Maixs free phone offer, For RM 98 plan

TSmystvearn
post Jan 17 2017, 12:43 PM, updated 8y ago

6,511 posts

Just now someone from Maxis call me on a fixed line. The person offer me 3 phones:

Samsung J1 ace, J3 and ZTE Blade A610.
I see the details here under the RM 98 plan.
https://www.maxis.com.my/en/personal/devices/powerofone.html

I am already a MR98 customer and have one supplementary line. This person is offering a free phone. If I want a higher spec phone, I must topup. Even iphone is offered. I don't plan to migrate away from maxis and have been their customer for more than 10 years now. Should I get the free phone? Are there strings attached which I am not aware of? As far as I am aware of, this free phone means they will lock me in the RM98 package for 2 years. If I leave early, then need to pay. I asked the person to email me the T&C, the person says he cannot and can only read me the T&C for verbal agreement. I am a bit suspicious with this kind of agreement since usually phone sellers will slip in unfavorable terms if verbal consent is given.

Thank you all for the advice.

This post has been edited by mystvearn: Jan 17 2017, 12:45 PM
ave666
post Jan 17 2017, 03:23 PM

Beginner
1,515 posts

I think you'll be tied with 24 months contract with those phone. it will problems when you want to purchase other phone with zerolution or other offers
TSmystvearn
post Jan 17 2017, 03:44 PM

6,511 posts

QUOTE(ave666 @ Jan 17 2017, 03:23 PM)
I think you'll be tied with 24 months contract with those phone. it will problems when you want to purchase other phone with zerolution or other offers
I am using a 3 year old note 3. If I get the phone, I will still use the Note 3 as my daily phone. biggrin.gif Only thing I am worried is that if there monthly rates would be slashed from RM98 then I might loose out.
shalihah1987
post Jan 18 2017, 02:36 PM

took their free phone promotion close to 2 years ago for my main line, tied down to a 24-month contract. Had to upgrade my supp line to also become main line in order to get another phone via Zerolution.

Now that the free phone contract is almost up, I'm thinking of porting out. Hehehe
TSmystvearn
post Jan 18 2017, 02:57 PM

6,511 posts

QUOTE(shalihah1987 @ Jan 18 2017, 02:36 PM)
took their free phone promotion close to 2 years ago for my main line, tied down to a 24-month contract. Had to upgrade my supp line to also become main line in order to get another phone via Zerolution.

Now that the free phone contract is almost up, I'm thinking of porting out. Hehehe
Mine is under the maxisone program, not the zerolution. IINM, you get a better phone in zerolution, but you need to pay extra monthly for the phone right?
SUSVelocity
post Jan 18 2017, 03:57 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jan 18 2017, 02:57 PM)
Mine is under the maxisone program, not the zerolution. IINM, you get a better phone in zerolution, but you need to pay extra monthly for the phone right?
most of us think rm1 is just a marketing gimic the value is calculated question is it worth for 24 months?

currently maxis have the most expensive plan like my friend just ported maxis one plan lite 78 to u mobile u 28

if u deduct the money in 24months he still have rm1,200 to buy a phone and get more data than maxis.

shalihah1987
post Jan 18 2017, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jan 18 2017, 02:57 PM)
zerolution = monthly instalment for phone + add 2 more years with Maxis
TSmystvearn
post Jan 19 2017, 09:11 AM

6,511 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Jan 18 2017, 03:57 PM)
most of us think rm1 is just a marketing gimic the value is calculated question is it worth for 24 months?

currently maxis have the most expensive plan like my friend just ported maxis one plan lite 78 to u mobile u 28

if u deduct the money in 24months he still have rm1,200 to buy a phone and get more data than maxis.
Yes. Maxis is the most expensive. But it has good 4G coverage and good overall coverage. My kampung has maxis and celcom. During the Kelantan Flood 2014, only Maxis was working. All other telcos down.
magnesium
post Jan 19 2017, 09:14 AM

1,130 posts

if u really loyal to maxis please get that free phone

no harm when tied with 24 months contract
TSmystvearn
post Jan 19 2017, 09:15 AM

6,511 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Jan 19 2017, 09:14 AM)
if u really loyal to maxis please get that free phone

no harm when tied with 24 months contract
Yep. Ordered one.
hightechgadgets8
post Jan 19 2017, 09:45 AM

