O/D On or Off? - Urgent, Should I Keep my O/D on? (Overdrive)

TSamandawo
post Jan 11 2017, 10:15 AM, updated 9y ago

13 posts

I noticed my Toyota Vios has this O/D button which I don't know exactly how it's function. The sales person just told me that I should only turn it off (Indicate light on) when I'm doing sharp cornering with higher speed to cut down the speed. Hence, my O/D is always on (indicate light off) since I don't do sharp cornering or what-so-ever... until i forgot it's there.

The only thing i noticed so far is the fuel consumption of my car is very high. Full tank RM67, only run 260-280km. I thought is the gear box oil (since i didn't change gear box oil at all), so I changed my gearbox oil, yet it doesn't help at all. I've ask the mechanic to check what's wrong with my car yet they can't give me any answer, as everything seems fine.

The only thing that I could think of that cause the fuel consumption is the Overdrive. I've tried checking online, but it's very confusing, by telling on the off... you know O/D off - light on, O/D on - light off...

Could anyone help me on this? Should I turn off (light on) my overdrive all the time when I'm driving, or turn on (light off) my overdrive?

suomonev
post Jan 11 2017, 10:20 AM

23 posts

make sure the light is off when daily driving. unless you wanna overtake, then you can use it (light on)
19 Degree South
post Jan 11 2017, 10:21 AM

1,684 posts

Lol...no wonder vios is named the God 's car! Tell you ah....OD is more powderful than the turbo you now! No wonder I saw a vios tapao a 328 the other day! biggrin.gif
abu.shofwan
post Jan 11 2017, 10:24 AM

1,455 posts

as far as i know, O/D means overdrive.
however, i have read two different types of O/D. One is used for overtaking, i.e. it sort of shift down the gear. I had a Corona (year 1998), back in Brunei that had an O/D button on it. By using the O/D, the car would only go up to 3rd gear only (4 speed auto) - or shift down to 2 if it was in 3... something like that. But no matter how fast I was going, it never went into 4 gear - hence my logic that it only go up to 3rd.

I believe my friend's rented Vios also had this type (he rented, while I bought - both worked in Brunei at the same time). You can imagine that fuel consumption is not the best it can achieve when using this.

Another type of O/D i have read - but never came accross (in the real world) is the opposite type. It may be just a theory, well... at least for me it is. There is supposed to be like a higher gear, so that when you are cruising, the transmission would use the highest gear it can. the logic is that you can achieve better mileage.

Hope to read explanation from our sifus on this issue.

This post has been edited by abu.shofwan: Jan 11 2017, 10:27 AM
WhiteBuffalo
post Jan 11 2017, 10:25 AM

20 posts

OD is indeed overdrive. It acts like another gear.

You should engage overdrive on daily driving. The engine is less stressed and fuel consumption is lower since it is effectively another gear.

If you want to drive enthusiastically, then switch it off - the car will keep the revs up and give you better pick-up (at the expense of fuel consumption). In addition, it should also be switched off for extended downhill runs, to maximise engine braking and reduce the chances of brake overheating.
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 11 2017, 10:27 AM

142 posts

you will notice when you driving and turn it off (light on), car will drop gear.

OD off (lights on) only when you want to overtake / naik bukit with low gears. if normal chill santai drive, just let it on (light off)
TSamandawo
post Jan 11 2017, 10:32 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Jan 11 2017, 10:27 AM)
you will notice when you driving and turn it off (light on), car will drop gear.

OD off (lights on) only when you want to overtake / naik bukit with low gears. if normal chill santai drive, just let it on (light off)
Hi Sifu, I left my O/D on (light off) since i got the car, my fuel consumption is like full tank running 260-280km.. is this normal? Cause mechanic can't tell whats wrong... T.T ....
TamashiiHeroes
post Jan 11 2017, 10:33 AM

35 posts

may i know ur vios model?
the FC is dam horrible
cooljik93
post Jan 11 2017, 10:37 AM

as per my knowledge, the O/D i just to give you better response. It acts like a throttle control. But of course its response is not comparable to a throttle controller. Its similar stuffs. When its more responsive, surely it burns more fuel. Turning O/D off will be more fuel saving as it will be less responsive. my 2 cents.
TSamandawo
post Jan 11 2017, 10:42 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(TamashiiHeroes @ Jan 11 2017, 10:33 AM)
may i know ur vios model?
the FC is dam horrible
Erm... I just know it's year 2006, with the g specs
lsm1991
post Jan 11 2017, 10:42 AM

309 posts

the heck am i reading.....

im not sure how toyota uses this term.... but...

