TSg88
post Feb 23 2007, 11:54 PM, updated 18y ago

1,631 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif

* Quad-band: EGSM 850/900/1800/1900
* WCDMA 2100
* Voice over IP (VoIP) calls via integrated WLAN (IEEE 802.11g and 802.11b standards)

* Volume: 74 cc
* Weight: 115 g
* Dimensions: 105 x 49 x 15.5 mm

* Active-matrix QVGA color display (240 x 320 pixels) with color support for up to 16 million colors
* Display contrast and brightness control

* S60 3rd Edition, built on the Symbian operating system
* One Touch keys for mute/unmute, contacts, and conference calling
* Five-way Nokia NaviTM key with two customizable soft keys, power key that can be used as profile key, and My Own key
* S60 edit key located on the side of the device
* Volume keys on the side of the device

Take snapshots with the 2 megapixel camera

* Read email with attachments: supports POP/IMAP, SMTP, and IMAP4 with idle protocols
* Instant messaging client (OMA IMPS 1.2)
* Multimedia Messaging Service (MMS, ver. 1.2) for text, voice clips, video clips, and still images
* SMS and MMS with distribution lists
* Predictive text input T9

* Video and audio streaming (3GPP & Real Media)
* Music player (MP3/AAC) and media player
* Open Mobile Alliance (OMA) digital rights management (DRM) 1.0 with forward lock

* Up to 50 MB user memory
* MicroSD memory card support

* Java(tm) MIDP 2.0-based games and applications
* Attachment viewers for documents, spreadsheets, and presentations

* Dual Transfer Mode (MSC 9)
* Bluetooth 1.2 wireless technology
* Pop-Port(tm) connector
* IrDA with transfer rate up to 115 kbps

* HTML Nokia browser
* XHTML browser (HTTP stack)

* EGPRS multi-slot class 32 for 5 + 3 (receive + transmit) timeslots (up to 6 timeslots total for maximum download speeds of up to 296 kbps)
* Multi-slot class 32 is also supported with GPRS for a maximum downlink rate of 67 kbps
* Remote and local (peer-to-peer) synchronization of calendar, contacts, notes and to-do list via Bluetooth technology, IR, or USB connectivity cable

Calendar with weekly view, contacts, to-do list, and notepad for short notes - all viewable while managing a phone call

* One Touch keys for direct access to contacts, mute/unmute, and conference calling
* Voice dialing
* Voice commands for menu short cuts, keypad lock, and profiles
* Voice recording to record your own notes or conversations
* Talking ringtones mix the name of the caller with the ringtone so you know who's calling without looking at the screen
* Integrated handsfree speaker
* Supported speech codecs: EFR, FR, AMR NB, HR
* Conference calling

# Over the air (OTA) downloads for ringtones, contacts, email, WAP, MMS, operator logos, and user group icons
# Image upload/download
# Smart content upload/download

Add-on solutions enable integration into enterprise private branch exchange (PBX) infrastructure

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Apr 8 2008, 11:24 AM
victor87
post Feb 23 2007, 11:55 PM

431 posts

wow .. another nokia slide phone ?? rclxms.gif

wonder the price of this phone =D

This post has been edited by victor87: Feb 23 2007, 11:56 PM
TSg88
post Feb 23 2007, 11:59 PM

1,631 posts

looking at Rm1800
victor87
post Feb 24 2007, 12:01 AM

431 posts

on sold oledi ar??? .... ermmm...the image link seems like broken edi ??
TSg88
post Feb 24 2007, 01:02 AM

1,631 posts

not yet. Image link nothing wrong
dannytzh
post Feb 24 2007, 12:40 PM

Do no evil.
818 posts

it is available in Singapore currently with the price of abt 700SGD with Singtel (no contract required) or 320+SGD (with contract).
ViRaViRa
post Feb 24 2007, 01:01 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

I cant see any image.... :-(
TSg88
post Feb 24 2007, 07:22 PM

1,631 posts

great phone this it !!
romanicci
post Feb 26 2007, 10:07 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 24 2007, 01:01 PM)
I cant see any image.... :-(
Me too..... rclxub.gif
Hunz
post Feb 27 2007, 12:13 AM

znuh
1,238 posts

Extract from TS the picture

http://www.ixbt.com/short/2k7-02/01_e65_lowres.jpg
TSg88
post Feb 27 2007, 12:42 AM

1,631 posts

This phone already available in Thai, Philip, Singapore 2 weeks ago...

After convertion it around RM1700++....so i guess Malaysia might be selling RM1899 or RM1999
maRx
post Feb 27 2007, 02:34 AM

241 posts

what is the retail price of this phone? ap set.
JackAsk
post Mar 2 2007, 11:34 AM

209 posts

AP set is selling at RM1578 - 1668, really surprise that this model come out so fast.
kerrk
post Mar 2 2007, 01:49 PM

464 posts

where's the image? :S
iRonTech
post Mar 2 2007, 01:53 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

1st when I saw Nk E65(close slide)... i feel it look like e680 brother... tongue.gif

nevland
post Mar 8 2007, 11:51 AM

1,055 posts

I saw the advertisement in the newspaper today about this phone..
is it available now?
unknowndevices
post Mar 8 2007, 12:26 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(nevland @ Mar 8 2007, 11:51 AM)
I saw the advertisement in the newspaper today about this phone..
is it available now?
which newspaper? rolleyes.gif
got wifi right? hmm.gif
some photos to share... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by unknowndevices: Mar 8 2007, 01:01 PM
toby.c13
post Mar 8 2007, 12:29 PM

Please enter custom member title
1,580 posts

is this the one wit navigator or something like that? gps?
hmm.gif

This post has been edited by toby.c13: Mar 8 2007, 12:29 PM
yokemun
post Mar 8 2007, 01:51 PM

76 posts

hmm....this model somehow looks like 6880(i think)..
is not out yet rite???
wonder wat's the price...
adrian0229
post Mar 8 2007, 01:56 PM

3,913 posts

the behind cover look so terible
nevland
post Mar 8 2007, 03:23 PM

1,055 posts

this one got wifi and 3g..
wonder how much...

can't remember.. maybe it;s UTUSAN
xpresside
post Mar 8 2007, 03:28 PM

1,982 posts

BT v1.2 ? now using v2.0 rite?
nevland
post Mar 8 2007, 05:00 PM

1,055 posts

someone in mypdacafe already bought it at 1750

forum.mypdacafe.com
unknowndevices
post Mar 8 2007, 05:48 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Mar 8 2007, 03:28 PM)
BT v1.2 ? now using v2.0 rite?
erksss...BT v1.2?
does it support A2DP? hmm.gif
nevland
post Mar 9 2007, 04:55 PM

1,055 posts

i wonder why not many interested in this phone...
panasonic88
post Mar 9 2007, 05:01 PM

37,028 posts

sliding hmm.gif

wif this price, i'd go for n73 better rolleyes.gif
mitodna
post Mar 12 2007, 02:17 PM

14,039 posts

it is not supporting A2DP (yet)?

how does this compare to n73? thanks, any user here?
philipcs
post Mar 16 2007, 05:55 PM

2,581 posts

i like E65 rather than Navigator 6110.

More stylish smile.gif

thinking to get E65, wonder what is the price now for AP set.
unknowndevices
post Mar 16 2007, 06:31 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

went to KLCC just now...and saw Nokia promoting Nk6300... nod.gif
don't see they promoting E65?...anyone seen it in the market... hmm.gif
or maybe i miss seeing it... tongue.gif
anyone bought this model already?how the usage? rolleyes.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 17 2007, 02:09 AM

.:νιρэяıэои9:.
7,516 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 9 2007, 05:01 PM)
sliding  hmm.gif

wif this price, i'd go for n73 better  rolleyes.gif

well Nokia isn't really famous with their slider phones huh? rolleyes.gif

i'm waiting for the 6110 to come out. and the n95. just wanna see how much Nokia has improved. and then maybe i'll get this. tongue.gif
veron208
post Mar 17 2007, 10:44 AM

702 posts

When is the official launch ? Hardly find it on our shore yet ... Ask the phone seller and they see stars. smile.gif
mitodna
post Mar 18 2007, 03:50 AM

14,039 posts

reached long time ago, but 6110 is the same platform with GPS and front camera, i not able to wait 6110, so get this first,

please CHECK the phone build quality, the sliding gap, it should be very slim, and the speaker above the NOKIA logo

i got cheated lolz, should be selling 1750 for Avaxx set

the camera is just for sack of a camera function,

"new sms" is slow when you use memory card which comes with the phone 256MB.

