of a notebook/laptop repairer,
ACER problems mostly caused by 2 components.That is either

(1) LCD spoilt or
(2) Motherboard (That usually caused no display/hanged/restart)

Price of ACER is cheap since it is now mass production in low costs labour country-CHINA. smile.gif
They tend not focus on spare-parts because of the laptop getting cheaper and cheaper. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Winfeel: Oct 20 2007, 05:03 PM
TSWinfeel
post Oct 22 2007, 02:20 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Oct 21 2007, 03:43 AM)
i suspect is motherboard..cuz when i on the power.. the screen is blank and system not runnig, just led light is on. HDD test is ok,took out n run externally on others pc

what is the period of repairing by sending to highpoint to repair? cuz i have works to do with my laptop.

can i send without the hdd? cuz i have alot important files in it that i wana use.

if have to change motherboard -> how much?
if have to change lcd -> how much?

no longer under warranty.
1.Within 14 days and subjected to their manpower availability.You can usually send without ur valuable harddisk together to them.
2.Motherboard : costs of repairing will last you to Rm 1k more or less,depent on the type of motherboard.Be it P4/Duo Core/C2D etc.
3.Lcd : It depends on the size of the LCD.Be it on 12"1/13.3/14.1/15" etc.Usually also costs around RM 800+ to RM 1K +

In my opinion,I think that's why Acer prefer user to buy a new laptop as they consider the part is high ler. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Winfeel: Oct 22 2007, 02:20 PM
TSWinfeel
post Oct 27 2007, 03:41 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(montagut @ Oct 25 2007, 12:58 AM)
Hi.

I would like to ask your guys on the pricing for repairing Sony Vaio Model VGNSZ433N. Last 2 week my friend used the notebook for the whole day.Turn of the notebook and close the lid. The notebook just lay bare there at the table. Take a nap, the in the afternoon when she open the notebook lid suddenly there a crack at the middle of the LCD notebook.

She send it to sony customer service repair, today got the offer price and way too high.. when she calculated if she trade in her broken LCD notebook, she can afford to buy one new notebook again.

Please if your guys here know of or if your are a technical person that can repair the notebook with price that she agreed and can afford then she would willing to come and send the notebook for repair to your shop. By the way how much is the cost to repair a broken LCD notebook Vaio Model VGNSZ433N. Sony should have a warranty for this kind of things because there are no mishandling on the part and the notebook LCD crack from inside. not cover and the LCD. The LCD cover suppose to protect the notebook. BUt then sony service centre told her that there is no warranty for the type of problem.

Help and suggestion are very much appreciated. do call me at 0178702948-montagut if your can offer a price to replace and fix the notebook. Thanks.
Here my courteous reply to you. notworthy.gif

I received a reliable info that Sony-Japan Technology product would not be easily damaged unless not handled carefully by customer or the product having too much pressured by putting wrong place or rough usage.

Your situation described partly as "physically damaged" which warranty is void or no more warranty.

The costs of replacement of Sony LCD is very high consider it is the only customisable brand of notebook that can reach resolution 2048 or more.

I been told the 15"Sony LCD costs around RM 4k to RM 6K . sweat.gif

Futhermore, the part is only available at SONY service centre.We cannot find anywhere in Malaysia. sad.gif

Therefore, I am very sorry but can't help you on this.

Thank you for sharing

Have a nice day.

Added on October 27, 2007, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(shyguy_shah @ Oct 26 2007, 11:07 AM)
Hi guys...

I have an IBM thinkpad T43 which i suspect got motherboard problem, where can i send it for repair? Need advice and suggestions. Please help. Thank you.
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss...-66653#malaysia

Try to check with the link above.

Have a nice day.

This post has been edited by Winfeel: Oct 27 2007, 03:54 PM
TSWinfeel
post Nov 8 2007, 11:56 AM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(zealless @ Nov 7 2007, 01:44 PM)
hi, if i hav problem with HP laptop  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif , where should i bring it to fix in KL ?

cheers
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/307360

Please refer to the above link.
Thank you for ur enquiries. And.... HAPPY DEEPAVALI biggrin.gif

Have a nice day.
TSWinfeel
post Dec 3 2007, 03:39 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

Kindly take note and aware on this request for Acer Laptop DOA unit

Acer NB DOA Term and Conditions :

Acer DOA Term divided into 2 section for difference kind of Acer customers :-

Section A (For Distributors)
30 calendar days from Acer Delivery Date OR 7 working days from Dealer's Invoice Date to Customer whichever earlier.

