Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

limeuu
post Feb 17 2008, 06:28 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Feb 17 2008, 06:19 PM)
for international students, UMAT is not needed to apply for UNSW; but ISAT is needed for UTAS..its the new rule..

UNSW just decreased their quota to 40 i think..so its harder to get in..they start interviewing candidates from september onwards..up till january..CV, interview and TER are all very important in getting an early offer from UNSW..

UTAS..they only take in 20 international students..they give out conditional offers around october..

hope this helps!
if you are on-shore, you do.........you applied from taylors, so you did not need to.........
limeuu
post Feb 17 2008, 09:37 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Feb 17 2008, 07:54 PM)
hmm..my malaysian friends from other colleges dont need to as well.. hmm.gif

btw, need advice here..planning to get a clinical examination book..which is better between these 2: epstein or talley/oconnors?
the term 'on shore' means physically present on oz soil..........

if you do your pre-u from outside oz continent, then you don't need to lah........and taylors msia, sunway, inti etc are 'off shore'...........
limeuu
post Feb 19 2008, 07:27 PM

12,290 posts

newcastle.........and a couple of lesser known/new ones.......

bond and jcu
limeuu
post Feb 20 2008, 05:45 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Feb 20 2008, 12:21 PM)
FYI, monash malaysia is MBBS is not recognised in Malaysia yet. Even in australia.

AFAIK, if you applied for any overseas uni, then you failed and you try to get in through IMU PMS, they will reject your application when you are going there. Lets say you apply Adelaide direct, then you failed, they will reject your admission even when you try to go in through IMU. So you are taking a gamble. IMU local degree is recognised in the US alongside UKM and UM.
monash msia mbbs is recognised by AMC already.........

if you are a citizen or pr of the partner country, you CANNOT twin to that country......

however, it is not stated that they will automatically reject you if you have applied directly to that uni before and turned down......

imu is NOT recognised in the us, neither is ukm or mu........no foreign degree out of the north american continent is recognised, all foreign doctors (including british/european) needs to pass the umsle to get registered and work...........
limeuu
post Feb 25 2008, 12:44 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(linkeong @ Feb 23 2008, 05:01 AM)
THe seanlimys posting was me.

Please refer here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/435069/+160

It is stated (not only here but some other place which I cannot currently recall) that if you failed to enter that university, you cannot backdoor through IMU.

I am starting semester 1 this monday too. I may not be able to log in for the next few weeks as there could be no internet connection in the condo.
no where is it stated that for international students (ie not citizens or pr), you cannot twin to that country/pms if you have applied and was rejected before.......but you certainly cannot if you are a citizen/pr........even if you have NEVER applied nor was rejected before........just came from the imu open day.......

and internet access should be no problem once you are registered and assigned your user status within the imu complex......it's fully wifi covered....... rclxms.gif

Added on February 25, 2008, 12:49 am
QUOTE(aerikh @ Feb 24 2008, 08:21 PM)
LOL, fist_Aileron..

i'm also 2 month to Pro3...
haven't really clicked into exam mode yet!
2 most important months of my life to determine whether i can achieve all i've dreamed of since i was a kid..
(LOL, that sounds dramatic)

all the best! (all the way from USM Health Campus, Kelantan)
em... i dun think we can leave after HO, cz until then, we still haven't obtained our Annual Practising Cert.. (do correct me if i'm mistaken)
not your apc, but your certificate of good standing......mmc will not issue you that until you have finished you compulsory service........

and if you think you can use your aimst or usm mbbs and go anywhere in the world, think again.......find out which countries recognise the degrees first.........very few........

and no foreign country will allow you to work, without some sort of work or residency visa .........you will be surprise how hard it is to get one of these........especially if you are a doctor.........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 25 2008, 12:49 AM
limeuu
post Feb 25 2008, 12:47 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ Feb 25 2008, 08:58 AM)
Hello,anyone can briefly state the path that i need to go through to be a doctor?

I have just finished my Spm and i need scholarship.
I have seen a few scholarships but none of them seem to have listed degree/diploma for medicine.

Thanks in advance.
1. be one of the top students in your school, at least top 10%......otherwise don't bother.....

2. get at least 12A1 in spm and apply for jpa scholarship (others only for malays).....

3. failing which, try ipta, through matrik (easier) or stpm

4. find a long lost father or grandfather who can give you between rm1mil (1st world uni) to rm400k (the rest).......wink.gif
limeuu
post Feb 25 2008, 07:05 PM

12,290 posts

anyone with any results can apply......whether they short list you is a different matter.......from last year, if you get straight As they will short list for interview, but the majority given medicine scholarships had at least 11A1.......

if you are really financially strapped but determined to do medicine, your best option is do matrik or stpm and go ipta.....that is also a major 'scholarship' , you pay something like 10% of the real cost.....
limeuu
post Feb 25 2008, 08:14 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ Feb 25 2008, 07:27 PM)
alright,thanks for your explanation.Anything is yet to be decided before the revelation of spm result.

