Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

limeuu
post Apr 22 2008, 10:06 PM

12,290 posts

you do know bond is not recognised by mmc.......yet anyway....
limeuu
post Apr 22 2008, 10:46 PM

12,290 posts

actually, think about it.......unless one has actually attended another med school, and thus have a basis for comparison, how does one who have just been exposed to one particular med school make a judgement as to the quality of the programme and lecturers?.....

physical facilities of course can compare lah....i am very impressed with aimst and monash....but unfortunately, that does not necessarily translate into quality education......
limeuu
post Apr 23 2008, 09:16 AM

12,290 posts

for imu, with the numbers they are taking in, the most important factor is money.....if you have reasonable results, (only need ter 91, BBB kinna result) and shown to be able to talk in the interview, and don't say stupid things, they will accept you........in fact, some claim that the most important question and answer in the interview is: 'can you afford it?......yes'
limeuu
post Apr 23 2008, 09:37 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(guanteck @ Apr 23 2008, 02:36 PM)
Thanks for the replies. Because i've just gone through my interview and i think i did pretty badly at the end. It was quite ok at the beginning but i got a bit stucked at the case scenario. I hesitated for like 10 seconds and my answers were not that good i think. I stumbled alot after that. I dun think i've actually answer that question.  sad.gif

Hopefully my results can actually compensate my badly done interview.  sad.gif

Oh yea, 1 more question. I know IMU will mail u a letter if u have been accepted. How if u were to be rejected? Will IMU still mail u to actually tell u that u din get through the interview and that u r not accepted?

universities never send you rejection letters........if you have no news, it means no offer......

this is a problem with the msian postal deficiency......some mail never arrive, so it pays to check, call them....however, imu uses poslaju, so it should be more reliable.....just not very laju........ biggrin.gif

Added on April 23, 2008, 9:46 pm
QUOTE(zltan @ Apr 23 2008, 11:50 AM)
shocking.gif  I thought IMU has higher standards than that! 88-90 TER is a really really bad score. I'd rather that they have less number of students than have a whole crap load which will fail.
well, they have to comply with the standards set by the partner universities, (including yours)......so they may let you in easy (it's extra fees income after all), but just as easily kick you out if you don't met the standards......i think the me1/07 batch is down to some 160+ from 220........

i don't agree with this approach, but it is i guess a good business model.......and it certainly satisfy those who feels 'heart' is more important than brains, and one doesn't have to be a genius to become a doctor.......gives then a chance to have a go at it.......the good thing is, at least it cost the taxpayer nothing, it's only dad's money when they find out it's the brains that is more important...... smile.gif

Added on April 23, 2008, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(lagrima @ Apr 23 2008, 06:53 PM)
Bond in Australia

spare me the James Bond jokes too  tongue.gif
no jokes........i thought you would either be in bond or jcu, the 2 undergrad schools........just wonder how they fit what others do in 6 years in 4 2/3 years.........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 23 2008, 09:48 PM
limeuu
post Apr 24 2008, 05:37 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(lagrima @ Apr 24 2008, 02:08 PM)
Yup my bad, it's postgrad, but it's got provisional entry or something of the sort for school leavers.
double degree.....get into eg science/medicine from year 12, and upon meeting the minimum required in the first 2 years, will then proceed to the 4 years med programme.......uq has the same........they found out that they are loosing out on quality candidates to other undergraduate programmes....as the graduate applicants tend not to be of high calibre........
limeuu
post Apr 24 2008, 05:49 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Apr 24 2008, 05:42 PM)
hey noob question here. how long does it take to specialise in these fields:

a) cardiothoracic surgery
b) plastic surgery
c) surgical oncology

and what are the job prospects in malaysia and singapore?

and my dad said to be accredited by the american board of medicine is the highest medical qualification there is and that the sky's the limit if ure accredited. is this true?
15-20 years from entering university, depending on where......

good......

no......only if you intend to work in us, or intend to predominantly treat us patients.....each country/region has their own postgraduate system........which may not recognise another country/region's.........
limeuu
post Apr 25 2008, 08:44 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(lagrima @ Apr 25 2008, 08:38 AM)
speaking of which, i've always wondered how school leavers (essentially 17-18 yr olds) manage studying medicine. I mean take Bond for example, because it takes slightly over 4 years, they graduate as doctors at 22 or 23. 23! Dyou think that's a lil young? I do. I look at some of them and wish all med programmes were postgrad.
that is pretty much unique to bond.......all the other programmes are 6 years, except for monash....