1)overdrive gears refers to the highest or last gear(s) the tranny has... (in the case of the older vios-es, thats 4)
2)If you run around and cruise on 1-2-3.... or drive around with the lower gears alone... your rpms must be sky high.... nowonderlah your fc macam tu..... cannot imagine how stressed the engine must be....

**and no, od does not mess with the throttle in the vios... signal only hooks up to the tcu (iirc)

edit....
easy way to check.... cruise at 80 or 100... test with od on and off .... the setting that allows you to roll around with the lower rpm's is the 'correct' setting... simple?
*even simpler = owner manual*

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jan 11 2017, 10:44 AM
TSamandawo
post Jan 11 2017, 10:45 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(WhiteBuffalo @ Jan 11 2017, 10:25 AM)
OD is indeed overdrive.  It acts like another gear.

You should engage overdrive on daily driving.  The engine is less stressed and fuel consumption is lower since it is effectively another gear.

If you want to drive enthusiastically, then switch it off - the car will keep the revs up and give you better pick-up (at the expense of fuel consumption).  In addition, it should also be switched off for extended downhill runs, to maximise engine braking and reduce the chances of brake overheating.
Meaning I should switch it on(lights off) for normal driving?
alexchew_2020
post Jan 11 2017, 10:49 AM

MOD
3,363 posts

O/D should't be ON/lighted during normal driving.
(if ON O/D u can see the r/min speedometer will be high, and u can hear the enjin sound a bit loud and the enjin is kicking when u step your foot on the acceleration pedal)

except u wanna over take a car in short distant/ climb hill then only use O/D.

vios full tank can goes 350~400km+

This post has been edited by alexchew_2020: Jan 11 2017, 10:52 AM
PedangGila
post Jan 11 2017, 10:52 AM

918 posts

Never used the function really on purpose unless a few times out of curiosity because when the engine is already in high rpm it's useless to tap into it. The other O/D switch for me is the gas pedal itself.
TSamandawo
post Jan 11 2017, 10:53 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Jan 11 2017, 10:49 AM)
O/D should't be ON/lighted during normal driving.
(if ON O/D u can see the r/min speedometer will be high, and u can hear the enjin sound a bit loud and the enjin  is kicking when u step your foot on the acceleration pedal)

except u wanna over take a car in short distant/ climb hill then only use O/D.

vios full tank can goes 350~400km+
Usually I drive with the light off, all these while.. But I could only get 260-280km full tank...
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 11 2017, 10:54 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 11 2017, 10:32 AM)
Hi Sifu, I left my O/D on (light off) since i got the car, my fuel consumption is like full tank running 260-280km.. is this normal? Cause mechanic can't tell whats wrong... T.T ....
you did it right, just turn OD on (light off) during normal driving. but your FC is scary tho. My dad's Vios year 07 spec G, full tank can go ~380km. better ask mechanic check other things.
aeiou228
post Jan 11 2017, 10:54 AM

5,871 posts

The O/D lights should be off

Effy92
post Jan 11 2017, 10:57 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jan 11 2017, 10:42 AM)
the heck am i reading.....

im not sure how toyota uses this term.... but...

1)overdrive gears refers to the highest or last gear(s) the tranny has... (in the case of the older vios-es, thats 4)
2)If you run around and cruise on 1-2-3.... or drive around with the lower gears alone... your rpms must be sky high.... nowonderlah your fc macam tu..... cannot imagine how stressed the engine must be....

**and no, od does not mess with the throttle in the vios... signal only hooks up to the tcu (iirc)

edit....
easy way to check.... cruise at 80 or 100... test with od on and off .... the setting that allows you to roll around with the lower rpm's is the 'correct' setting... simple?
*even simpler = owner manual*
This
TSamandawo
post Jan 11 2017, 11:07 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Effy92 @ Jan 11 2017, 10:57 AM)
This
Sorry Sifus.... I don't get the meaning of this reply... cause I'm actually a total noob... I drive only for daily normal driving, go to work, come home... erm... I don't understand how engine stress... cause I'm stress when I saw the Fuel consumption too.... how to test driving 80-100? and what should i see ? how does it works?
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 11 2017, 11:15 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 11 2017, 11:07 AM)
Sorry Sifus.... I don't get the meaning of this reply... cause I'm actually a total noob... I drive only for daily normal driving, go to work, come home... erm... I don't understand how engine stress... cause I'm stress when I saw the Fuel consumption too.... how to test driving 80-100? and what should i see ? how does it works?
Your car problem since you bought 10 years ago or just happened recently?? if since you bought it, might be your car system was wrongly set up, supposedly OD on (light off), FC cantek. OD off (light on), FC high. But based on your FC experience, your car's set up OD on (light on), FC high... not sure you understand or not biggrin.gif