- Dealers to refer DOA unit the Distributor and Distributor to liase with Acer USJ

Section B (For Acer Direct Dealers/Corp/Govn)
7 working days from Acer Delivery Date

Note
DOA One to One Swap term and condition :-

1. All DOA unit must not have scratches / damages / torn or any cosmetics damage on the unit and it looks as good as new. Acer will however replaced the components that are faulty by giving special priority if such conditions being found.
2. All DOA unit must return with full and complete accessories with original carton box / packaging.
3. DOA Term will not apply for unit have been used as demo/loan units or display units or any other mean as display set, if DOA for cosmetic defects
4. All cosmetic defects unit (example casing scratch/crack/LCD scratch) must not have signed of unit having gone thro any software installation . Check for cosmetic defects before power up the unit for use.
5. minor defects of LCD displays occurring in Products equipped with LCD display technology, provided that there shall not be more than four (4) defective pixels per million pixels on a given LCD display, and provided further that, if the display panel is divided into nine (9) equal rectangular areas, there shall be one defective pixel in the central area of the display. Acer will DOA if failing this criteria.

If there is no available of stock to swap , Acer will inform the customer on the date of new shipment arrival. Customer can either wait or Acer will do component swap and repair for customer to close the case.

- end -
TSWinfeel
post Jan 1 2008, 12:48 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(satayboy2003 @ Jan 1 2008, 09:12 AM)
own ACER Aspire 3620..
where can i replace the casing which is scratch...

Location JB.
the cost involved.
Kindly refer to the service availabe in your area. smile.gif
Have a nice day.

Highpoint Berjaya Time Square

09-19, Ninth FloorBerjaya Times SquareNo. 1, Jalan Imbi55100 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 03-2141 6232 Fax: 03-2141 6202

Highpoint HQ (Selangor)

1 Jalan TP6, Sime UEP Industrial Park,Subang Jaya, 47600Petaling Jaya, Selangor.Acer Call Center: 1-80088-1918[9.00am to 6.00pm / Mondays to Fridays]
Tel: 03-8026 6226 Fax: 03-8024 5100

Highpoint Ipoh

30 Hala Rapat Baru 21,Kawasan Perindustrial Kinta Jaya31350 Ipoh, Perak
Tel: 05-313 3133 Fax: 05-313 3100

Highpoint Johor Bahru

17, Jalan Sri Plentong 3,Tmn Perindustrian Sri Plentong81750 Masai, Johor Bahru
Tel: 07-388 2339 Fax: 07-388 5411

Highpoint Kluang

No. 26, 27 & 28, Jalan Gunung Lambak 1,Taman Gunung Lambak,86000 Kluang, Johor
Tel: 07-773 3770 Fax: 07-772 6127

Highpoint Kota Bharu

1701 & 1702,Paya Bemban/Taman Sari,Jalan Hospital,15200 Kota Bharu,Kelantan
Tel: 09-746 2562 Fax: 09-746 2428

Highpoint Kota Kinabalu

Lot 38 & 39, Lorong Karamunsing AKaramunsing Warehouse88100, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Tel: 088-270699 Fax: 088-270257

Highpoint Kuantan

B180 Jalan Dato' Lim Hoe Lek25000 Kuantan, Pahang.
Tel: 09-515 9715 Fax: 09-514 0366

Highpoint Kuching

126 & 126A,Green Height Commercial Centre,93250, Kuching.
Tel: 082-459 200 Fax: 082-450 203

Highpoint Melaka

15 & 17, Jalan Melaka Raya 1375000 Melaka
Tel: 06-281 7249 Fax: 06-281 7431

Highpoint Miri

Lot 2129, Ground Floor,Yakin Commercial Centre,98000 Miri, Sarawak.
Tel: 085-437 377 Fax: 085-438 377

Highpoint Penang

No. 360 Ground Floor, Jalan Dato Keramat,10150 Penang
Tel: 04-227 5711 Fax: 04-229 2745

Highpoint Sandakan

Lot 3 & 4, Ground Floor,Block 22, Bandar Indah,Jalan Utara, Sandakan.
Tel: 089-229 355 Fax: 089-229 311