age at graduation is not really important, because one needs another 4-10 years before one assumes independent practice........be it gp or neurosurgery......unlike most other professions, where one can begin full independent work at graduation.........
limeuu
post Apr 25 2008, 04:20 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(lagrima @ Apr 25 2008, 01:03 PM)

p.s: limeuu- you wouldn't happen to be single and cute.. ?  cool2.gif
sorry, neither......
limeuu
post Apr 29 2008, 11:10 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(tinsze @ Apr 29 2008, 10:57 AM)
thx ... so means really oni cost 10000 or arou d that oni lar..? whoa.. i think i'm goin to f6... siao.. AIMST cost aorund 210K.... compare to 10 K... rclxub.gif
you must realise what you pay in ipta is SEVERELY subsidised by our tax money.......the real cost i think is stated in the fees, about 20-30k a year, but you only need to pay a small fraction of that.........

whereas in ipts, they get ZERO funding from public purse (tax money), and hence needs to charge full fees........and maybe a profit as well.......

that is why many people wants to get into matrik, and many people are afraid to go to stpm........one gets you into ipta easily, the other is so severely marked up, hardly anyone do well enough to 'fight' against the matrik people for a med school place.........

like i say many times before, getting into ipta medicine is like getting a rm1/4mil scholarship........

and that is why many people feels very angry.......i pay a lot of taxes, yet will have almost no chance to get any of these services back, on account of the nep policies........ mad.gif
limeuu
post Apr 29 2008, 11:16 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(tinsze @ Apr 29 2008, 11:10 AM)
so sarcastic neh
its all facts in the public domain........what's so sarcastic about stating the facts?......

i really don't understand people here, common on, face the facts in the real world......pretending they are not there is not going to make them go away.......and they will eventually bite you.....one way or another......
limeuu
post Apr 29 2008, 06:57 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(guanteck @ Apr 29 2008, 06:50 PM)
Yea. That day was actually allocated for JPA students to interview. So, there are alot of malays there. I am a private candidate and i am suppose to be interviewed on the 24th. I can't make it on that day, so they put me on 22nd sad.gif Is it a good thing or a bad thing to be interviewed along with those JPA scholars? If i were to be compared with them, i am a dead meat.  shakehead.gif
they don't select on a day to day basis lah.....

if you have not been offered, you are likely on their hold list, awaiting people to reject offers.....the bad news is, for the 2nd intake, there fewer rejections as there are few intake alternatives at that time, and is a tougher group to compete with, ie those from a levels and stpm.....generally the easiest batch is the 1st intake......and lots will choose monash msia.......allowing many with rather low results to still slip in 2nd or even 3rd list....and of course that's the batch with the highest attrition rate at the end of the year......what's you results anyway?

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 29 2008, 06:59 PM
limeuu
post Apr 29 2008, 09:45 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(guanteck @ Apr 29 2008, 08:50 PM)
I see. I guess i will just hope that someone will reject their offers then.  sad.gif

I've got straight 12As in SPM ( 9A1,3A2) and straight 4As for my A-level, as in the forecast result that i handed in for application.
you should be in the 1st list.......just wait for it.......btw, did you hand in you final a level results?.....if you haven't, you should quickly........
limeuu
post Apr 29 2008, 11:12 PM

12,290 posts

it is interesting how some got rejected by imu, but got into monash.......and vice versa..........and how some got both and some of these lucky ones chooses imu, and the others monash......to the extend of forfeiting their semester fees.........
limeuu
post Apr 30 2008, 03:51 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(guanteck @ Apr 30 2008, 02:58 PM)
I haven't gotten my final A-lvls result yet. I will be sitting for it this may/june. So until then, i only have my forecast result with me.

So, normally wat are the percentage of people in 1st list to be able to be accepted in IMU? And when do i normally get to receive the letter? Crap, i hope it will be real soon. This waiting part is really torturing.  sad.gif
oh, i thought you are in the nov/dec exam........

in that case, you will receive a conditional offer, stating the minimum requirements, which should be something like ABB or something like that........you will need to pay up on accepting, but in the event you fail to make the grades, they will refund you....it's early days still, you should get offers maybe June........