So best way is, get your dad / brother / friend or whoever you think can help you to test your car. No need good pomen to recognize this OD functionality.
TSamandawo
post Jan 11 2017, 11:20 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Jan 11 2017, 11:15 AM)
Your car problem since you bought 10 years ago or just happened recently?? if since you bought it, might be your car system was wrongly set up, supposedly OD on (light off), FC cantek. OD off (light on), FC high. But based on your FC experience, your car's set up OD on (light on), FC high... not sure you understand or not biggrin.gif

So best way is, get your dad / brother / friend or whoever you think can help you to test your car. No need good pomen to recognize this OD functionality.
Okok, I ask someone to check again... cause I have no brother, my dad dunno all these.. T.T
I bought this car second hand year 2012... all the while not mistaken about 380 only... now gets even lower til my pocket pain only i worry... its' my fault ler i know... cause didn't maintain car... but i always bring to service and all edi... T.T
TSamandawo
post Jan 11 2017, 11:23 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Jan 11 2017, 11:15 AM)

BTW... do you know roughly what other reason that may cause high FC for vios? I change gear oil edi. Service my car too.

Mechanic said mounting rosak but will not affect anything just that the car shake badly. tyre must change, nothing else liao... no mechanic could tell what happen.. i went 2 mechanics edi/...
aeiou228
post Jan 11 2017, 11:27 AM

5,871 posts

1) Drive constant speed 90km/h. OD lights on. hear the engine sound and see the RPM meter.
2) Drive constant speed 90km/h. OD lights off. hear the engine sound and see the RPM meter.

Choose the setting with lower engine sound and lower RPM reading.
lsm1991
post Jan 11 2017, 11:27 AM

309 posts

find a clear open highway......
1)test 1, od button clicked (light on)
-try drive at around 80 kmh (or whatever the speed limit is, faster = more noticeable)
-maintain said speed (try maintain the same speed aka needle no move, keep it at the same speed)
*to know what speed you are driving at, check your speedometer (the one with km/h)
-take note of the rpms (remember the figure)
*to know what the rpms are, check the tachometer, the meter with the rpm
-tabulate result
example: result: at 80 km/h, od light on, rpms are at around 3000rpm/3krpm

2)test 2, od button clicked again or 'disabled'(light off) (whatever you want to call it, select the other setting)
-try drive at around the same speed as before
-again, maintain said speed (try maintain the same speed aka needle no move, keep it at the same speed)
*to know what speed you are driving at, check the same meter, your speedometer (the one with km/h)
-again take note of the rpms (remember the figure again, do not confuse it with the other figure)
*to know what the rpms are, again check the tachometer, the meter with the rpm
-tabulate result
example: result: at 80 km/h, od light off, rpms are at around 2500rpm/2.5krpm

- the mode where you achieve lower rpms for the same speed... stick with that mode....

***examples are just examples u might not get those figures, just examples..... go forth and post your findings

edit: good luck laugh.gif thumbup.gif

i honestly cannot make it any easier than this sweat.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 11 2017, 11:27 AM)
1) Drive constant speed 90km/h. OD lights on. hear the engine sound and see the RPM meter.
2) Drive constant speed 90km/h. OD lights off. hear the engine sound and see the RPM meter.

eik whylah i type long version doh.gif

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jan 11 2017, 11:29 AM
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 11 2017, 11:36 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 11 2017, 11:23 AM)
BTW... do you know roughly what other reason that may cause high FC for vios? I change gear oil edi. Service my car too.

Mechanic said mounting rosak but will not affect anything just that the car shake badly. tyre must change, nothing else liao... no mechanic could tell what happen.. i went 2 mechanics edi/...
I'm no expert, but check these 2 basic first. If all good then it might be relating to the internal parts of your engine.

EO change on time? if use semi syn, around 5-6k odo must change. if use fully syn up to 10k odo then change. If no change on time, dalam engine sudah berat because it's not lubricating the moving parts good enough.

changed to bigger sport rim? bigger s/rim makes your car heavier

driving style? city drive everyday jam also contributes high FC

TamashiiHeroes
post Jan 11 2017, 11:44 AM

35 posts

very simple dude
try crusiing on the same speed , on/off the OD and monitor RPM
which ever go lower RPM which mean tat 1 save fuel
rcracer
post Jan 11 2017, 11:54 AM

?????
3,772 posts

Leave it switched on I.e. No light in dashboard
theanswer
post Jan 11 2017, 12:14 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jan 11 2017, 10:21 AM)
Lol...no wonder vios is named the God 's car! Tell you ah....OD is more powderful than the turbo you now! No wonder I saw a vios tapao a 328 the other day!  biggrin.gif
dont play2. mine the new one with cvt 7 speed...final 2 gear can beat merc. icon_idea.gif
sweeann
post Jan 11 2017, 12:19 PM

183 posts

nowadays all cars are auto-transmission, means the car will automatically change the gear for you depending on the speed you are driving.

