Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

CyberSetan
post Feb 3 2009, 09:00 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 3 2009, 04:59 PM)
from pmr to spm ,I think become a doctor will make me have a higher social status than the others!!!! I can wear the smart white coat with  the stethoscope...awesome is it?

When I was in the mid-year of upper6 , I only realize why i want to be a doctor!!!! I want to reduce the pain,to help the patient from being tortured by the diseases!!! i want my hand and my brain to become extra-ordinary which can really save the life...All of this is because someone die in front of me just because me unable to do something to help her,the only thing i can do is send her to hospital but halfway.........haiz..........she was yelling and crying for help but I don't dare to do anything just because i was nothing and i don't know how to help her.....until now i still feel very sorry about her death!!!! I swear to be a great doctor even there is a lot of resistant and difficulty in front of me!!! I am willing to sacrifice anything even my life just to help a patient. So, why i say if i failed to enter  IPTA ,I will try all the way to enter IPTS.Although im not rich but i can get the loan from ptptn and to beg my rich relative for help,they may agree but they want interest. I will promise their condition(interest), if they agree to lend me the money!!! Its because i really want to be a doctor....I want to save the painful and miserable people....They do feel pain ,very pain!!!!!they cry and yell just want to seek help!!! I can feel their pain!!!!They are suffering  cry.gif  ,they need doctor!!!!!!Haiz......  sad.gif
Being over enthusiastic and setting very high hopes for things that are yet to come will lead to great disappointment you know...
Think about it for awhile~

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Feb 3 2009, 09:13 PM
CyberSetan
post Feb 7 2009, 07:10 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

The previous issue regarding "Manipal University: Kasturba Medical Colleges, Mangalore and Manipal" again today in Utusan Malaysia:

India tidak iktiraf ijazah perubatan Manipal
07/02/2009 5:22pm

NEW DELHI 7 Feb. - Agensi perubatan India enggan mengiktiraf ijazah perubatan yang ditawarkan oleh Manipal University, atas alasan kemudahan pengajaran dan klinikal institusi berkenaan tidak memenuhi piawaian kerajaan.

“Penarikan balik pengiktirafan itu kekal. Kami telahpun meminta mereka supaya mematuhi peraturan dan memberi mereka satu tahun (mulai 2008) untuk menangani masalah itu,” kata Setiausaha Kementerian Kesihatan dan Kebajikan Keluarga India, Naresh Dayal kepada Bernama.

Ogos lepas, Majlis Perubatan India (MCI) memeranjatkan fraterniti perubatan apabila mengumumkan ia tidak akan mengiktiraf kursus Sarjana Muda Perubatan dan Sarjana Muda Pembedahan (MBBS) yang ditawarkan di Kasturba Medical College di Manipal serta Mangalore.

MCI, sebuah badan pengawal institusi perubatan yang sangat berpengaruh di India, turut menggesa kementerian berkenaan supaya mengambil tindakan sewajarnya terhadap Manipal, yang didakwa tidak dilengkapi secukupnya daripada segi kemudahan dan kakitangan.

Pada masa ini, lebih 500 pelajar Malaysia mengikuti kursus perubatan dan pergigian di Manipal University, yang terletak di negeri selatan, Karnataka. - Bernama
Source: http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y...ni&pg=bt_11.htm

even after they appealed, still denied re-recognition by Indian Medical council? now what MMC is going to say about this?

After a bit of browsing around, I found this also:
Why Manipal University Medical Colleges are being derecognised
September 1, 2008 by admin
Filed under: Admission counselling, Medical

The centre has taken the unprecedented step of derecognising two medical colleges run by the prestigious Manipal Group. The University is in trouble, the Union Health ministry has derecognised its medical colleges at Manipal and Mangalore from 2008 onwards because of falling education standards … reports IBN Live

“There were adverse reports from a central team that visited manipal,” says Health secretary, Naresh Dayal

The charges raised against Manipal University are nothing short of a scam. Each of the colleges are allowed to admit only 250 students annually. In reality the colleges have been admitting an additional 250 students who get their degrees from the Melacca medical college in Malaysia.

That apart, an unspecified number are admitted from a medical college in Antigua, West Indies.

There is even a dental college running without permission. In all, the estimates are that the number of students using facilities meant for 250 students is well over 650.

The centre says the colleges can have their recognition back if they make amends. This will cause concern to the MBBS students already admitted.

“The recognition is not with retrospective effect. We don’t want to dilute the standard of education,” adds Naresh Dayal

Manipal may be considered one of the better medical colleges in the country but the fact is even as the Government looks the other way, India has one of the maximum number of medical colleges in the world.