This post has been edited by mitodna: Mar 18 2007, 03:52 AM
yeahh
post Mar 18 2007, 11:18 AM

Not enough stars :(
1,715 posts

apparently the phone's slider has been fixed compared to other slider phones which seems to be a common problem among nokias ..

even the dummy unit's sliders seems quite nice hehehe ...

phone is rather slim ... but its still too wide for me ... smile.gif
underGr0und_8
post Mar 18 2007, 01:24 PM

2,236 posts

jus test it out at phone shop
my humble review laugh.gif
-slide quite tide but i prefer n80 style(semi-auto)
-nice interface with 16m colour
-normal camera feature and no flash support
-always miss press the button,too many button on the panel
-havent test the wifi speed,hope it faster then n80
-rm1799 unsure.gif,price not that attractive with a 2mp camera and normal sound output
-slim,compare to n80 or other symbian based phone

got chinese input and language support now?
Shinichi
post Mar 19 2007, 12:34 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

I read from Mobile Review that the inner sliding part will be scratched after few days of usage, thus make the phone not so nice to look at when it is slide open...
mitodna
post Mar 19 2007, 01:28 AM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 19 2007, 12:34 AM)
I read from Mobile Review that the inner sliding part will be scratched after few days of usage, thus make the phone not so nice to look at when it is slide open...
what do you inner sliding? i don't see any scratching except the sliding gap became bigger,
KimRoss
post Mar 19 2007, 02:06 AM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

sliding phones from nokia are.. um...
well, the 6300 is MUCH MUCH better =3 IMHO lar smile.gif
SUSMalaysian
post Mar 19 2007, 02:09 AM

1,651 posts

play with this phone last month till dunwan play d...

fren bought in SG for rm 1.5 k

MY selling ap for 1.5 k also

ori 1.8 k lor

nothing much bout this phone other then the sleek slide design..small

underGr0und_8
post Mar 19 2007, 01:43 PM

2,236 posts

but the 16m colour very nice wo
mitodna
post Mar 19 2007, 04:54 PM

14,039 posts

actually if can, go get Navigator, the button is more suitable for big thumb,
Shinichi
post Mar 19 2007, 05:53 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Mar 19 2007, 01:28 AM)
what do you inner sliding? i don't see any scratching except the sliding gap became bigger,
Well this is what being wrote on MR:

All in all the build quality is not something we can complain about - the halves don't feel spongy, the device slides open and closed with ease, thanks to the spring-loaded slide mechanism. However, in three days it lost the smoothness of sliding action, it got a tad slower, with the addition of a clang, but we managed to find the explanations outright - the keypad is framed by a metallic inset, whose surface is patterned as well, in order to emphasize the texture of the material used. And the halves will always stick to this surface, and it gets scratched in no time. Well-visible abrasions emerge in four days of usage. Though it is not an issue from the mechanical point of view - the slider will remain good at zipping open and closed for a long while - this doesn't add points to the E65's looks. On the other hand, though, scratches can be noted only with the phone open.

mitodna
post Mar 20 2007, 10:38 AM

14,039 posts

No idea about it, been sliding up and down, but did not notice any scratches except the gap is bigger

will do some stress test soon
Kalimuthu
post Mar 21 2007, 01:15 AM

64 posts

bought mine 2 days ago.. pretty happy with it .. smile.gif fast wifi too compared to the n80
chyteo
post Mar 21 2007, 10:15 AM

QUOTE(Kalimuthu @ Mar 21 2007, 01:15 AM)
bought mine 2 days ago.. pretty happy with it .. smile.gif fast wifi too compared to the n80
may i know where you bought it? at what price? is it the original set or AP?

mitodna
post Mar 21 2007, 11:55 AM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(chyteo @ Mar 21 2007, 10:15 AM)
may i know where you bought it? at what price? is it the original set or AP?
go register a digi postpaid, advance payment RM100 drool.gif , then get the phone at RM1650*

*Terms and conditions apply

else i think people selling Avaxx set at RM1700/RM1750 guo

sunauto
post Mar 21 2007, 12:16 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

AP set around RM1560 I guess, not much difference lah, better get Ori if that's the case. Any difference between E65 and N80i? Does it have the Yahoo Go software that comes with N80i? hmm.gif

Ermm ....... ya ....... if I'm not mistaken E65 comes with a mono earphone, right? So if wanna listen in stereo, need to buy another headset, right?

QUOTE(mitodna @ Mar 21 2007, 11:55 AM)
go register a digi postpaid, advance payment RM100  drool.gif , then get the phone at RM1650*

*Terms and conditions apply

else i think people selling Avaxx set at RM1700/RM1750 guo
mitodna
post Mar 21 2007, 03:07 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Mar 21 2007, 12:16 PM)
AP set around RM1560 I guess, not much difference lah, better get Ori if that's the case. Any difference between E65 and N80i? Does it have the Yahoo Go software that comes with N80i?  hmm.gif

Ermm ....... ya ....... if I'm not mistaken E65 comes with a mono earphone, right? So if wanna listen in stereo, need to buy another headset, right?
no, it doesn't come with Yahoo! Go.

hmm, i recommend you wait for 6110, it keypad, hehe thumbup.gif
toch3
post Mar 25 2007, 02:07 AM

**s3r3nd1p1ty**
912 posts

erm...E65 do have 3g but dun have front camera.mean there's no voice call,and the 3g are just for data only.do the back cam can do voice call?

today i found this phone at one shop,and they selling it for just rm1560 and the warranty by CSL company,if im not mistaken.CSL company are AD? or they are AP?sorry i dunno nuthing bout phone..but their warranty also cover for LCD for a year...
SUSMalaysian
post Mar 25 2007, 04:51 AM

1,651 posts

QUOTE(toch3 @ Mar 25 2007, 02:07 AM)
erm...E65 do have 3g but dun have front camera.mean there's no voice call,and the 3g are just for data only.do the back cam can do voice call?

today i found this phone at one shop,and  they selling it for just rm1560 and the warranty by CSL company,if im not mistaken.CSL company are AD? or they are AP?sorry i dunno nuthing bout phone..but their warranty also cover for LCD for a year...
there is 3g voice call..
but u cant see the other party...

i have to turn ur phone back and talk
kakakak
youngkies
post Mar 25 2007, 06:54 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(toch3 @ Mar 25 2007, 02:07 AM)

today i found this phone at one shop,and  they selling it for just rm1560 and the warranty by CSL company,if im not mistaken.CSL company are AD? or they are AP?sorry i dunno nuthing bout phone..but their warranty also cover for LCD for a year...
QUOTE(Malaysian @ Mar 25 2007, 04:51 AM)
there is 3g voice call..
but u cant see the other party...

i have to turn ur phone back and talk
kakakak
3g = video call..

voice call = normal gsm call without video..

and yes like malaysian said, although no front cam, video call is still possible,
you can see the other party or you can use the back cam for video call, but since you are facing the back of the phone, you wont able to see him/her though.
toch3
post Mar 25 2007, 07:02 AM

**s3r3nd1p1ty**
912 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Mar 25 2007, 06:54 AM)
3g = video call..

voice call = normal gsm call without video..

and yes like malaysian said, although no front cam, video call is still possible,
you can see the other party or you can use the back cam for video call, but since you are facing the back of the phone, you wont able to see him/her though.
means...the back cam can be use as voice call?? duhh i just admire the size of it and it include wifi(tough decision between n73me or E65)...erm...about CSL company as authorize distributor really exits?sorry i dunno lots bout phone...is it good?
youngkies
post Mar 25 2007, 07:15 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(toch3 @ Mar 25 2007, 07:02 AM)
means...the back cam can be use as voice call?? duhh i just admire the size of it and it include wifi(tough decision between n73me or E65)...erm...about CSL company as authorize distributor  really exits?sorry i dunno lots bout phone...is it good?
for video call.. yes!

voice call, no need UMTS or 3G, camera not even required. GSM will do..
post Mar 25 2007, 09:07 AM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

CSL is ap company... although warranty is 1 and 1/2 years
authorized distributer is only zitron, avaxx and i-mobile for nokia

Added on March 25, 2007, 9:07 ambtw the slider how??
still ok??
mitodna bro
can u post some pics taken by e65??