1. car starting to move (i.e. 0km/h - 15km/h), need more full push power, so the car will automatically choose low gear (gear-1)
2. when car moving slowly (i.e. 16km/h - 30km/h), the car moving got a bit of momentum dy but momentum just a bit, so still need strong push power but less than full pull power, the car will automatically change from gear-1 to gear-2
3. when car moving a bit faster (i.e. 31km/h - 50km/h), the car moving with some momentum dy, so need less push power, the car will automatically change from gear-2 to gear-3
4. when car moving 50km/h and above, the speed of the car with momentum is also helping to push the car, so need least push power, the car will automatically change from gear-3 to gear-4
5. when you slowdown due to traffic ahead (i.e 31km/h - 50km/h), momentum reduced, need again more push power, car automatically change your gear from gear-4 to gear-3

So the gear number is depending on how fast you are going and how much push power you need, if wrong gear number vs. needed push power, the car will not have enough power to move, this will only happens on manual-transmission gear car, like using gear-3 to start moving a car (0km/h - 15km/h), the car engine will die immediately.

so auto-trasmission car (not those CVT type), normally will have 4 gears (gear-1, gear-2, gear-3 and gear-4), all this 4 gear will be used for your normal driving, the car will automatically change the suitable gear-number for you depending on your speed then.

OD means over-drive, turn it on is to reduce the number gears the car can use, i.e. change from 4-gears to 3-gears (gear-1, gear-2 and gear-3 only), this is to give the car some extra power, i.e. going uphill like Genting, or because you need some extra boost to overtake car in front.

Your FC is high because you turn on the OD, limiting the gear to gear-3 only, but your normal driving I guess should be faster than 40-50km/h, maybe you will be driving at 60-70km/h, so the engine will be very stress, working on small gear but at high speed with high RPM, hence consume more petrol.

Note:
Proper way to over take a car in front: lets say you are driving on 2nd fast lane at 60km/h (gear-4), the car in front of you is driving also driving 60km/h, but then you decided to over take him, look at right side no car coming, turn on over-drive (car will change from gear-4 to gear-3), maneuver the steering wheel to the faster lane, press the accelerator, it will give the car a bit of extra boosts because of gear-3, RPM/torque will change to higher/extra push power, engine sounds will be louder, when your car is at same level with the car you want to overtake, turnoff the overdrive, so the car will change from gear-3 back back to gear-4 and not to stress the engine so much and also give you back your full speed.

Overdrive Layman Term : a short time turbo button for speeding, or long time extra power to climb uphill.

Hope this help.
ahchun
post Jan 11 2017, 12:20 PM

MiddleAge
1,148 posts

What is the condition of traffic?, if traffic is bad then FC is bad too.

Is it you always wait in car and let the engine run? This will use petrol with no milage for you to track. This case mostly happen for sales person waiting for appointment and parent wait for their kid to finish school.

Tire need to always properly inflated

And also your driving habit

For the OD, you already doing it right. Just let it ON (light off)
itwj27
post Jan 11 2017, 12:49 PM

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 11 2017, 10:15 AM)
I noticed my Toyota Vios has this O/D button which I don't know exactly how it's function. The sales person just told me that I should only turn it off (Indicate light on) when I'm doing sharp cornering with higher speed to cut down the speed. Hence, my O/D is always on (indicate light off) since I don't do sharp cornering or what-so-ever... until i forgot it's there.

The only thing i noticed so far is the fuel consumption of my car is very high. Full tank RM67, only run 260-280km. I thought is the gear box oil (since i didn't change gear box oil at all), so I changed my gearbox oil, yet it doesn't help at all. I've ask the mechanic to check what's wrong with my car yet they can't give me any answer, as everything seems fine.

The only thing that I could think of that cause the fuel consumption is the Overdrive. I've tried checking online, but it's very confusing, by telling on the off... you know O/D off - light on, O/D on - light off...

Could anyone help me on this? Should I turn off (light on) my overdrive all the time when I'm driving, or turn on (light off) my overdrive?
This.

If u have been using O/D on (light off) and the fuel consumption that high, something is wrong.

Check ur tyre pressures as it may affect ur fuel consumption also.

