2017 Elantra Sport, Turbo Version

DigitalMop
post May 15 2017, 10:18 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(laurateoh @ Mar 3 2017, 08:41 AM)
I work for Hyundai Glenmarie. My next door neighbor is one of the highest selling Honda showroom. We know their sales has dropped.

Honda and Toyota have been in Malaysia for several decades. Hyundai 1.

We may not have their numbers now, but it's OK.

With time, you'll see more.

Ioniq is superb.
Elantra Sport Turbo AD and Tucson Turbo coming.
Just Google and watch the video reviews.

Just don't knock it if u haven't been in a new Peter Schreyer built unit lately.

You will be surprised. We are not lousy. Tq.
boss to be honest la, if the manual option comes ill definitely buy it, any dry DCT in the market im not keen on getting. rather fixing the engine than fixing engine and trans together
DigitalMop
post Jun 7 2017, 03:54 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(dman @ Jun 7 2017, 01:59 PM)
Civic = RM131,883.37, Elantra T =RM131,488 , both OTR exclude insurance...

Technically same price different RV tongue.gif  Elantra more powerful with DCT!
ya more powerful when 7 years down the line u want to trade-in tat time resale value tarak, then nid top up few k to get a new car. if u rich go for it. even if u rich i dont tink u will eye for kimchi la

REsale Value is A fact doesnt matter how hype it is
spare part availability
maintenance cost
and EGO, if u face thick like a brick then H is for you
If not wait n see what Honda is bringing into the market few months later
DigitalMop
post Jun 7 2017, 05:20 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jun 7 2017, 04:45 PM)
in 2012, civic 1.8 sold at <a href='https://<link removed>/2012/07/12/honda-civic-9th-gen-just-launched-from-rm115k-5yrs-warranty-unlimited-mileage-and-10k-service-interval/' target='_blank'>rm116k</a> while elantra 1.8 sold at <a href='https://<link removed>/2012/03/28/hyundai-md-elantra-arrives-4-variants-rm87k-to-rm112k/' target='_blank'>rm112k</a>

and after 5 years, based on mudah.my & carlist.my
elantra 1.8 sell around rm59k while civic 1.8 around rm63k
so i think no isu for RV now
i saw elantra for 54k where else civic still around rm70k
DigitalMop
post Jun 13 2017, 03:24 PM

60 posts

anyone book liao? im still on wait n see. i wanted the car, but for the price ill hold for now. everything is right for me , juz the seats and side door feel cheap and there is no card holder near the driver side @.@

another side note is im 180cm tall, so abit cramp on driver seat as well as rear seats
DigitalMop
post Jun 13 2017, 04:25 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jun 13 2017, 04:04 PM)
You test drive already? How did the power feel like?
power is plenty, the pull is very noticeable. test driven with 2 passengers. fuu.. u wont believe go uphill like goin downhill. there is no delay. but cant manage to redline it. cilaka sales person beside. rear passenger sure like the car with the multi link suspension. not so much for the headroom or the interior quality build. performance wise i really like this car. i test drive this and 208gti as well, the acceleration is more less the same feel, very powerful
DigitalMop
post Jun 14 2017, 09:54 AM

60 posts

Like everyone pointed out regarding the features and interior quality, i do agree on everyone after the test drive. here is the short list that of pro and con from me

pros
-handling and comfort, abit stiff, well i like it feel more in control and sporty, rear passenger loves the seat as well as the comfort
-rear AC vent is not gimmick
-early torque is very noticeable (more like 208 GTI kinda acceleration pull)
-car visibility is very good, confident is squeezing in tight space
-exterior look very stylish and mature
-like the steering get stiffer when on sport mode
-gearbox smoothness and shifting is almost not noticeable
-people who like spirited driving would love this
-bought a mechanic friend with me, ample room for performance upgrade"
-exhaust not too soft not too loud, music to my ears

cons
-like everyone said for the price the interior is a no go
-HID headlight
-non memory seating position
-buttons, consoles and side door panel very cheaply build
-non floor mounted gas pedal (tuscon turbo has it why not elantra? )
-not enough safety feature for a 135k vehicle
-car feels light (for performance wise is a room for aftermarket and a good thing)
-i notice a thin sheet of insulator on the hood
-rear headroom is not as spacious as civic
-front seats legroom is tight for me (my height 180cm) kinda cramp T^T

this is what my personal opinion and thoughts. i really like the car , but in some area is very mediocre expecially the interior build quality.
like everyone else, i would wait for discount.
DigitalMop
post Jun 14 2017, 10:16 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jun 13 2017, 11:08 PM)
Toyota and Honda use lots of hard plastic in their interiors too. Even the highest spec Civic turbo doesn't have Ioniq's extensive features. Different standards to compare Japanese and Korean car. For the same price the Korean car is expected to give much much more.
i did compare to civic turbo, civic headroom more, LED headlight, interior better build, dashboard more modern, overall interior of the civic win. beside that engine CVT is ok, design interior n exterior is more japanese. civic for that price is justifiable. oh and the hard plastic is not noticeable in civic to be honest, im not bashing im just telling you the truth

let come to hyundai, they want to compete with European car. can u tell me the different between jetta and elantra sport? beside being better driving experience? if they want to compete with continental marque. they should start acting like 1.