This post has been edited by 10071985: Mar 25 2007, 09:07 AM
toch3
post Mar 25 2007, 12:29 PM

**s3r3nd1p1ty**
912 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Mar 25 2007, 09:07 AM)

still ok??
mitodna bro
so CSL is the only AP company that have LCD warranty for a year.Coz their warranty term are the same as AD...for the moment i cant find E65 ap set..

what i've read,slide have been more improve then previous slide model...pic are like normal 2mp,dun have auto-focus

This post has been edited by toch3: Mar 25 2007, 12:32 PM
post Mar 25 2007, 03:26 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

ohh... no af...
but wireless really attract me
XD
Grimm
post Mar 25 2007, 10:23 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

slide phones can never be the slimmest phones =/
toch3
post Mar 27 2007, 05:04 AM

**s3r3nd1p1ty**
912 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Mar 25 2007, 03:26 PM)
ohh... no af...
but wireless really attract me
XD
ya me too

QUOTE(Grimm @ Mar 25 2007, 10:23 PM)
slide phones can never be the slimmest phones =/
but it's slim dude...more better and slimmer then n80
underGr0und_8
post Mar 27 2007, 08:20 AM

2,236 posts

ya,hold it in your hand and you can feel the slim
mitodna
post Mar 29 2007, 08:03 AM

14,039 posts

the camera is just normal, will not work in poor lighting environment
webwithoutwires
post Mar 29 2007, 10:17 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 19 2007, 05:53 PM)
Well this is what being wrote on MR:
aiyoh.. u misinterpret la bro.

in a nut shell.. he says that some parts of the metal keypad will get scratched.. not the slider. so not so nice lo.

the mechanism on the E65 is a new type and works very well.. this is the first time nOkia is using this mech on their slider phones. have a go at it.. u will be surprised.

Added on March 29, 2007, 10:30 am
QUOTE(10071985 @ Mar 25 2007, 09:07 AM)

still ok??
mitodna bro
Ur correct on the AD being Zitron n Avaxx but not Samart i-Mobile.. they no longer AD for Nokia begining 1st March 2007!

CSL is AP imported not only for Nokia.. they will bring in anything that is popular and can make money.

would like to stress on warranty of phone between AP & AD.

How AD works.. they set up service centres and repair the sets on behalf of the manufacturers which repay the for the parts used and labour charges based on repair.

AP.. the will set up their own repair centers and make allocation out of their own pockets to service the phones. In another terms... its like insurance lo.. hope that out of 1000 phones , only 20 got problem and come back for repairs... 2% ratio.

if a model of phone is problematic.. then die la for the AP guy cause he is digging into his own pockets to repair the set.. while AD just claim form manufacturer.

Added on March 29, 2007, 11:01 amLike to just share my view on the E65

Nokia E series is targeted at business users as can be seen with earlier models with full qwert keypads.. sumthing like Blackberry. this series is to complement business solutions churned out by nokia. Nokia does have security n mail solutions. The Nokia E65 can work with digital pabx systems from Avaya, Cisco and Alcatel using WLAN and some clients. real cool. Support SIP Voip 2.0 .. free IP calls.

its support reader for most microsoft office documents, zip, acrobat.. support viewing of html pages.. etc has this cool ZOOM button too..

BUt for the normal enduser.. this is a VOICE business phone as can be seen form the dedicated hard buttons .. u can do one touch call conf to groups that u have created.. (can group sms also) .. while on call.. u can mute the call agian using dedicated ahrd button.. or flick thru the phone book to find number of a contact ... really nice if u call alot of people and do call conf..

the active standy view gives u a summary of emails u recieved, sms, missed calls etc.. all on one page.. nice.

this will definately be the phone i plan to get when i got budget to change my existing phone.. since im not a power data ..

This post has been edited by webwithoutwires: Mar 29 2007, 11:01 AM
post Mar 31 2007, 01:47 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

oh paiseh... i dunno i-mobile not AD anymore
haha
but any ppl using this phone dy??
like how is the 2 mp cam, speaker and so on...
users can give a review on this?
thx
philipcs
post Mar 31 2007, 09:23 PM

2,581 posts

yeah!!! just bought E65 with BDL. RM1590 and the price is really good (compare to SS2 RM1730) But will got it on Tuesday only. smile.gif

Added on April 1, 2007, 12:50 amJust found out that Renee is selling cheaper RM1560 and can COD in KL and PJ area.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/406660

This post has been edited by philipcs: Apr 1 2007, 12:50 AM
Intrigue
post Apr 1 2007, 10:17 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

^ is there any sample shots or any user review?
CupidCupid
post Apr 3 2007, 08:14 PM

194 posts

installed SmartMovie to my E65, clear & nice !!!
limyusiong
post Apr 3 2007, 09:15 PM

2,815 posts

i wonder hw tis phone operate video call???no secondary camera to support video call rite???

post Apr 3 2007, 09:20 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

no video call lo...
only u can see the person who u r calling
limyusiong
post Apr 3 2007, 09:22 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Apr 3 2007, 09:20 PM)
no video call lo...
only u can see the person who u r calling
opps, then tat is no good le...anyway, jus think tis set is a bit pricy...2mp, wifi, 3g, wat else?slim n sexy sliding phone for me...wifi is nt attractive for me, tested on my previous n80...stil prefer wifi on PPC...no offense ya!
lot101
post Apr 3 2007, 10:39 PM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

Bebe buy for me first can/not?
CupidCupid
post Apr 9 2007, 08:11 AM

194 posts

Question/Concern here ... !!

Seems my phone got 'heat' up easily, when i'm charging or talking on phone ... from my understanding, this is abnormal for a phone ...

any E65 users having this prob with his/her phone as well ??
edtan5
post Apr 9 2007, 09:40 AM

retired MT-ian
1,524 posts

erm..... its normal for slim phones to heat up easily when charging or talk too long smile.gif
doomx
post Apr 9 2007, 01:49 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

can show some real pictures of the phone? kinda interested
Shinichi
post Apr 11 2007, 10:33 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Want to ask isit E65 is the slimmest and smallest phone with wifi? Are there any other competitors in terms of size or slimness?

manutd6389
post Apr 11 2007, 10:35 PM

Glory Glory Man Utd
1,638 posts

it is available in australia d...10$ on the 29cap over 24 months...
looks abit like 6280...
sonyclie77
post Apr 12 2007, 12:28 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(webwithoutwires @ Mar 29 2007, 10:17 AM)

Added on March 29, 2007, 10:30 am
Ur correct on the AD being Zitron n Avaxx but not Samart i-Mobile.. they no longer AD for Nokia begining 1st March 2007!
I must have missed this piece of information.

All this while I still think that I-Mobile's one of the AD for Nokia.

rayzrblade
post Apr 12 2007, 12:28 AM

You are nobody in cyberworld
5,040 posts

The slider mechanism is very solid and there is a nice clunk as you slide it up or down. The keypad and slider runners are metallic, with the keys themselves made from hard plastic. They keys are a good size, although look a little cramped.
http://philstar.com/philstar/BUSINESS200704024102.htm

The slider mechanism is very solid and there is a nice clunk as you slide it up or down; it is a definite improvement over other Nokia smartphone sliders such as the N80 or N95. The keypad surround and slider runners are metallic, with the keys themselves made from a hard plastic.

http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/reviews/item/Nokia_E65.php

All that is left to need is the numberpad and when you slide the phone upwards, the spring loaded mechanism delivering a solid feel and satisfying click,
http://www.3g.co.uk/PR/March07/4472.htm

半自動滑蓋,前天買,到目前為止使用滿意,組裝扎實遠勝過Nokia之前出過的所有滑蓋機。芬蘭廠做的果然比MIC來得好上許多!

完全同意!!明顯比之前出過的Nokia滑蓋機好太多..

