Maxis are Professional Liars?, Personal experience OMG

TSbrandon10075
post Jan 8 2017, 01:47 AM, updated 9y ago

26 posts

I’m from Penang and a few months ago (September 2016), Maxis called me saying that they are offering us a free Samsung J3 phone, the staff asked for my IC and some verifications. At that time, me and my mum were actually curious was it really from Official Maxis or is it just another scam, after a few calls and also we verified about it at Penang Main Maxis Centre, it was confirm thats was true. But with a 2 years contract with my current package, well, me and my mum think since its free and we weren't thinking of changing to other Service providers, why not? shakehead.gif

So now the main problem happens. After a long discussion, my mum decided to buy me an iPhone 7 Plus. Last Thursday, me and my mum went to the Maxis Main Branch and ask enquires about how the package works. So this is how it works.

You need to be a MaxisOnePlan 128 dry.gif to be entitled to purchase an iPhone 7 Plus (rm2915).

I'm currently at MaxisOnePlan 98 so I need to upgrade my plan in order to purchase the phone. While things start to process, the staff told us that we already have owned a phone (Samsung J3) under my line for a 2 year contract, and I'm not allowed to buy another phone from Maxis. If i insist to buy, I'll be penalty for rm600+ for nothing.

OK? bangwall.gif
1. They did mention about not allowed to buy other phone offers in future. mad.gif
2. Logical thinking, having a 2 years contract means you are not allowed to cancel the plan for 2 years rclxub.gif
3. I did a complain and they called back, I asked why didn't mention about not allowed to buy other phones from maxis, staff replied"they were train not to say, unless customers asked" vmad.gif
4. A Samsung J3 is actually nothing to us as my whole family are mostly using idevices, and the Samsung J3 is now still at home, new and sealed from its safety plastic (p/s as no one uses Samsung J3 such a "High Spec" phone)
5. Its not that I'm redeeming another free phone, I'm upgrading and paying for a new phone, and this shit happens

Now I'm waiting Monday to meet the Penang Branch Manager and sort out a solution, see how its gonna work

Will keep you guys update

icon_question.gif Just wanted to know anyone encountered the same problem with me before? And How was it solved? icon_question.gif

ranting.gif So please TAKE NOTE ON THIS! ranting.gif

NEVER GET FREE THINGS FROM MAXIS

This post has been edited by brandon10075: Jan 8 2017, 02:09 AM
ads398
post Jan 8 2017, 02:11 AM

142 posts

hahaha looks like u dun understand wat is contract

gv u an extreme scenario:-
Jan i buy a $500 phone at $0 contract 2 yrs
Feb i wan another phone value $1000
Mar i wan another phone value $2000
Apr i wan another phone value $3000

So wat if u pay more on each phone and plan...
TSbrandon10075
post Jan 8 2017, 02:16 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(ads398 @ Jan 8 2017, 02:11 AM)
hahaha looks like u dun understand wat is contract

gv u an extreme scenario:-
Jan i buy a $500 phone at $0 contract 2 yrs
Feb i wan another phone value $1000
Mar i wan another phone value $2000
Apr i wan another phone value $3000

So wat if u pay more on each phone and plan...
Yes I understand, but as you know, we are not familiar with this, and even went to the main branch to ask about the offer the details and the T&C, they never mention about you are not allowed to buy a new phone
The phone was not requested by us, it was maxis that called to offered us, we didnt pay anything or insisting of anything, but we are geting penalty now, even the Samsung J3 is not worth the price of the penalty bro

Wish you can understand sad.gif

Edited:
Also as what i stated
2. Logical thinking, having a 2 years contract means you are not allowed to cancel the plan for 2 years

BTW thanks for the reply

This post has been edited by brandon10075: Jan 8 2017, 02:18 AM
mave222
post Jan 8 2017, 02:25 AM

192 posts

鍾欣桐: 我好天真我好傻
cedyy
post Jan 8 2017, 10:25 AM

1,403 posts

you should know better that there's no such thing as 'free' phone
cucubud
post Jan 8 2017, 11:26 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(brandon10075 @ Jan 8 2017, 02:16 AM)
Yes I understand, but as you know, we are not familiar with this, and even went to the main branch to ask about the offer the details and the T&C, they never mention about you are not allowed to buy a new phone
The phone was not requested by us, it was maxis that called to offered us, we didnt pay anything or insisting of anything, but we are geting penalty now, even the Samsung J3 is not worth the price of the penalty bro

Wish you can understand  sad.gif

Edited:
Also as what i stated
2. Logical thinking, having a 2 years contract means you are not allowed to cancel the plan for 2 years

BTW thanks for the reply
From my understanding, you already took the "offer" that came with a free Samsung J3 phone. And with this offer, you are tied to a 2 year contract.
Now you cannot buy the iPhone at a discount since you have already utilised the "offer" that came with Maxis One Plan 128.