Source: http://www.admissiondates.com/why-manipal-...recognised.html

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Feb 7 2009, 07:54 PM
CyberSetan
post Feb 17 2009, 01:44 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 17 2009, 12:22 PM)
Thank you!I have received the offer letter for foundation in science from AIMST,because it is too competitive, so, maybe need to do the foundation first.I think this is a more secure way if I failed to enter the IPTA or MBBS of AIMST ~
why the need for foundation?
you could directly study medicine abroad say.... in Indonesian top universities, eg; University Gadjah Mada / University of Indonesia / University of Padjadjaran ~

I assume you can speak Malay? its near to Malaysia and recognized by MMC. Cost effective also~

Here is a link: http://www.nugrahan.com.my/

Think about it, those universities I mentioned are government universities, they have established Medical faculty, the man power, dedicated university professors/lecturers, hospitals, facilities, lab, etc to conduct a medical course~

or perhaps you are not considering to go abroad?

Added on February 17, 2009, 2:00 pm
QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 17 2009, 12:22 PM)
.I get scored by my dad:Stupid and silly! cry.gif  But never mind! One day he will know Im doing the right things now,if I able to save the life. icon_rolleyes.gif
I will have to agree with your dad.

Its a waste to time to do a foundation when you already have STPM cert. (provided that you have the necessary grades to enter MD/MBBS or course)
STPM cert is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay more "powerful" than ANY foundation program certs available in Malaysia.

AIMST is not the only private medical university in Malaysia you know.... there are ten of them, remember? click below to revise:

10 PRIVATE MEDICAL UNIVERSITIES IN MALAYSIA

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Feb 17 2009, 02:24 PM
CyberSetan
post Feb 20 2009, 04:15 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Feb 20 2009, 01:41 AM)
exactly....
just a few weeks back I went to a GH to seek treatment for my sprained leg,
I talked to them in english, yet they replied me in Bahasa....
Maybe it isn't "tak boleh", it should be "tak mahu".
Its indeed "tak mahu", not that they cant converse in English.

This trend of speaking English all the time in the hospital (esp. in gov. hospital) is rather annoying... really...
at least from the view points of supporting staff members in the hospital (Nurses, MLTs, P.As, admin, etc), of which I have had experienced working with some of them in the past.

They feel that there is this "air of arrogance" or "holier than thou" attitude from the doctors who constantly speak in English even though they can converse in Malay with them.

More over, the trend of doctors "not-mixing" with other staff members of the hospital especially with the supporting staffs adds up to this situation.

Use English when it is appropriate and not as a mean to Show-Off to other people, it doesn't impress them but rather annoys them.
(they talk behind your back you know - even though they smile in front of you)

Fikir fikirkan lah~

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Feb 20 2009, 04:18 AM
CyberSetan
post Mar 8 2009, 03:19 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

I've a question.

If you were posted in Sabah/Sarawak for the 2 years Housemanship training followed by 3 years compulsory service in rural areas of the mentioned states.

What would you do?
CyberSetan
post Mar 13 2009, 01:45 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(shadowmorning @ Mar 13 2009, 01:30 AM)
Hello guys n girls,im not a med student but if u guys dont mind,can u answer some of my questions?Here goes.

OKay i got my SPM results 2day, BIO and CHEM are C. BM,SEJ,AGAMA,MATH are B. Physics and Admats are D. English and EST are A. so now im really depressed. U see,i wanted to enter Pre-Med or Foundation in Scence but as u all know its B for Bio Chem Physic. So now i wanna know bout STPM coz i wanna be a Doctor u see,im terrified whether even if i did get good results in science subjects in stpm(in the future) is there still hope for me to bcome a doctor??
Alright lets see...

English and EST = A
Biology and Chemistry = C
BM, Sejarah, Agama and Math = B
Physics and Additional mathematics = D

hmmm......... I dont intend to discourage nor humiliate you, but that your basic sciences are rather weak, I would not recommend you to do a Pre-med with that result.

However, you could make a serious come back if you could SCORE in an STPM science stream (3.8> perhaps)...
or in other words... your excellence in STPM will make up for your weakness in SPM.

STPM is NOT easy though....

hows that?
CyberSetan
post Mar 29 2009, 10:12 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 27 2009, 12:20 PM)
I think your friend meant KMC (full course Manipal), due to the recognition issue.

BTW, it's not worth to study in MMMC now, as the tuition fee is RM330K. Try AIMST. The fee is really affordable and the quality is quite good.
I dont think MMMC will close down so long as Malaysians students continue to study there. The recognition issue only involved Manipal vs MCI. MCI (Medical Council of India) does not recognized MMMC. Only MMC (Malaysian Medical Council) recognizes MMMC.

and I quote:

As the MMMC never sought recognition from the Medical Council of India (MCI), it has never been placed under the latter’s purview. Hence, the ruling doesn’t affect the MMMC.” - Source

As stated in an old article that I came acrossed below, currently there are only two MBBS program conducted in India solely for the purpose of training Malaysians (One being MMMC and the other is MSU-IMS), and both are not recognized by MCI:

http://www.livemint.com/2008/10/16214645/H...anipal.html?d=1

so... MCI recognition is unimportant and irrelevant here.