滑蓋跟組裝也都很結實

http://www.phonedaily.com/talk/?prod_id=2612&tid=3225601&Page=72

诺基亚的滑盖技术在6111,6270,6280等早期滑盖机上是个探索的过程,.如今金属质感的E65滑盖技术非常成熟,手感非常棒

http://article.pchome.net/scripts/market_article.php?id=63954

1. semi auto slider mechanism, satisfied with it. The slider mechanism is lot more sturdy than the previous models. Made in Finland really is better than those Made in China

2. Totally agree..obviously its better than the previous slider models

3. Slider and the build quality is good.

4. Nokia slider mechanism is at a "beginners" stage for 6111,6280,6270. You can see the improvement in the E65s metal slider mechanism, very sturdy n well built.

Conclusion : E65 doesnt have any slider problem like N95. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Apr 12 2007, 12:28 AM
limyusiong
post Apr 12 2007, 12:35 AM

2,815 posts

rayzrblade,

well done and good job...i did tested E65 slider, very smoothy....
rayzrblade
post Apr 12 2007, 12:44 AM

You are nobody in cyberworld
5,040 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Apr 12 2007, 12:35 AM)
rayzrblade,

well done and good job...i did tested E65 slider, very smoothy....
no prob..all done by just google-ing.. icon_idea.gif
CupidCupid
post Apr 12 2007, 08:34 AM

194 posts

Hi, wanna ask how to use the IM function on the phone ...

how to define the server & etc ??

anybody try it before ?
I don't have the time & knowledge to try on the phone yet .... :no:
lot101
post Apr 12 2007, 05:38 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(CupidCupid @ Apr 12 2007, 08:34 AM)
Hi, wanna ask how to use the IM function on the phone ...

how to define the server & etc ??

anybody try it before ?
I don't have the time & knowledge to try on the phone yet .... :no:
Your answer is at Mypdacafe.......dunno me dee la? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lot101: Apr 12 2007, 06:56 PM
philipcs
post Apr 18 2007, 06:41 PM

2,581 posts

i have installed agile messenger for yahoo, icq, google, msn IM and Fring for skype voip chat smile.gif

I love this phone very much and i found out currently no stock every way for silver/mocca
Superman7
post Apr 21 2007, 01:08 AM

11,086 posts

Had anyone downloaded the Fring software and used it? is the downloading of the Fring software free? i believe it charges for the data that you have downloaded due to the program size but does it charge for the program itself?
Had anyone used this software before? meaning calling someone on the cellphone (maxis/digi/celcom) using VOIP? Is it totally free cos it's using WiFi?
Can anyone confirm?
lot101
post Apr 21 2007, 12:27 PM

603 posts

Rest of the planet's Nokia E65 users facing slider loose 'function' except Malaysia notworthy.gif notworthy.gif my 'friends' one already loose dee cry.gif never dropped before. Original screen protector still on................

Fring? You should check out the hardcore users in MyPDAcafe. Bring the feedback here.

This post has been edited by lot101: Apr 21 2007, 12:28 PM
The Apprentice
post Apr 22 2007, 12:47 AM

501 posts

I think n93 speed is fast enough. How fast the navigation and loading speed of this phone compare with n73, n80, n93 and n95?

EightPhantomz
post Apr 27 2007, 08:53 AM

1,766 posts

Another new owner here. I'm liking it so far. Will give review after few 'play'.
sonyclie77
post Apr 27 2007, 10:44 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Apr 27 2007, 08:53 AM)
Another new owner here. I'm liking it so far. Will give review after few 'play'.
How much did you buy it for? Ori or AP set?

pmsoo
post May 3 2007, 01:28 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Apr 27 2007, 10:44 PM)
How much did you buy it for? Ori or AP set?

anyone facing difficulty with the hardware? loose sliders and such?

I like the feature of E65 but still skeptical to change from my battery strong w810 to a E65. hhmmm
EightPhantomz
post May 4 2007, 12:35 PM

1,766 posts

Avaxx set. RM1700.

No problem so far. Havent test the wifi yet coz no wifi around my area.
ViRaViRa
post May 4 2007, 02:51 PM

4,625 posts

This phone can support 3.5G???
wos
post May 4 2007, 05:00 PM

908 posts

my sis and my bro in law both also get one....so far i did't see them complain about it...and i tested it...the wifi performance very impressive IMHO, planning to get one for myself and for my gf wink.gif

This post has been edited by wos: May 4 2007, 05:01 PM
ViRaViRa
post May 4 2007, 05:22 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ May 4 2007, 02:51 PM)
This phone can support 3.5G???
Ok, got the answer from another thread. It support HSDPA = 3.5G smile.gif
mitodna
post May 6 2007, 09:13 PM

14,039 posts

I don't think it is a 3.5G,

check out fake HPM-70 for your Nokia http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/452923

so far so good
schizophrenic
post May 10 2007, 12:34 AM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Apr 21 2007, 01:08 AM)
Had anyone downloaded the Fring software and used it? is the downloading of the Fring software free? i believe it charges for the data that you have downloaded due to the program size but does it charge for the program itself?
Had anyone used this software before? meaning calling someone on the cellphone (maxis/digi/celcom) using VOIP? Is it totally free cos it's using WiFi?
Can anyone confirm?
I'm using fring and downloading fring itself is free if you use wifi.

if you're using 3g or edge to download then it will be charged according to the data charges by your mobile provider.

they don't charge you for the program at all or its usage as long as you're not using it to call someone on a cell. If you use fring to call maxis/digi/celcom then they will charge accordingly. Not sure about the charges though.

Although I am using fring, I don't use it to call other's mobile.

Added on May 10, 2007, 12:36 am
QUOTE(mitodna @ May 6 2007, 09:13 PM)
I don't think it is a 3.5G,

check out fake HPM-70 for your Nokia http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/452923

so far so good
Nokia's site quoted E65 as using WCDMA instead of HSDPA so it is 3G and not 3.5G

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: May 10 2007, 12:36 AM
panasonic88
post May 10 2007, 09:17 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ May 10 2007, 12:34 AM)
I'm using fring and downloading fring itself is free if you use wifi.

if you're using 3g or edge to download then it will be charged according to the data charges by your mobile provider.

they don't charge you for the program at all or its usage as long as you're not using it to call someone on a cell. If you use fring to call maxis/digi/celcom then they will charge accordingly. Not sure about the charges though.

Although I am using fring, I don't use it to call other's mobile.

Added on May 10, 2007, 12:36 am
Nokia's site quoted E65 as using WCDMA instead of HSDPA so it is 3G and not 3.5G
What is "fring software"?
schizophrenic
post May 10 2007, 12:20 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 10 2007, 09:17 AM)
What is "fring software"?
http://www.fring.com/

fring(tm) uses your mobile internet connection to make peer-to-peer VoIP calls, send instant messages and talk with VoIP applications such as Skype, Google Talk , MSN Messenger and SIP at no extra cost.
andrienne
post May 10 2007, 08:27 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(lot101 @ Apr 21 2007, 12:27 PM)
Rest of the planet's Nokia E65 users facing slider loose 'function' except Malaysia  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif my 'friends' one already loose dee  cry.gif never dropped before. Original screen protector still on................

Fring? You should check out the hardcore users in MyPDAcafe. Bring the feedback here.
i thought it would be like the slider for 5 series? also got slider problem like the 6 series? disappointment. nokia should improve on that. but the 2mp cam is a letdown. if it's 3.2 then this phone will be very nice.
schizophrenic
post May 10 2007, 11:41 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(andrienne @ May 10 2007, 08:27 PM)
i thought it would be like the slider for 5 series? also got slider problem like the 6 series? disappointment. nokia should improve on that. but the 2mp cam is a letdown. if it's 3.2 then this phone will be very nice.
hmmm thought E65 slider is really good as quoted by N95 users on a comparison btwn the two.....

IMHO, samsung's slider is still the best among slider phones.

ViRaViRa
post May 11 2007, 12:05 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(andrienne @ May 10 2007, 08:27 PM)
This phone is mainly designed for Biz use. So, nokia didn't want to be so concern about the camera coz they assume that camera for this phone is just an extra feature that is used for fun, not for any professional shots sweat.gif
andrienne
post May 11 2007, 05:56 PM

429 posts

lolllll
post May 15 2007, 10:21 PM

how to play wma files using e65? any specific player that can be downloaded?
poyo
post May 25 2007, 04:22 PM

278 posts

Hey guys, just got the E65 as a gift. To me, it's a nice phone, suits me nicely. I tried to log into my MySpace account, damn, it's only a few seconds slower than using TMNut!