as we drive few cars in our life, we do tend to do intensive research on our future car. unless you super rich la
DigitalMop
post Jun 16 2017, 03:56 PM

60 posts

i wonder how the BOV sound like with aftermarket intake and exhaust on DCT? i hate it when they dont even bother to bring in the manual variant
DigitalMop
post Jun 20 2017, 04:31 PM

60 posts

too all the hyundai sales person, why cant you include the manual variant?
and why does the US get a sunroof while we dont have? and why is the price higher than civic while US is lower than the civiC?

if came with a better seat, better side door panel and manual. conlanfirm ill buy it. but for now. the whole car feel like half pail water. like mau kasi tapi tak mau kasi.

juz include back the sunroof dun giv nonsense like safe weight, if mau save weight remove spare tyres and give us run-flat tires
DigitalMop
post Jun 20 2017, 08:10 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Jun 20 2017, 07:17 PM)
Run flat tyres is a bad idea for this segment of car. They are not targeted at high income people like Merc and BMW. Run flats are expensive (about RM1K per tyre), uncomfortable and wear out fast. They cannot be repaired and may need to be replaced in pairs. It is also hard to tell if they are low on air so they need tpms.
of all others you notice this 1. lolz
DigitalMop
post Jun 21 2017, 04:31 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 21 2017, 02:58 PM)
Then realistically, what is your take on the number of elantra turbo manuals that can be sold?
why cant sell? i see plenty of manual Myvi n Saga.
DigitalMop
post Jun 21 2017, 04:54 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(dman @ Jun 21 2017, 04:39 PM)
I think a manual civic turbo can sell more than elantra turbo be it dct or manual or both combined! tongue.gif

and only a real enthusiast will get manual especially in this price range due to family member/ spouse only know auto as sometimes the car need to be used among family/ spouse.
driving manual is no brainer, doesnt matter male or female, taking driving license in malaysia require you to drive a stick shift, not auto. so if anyone say he cant do stick shift, kopi O license. generally i find girls can use stick shift are sexy.

them people can say whatever they want, i prefer a reliable manual car over any auto tranny
DigitalMop
post Jun 21 2017, 04:58 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 21 2017, 04:52 PM)
Realistically, for this group of drivers, most buy it not really because they like the manual, but they only can afford the most basic version. The frequent traffic jams we face is just not conducive for a manual.

Not that i look down on manual drivers, just that i'm speaking from a general perspective. But then, i could be wrong  tongue.gif
ohh i know u gonna use the constant traffic jam this n that, what so different? dont tell me auto car u dont need to step on the brake when jam? put to neutral? oh manual car dont have neutral la then?

people who drive auto tranny are either lazy or scare sei 4. simple as that.

in fact u guys dont forget u drive manual to get your license, or did you? kopi o?
DigitalMop
post Jun 21 2017, 05:07 PM

60 posts

Another reason why.

Is not getting from point A to B
The whole journey is the point.
Maybe some people old liao want comfort and boring life.
For me nah.. i like excitement.

This post has been edited by DigitalMop: Jun 21 2017, 05:10 PM
DigitalMop
post Jun 21 2017, 05:30 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 21 2017, 05:25 PM)
I've driven an MT for many years and now I'm driving AT. For me it's just two sides of the same coin - your elitist comments against ppl who drive AT is totally uncalled for.

It's the reality of our market that MT cars can hardly sell once you go above RM60k-70k. But If circumstances are different and we get more MT choices in every brand and every model, the Elantra Turbo would not be at the top of my list anyway.
for 140k below, which 1 would be? civic? hmm.gif
DigitalMop
post Jun 21 2017, 05:44 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 21 2017, 05:41 PM)
Focus with discounts  rclxs0.gif

thumbsup.gif new 2018 macam coming, gonna wait. thumbup.gif
DigitalMop
post Jun 22 2017, 03:01 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(mostwanted82 @ Jun 22 2017, 02:30 PM)
2018 camry leather seats, how is it compare to elantra sport? Lol
[attachmentid=8918758]

[attachmentid=8918770]
camry v6 US spec? wont come in here 1, even mazda 6 in US come with WHite interior, look like hyper car interior
DigitalMop
post Jun 22 2017, 10:32 PM

60 posts

Skip to 4.00
where is why i wanted a manual version of elantra
DigitalMop
post Jul 3 2017, 11:58 AM

60 posts

sudah beli a? i been waiting to see the car on the road, until today tarak, and the hyundai showroom opposite my house have yet to see any new unit coming in.padahal honda few meters away dam laku
DigitalMop
post Jul 3 2017, 01:56 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 3 2017, 01:27 PM)
Even honda laku pun i also dunwan to buy them
Dun wori the elantra huge disc will coming
im waiting on this discount!! cant wait this 205HP badboy!

0.0636sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:14 PM