I have seen some websites state that it usually takes at least 11 years to be a doctor(3 years being a practitioner),so if i were to take medicine degree in ipta,will it take longer to complete that?

And can you give me some details about being a surgeon?
post spm

pre u 1-2 yr
medicine 5-6 yr
graduate and start work/start post grad training
housemanship 1-2 yr
msian in msia compulsory service 3 yr
surgical training 6 years min after graduation. average 8-10 yrs.
limeuu
post Feb 26 2008, 09:02 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Feb 26 2008, 08:51 AM)
So can we do our specialist training program overseas before we finish the compulsory service?
getting more and more difficult nowadays.......

first your degree must be recognised by the registration authority there......or you will need to sit for another exam..........

then you need to find a training job, which in some places, is almost IMPOSSIBLE to get......

then you need a work permit from immigration.........
limeuu
post Feb 26 2008, 07:08 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Feb 26 2008, 06:32 PM)
housemanship 2 yrs
if choose other specialties, to become consultant it takes almost 8-10 years ++ including internship for Aus, NZ....
housemanship is still 1 year in many countries......

the postgraduate pathway varies from country to country.....i am referring to the msian system of masters programmes.........

to get a training post in oz and nz is almost impossible because it is a 'closed' system (ie you CANNOT sit for postgraduate exams unless you are in a recognised training position, no matter how clever you are).........eg, a recent vacancy in adelaide for orthopaedics attracted 40 applications........
limeuu
post Feb 29 2008, 09:18 AM

12,290 posts

us 'premed' is actually a basic 1st degree, which is 4 years. but they finish high school by 17, so graduate with a basic degree by 21, and graduate from med school by 25....

same in uk, finish a levels by 19, and graduate from med school by 24....

subsequent pathways is basically correct.......except basic residency (internal medicine=GP after vocational rotation in uk)is 4 years, unless you opt to subspecialise, where you do another 3 years........
limeuu
post Mar 2 2008, 06:42 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(wts89 @ Mar 2 2008, 04:18 PM)
i tot cadavers =dead corpse??
you mean got live corpses? shocking.gif ......!!!!!
limeuu
post Mar 20 2008, 02:03 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(jidinmiya @ Mar 20 2008, 11:27 AM)
hye der. m  spm leaver. well,my reslt wasnt great enuf n i cant apply st8 away tru JPA 4 medic.
but,i hve a very high interest in medic. very.
i was fricking 8 years old wen i fell in love in dis filed.
but,i dono wt hpnd,my spm just.. argh!! ;(

nway,wana ask somthng.
1) wat actually is MBBS?
2) how i can get ito medic? is it tru matriculation @ wut?

anyone cares to answer?
to start off, you could try to type properly in a forum like this so people can understand you......this is NOT sms okay......
limeuu
post Mar 20 2008, 03:00 PM

12,290 posts

often, it's attraction to the 'glamour' of being a doctor, ala er or house........read aerikh's post above, it is VERY true.......the same caveat applies to people with 'interest' but without the academic ability........
limeuu
post Mar 20 2008, 06:01 PM

12,290 posts

generally speaking, the training of doctors is closely tied to the provision of healthcare.......so obviously, the countries with the best healthcare standards are also the ones with the most stringent student selection process, and the most consistent in quality of graduates..........

so you have the rich of the world going to the USA for treatment for obvious reasons......in this region, the little red dot is an obvious destination when one with money falls sick........even some hospitals in thailand are attracting 'health tourism'........

have you noticed any rush by patients to go to indonesia for healthcare? lots of them in fact, ends up in penang, melaka, KL.........and of course the little red dot........

so go figure........
limeuu
post Mar 20 2008, 10:12 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(jidinmiya @ Mar 20 2008, 08:50 PM)

Added on March 20, 2008, 8:56 pm
ok FINE! thnx a lot. i know im not qualified. not as SMART s u.
ya!! gt no academic ability... im STUPID.
thnx.
i did NOT say you are not qualified, you yourself have doubts about qualifying for jpa scholarship....

you did not post your results so i certainly cannot comment on you specifically.....why get so defensive?

the way msians go to all lengths to become doctors through many backdoor ways, i can tell you people with only 2A's at spm have become doctors...........unlike most well managed countries where they go to great lengths to assure only the best and brightest become doctors, msia through politicians are looking for as many ways to become doctors as possible, particularly through third countries, so any mediocre student with some money can become one........don't believe me?........go to any gov hospital, select a random group of junior doctors and ask them what they got for their spm......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 20 2008, 10:14 PM
limeuu
post Mar 21 2008, 09:44 AM