Added on April 30, 2008, 3:55 pm
QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 30 2008, 02:22 PM)
because, for UIAM or UM MBBS program, they stated the requirement must come from Life science stream.

but, for UKM, UPM, and USM MD program, they require matriculation Math, Chemistry, and either physic or bio. with just pass in BI during SPM.

the problem is, i wonder if those MD program have hidden requirement which they require us to have bio in spm level. wondering if they use this hidden requirement...
actually, to me, if you are really interested in medicine, and have the ability to do it well, just do ALL the science subjects......you should be able to do them all well..........if you can't........well, maybe you should not consider medicine then......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 30 2008, 03:55 PM
limeuu
post Apr 30 2008, 04:40 PM

12,290 posts

actually all these concerns about doing biology, better in maths, etc puzzles me......if I were a selector for medical school entry, there are so many good straight A students with all the science subjects, it is not difficult to choose really.....anyone with reservations about doing (and doing well in) biology would not even be on my radar screen at all........
limeuu
post Apr 30 2008, 05:51 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Apr 30 2008, 04:53 PM)
wow, BBC, those r the future drs in malaysia
that is the inherent defect of the msian dichotomous education system.....for profit, full fees education inevitably attracts the rich rather than able students......and as there are not that many rich students who also happens to be excellent students, the imu is hard put to find enough rich students to fill the 230 places they have every 6 months......so the cut off will vary depending on the calibre of the students applying......if there are not many good applicants, they will lower the cutoff to scrape the bottom of the barrel to fill the places.......

that may be fine for most courses, but is a potential recipe for disaster for the training of future doctors.......except that it pales in comparison to the hordes getting into medical schools in india, indonesia, russia etc with worse results.........

all the ipts face the same problem......choosing based on wealth rather than suitability.....and monash is little better.......even after rejecting them, they keep calling, showing how desperate they are.........and yes.......monash msia is a LOCAL programme, whose degree just happens to be recognised by amc.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 30 2008, 05:54 PM
limeuu
post Apr 30 2008, 06:40 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(linkeong @ Apr 30 2008, 06:35 PM)
They will refund you but not 100%. Don't listen to any bullshit. I got back 90% of my fees. The requirement for STPM is 3 B+. Yes there are plenty of A levels BBC students in IMU, if you don't ask them, they also won't bother to tell you. The main thing is, you could get in with BBC, but can you survive the 5 years? Entry does not guarantee a degree or pass. Some people fail in the final year some in the first year. Don't compare with Indo and Russia or whichever country that you can buy your  degree, at least if you take IMU twinning the PMS won't do all these bullshit
that is the only saving grace for imu, and the main reason they had to maintain a high standard, and fail people liberally......

it's a good business model, let you in, collect your fees, let you try, and then flunk you out......
limeuu
post May 1 2008, 05:04 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(liew90kw @ May 1 2008, 04:07 PM)
Well, Monash is a good course actually, but it's kinda weird. 9 sems in malaysia, 1 sem in australia, at least that's the current plan. But hey, I'm not complaining

But anyways, one difference i kinda noticed between IMU and monash, in IMU, you're fighting with the other people for the "top" PMS, whereas in monash, you end up in the same place anyways. Your choice of medic school should also be based on where you want to work after you grad. If you plan on working in malaysia, it's actually more recommended that you take a course that spends more time in malaysia, so that you're used to the climate sociologically, ethically, and legally.
it's 3 mths, not a semester, as is required by the amc for recognition of the degree, the students need to be familiarised with the oz context.
limeuu
post Jun 3 2008, 11:24 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(badman return @ Jun 3 2008, 07:02 PM)
hi !  I had just get my stpm result. Gonna ask some opinions here. Do I have chances to get medicine programme in ipta with my cgpa 3.84?
bumi or otherwise?.........there is a difference.....stpm, i presume non-bumi......zero chance with the big 3 (um/ukm/usm)........try the 2 tier ones.......it is still possible on second list........
limeuu
post Jun 9 2008, 10:30 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Pisanggoreng @ Jun 8 2008, 06:04 PM)
can't imagine my fren who failed chem in stpm managed to study in russia for medicine, not only him, there r more than one.......
that is why every graduate from there is tainted, and will be dealt with suspicion by patients.......

and why I never recommend anyone going there.....the selection criteria is too lax, and the filtering process too lax.......hardly hear of anyone failing in spite of very poor quality students taken in.........

19 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:32 AM