Highpoint Seremban

26G, Lorong Haruan 5/1, Oakland Commerce Square, 70200 Seremban Negeri Sembilan D.K.
Tel: 06-601 2060 Fax: 06-601 1877

Highpoint Sibu

No. 15-17, Chengal Road9600 Sibu, Sarawak
Tel: 084-330 300 Fax: 084-316 300

Highpoint Tawau

Lot 9 & 10, TB 4288 & TB 4289,Ground Floor, Jalan Masjid, 91000 Tawau, Sabah
Tel: 089-769 000 Fax: 089-769 002

This post has been edited by Winfeel: Jan 1 2008, 12:49 PM
TSWinfeel
post Jan 2 2008, 11:05 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(satayboy2003 @ Jan 2 2008, 08:59 PM)
highpoint again....

not really like the service......
haiz...
other sources???
Wierd . sad.gif

Nationwide Acer Customer Service Centers is Highpoint. ohmy.gif

Unless u find 3rd party which can repair notebook. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on January 2, 2008, 11:11 pmIf u not happy ,complain them / taroh them kaw-kaw below this link . laugh.gif

http://www.acer.com.my/contact_us/contact_...c2=contact_left

This post has been edited by Winfeel: Jan 2 2008, 11:11 PM
TSWinfeel
post Jan 15 2008, 12:49 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(deja @ Jan 14 2008, 08:19 PM)
Hello, i have a Dell Inspiron 9400 which i bought about in February 2006.

the keyboard is broken (the windows and function key do not work).

are you able to repair it?
Firstly, for faster service, get service direct from Dell.If your notebook is 3 years warranty, u might get 1 to 1 swap.But if only 1 year, they will impose a bit high service price to go onsite and service ur laptop.Usually just onsite,u need to pay RM 300 plus items that being repaired or replaced.

Secondly, if you go fot 3rd party,they need 3-4 weeks for the service get to be done.This because they need to order part direct from Dell in Penang.

Hence, which one is ur choice.

Have a nice day. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Winfeel: Jan 15 2008, 12:49 PM
TSWinfeel
post Jan 21 2008, 04:36 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(byenc @ Jan 19 2008, 10:05 PM)
I have an Acer TravelMate C302XMi (Tablet PC)
The neck is broken but still can use.

I have asked around Klang, still cannot get someone who knows...

Can help?
Knowledge System Integrated (Klang) 03-3341 8668

Have you tried out this company.One of Acer's dealer in your area ?

Added on January 21, 2008, 5:29 pmIf they are unabled to repair,could you pls post the pic of your laptop.
So that we can know a roughly estimation of the repairing fees. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Winfeel: Jan 21 2008, 05:29 PM
TSWinfeel
post Jan 22 2008, 03:52 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(byenc @ Jan 21 2008, 07:21 PM)
My Acer TravelMate C302XMi (Tablet PC)

This model seems not availabled in Malaysia's market.Where did you bring in from ? sweat.gif

TSWinfeel
post Jan 24 2008, 08:46 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(byenc @ Jan 24 2008, 07:51 PM)
Acutally this laptop is my brother's wan.. he buy from UK, then already search UK, and China, but still cant find a place to repair.. hmm.gif

someone in China even offer to do welding... sweat.gif

what is your suggestion?? go to the shop you recommend and see if they can repair??  Knowledge System Integrated (Klang) 03-3341 8668??
Seriously, your case is better go direct to Acer's appointed Service Center with address and tel as below.I think this is your last resources.Failure for repairing by them means that particular laptop gone case,sorry to say ,no hard feeling. smile.gif

Highpoint HQ (Selangor)

1 Jalan TP6, Sime UEP Industrial Park,Subang Jaya, 47600Petaling Jaya, Selangor.Acer Call Center: 1-80088-1918[9.00am to 6.00pm / Mondays to Fridays]
Tel: 03-8026 6226 Fax: 03-8024 5100

TSWinfeel
post Jan 25 2008, 01:09 PM

Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(Kelvinwkw @ Jan 24 2008, 08:50 PM)
I have a ASUS L2000E Laptop with keyboard issue, can you fix it?
Asus laptop has its own design.The keyboard is not easy to set in market unless second hand.
But the second hand might cost u more than Rm100 ++

If you don't mind, buy a new external UBS keyboard.
For unbranded, cost u only RM 20+
For branded,cost u around RM 60+ such as BenQ.

Have a nice day. smile.gif

0.0268sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:24 AM