12,290 posts

the indian med schools have been doing that for years, you basically buy yourself a degree........but lately the indian cov has clamped down on this, and also restrict foreign students, so malaysians have been looking elsewhere for such backdoor entry, notably indonesia and russia.........while there are many good students there, their willingness to take in people with very poor academic results for money has tarnished their status.......there are few countries as messed up as msia, we recognise the MOST number of foreign medical schools in the world........the US/oz holds the record of the opposite.......they only recognise canadian/nz qualifications, anyone else will have to sit for umsle/amc......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 21 2008, 09:47 AM
limeuu
post Mar 22 2008, 06:04 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 22 2008, 03:46 PM)
I beg to differ. SPM is not as important as last time, as the standard has fallen dramatically (look at the numbers of people scoring 10 As and you will know), as well as the debatable marking scheme (no one is allowed to see his/her own paper after it's being marked). What's important is your Pre U. A friend of mine only scored 3 As in SPM but ended up with straight As in A level. Now he is studying Medicine in Melbourne U. So if you have done poorly in your SPM, do not be upset but work harder for your Pre U instead.
In addition, i believe medical schools place more emphasis on Pre U results rather than SPM when choosing students.

And at the end of days, it really depends on your ability to diagnose and treat rather than your results back in SPM, Pre U or even Med school. As long as you have fine tuned your clinical skills, you will definitely be a good doctor.
you are not getting my points, i am talking globally, not in the specifics of exceptional cases you mentioned.......

spm is the last common exam for the vast majority of msian students, after which the pathway diverges into so many different directions, and it is different to compare.......so the last yardstick to benchmark a student's position amongst his peers is the spm result......of course NOBODY should be admitted into med school on the basis of spm, but on a bridging matriculation (not to be confused with matrik), which unfortunately is so varied....but baring the exceptions, the vast majority will get a result in their matriculation commensurate with their spm results........

that fact established, again looking globally at the training of the country's future doctors, it is to the best interest of the country and the people, that the best, brightest and most suitable be chosen.........and in the majority of well managed advanced countries, this is the case, they do go at great length to ensure the best amd most suitable student is selected........

except msia has NO system to do this, and with the abundance of backdoor pathways in many other countries, as well as compliance with the nep locally, this results in many students being admitted who are NOT the best available.........i was using the example of the spm results to highlight this fact.......that MANY STUDENTS WITH VERY POOR RESULTS ARE ADMITTED INTO MED SCHOOLS, usually in countries like india and indonesia and russia, and ipta as well........students with better results but no money/wrong colour are denied entry........

that is my point.......

of course, once you are in, by working hard, and being conscientious, you can still come out as a good doctor.....or you may not.........as a consumer who needs health care in future, i don't want to have to doubt the competency of my doctor in future......which i do now knowing the real situation on intake into med schools........

understand?
limeuu
post Mar 22 2008, 08:33 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Mar 22 2008, 08:18 PM)
Well I see that there is a clash of opinions here.

In my opinion, it does not take a genius to qualify as a doctor.
What is essential is the doctor's sincere heart to help patients under the condition that he/she has a reasonable amount of skills required.

About health tourism, I personally feel its the country's health care technology and facilities that attracts people's attention.
My father used to have a complication in his gall bladder and he underwent surgery in Singapore under the knife of a Malaysian surgeon.

He was told by the doctor that in Malaysia, the facilities are not good enough and the government is putting pressure on doctors to do what they do not like. (Educating etc.)
I am not a doctor. Currently I am just in Form 5 and aspirating to be one in the near future.
you father has been mislead........for gallbladder surgery, any private or government general hospital will be able to do the laparoscopic cholecystectomy required.....

you have to understand something about spore........their kiasu-ness extends to everything, including healthcare......they will always say they are better then msia.......even if it is not true...

but they have a point......all doctors accredited and registered there are good.......ie there is no backdoor for them......unlike msia, as i explained above.......there are a lot of msian doctors there, but mostly graduates from uk/oz/nus etc, where entry into med schools are properly controlled.....they have only recently recognised um and ukm, because the non-malay entry there is tougher than even nus, when there is a shortage of junior doctors there.........

it is well established that anyone who lies in the top 10% of his cohort should be able to study medicine and become a competent doctor........not a genius......that is not what we are talking about.........there are students from well below the top 10% getting into medicine, and they should NOT be there.........

even amongst the top 10%, most unis will choose the top 5% or even top 2%, there are no shortage of applicants from that group........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 22 2008, 08:35 PM
limeuu
post Mar 23 2008, 12:03 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 22 2008, 11:48 PM)
Yes, I got your point but i still disagree with using SPM as benchmark to measure one's capability, even though it is the common pathway for most of the msian students. What matters the most is the clinical performance of a doctor, which, sadly, cannot be judged properly due to the lack of a common exam for all medical graduates in Msia, both local and foreign alike. And i too, am saddened by the fact that many students enter this course through back door (NEP mostly), while i had to struggle hard to enter this course.

Therefore, i sincerely hope that there is a Malaysian Medical Licensing Exam for better control of the quality of the doctors in Msia.
no i did NOT use spm as benckmark for capability.........it's for benchmarking eligibility to enter the course.........the gatekeeping at entry is more important and effective than at exit.......and gatekeeping at exit is NOT gonna happen, too many political vested interests.......

19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:46 AM