As others said, play with the button, see which is the lower rev while maintaining at a constant speed maybe around 80kmh. The lower revving should b O/D on (light off).
SUSceo684
post Jan 11 2017, 12:50 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 11 2017, 10:53 AM)
Usually I drive with the light off, all these while.. But I could only get 260-280km full tank...
U serviced ur car on time?
Check/change air filter
Pump the tyres harder abit 250kpa

If you always tekan at traffic light, try follow lorry driver smooth driving style.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 11 2017, 12:55 PM
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 11 2017, 01:42 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 11 2017, 11:27 AM)

This.

If the setting is going haywire.... It migt be trouble for you....

Do you know the history of yr car before you buy it?
TSamandawo
post Jan 11 2017, 01:45 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 11 2017, 01:42 PM)
This.

If the setting is going haywire.... It migt be trouble for you....

Do you know the history of yr car before you buy it?
It drove by an aunty, usage to go pasar buy food. All service done by Toyota service center
jojolicia
post Jan 11 2017, 03:25 PM

1,923 posts

you should, for normal drive >> O/D OFF; meaning O/D off indicator u visually see is LIGHTED thumbsup.gif
jojolicia
post Jan 11 2017, 03:29 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 11 2017, 10:32 AM)
wrong. u should see your <O/D off indicator> LIGHTED for normal drive.
jojolicia
post Jan 11 2017, 03:35 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 11 2017, 10:54 AM)
The O/D lights should be off

for normal drive > the O/D off indicator should be LIGHTED
jojolicia
post Jan 11 2017, 04:14 PM

1,923 posts

WTH, who reported my post here? whats wrong with any of my 3 posts above?
itwj27
post Jan 11 2017, 04:43 PM

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jan 11 2017, 03:35 PM)
for normal drive > the O/D off indicator should be LIGHTED
Err.. no?? It should not be lighted (i.e O/D ON) for normal drive blink.gif
jojolicia
post Jan 11 2017, 05:05 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(itwj27 @ Jan 11 2017, 04:43 PM)
Err.. no?? It should not be lighted (i.e O/D ON) for normal drive blink.gif
I stand correct, for normal drive >> O/D off indicator is lighted means the car overdrive function is OFF. brows.gif
amduser
post Jan 11 2017, 05:35 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jan 11 2017, 05:05 PM)
I stand correct, for normal drive >> O/D off indicator is lighted means the car overdrive function is OFF.  brows.gif
Overdrive should stay on (light off) all the time for best fuel economy

Overdrive off (light on) means you are limiting the maximum gear to 3rd gear and it won't engage 4th gear (for old vios gearbox)

Of course you can do both for your "normal drive" vios gearbox is very hardy, you can literally throw it around and it still work

Car owners nowadays don't read the user manual or even Google? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by amduser: Jan 11 2017, 05:36 PM
AmenoJaku
post Jan 11 2017, 07:54 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 11 2017, 05:35 PM)
Only Vios owners.
They know nuts about cars and just buy em for the badge.
dares
post Jan 11 2017, 08:16 PM

834 posts

When u cruise 110km/h on the highway, whats your RPM?
andrekua2
post Jan 11 2017, 09:18 PM

13,489 posts

You are doing it right. OD should be on, no lights at the speedometer there. Only off OD when you wanna lower a gear for overtaking or engine braking.

If you have bad fuel consumption, you might as well check a few things. Spark plugs, tyre type and pressure, engine oil type just to name a few.

Worn out plugs could cause loss of power and cause you to floor even more. Tyre pressure must be ideal around 30-32psi. If too low, lead to more contact with the road which increased rolling resistance. You could also opt to use thinner oil if you're driving short distance most of the time. All oil perform differently at cold start. They are only same when they get up to working temperature. If you're driving short distance like few km, then the engine oil might not yet reach the ideal working temperature which could lead to higher fc if you're using mineral oil 20-50w. Using fully synthetic oil could bring some improvement to fc if you're a frequent short distance.

There's also the possibility of bad oxygen sensor at the exhaust system which could cause the ecu to run the mixture a bit richer.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Jan 11 2017, 09:21 PM
alexchew_2020
post Jan 11 2017, 11:06 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

engine oil, auto transmission oil does't effect on fuel consumption. reach the milleage then just go service. normal services can do at outside more cheaper compare go to service center.

if the fuel consumption high, possibility
1. o2 sensor,
2. last owner maybe overhaul/ engine condemn before
Karenalvin
post Jan 12 2017, 10:21 AM

247 posts

the confusion in this thread is over 9000... lol

Rule of thumb: if there are any indicator lights (other than your headlights when at night) that remains consistently on when you are doing normal driving means you are doing something wrong or the car needs to be looked at.

its pretty simply really, any lights include O/D, ABS, Traction, 4x4, handbrake, battery sign, check engine should not be visible in normal use.