I understand that you can download softwares for the E65 from Nokia, how? What's the weblink, anyone?

And does the phone actually supports A2DP?

This post has been edited by poyo: May 25 2007, 04:24 PM
AbsoluteAuctions
post May 29 2007, 11:23 AM

67 posts

The E65 is definitely a great phone. wink.gif More so if you take yourself seriously as a business person - it holds good, sounds good and looks good. No-frills and yet equipped with everything you might ever need.

I've received a couple of the E65 (Color: Mocha) as corporate gifts. Full original Zitron sets, with warranty starting from May 2007 - retailing about RM1,800 in the market. PM me your best price if you're interested. wink.gif TQ.
panasonic88
post May 29 2007, 11:31 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(AbsoluteAuctions @ May 29 2007, 11:23 AM)
The E65 is definitely a great phone. wink.gif More so if you take yourself seriously as a business person - it holds good, sounds good and looks good. No-frills and yet equipped with everything you might ever need.

I've received a couple of the E65 (Color: Mocha) as corporate gifts. Full original Zitron sets, with warranty starting from May 2007 - retailing about RM1,800 in the market. PM me your best price if you're interested. wink.gif TQ.
ahhhh, we have a place for selling your phone. wink.gif
AbsoluteAuctions
post May 29 2007, 11:36 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 29 2007, 11:31 AM)
ahhhh, we have a place for selling your phone.  wink.gif
Ok, mate! My bad. wink.gif But this is not a WTS, it's .. oh well, it sounds like it. *lol*
pmsoo
post Jun 12 2007, 03:19 PM

374 posts

I have this phone for a few days now, changing from n73. Everything is nice and all but there is one thing that always made me sceptical about buying slider phones and it is still bothering me now.
It is the placement of the directional key and the cancel key

For an example, i need to sms "BAS", ill need to press B and then the right directional button and then press A which i find it really hard for a slider. Same goes if i want to cancel an alphabet, ill need to stretch my fingers as well.

Am i doing this wrongly? Can someone help me out on this? Thanks
chairmanmeow
post Jun 18 2007, 03:25 PM

1,156 posts

The shiny part of my E65 is all scratched up, do they sell the replacement at lowyat?
iv'N
post Jun 20 2007, 01:16 AM

657 posts

Possible to get them replace at their service centers. Can try the one at Amcorp mall. thats the best it seems.
chairmanmeow
post Jun 20 2007, 04:35 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(iv'N @ Jun 20 2007, 01:16 AM)
Possible to get them replace at their service centers. Can try the one at Amcorp mall. thats the best it seems.
Its an AP set, would they replace it even if i pay?
bysquashy
post Jun 21 2007, 11:08 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

I heard Maxis is having a promo for this phone.

Dear Maxis Staff,

Today, Maxis brings to our customers a new range of mobile phones. These phones are specially customized with the Maxis navigation that makes it easier for our customers to access our mobile content and services - with just one touch.

When our customers buy the myMaxis phones, they are assured that it will WOW (that is, it will Walk Out Working!).

The other WOW is that you can buy these phones (Motorola V3xx & Nokia E65) for only RM350 and RM 600 onwards! All the customer needs to do is to sign up for the P75 or P138 plans and stay with Maxis for 24-months.

Please do check out our first Proof of Concept handset panels at the following Maxis Centre locations:

a KLCC i-centre
a TTDI
a Taipan
a Klang
a Cheras

Do let your friends and family know about it too and get them to sign up today!

Regards,
Mail Express for
Retails & Handset Project Team

This post has been edited by bysquashy: Jun 21 2007, 11:11 AM
sonyclie77
post Jun 21 2007, 06:29 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

Maxis customized firmwares?

Is good for people who uses only Maxis. smile.gif
yewkhuay
post Aug 1 2007, 02:01 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

how about those existing maxis user?
just got myself an E65 today btw...

Added on August 7, 2007, 6:56 pmanyone ? helo.........?

This post has been edited by yewkhuay: Aug 7 2007, 06:56 PM
adriankhoo153
post Aug 13 2007, 12:40 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I just join the E65 club today. Just bought one..Hehe
sonyclie77
post Aug 13 2007, 07:13 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 13 2007, 12:40 AM)
I just join the E65 club today. Just bought one..Hehe
How much is the market price nowadays anyway?

And which colour did you get? tongue.gif
StratOS
post Aug 13 2007, 09:49 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Aug 13 2007, 07:13 PM)

AP set rm 1190..
adriankhoo153
post Aug 14 2007, 11:49 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Aug 13 2007, 07:13 PM)

And which colour did you get? tongue.gif
I bought it from FIQ at LYP for Rm1200. rclxms.gif I bought Mocha colour.

Btw, is there anyway to autolock the phone? I mean when slide up, it will pop out do i wan to lock the phone? Can i bypass that querstion and lock it once it was slide up?
yewkhuay
post Aug 16 2007, 02:38 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 14 2007, 11:49 AM)
I bought it from FIQ at LYP for Rm1200.  rclxms.gif  I bought Mocha colour.

Btw, is there anyway to autolock the phone? I mean when slide up, it will pop out do i wan to lock the phone? Can i bypass that querstion and lock it once it was slide up?
u mean slide down ? i hav no idea oso.... sad.gif

anyway, i went to ask around, no java game for E65 yet....anyone? sad.gif

my self mocha color oso...tongue.gif
rm1450 for CSL set, 15months waranty. laugh.gif

now at least we hav some users here... laugh.gif
post Aug 16 2007, 03:48 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

i think java game, any s60 java also can
StratOS
post Aug 16 2007, 04:53 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

BTW, any of you guys experience something like, when during typing sms, u skip to 2nd row/line and suddenly theres 2 white lines appears..

Get what i mean?
yewkhuay
post Aug 17 2007, 01:26 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Aug 16 2007, 03:48 PM)
i think java game, any s60 java also can
any S60 java game? must go n ask around to download.... hmm.gif any recommended games? laugh.gif

QUOTE(StratOS @ Aug 16 2007, 04:53 PM)
BTW, any of you guys experience something like, when during typing sms, u skip to 2nd row/line and suddenly theres 2 white lines appears..

Get what i mean?
is it like TV screen changing , white a bit then normal?
StratOS
post Aug 17 2007, 07:38 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

yea.. it flashes 2 lines when i switch to next line..? Firmware bug or wut?
yewkhuay
post Aug 17 2007, 07:40 AM

6,657 posts

i donno...as long as it doesn't hang or stayed there long period of time i m ok with it.....
StratOS
post Aug 17 2007, 07:50 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

its my frens set so i also dunno how to explain with no SS..
adriankhoo153
post Aug 17 2007, 08:21 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Hmm, my E65 is near perfect now. I install all those essential programme for E65.

1. Best Alarm (Multiple Alarm)
2. Autolock
3. Remind Me.
4. 3D Snake

Well for item 1-3 is much much missing in this series. E65 doesn;t give multi alarm. U got to set it daily over and over again. Best alarm does the job. But do mind that their Workday is not workable. Ur alarm won;t stop ringging even if u stop it. Anway, nice job from Best Alarm but it is not a Freeware and if u know how to do a little 'tweak' then free la. hehe
Autolock is a simple freeware that err autolock la. I know we can slide up and lock it but sometime we didn;t slide it down. We just use the phone with slide close. This is the time autolock came in and does the job. U can set how minute you wan for inactive.
Remind me is also a useful program that will remind you of unread sms, missed call, unread email etc etc. It will keep on alert u with a beep or whatever tone u set. Of course it will be annoying if it goes on beeping every minute while u r sleeping at night. But afraid not, there is a time restriction setting.
Snake 3D, nonnit explain la. Just that it always explode one. Kinda not use to it. Haha
yewkhuay
post Aug 17 2007, 08:41 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 17 2007, 08:21 AM)
Hmm, my E65 is near perfect now. I install all those essential programme for E65.