If Maxis allows you to buy another phone at a discount, then you might as well buy many phones at a discount and sell to other people.
heavenly91
post Jan 8 2017, 11:30 AM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

You're greedy
alexleow81
post Jan 8 2017, 01:29 PM

Liverpool FC
2,782 posts

Brother, you cannot blame Maxis for this...is your fault smile.gif
TSbrandon10075
post Jan 8 2017, 09:10 PM

26 posts

Yes guys, as you know, me and my mum is not clear and familiar how it works, so i ask you guys and story out what happen.
We are not greedy, we come from a standard economical family. As what you guys mean, if you buy a discount phone from Maxis and you are not allow to buy another one, that I understand.
But now is i asked from phone and also directly from office if there is any T&C. They say nothing but now like this.
I also understand that we also have our wrong, so i'm just asking.
I'm not wanting to buy many phones 😂 As i don't have that much money to afford them, i'm just 1st time buying a phone and now its like this sad.gif
TSbrandon10075
post Jan 8 2017, 09:12 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jan 8 2017, 11:26 AM)
From my understanding, you already took the "offer" that came with a free Samsung J3 phone. And with this offer, you are tied to a 2 year contract.
Now you cannot buy the iPhone at a discount since you have already utilised the "offer" that came with Maxis One Plan 128.

If Maxis allows you to buy another phone at a discount, then you might as well buy many phones at a discount and sell to other people.
Yes bro, but now I'm mop 98, upgrading to mop 128 to buy a phone sad.gif as my account never bought any phone ma sad.gif
TSbrandon10075
post Jan 8 2017, 09:14 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(alexleow81 @ Jan 8 2017, 01:29 PM)
Brother, you cannot blame Maxis for this...is your fault smile.gif

I agree we are at fault too, but do you think that its fair? Think if this happens to you, what you think, you ask clearly, and when you want to buy a phone, they say you brought a phone lock with ur package, need 2 years or penalty rm600+ for nothing ?
kmrdeva
post Jan 8 2017, 09:18 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(brandon10075 @ Jan 8 2017, 09:12 PM)
Yes bro, but now I'm mop 98, upgrading to mop 128 to buy a phone sad.gif as my account never bought any phone ma sad.gif
One option is don't upgrade your plan. Buy your new iPhone at retail price outside and use with your 98 plan.

Then sell off the Samsung phone since you mentioned your family all use idevices.
cucubud
post Jan 8 2017, 09:40 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(brandon10075 @ Jan 8 2017, 09:12 PM)
I see. Now you are on MOP98, Maxis tricked you to sign a 2 year contract and give you a Samsung J3 free.
You wanted to upgrade to MOP128 to buy the discounted iPhone but you are already on a 2 year contract.
Try to negotiate with Maxis since you have not open the Samsung J3.
Another option is to sell the Samsung J3 and use the money to pay the penalty to break the contract.

TSbrandon10075
post Jan 8 2017, 10:25 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Jan 8 2017, 09:18 PM)
One option is don't upgrade your plan. Buy your new iPhone at retail price outside and use with your 98 plan.

Then sell off the Samsung phone since you mentioned your family all use idevices.
Ya, thats what I'm maybe gonna do if Maxis can't do anything, will update you guys
TSbrandon10075
post Jan 8 2017, 10:29 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jan 8 2017, 09:40 PM)
I see. Now you are on MOP98, Maxis tricked you to sign a 2 year contract and give you a Samsung J3 free.
You wanted to upgrade to MOP128 to buy the discounted iPhone but you are already on a 2 year contract.
Try to negotiate with Maxis since you have not open the Samsung J3.
Another option is to sell the Samsung J3 and use the money to pay the penalty to break the contract.
Finally someone understands my situation 😭😭😭