This post has been edited by Karenalvin: Jan 12 2017, 10:21 AM
Karenalvin
post Jan 12 2017, 10:30 AM

247 posts

As for the actual overdrive,

the overdrive gear you can think of it as a "highway cruising gear" which is typically the highest gear on your car, so if you have a 4 speeder, the overdrive is the 4th gear.

Switching it off means that you car will not go to the 4th gear and will go up maximum 3rd.

that being said, the whole O/D thing is a relic from the past for most people. all you really need to do is to stomp on your accelerator and the gear will kick down and get you in the right gear for overtaking. if you do not have enough torque, then you gearbox will not shift into higher gear in the first place.

like turning traction control off or putting a truck in low 4x4 gearing, unless you know what you are doing with the whole O/D off thingy (ie, towing), then don't bother to touch it.
heavenly91
post Jan 12 2017, 10:35 AM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

This is outrages
My 2015 Vios can clock 440km full tank
TSamandawo
post Jan 12 2017, 12:12 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(ahchun @ Jan 11 2017, 12:20 PM)
What is the condition of traffic?, if traffic is bad then FC is bad too. 

Is it you always wait in car and let the engine run?  This will use petrol with no milage for you to track. This case mostly happen for sales person waiting for appointment and parent wait for their kid to finish school. 

Tire need to always properly inflated

And also your driving habit

For the OD,  you already doing it right.  Just let it ON (light off)
I did on engine every weekdays for roughly an hour, without car moving.. Cause waiting waiting... So that's one of the factor that caused fc high too? Hmm... Then let me try not turning on engine while waiting and see it improves the fc
TSamandawo
post Jan 12 2017, 12:15 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Jan 12 2017, 10:21 AM)
the confusion in this thread is over 9000... lol

Rule of thumb: if there are any indicator lights (other than your headlights when at night) that remains consistently on when you are doing normal driving means you are doing something wrong or the car needs to be looked at.

its pretty simply really, any lights include O/D, ABS, Traction, 4x4, handbrake, battery sign, check engine should not be visible in normal use.
Which means the od light shouldn't be on while driving. Which I did correctly. I think it's because I leave my engine runs while I'm waiting for an hour every weekday that cause fc high... I'll try not to do it and observe the fc again...
TSamandawo
post Jan 12 2017, 12:21 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jan 11 2017, 11:27 AM)
find a clear open highway......
1)test 1, od button clicked (light on)
-try drive at around 80 kmh (or whatever the speed limit is, faster = more noticeable)
-maintain said speed (try maintain the same speed aka needle no move, keep it at the same speed)
*to know what speed you are driving at, check your speedometer (the one with km/h)
-take note of the rpms (remember the figure)
*to know what the rpms are, check the tachometer, the meter with the rpm
-tabulate result
example: result: at 80 km/h, od light on, rpms are at around  3000rpm/3krpm

2)test 2, od button clicked again or 'disabled'(light off) (whatever you want to call it, select the other setting)
-try drive at around the same speed as before
-again, maintain said speed (try maintain the same speed aka needle no move, keep it at the same speed)
*to know what speed you are driving at, check the same meter, your speedometer (the one with km/h)
-again take note of the rpms (remember the figure again, do not confuse it with the other figure)
*to know what the rpms are, again check the tachometer, the meter with the rpm
-tabulate result
example: result: at 80 km/h, od light off, rpms are at around  2500rpm/2.5krpm

- the mode where you achieve lower rpms for the same speed... stick with that mode....
***examples are just examples u might not get those figures, just examples..... go forth and post your findings

edit: good luck  laugh.gif  thumbup.gif

i honestly cannot make it any easier than this  sweat.gif
eik whylah i type long version doh.gif
Thanks both sifu!! It does explained and I'll try it too hehe..

TSamandawo
post Jan 12 2017, 12:25 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 11 2017, 05:35 PM)
Overdrive should stay on (light off) all the time for best fuel economy

Overdrive off (light on) means you are limiting the maximum gear to 3rd gear and it won't engage 4th gear (for old vios gearbox)

Of course you can do both for your "normal drive" vios gearbox is very hardy, you can literally throw it around and it still work

I've tried googled but the on off and light on light off abit confuse hence I posted here to have clearer answer. U may googled and the answer may confuse you too, if you are a noob like I do... 😅
andrekua2
post Jan 12 2017, 12:29 PM

13,489 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 12 2017, 12:12 PM)
I did on engine every weekdays for roughly an hour, without car moving.. Cause waiting waiting... So that's one of the factor that caused fc high too? Hmm...  Then let me try not turning on engine while waiting and see it improves the fc
LoL
Of course it contributes too... one hour le...
TSamandawo
post Jan 12 2017, 12:34 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ Jan 11 2017, 07:54 PM)
Only Vios owners.
They know nuts about cars and just buy em for the badge.
Ya I admit I know nuts about cars, and yes I owned a Toyota vios knowing its well known for one of the best fc car. I bought second hand for both my cars, previously kelisa which has good fc too. Does that offend you for a noob to know nothing about car and own a Toyota? Or I should get an evo or subaru being a noob and ask nonsense question that make better sense?