1. Best Alarm (Multiple Alarm)
2. Autolock
3. Remind Me.
4. 3D Snake
Well for item 1-3 is much much missing in this series. E65 doesn;t give multi alarm. U got to set it daily over and over again. Best alarm does the job. But do mind that their Workday is not workable. Ur alarm won;t stop ringging even if u stop it. Anway, nice job from Best Alarm but it is not a Freeware and if u know how to do a little 'tweak' then free la. hehe 
Autolock is a simple freeware that err autolock la. I know we can slide up and lock it but sometime we didn;t slide it down. We just use the phone with slide close. This is the time autolock came in and does the job. U can set how minute you wan for inactive. 
Remind me is also a useful program that will remind you of unread sms, missed call, unread email etc etc. It will keep on alert u with a beep or whatever tone u set. Of course it will be annoying if it goes on beeping every minute while u r sleeping at night.  But afraid not, there is a time restriction setting.
Snake 3D, nonnit explain la. Just that it always explode one. Kinda not use to it. Haha
yo bro, where do u get those programme? install in memory card or phone memory?
adriankhoo153
post Aug 17 2007, 10:12 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Aug 17 2007, 08:41 AM)
yo bro, where do u get those programme? install in memory card or phone memory?
For essential application like i mention 1-3, i install it in phone memory. For games and nonsense, i install it in my Memory Card. Where i get those programme? But remember that our OS is Symbian S60 3rd edtition. Dun buy wrong stuff. U can get it at pocketgear website. http://www.pocketgear.com/. How do i do the 'tweak'? Dun ask me. It's prohibited laugh.gif
yewkhuay
post Aug 17 2007, 11:18 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 17 2007, 10:12 AM)
For essential application like i mention 1-3, i install it in phone memory. For games and nonsense, i install it in my Memory Card. Where i get those programme? But remember that our OS is Symbian S60 3rd edtition. Dun buy wrong stuff. U can get it at pocketgear website. http://www.pocketgear.com/. How do i do the 'tweak'? Dun ask me. It's prohibited laugh.gif
pm me la , ok? laugh.gif we r rare species here...must help each other... laugh.gif
wanted :
1. NiceAlarm (Symbian v9 s60) 1.0
2. Best Alarms for S60 3rd edition
3. SKY FORCE Reloaded S60 v3 1.0c
4. Soccer Pinball (S60 3rd Edition) 1.0
5. Advanced Device Locks for S60 3rd edition 1.04
6. K-Rally S60 v3 1.01
7. Par 72 Golf 1.01
8. Best KeyLocker for S60 3rd edition 1.01
9. Advanced Device Locks for S60 3rd edition 1.04
10.Best Full Screen Caller for S60 3rd edition 2.04 thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by yewkhuay: Aug 17 2007, 11:42 AM
adriankhoo153
post Aug 17 2007, 02:20 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Here is my E65 review

My E65 review blogspot

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Aug 17 2007, 02:21 PM
yewkhuay
post Aug 19 2007, 05:42 PM

6,657 posts

not a good place for u to promote blog.....dissappointed with u...
adriankhoo153
post Aug 21 2007, 09:09 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Aug 19 2007, 05:42 PM)
not a good place for u to promote blog.....dissappointed with u...
Dude, review not promote..duhh doh.gif
yewkhuay
post Aug 21 2007, 07:03 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 21 2007, 09:09 AM)
Dude, review not promote..duhh  doh.gif
wat difference does it make when it leads to ur blog anyway....?

review can't post here? shakehead.gif
adriankhoo153
post Aug 22 2007, 04:09 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Duh, u r such a dumbo. It' written cleary as Review Blogspot. Whay can't i link it to there? And if u dun wan to read, just dun click la. This is why i dun like to talk to kiddo like u.. shakehead.gif Dun wan to argue with u la.. Give u win. yeah, i am promoting my blog. Happy mr.smart pant? or maybe u boh song with me cause i nv reply ur pm requesting for crack sotware u asking?? laugh.gif

Back to topic..
Anyway, i felt that when open a message it took some delay..say bout 2-3 second. Anyone feel the delayed?

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Aug 22 2007, 04:13 PM
post Aug 22 2007, 04:12 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

maybe u store too many msg inside ur phone?
adriankhoo153
post Aug 22 2007, 04:13 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Aug 22 2007, 04:12 PM)
maybe u store too many msg inside ur phone?
Nope, it's a new phone. Roughly about 30 sms inside only..
post Aug 22 2007, 04:22 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

hmm last time i used to have a 3250
dont have such problem
or did u set ur sms to be stored in memory card?
last time i save it in phone memory
adriankhoo153
post Aug 22 2007, 04:33 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Just check..the sms is all store in phone memory..
yewkhuay
post Aug 22 2007, 08:23 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 22 2007, 04:09 PM)
Duh, u r such a dumbo. It' written cleary as Review Blogspot. Whay can't i link it to there? And if u dun wan to read, just dun click la.  This is why i dun like to talk to kiddo like u.. shakehead.gif  Dun wan to argue with u la.. Give u win. yeah, i am promoting my blog. Happy mr.smart pant? or maybe u boh song with me cause i nv reply ur pm requesting for crack sotware u asking??  laugh.gif

Back to topic..
Anyway, i felt that when open a message it took some delay..say bout 2-3 second. Anyone feel the delayed?
who is kiddo now..... whistling.gif
shakehead.gif sweat.gif
adriankhoo153
post Aug 30 2007, 11:23 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

When are they going to release new firmware for E65? It's a little buggy. Sometimes the 4 shortcut key is not working. Gotta switch off the phone and restart only can use...
adriankhoo153
post Sep 19 2007, 07:55 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Still no firmware upgrade doh.gif
alisterp666
post Sep 28 2007, 07:00 PM

since it is a business phone, can it open microsoft application files if you wanted to edit a microsoft excel document?
EDD!E
post Oct 1 2007, 05:48 PM

170 posts

what is your advise for E65? purchase ori or AP set ?
adriankhoo153
post Oct 3 2007, 11:31 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Ori or ap is just the same la. U can only view excel file. If u wan to edit, u need to purchase the full office.
hanissyazwan
post Oct 22 2007, 02:59 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

any idea where to download the custom voice? (defaults are martin & ellen)
how do u set the screensaver? (if there's any)

adriankhoo153
post Nov 23 2007, 04:40 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Finally, a firmware update for this phone!!
tracyjz
post Nov 23 2007, 05:05 PM

-Jay Jay-
1,059 posts

congrants,my phone still now haven update Zz
adriankhoo153
post Nov 25 2007, 06:32 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Hmm, seems like the new firmware still didn't fixed the old issue. The 4 button still sometime unuseable. Damn!
hiiragizawa
post Nov 28 2007, 09:53 AM

364 posts

New E65 user here.

Is there any keys that light up the screen only if you want to see the time and date in screensaver mode?

Also, comparing Nokia's browser and Opera mini, what advantage would I get in Opera mini? Nokia's browser has been doing it's job fine for me.

My version number is 1.0633.18.01. What's the latest firmware number?
adriankhoo153
post Nov 29 2007, 12:12 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(hiiragizawa @ Nov 28 2007, 09:53 AM)
New E65 user here.

Is there any keys that light up the screen only if you want to see the time and date in screensaver mode?

Also, comparing Nokia's browser and Opera mini, what advantage would I get in Opera mini? Nokia's browser has been doing it's job fine for me.

My version number is  1.0633.18.01. What's the latest firmware number?
Hi, opera mini is definately faster than nokia browser but I still prefer nokia browser somehow..

Ur firmware is old version. The latest is v2.0633.65.01.
U can update via Nokia-asia.com for more info. I did it myself. Do remember to do all backup too.
hiiragizawa
post Nov 29 2007, 07:09 PM

364 posts

Thanks adrian,

Somehow nokia said my phone has no updates even though I search thru here : http://www.nokia-asia.com/A4707378

Also, is there any keys that light up the screen only if you want to see the time and date in screensaver mode?

adriankhoo153
post Nov 29 2007, 07:37 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(hiiragizawa @ Nov 29 2007, 07:09 PM)
Thanks adrian,

Somehow nokia said my phone has no updates even though I search thru here : http://www.nokia-asia.com/A4707378

Also, is there any keys that light up the screen only if you want to see the time and date in screensaver mode?