Yes, sort of trick la, as they never mention anything but 2 years contract, normally people say 2 years contract means not able to cancel your current line right? Thats why i'm confused when they say i'm not allowed to buy other phones

Yes, your options are quite reasonable, but i'm afraid that the phone is not even worth the price of the penalty (rm600+) 😂

Edited:
I've never sign, they just called and ask for verification, and address, then they just send the phone to us

This post has been edited by brandon10075: Jan 8 2017, 10:33 PM
SUSVelocity
post Jan 8 2017, 10:50 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(brandon10075 @ Jan 8 2017, 02:16 AM)

Wish you can understand  sad.gif

Edited:
Also as what i stated

BTW thanks for the reply
why didnt you ask us here before u response? Most people here are smarter and know more than maxis representative.

Most of maxis offer requires contract of 2 years. There once case previously even agent said no contract after 1 year he found one its 2years contract.

That why i ported out of maxis 15 corporate line

Logic thinking from us if you cancel at anytime within contract will have a penalty,

You are are allowed to buy a new phone but it will be on a different contract but not on the existing one and if u plan to buy full price you are allow too

This post has been edited by Velocity: Jan 8 2017, 10:51 PM
TSbrandon10075
post Jan 8 2017, 11:01 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Jan 8 2017, 10:50 PM)
why didnt you ask us here before u response? Most people here are smarter and know more than maxis representative.

Most of maxis offer requires contract of 2 years. There once case previously even agent said no contract after 1 year he found one its 2years contract.

That why i ported out of maxis 15 corporate line
Logic thinking from us if you cancel at anytime within contract will have a penalty,

You are are allowed to buy  a new phone but it will be on a different contract but not on the existing one and if u plan to buy full price you are allow too
Yes bro, i understand your meaning, but if you say that i buy that phone, and im not allowed to buy from maxis for 2 years that I can accept.
The problem now is they called and offered me and persuaded my mum to talk because it is totally free, they called once or twice a day i cant remember, at first we didnt believe, until we verified it from Maxis Centre so I didnt response here, this is my bad sad.gif

What do you mean by "There once case previously even agent said no contract after 1 year he found one its 2years contract."

Thx for the reply

This post has been edited by brandon10075: Jan 8 2017, 11:02 PM
SUSVelocity
post Jan 8 2017, 11:43 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(brandon10075 @ Jan 8 2017, 11:01 PM)
Yes bro, i understand your meaning, but if you say that i buy that phone, and im not allowed to buy from maxis for 2 years that I can accept.
The problem now is they called and offered me and persuaded my mum to talk because it is totally free, they called once or twice a day i cant remember, at first we didnt believe, until we verified it from Maxis Centre so I didnt response here, this is my bad   sad.gif

What do you mean by "There once case previously even agent said no contract after 1 year he found one its 2years contract."

Thx for the reply
just remind to yourself anything free from maxis you need to check properly. Maxis is never nice even the free data upgrade also because they mess up offering secret plan to not loyal customer but for porting out customers. They lost so many customers because even representative maxis deny while so many customer replied they got the offer.

What i mean the guy was got a maxis plan but after 6months, they told him its within contract.

Why maxis offer you the Samsung J3 because the value already calculated in it so its not really free that why u are bind for 2 years contract

This post has been edited by Velocity: Jan 8 2017, 11:45 PM
TSbrandon10075
post Jan 8 2017, 11:59 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Jan 8 2017, 11:43 PM)
just remind to yourself anything free from maxis you need to check properly. Maxis is never nice even the free data upgrade also because they mess up offering secret plan to not loyal customer but for porting out customers. They lost so many customers because even representative maxis deny while so many customer replied they got the offer.
What i mean the guy was got a maxis plan but after 6months, they told him its within contract.

Why maxis offer you the Samsung J3 because the value already calculated in it so its not really free that why u are bind for 2 years contract
Yes, after this I've learn my lesson, NEVER GET FREE THINGS FROM MAXIS, really at least i know everything, i feel like i got scammed by Maxis so blindly, imagine if i didnt want to buy a phone, and something urgent only i found out this contract thing, omg this would pissed people off

Anyway guys, let see what Maxis is going to say about it tomorrow, then we learn our lessons from it sad.gif
Mr_47
post Jan 9 2017, 12:01 AM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

untrain animalistic staff is

0.0192sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:17 PM