This is NOT kopitiam, and there's not point for you to troll here. If you feels like helping, I'll thank you millions, but if you are here just to troll, thank you very much for wasting your precious time, reading this nut that drove Toyota vios writing this post asked nonsense question, which somehow somewhat offended you.

lsm1991
post Jan 12 2017, 12:38 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 12 2017, 12:21 PM)
Thanks both sifu!! It does explained and I'll try it too hehe..
i think some have already answered (thou you can just test it out to be sure biggrin.gif )

they basically said, you should 'enable O/D' overdrive is enabled when the O/D indicator light is off (abit confusing yeah)
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 12 2017, 12:42 PM

142 posts

I did on engine every weekdays for roughly an hour, without car moving.. Cause waiting waiting... So that's one of the factor that caused fc high too? Hmm...  Then let me try not turning on engine while waiting and see it improves the fc
wahlao engine run 1 hour without moving weh... for sure FC damn high one. try to avoid that habit, when you stop more than 5 minutes, just roll down windows and off the engine thumbsup.gif
TSamandawo
post Jan 12 2017, 12:47 PM

13 posts

Thank you all the sifus!! I'll cut the habit of letting the engine run for hour when waiting and observe observe!

You guys are so helpful! Thanks!!
TSamandawo
post Jan 12 2017, 12:50 PM

13 posts

Oh not to forget, thanks to the troller (whom I think is a super expert driver whom thinks all nuts buy car just because of branding)... Later he come shoot ppl no manners.
maraippo
post Jan 12 2017, 12:51 PM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

Do they give u the manual book when bought the car? Please read. All explanation there. How to use also shud be there
lsm1991
post Jan 12 2017, 12:54 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Jan 12 2017, 12:42 PM)
wahlao engine run 1 hour without moving weh... for sure FC damn high one. try to avoid that habit, when you stop more than 5 minutes, just roll down windows and off the engine thumbsup.gif
lol just read this...... why.......... owaiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
amduser
post Jan 12 2017, 01:03 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 12 2017, 12:25 PM)
I've tried googled but the on off and light on light off abit confuse hence I posted here to have clearer answer. U may googled and the answer may confuse you too, if you are a noob like I do...  😅
I did Google before because my previous car is vios too

andrekua2
post Jan 12 2017, 02:35 PM

13,489 posts

Basically most of the auto box back then were all 4 speed. Wira 1.5L is one of them as well. 4th gear basically OD. Of course Vios gearbox is outdated by today's standard but I don't think it matters too much. I too bought a Kia Rio in 2015 and it came with 4 speed.

Newer cvt gearbox are more efficient but it was never tried and tested. First batch City had so many problem with its CVT gearbox and being avoided even by 2nd hand car dealers. Later batches are slightly better but also being plagued by clutch slipping now after 10 years.
myteam94
post Jan 12 2017, 03:55 PM

438 posts

Wanna share my experience about O/D

Family owned nissan serena 2.0(2nd gen model)
Bought in 2005

One thing i felt different when driving it was:
Turn on OD, rpm at 2000, less droning sound
Turn off OD, rpm 3000-3500, can hear some droning sound lounder
(Side note: was driving at 2000 with OD, when i off OD, immediately rise to 3000-3500 rpm

Same goes to FC, with OD, KL-KLIA drop one bar
Without OD, KLIA-KL, two bars drop
Same driving style,speed and highway.
When overtake with OD turn on response faster even at 3000 rpm whereas without OD, response slow even at 4000rpm

Why ehhh???

ktek
post Jan 12 2017, 04:08 PM

小喇叭
13,216 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Jan 12 2017, 03:55 PM)

Bought in 2005

(Side note: was driving at 2000 with OD, when i off OD, immediately rise to 3000-3500 rpm

When overtake with OD turn on response faster even at 3000 rpm whereas without OD, response slow even at 4000rpm