No update? Hmm, i have checked and supprisily it was not there anymore. I dowload it previously on NOkia-Asia. hmm.gif This is the screenshot of the update. I wonder why they have taken out or maybe their website is down. hmm.gif

Not exactly in screensave mode but u can press the power button.
sonyclie77
post Nov 30 2007, 12:22 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

How is the slider of the E65?

Still good after some months of usage?
hiiragizawa
post Nov 30 2007, 02:44 AM

364 posts

Thanks for the power button tip. Much easier now.

I'm okay with the current firmware but if I have a chance to upgrade, I will.

And, yeah, how's the slider now for you? And is there such thing as connecting to PC Suite using wifi?
adriankhoo153
post Nov 30 2007, 08:13 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I have been using it for almost 5 month of using Nokia E65. So far the slide is as the same when i bought the phone. No loose or anything.

Err, I dun think so there is such as that. I only heard before it can be connected with cable or bluetooth.

hiiragizawa
post Nov 30 2007, 12:47 PM

364 posts

Thanks for your replies.
sonyclie77
post Dec 3 2007, 12:17 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

I just took the plunge and got the E65.

Love the texture of the battery cover and the keypads feel good too.

Overall a very solid device albeit with a slower OS (after being used to FP1 on 6120c).
hiiragizawa
post Dec 4 2007, 06:37 PM

364 posts

LOL. I thought I was the only one crazy enough to get E65. The Wifi was a big factor yeah?

What colour did you get? smile.gif
sonyclie77
post Dec 6 2007, 12:12 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(hiiragizawa @ Dec 4 2007, 06:37 PM)
LOL. I thought I was the only one crazy enough to get E65. The Wifi was a big factor yeah?

What colour did you get? smile.gif
Mocca Brown. smile.gif

Hmm... WiFi is not that big a factor, but the texture of the phone, plus the slim form factor is. smile.gif
adriankhoo153
post Dec 7 2007, 08:15 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Sometimes the 4 quick access key just won;t work. Got to restart the phone only can use...
sonyclie77
post Dec 7 2007, 09:13 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 7 2007, 08:15 AM)
Sometimes the 4 quick access key just won;t work. Got to restart the phone only can use...
That happens after how long of owning the set?
adriankhoo153
post Dec 7 2007, 12:16 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

About 3 months... --__--
sonyclie77
post Dec 7 2007, 07:54 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 7 2007, 12:16 PM)
About 3 months... --__--
Well, hope my buttons will serve me >3 months without any problems. smile.gif
mitodna
post Dec 16 2007, 09:48 AM

14,039 posts

anyone notice that after upgrade firmware, the phone camera produce better shots? thanks
sonyclie77
post Dec 17 2007, 12:14 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 16 2007, 09:48 AM)
anyone notice that after upgrade firmware, the phone camera produce better shots? thanks
Am in the midst of updating my firmware (finally). nod.gif

Will see if there's any improvements in the camera, as well as other functions.

Oh yeah, I read that there's 2 new themes embedded in the new firmware? Pink and purple. Are they there? hmm.gif

Edit: Successfully upgraded my firmware, and there's indeed 2 new default themes! Dots Pink and Dots Plum. smile.gif

This post has been edited by sonyclie77: Dec 17 2007, 12:56 AM
hiiragizawa
post Dec 17 2007, 12:58 AM

364 posts

Crap, I still cannot update...
biggie
post Dec 17 2007, 08:31 AM

1,291 posts

just got my phone yesterday. Errmm don't seem to need the updates just yet.
post Dec 18 2007, 09:35 AM

91 posts

may i know can this fon insert album photo in media player?
hanissyazwan
post Dec 28 2007, 05:26 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

where is the secomd camera for 3G? rclxub.gif
adeas
post Dec 29 2007, 12:06 PM

460 posts

hey..is it worth to swap my n73 me with e65?someone offers me

hiiragizawa
post Dec 29 2007, 08:06 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(2046 @ Dec 18 2007, 09:35 AM)
may i know can this fon insert album photo in media player?
Don't think so but I think there are third party softwares that can do it.

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Dec 28 2007, 05:26 AM)
where is the secomd camera for 3G?  rclxub.gif
No second camera. The camera-like thing in the front is actually the light sensor.

QUOTE(adeas @ Dec 29 2007, 12:06 PM)
hey..is it worth to swap my n73 me with e65?someone offers me
Depends. I chose this phone primarily for its Wi-Fi. No UPnP though.
Casanova
post Jan 4 2008, 10:15 AM

98 posts

My little cousin sister was playing with my gf's e65 and somehow she set a lock code, now we cannot turn it back on because it keep asking for the lock code and my cousin sis said she dunno what number she press already. Whenever we wanna unlock the phone, it ask use for a lock code. Try 5 times, then it has to wait 5 minutes... Dang!

Is there any workaround to this problem? Or is my gf's phone forever gone?

This post has been edited by Casanova: Jan 4 2008, 10:16 AM
rationale
post Jan 4 2008, 11:01 AM

165 posts

Have you tried 12345? Thats the default if your little cousin sister have not change it tongue.gif

QUOTE(Casanova @ Jan 4 2008, 10:15 AM)
My little cousin sister was playing with my gf's e65 and somehow she set a lock code, now we cannot turn it back on because it keep asking for the lock code and my cousin sis said she dunno what number she press already. Whenever we wanna unlock the phone, it ask use for a lock code. Try 5 times, then it has to wait 5 minutes... Dang!

Is there any workaround to this problem? Or is my gf's phone forever gone?
hiiragizawa
post Jan 6 2008, 03:04 AM

364 posts

lol.

0-99999

Good luck.
Pennywise
post Jan 13 2008, 02:41 AM

5,796 posts

My gf has one of these e65 AP set. There's a slight problem with her phone. Every time she access into the menu, when she hit the hang up button (red), it wont bring her out to the main screen.

Isn't that a common feature with Nokia? Wherever you're at within the menu, when you hit the red button, you comes out to the main screen. But it wont work on her's.

We intend to flash it to the latest firmware. What's the latest version? Anyone can share?
sonyclie77
post Jan 19 2008, 02:36 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 13 2008, 02:41 AM)
My gf has one of these e65 AP set. There's a slight problem with her phone. Every time she access into the menu, when she hit the hang up button (red), it wont bring her out to the main screen.

Isn't that a common feature with Nokia? Wherever you're at within the menu, when you hit the red button, you comes out to the main screen. But it wont work on her's.

We intend to flash it to the latest firmware. What's the latest version? Anyone can share?
Not sure if mine's the latest version, but it is when I tried to update the firmware via PC Suite.

Here goes:

03-10-07
RM-208

And whenever I hit the Red button, it brings me out to the default screen without any problems at all.

Your GF's set, has it been like this since she got the phone? How old is the phone? Probably is firmware related.
hiiragizawa
post Jan 20 2008, 03:17 PM

364 posts

No such issues with my phone even though it's the old firmware.

mitodna
post Jan 24 2008, 01:06 AM

14,039 posts

hey, it is kind 'lag' here, so may I know how to full format the phone? thanks
biggie
post Jan 25 2008, 04:49 PM

1,291 posts

the forgotten phone. I thought lag is common for E65?
-sedric wang-
post Jan 25 2008, 11:14 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Jan 25 2008, 04:49 PM)
the forgotten phone. I thought lag is common for E65?
e65 lag 1 a?
but 3g phone dun hv front camera... mad.gif
biggie
post Jan 26 2008, 07:45 AM

1,291 posts

still can make video calls, but very difficult as the samera at the back. unless u use handfree then no probs to make video calls with your face, if not it will be with the other head.
katopunk
post Jan 28 2008, 10:39 AM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

but you have to know, the video call quality is much more better than the other 2 cameras phone. because we are using the primary 2mp camera. it's either you can see them only or they can see you only. pick one.. hahahaha..
nicodemus
post Jan 31 2008, 08:58 AM

83 posts

Guys i just got my E65. may i noe how can i transfer all my old contacts from my N-gage to the E65? thx
biggie
post Feb 6 2008, 03:22 PM

1,291 posts

via ms outlook.. like what I use to transfer from A768 to E65
bhypp
post Feb 8 2008, 10:52 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

hey guys...im thinking of getting the E65...im looking primarily to use it for things like pdf reader, word / excel / powerpoint reader / editor......n also email.....does the E65 support those stuffs?? does those applications run well on it??

many thanks...
biggie
post Feb 13 2008, 09:00 AM

1,291 posts

no problem will all those, in fact it excel in comm areas.