CyberSetan
post Mar 30 2009, 05:50 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

You really changed your decision a lot.
CyberSetan
post Apr 10 2009, 09:44 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(GOD BLESS U @ Apr 10 2009, 09:33 AM)
Hey, guys! I'm a SPM leaver. I want to look for the foundation in medicine course in M'sia which offers the twinning programme during the degree course, MBBS. Can u pls help me or juz guide me to a right pathway for me to pursue. Thx!
choose...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=889461&hl=
CyberSetan
post Apr 10 2009, 10:12 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 10 2009, 10:05 AM)
In the Malaysian context, the only place where there is a "twinning programme during the degree course" would be IMU.
You forgot about MMMC, PMC, ACMS -> see it again for yourself http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=889461&hl=
CyberSetan
post Apr 16 2009, 08:09 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Apr 16 2009, 07:45 AM)
Yoyo! Dear senior any recommendation about the references of tropical diseases and anatomy,eg book,website and etc. Thanks! biggrin.gif
You made up your mind yet? Enter a medical school first, then we can elaborate more about that.
CyberSetan
post May 10 2009, 05:02 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ May 10 2009, 12:07 AM)

1)Is the BMed worth obtaining, like it'll further emblazon my Dr?

If you want some exposure on medical research / thesis preparation - and the additional extension to your MBBS
eg:

Dr. ShaneNg,
B.Med.Sci. (Hons.), MBBS (AUS),

~ go for it then~
CyberSetan
post May 15 2009, 10:50 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Hmm.. that highly enthusiastic MBBS Siang is nowhere to be seen nowadays, almost a month since his last post, he flunked his applications perhaps?
CyberSetan
post May 15 2009, 11:03 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ May 15 2009, 10:57 PM)
Hey, MBBSSiang had been having some network difficulties, which we'll be expecting him shortly, and shortly after that, he's off to MMA.
So, he made his mind after all, that is interesting. I'm waiting for his reasons for choosing MMA.
CyberSetan
post May 17 2009, 11:19 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ May 16 2009, 05:35 PM)
1. I have financial problem and the agent can definitely help me to solve this problem.

4. The russian uni is the only medical school that I can afford and (reason1).

So what is the estimated cost for the entire 6-years of medical study there (tuition fees, food, books, travel, accomodation)?

Are you certain that it will be cheaper?

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: May 17 2009, 11:26 PM
CyberSetan
post May 19 2009, 10:53 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 19 2009, 04:18 PM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j59BiLwdNO8

i dont wanna scare you guys. but racism there is really really big. India is better than Russia in that sense.
so far, we got along just fine with the local Indian people, even got invited and went to some of their wedding ceremonies too~ very interesting culture~

Here are some pictures I would be happy to share. an Indian wedding that we attended:

Behold, our Medicine lecturer (above)~ his son is getting married (below).

Below, traditional food served during the wedding, mmm~

CyberSetan
post May 20 2009, 12:19 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 19 2009, 04:18 PM)

Alright... I saw that video... below is the second part..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IuOVgx3Zh6E&feature=related

I quote from the above video:

"Foreign students at some of Moscows universities are under lockdown during the days surrounding Hitler's birthday, they aren't allowed to leave their dorm for any reason out fear for their safety"

"...Akili came to Moscow from Tanzania to study medicine..."
MBBS Siang, I wish you luck, Kick those Neo-Nazi asses~

CyberSetan
post May 22 2009, 03:25 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

To all doctors and medical students here, do a preliminary diagnosis on this:

- Explain your diagnosis.

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: May 22 2009, 03:34 AM
CyberSetan
post May 23 2009, 04:07 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

To all doctors and medical students here, do a preliminary diagnosis on this:

- Explain your diagnosis.

Here is another clue, i wont spoil the diagnosis yet, the picture below is taken before the pictures above, what can you see?

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: May 30 2009, 02:49 AM
CyberSetan
post May 25 2009, 11:48 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(prahadude @ May 25 2009, 11:40 PM)
Can anyone list down procedures(step by step) and the documents needed for registration of medical grads with the government?

Foreign grads lack such information.
Here is MMC for you: http://mmc.gov.my/v1/index.php?option=com_...id=21&Itemid=46

All relevant information for med grad registration can be found there.

...by the way, where is Limeuu?

I was expecting him to give a spot diagnosis or at least some comments on the medical condition seen in the pictures I presented.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0472sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:57 AM