Why ehhh???
droning is how sound. kong kong kong kong ah.
rpm high does not mean fast. u need to step more gas
TSamandawo
post Jan 12 2017, 05:28 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jan 11 2017, 08:16 PM)
When u cruise 110km/h on the highway, whats your RPM?
Erm... I didn't pay attention on the RPM when I was driving on the highway.. hmm... not mistaken about 2(or 2000 they said?)?
myteam94
post Jan 12 2017, 06:25 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 12 2017, 04:08 PM)
droning is how sound. kong kong kong kong ah.
rpm high does not mean fast. u need to step more gas
not sure how to explain the droning..i think the nissan CVT sound..

i mean even at 3000rpm, with OD...i can feel the car thrust forward from 60 to 80kmh
where as when switch off OD, the car felt heavy to achieve from 60kmh to 80kmh...
arza04
post Jan 12 2017, 09:35 PM

303 posts

Bought in 2005

Why ehhh???
OD on = allow the car to use the top gear
Od off = car will never enter the top gear

Imagine cruising in manual car, OD on is gear 5, od off is gear 4. Gear 5 travel at higher speed compare to gear 4 at same rpm. Hence lower fuel consumption, when od on
tbcheese
post Jan 13 2017, 12:17 AM

313 posts

Bought in 2005

This part all normal.

Why ehhh???
This part not right. How fast were you going and what's your engine redline at?
myteam94
post Jan 13 2017, 12:19 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Jan 13 2017, 12:17 AM)
This part all normal.
This part not right. How fast were you going and what's your engine redline at?
redline 6000
accelerate from 60-80/100kmh

tbcheese
post Jan 13 2017, 12:24 AM

313 posts

Why oh why?! 5 days a week, every week for 4 years...

tbcheese
post Jan 13 2017, 12:32 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Jan 13 2017, 12:19 AM)
redline 6000
accelerate from 60-80/100kmh
Did you just switch off o/d without stepping on the gas more?
SUSceo684
post Jan 13 2017, 06:52 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 12 2017, 12:15 PM)
Which means the od light shouldn't be on while driving.  Which I did correctly.  I think it's because I leave my engine runs while I'm waiting for an hour every weekday that cause fc high... I'll try not to do it and observe the fc again...
Correct understanding of the "OD OFF" light. thumbup.gif

5 hours of idling per week is like 5 trip burnt (assuming one trip to work takes 1 hr).. shocking.gif moneyflies.gif
without idling you should be able to get ~500km/tank thumbup.gif
itwj27
post Jan 13 2017, 10:15 AM

[quote=andrekua2,Jan 12 2017, 02:35 PM]
Basically most of the auto box back then were all 4 speed. Wira 1.5L is one of them as well. 4th gear basically OD. Of course Vios gearbox is outdated by today's standard but I don't think it matters too much. I too bought a Kia Rio in 2015 and it came with 4 speed.

Wira 1.5L has no O/D and its a 3 speeder. only 1.6 onwards is 4 speeder.
myteam94
post Jan 13 2017, 02:29 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Jan 13 2017, 12:32 AM)
Did you just switch off o/d without stepping on the gas more?
I switch off while stepping the accelerator
Let say: i drive 80kmh at 2500rpm with OD, them i switch it off, suddenly jump to 3500-4000 (some droning sound) but speed maintain/slightly increase.
tbcheese
post Jan 13 2017, 05:02 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Jan 13 2017, 02:29 PM)
I switch off while stepping the accelerator
Let say: i drive 80kmh at 2500rpm with OD, them i switch it off, suddenly jump to 3500-4000 (some droning sound) but speed maintain/slightly increase.
when you shift down to accellerate, you need to open your throttle wider or you'll be starving your engine of air.
chopin
post Jun 10 2025, 08:39 AM

234 posts

Hi. Interested to know what did you find out int the end?
zeng
post Jun 10 2025, 02:14 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Jun 10 2025, 08:39 AM)
Hi. Interested to know what did you find out int the end?
In everyday normal driving all year round on a Toyota (mine is an Avanza) passenger car with best fuel economy or lower fuel consumption, the Toyota's O/D Overdrive should be always ON ,meaning light off on dashboard.

Only when preparing for fast overtaking of cars in front or for very quick or heavy car acceleration, one should temporarily turn off the O/D (meaning pressing appropriate button (on gear shift stick column) leading to appearance of amber brown colour light on dashboard,, a few seconds or short moment BEFORE tekan minyak to overtake or accelerate the car.

Once overtaking or heavy/short acceleration is done or completed, one press the appropriate button AGAIN to turn on O/D Overdrive (meaning amber light OFF on dashboard) for everyday normal driving for low fuel consumption.

This post has been edited by zeng: Jun 10 2025, 02:17 PM

0.0281sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:42 AM