However, the quickoffice bundled is read only may be you can find another version for editing (I use mobikom). Pdf reader by adobe is standard, however to open bigger document you can try pdf+.

Need not worry about application as this is Symbian phones there literally thousands application out there.
firdz
post Feb 13 2008, 12:04 PM

68 posts

juz bought new e65...
Lve It very much...
panasonic88
post Feb 13 2008, 03:55 PM

37,028 posts

anyone interested in a 2.5 months old Nokia E65?

click on my siggy biggrin.gif
notorp
post Mar 15 2008, 12:15 AM

59 posts

helpp...

i have problem with my e65. i accidentally change message input from alphabet to symbol. i try to change back, but to no avail. its seems like one of the keypad is stuck, because there's a continuos sound of keypad being pressed, but i don't know which one...

what should i do??

thanks for your help...
andyjyneo
post Apr 4 2008, 12:38 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

just bought my e65 last night at RM960 AP set
question now is why my e65 doesn't accept third party softwares?
even i want to install theme, it says "certificate error. contact application supplier"

okie, found the solution:
http://www.e-series.org/archives/192

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Apr 4 2008, 12:45 PM
azfamy
post Apr 8 2008, 09:22 PM

55 posts

hi people.... icon_rolleyes.gif
i bought my e65 bout three months back from lowyat... it's been working fine but something has been bothering me for a long time and i'm too shy to ask... tongue.gif
at the back cover (battery cover) it has a small logo (TIM) <---- its ugly and its somewhat painted to the cover (cannot scratch off). do you guys have it? sweat.gif
intune
post Apr 13 2008, 05:12 AM

LOWYAT 1ST MALAYSIA 2nD
879 posts

Just upgraded my E65 to 2.0633.65.01

Have anyone seen any improvements after installing the new firmware?

babber
post Apr 23 2008, 06:34 AM

Forumer
1,360 posts

QUOTE(notorp @ Mar 15 2008, 12:15 AM)
helpp...

i have problem with my e65. i accidentally change message input from alphabet to symbol. i try to change back, but to no avail. its seems like one of the keypad is stuck, because there's a continuos sound of keypad being pressed, but i don't know which one...

what should i do??

thanks for your help...
have you tried lifting the keypad? just to check out whether something is blocking the keypad itself or simply the rubber surface below needs to be readjusted to fit the button holes
azfamy
post Apr 23 2008, 09:13 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(intune @ Apr 13 2008, 05:12 AM)

i notice the fonts are a little bit bigger. plus i get the TIM welcome screen on start-up.
the free TIM theme is damn ugly. Otherwise I don't see any difference.
kuntaker
post May 4 2008, 04:35 AM

React!
1,008 posts

Is this a good phone to grab?
for wifi + camera user..
andyjyneo
post May 12 2008, 01:28 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(kuntaker @ May 4 2008, 04:35 AM)
Is this a good phone to grab?
for wifi + camera user..
camera - no
wifi - yes
skinny monkey
post May 26 2008, 04:02 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(intune @ Apr 13 2008, 05:12 AM)

yup, I've installed the new firmware.... dunno if it is related, but my phone seems to restart by itself more often.... sort of like reboot
shreaker
post Jul 7 2008, 07:16 AM

5-star hotel
798 posts

I love this phone. It does have a common problem though. Both my gf and myself are using this phone (hers is AD, mine is AP). Both phones got "insert sim card" error after a few months. Sent mine to the shop, they said it was a faulty sim card holder. Problem fixed, but after that I don't have 3G anymore for some reason laugh.gif dunno whether it is a phone problem or the shop f@#$ it up.
Superman7
post Aug 3 2008, 03:06 PM

11,086 posts

HELP!

I can't seem to get my phone connected to Maxis.
Whenever I tried to turn on my phone, it prompts me to Insert Sim Card. I had tried removing the battery, restart the phone countless of times, remove and reinsert the sim card.. nothing seems to work.
Any idea what happened? Before that everything was OK. Just at times it will prompt me to insert sim card but always manage to recover after restarting the phone.. but this time seems to be dead!

I had already updated the phone to the latest firmware (v3.x).
Pls help!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Problem fixed after changing the simcard.. it's a sim card problem. Not sure why the sim card went faulty after years of using..

This post has been edited by Superman7: Sep 14 2008, 12:11 PM
mrhenree
post Dec 11 2008, 12:36 AM

LYN 6 Stars Member
1,122 posts

sad, this e65 thread seems dead...
mitodna
post Dec 11 2008, 07:11 AM

14,039 posts

Just left this phone, it hang occasionally. It was really a good phone. I miss the active standby plug-ins, only lately noted that it appears on E series.

This post has been edited by mitodna: Dec 11 2008, 07:13 AM
mrhenree
post Dec 11 2008, 01:56 PM

LYN 6 Stars Member
1,122 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 11 2008, 07:11 AM)
Just left this phone, it hang occasionally. It was really a good phone. I miss the active standby plug-ins, only lately noted that it appears on E series.
mayb u should pay a visit to E66 and E71 to gain back your memories. biggrin.gif
mitodna
post Jan 4 2009, 03:43 AM

14,039 posts

Ha, just managed to update the firmware to version 4, anyone still using this phone? Notice that Active Notes and Windows Live is free download smile.gif
mrhenree
post Jan 4 2009, 03:47 AM

LYN 6 Stars Member
1,122 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jan 4 2009, 03:43 AM)
Ha, just managed to update the firmware to version 4, anyone still using this phone? Notice that Active Notes and Windows Live is free download smile.gif
windows live is like the msn messenger?
booooster
post Jan 4 2009, 11:09 AM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Jan 4 2009, 03:47 AM)
windows live is like the msn messenger?
yup bro n hotmail support
ijan2183
post Feb 3 2009, 12:21 PM

33 posts

Anyone can help me....
Just bought E65 2ndhand...
No light on all keypad..
And how to use its navigator?
And using back camera while video calll instead of front camera...

fuchai
post Feb 3 2009, 04:55 PM

anyone know where E65 IR located?
booooster
post Feb 3 2009, 11:14 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(fuchai @ Feb 3 2009, 04:55 PM)
anyone know where E65 IR located?
The Infrared port is accessed only when you slide up the top part of the phone.
ijan2183
post Feb 4 2009, 09:07 AM

33 posts

anyone?
fuchai
post Feb 4 2009, 10:19 AM

QUOTE(booooster @ Feb 3 2009, 11:14 PM)
The Infrared port is accessed only when you slide up the top part of the phone.
is it at the bottom of the phone? u means i need to slide open my phone only can access?

booooster
post Feb 4 2009, 12:32 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(fuchai @ Feb 4 2009, 10:19 AM)
is it at the bottom of the phone? u means i need to slide open my phone only can access?
yes it is near the top I believe
leongqweasdzxc
post Apr 3 2009, 08:25 PM

123 posts

hello

what is the latest firmware for Nokia E65 available in malaysia ?
i used NSU, they detected and said 3.0633.69.00 is the latest firmware
while other coutries already have 4.0633.64.00

so,

3.0633.69.00 or 4.0633.64.00 ? biggrin.gif
alpha_company
post Apr 4 2009, 12:48 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(leongqweasdzxc @ Apr 3 2009, 08:25 PM)
hello

what is the latest firmware for Nokia E65 available in malaysia ?
i used NSU, they detected and said 3.0633.69.00 is the latest firmware
while other coutries already have 4.0633.64.00
so,

3.0633.69.00 or 4.0633.64.00 ?  biggrin.gif
apac/malaysia firmware is always left behind in terms of updates.

if you want the latest and dont mind losing chinese language support, change your product code to EURO and you can get the latest FW. usually EURO has the latest firmware available.
akecema
post Apr 4 2009, 09:48 AM

436 posts

i upgrade firmware to version 4.0633.74.00
then i cant install many my software like x-plorer, y-browser
wtf nokia do

i wanna explore memory and application to free my phone memory(not card memory ok)

0.0802sec    0.11    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:52 AM