Rất Vui Được làm quen với bạn
5,646 posts

a case for TS to look at

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4169435
SUSVelocity
post Jan 19 2017, 10:33 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jan 19 2017, 09:11 AM)
Yes. Maxis is the most expensive. But it has good 4G coverage and good overall coverage. My kampung has maxis and celcom. During the Kelantan Flood 2014, only Maxis was working. All other telcos down.
not really i ported out from maxis last year been with maxis for 15 years. even in karak area and my farm area u mobile have better coverage. i disagree when u said goof 4g coverage and over all good coverage. i am still got maxis hyc here.

even here no 4G for maxis only H+. I feel no regret at all now i have 15gb + 7gb video + unlimited music streaming + unlimited calls for rm70.

my friend paying rm78 for one plan lite ported out 3 days ago no regrets too.

just sharing our experience.

SUSVelocity
post Jan 19 2017, 10:37 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jan 19 2017, 09:15 AM)
Yep. Ordered one.
not smart kena slaugther then take low end phone kena jail for 24months with the most expensive plan.

should take a more expensive phone then sell then buy the low end phone

This post has been edited by Velocity: Jan 19 2017, 10:38 AM
TSmystvearn
post Jan 19 2017, 03:00 PM

6,511 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Jan 19 2017, 10:33 AM)
not really i ported out from maxis last year been with maxis for 15 years. even in karak area and my farm area u mobile have better coverage. i disagree when u said goof 4g coverage  and over all good coverage. i am still got maxis hyc here.

even here no 4G for maxis only H+. I feel no regret at all now i have 15gb + 7gb video  + unlimited music streaming + unlimited calls for rm70.

my friend paying rm78 for one plan lite ported out 3 days ago no regrets too.

just sharing our experience.
Maybe it is based on location area. My kampung a bit remote.

QUOTE(Velocity @ Jan 19 2017, 10:37 AM)
not smart kena slaugther then take low end phone kena jail for 24months with the most expensive plan.

should take a more expensive phone  then sell then buy the low end phone
I am on the RM98 plan since last year. With or without it, I am still on the RM98 plan. I don't think this free phone will replace my Note 3 anyway since I use the stylus.
SUSVelocity
post Jan 19 2017, 07:21 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jan 19 2017, 03:00 PM)
Maybe it is based on location area. My kampung a bit remote.
I am on the RM98 plan since last year. With or without it, I am still on the RM98 plan. I don't think this free phone will replace my Note 3 anyway since I use the stylus.
the idea is to take that plan and make the phone value worth while. when maxis said it's free its not that why u are tied in contract
mztang52
post Feb 4 2017, 12:26 AM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

I am an old Maxis customer for more than 16 years. Few years back tried DiGi after it has launched 3 years later. I can see DiGi is keep on improving and Maxis takes very long time to upgrade their lousy network. Now I ported out my DiGi to webe and I am a little bit regret because webe's speed is really slow. I don't want to port out my Maxis just because I like the internet speed. It is really fast, but when you travel out from Penang, Kuala Lumpur, Johor and some cities, you will hate it. No signal then got two bars signal then no signal.

This post has been edited by mztang52: Feb 4 2017, 12:27 AM
lamode
post Feb 9 2017, 12:44 PM

anything could happen!
3,797 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Feb 4 2017, 12:26 AM)
I am an old Maxis customer for more than 16 years. Few years back tried DiGi after it has launched 3 years later. I can see DiGi is keep on improving and Maxis takes very long time to upgrade their lousy network. Now I ported out my DiGi to webe and I am a little bit regret because webe's speed is really slow. I don't want to port out my Maxis just because I like the internet speed. It is really fast, but when you travel out from Penang, Kuala Lumpur, Johor and some cities, you will hate it. No signal then got two bars signal then no signal.
i tot u already ported from maxis --> digi --> webe?
mztang52
post Feb 9 2017, 12:54 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Feb 9 2017, 01:44 PM)
i tot u already ported from maxis --> digi --> webe?
No. I have two phones.
Phone 1=Maxis for 15 years or more.
Phone 2=Digi->Webe
hafizredha
post Feb 14 2017, 11:19 AM

425 posts

hi maxis cs if im upgrading maxis share rm 48 to maxis one 188 and take rm1 glXY A7 2017,Do i still need to pay the rm700 plus advance payment or not.before this im taking rm 1 iphone 5s with my maxis one plan 158.tq cs.

0.0148sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:16 PM