bhypp
post May 13 2009, 04:44 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 12 2009, 08:09 AM)
i really pray he is NOT..........

Added on May 12, 2009, 8:20 am
you are correct.........be a nurse........that's my advise, you are NOT doctor material.....

you are NOT 'passionate' about the profession, or saving lives.........you are obsessed with the title of 'doctor'.........the perceived 'glamour', the 'prestige', the respect you think having the title entitles you.....

you can satisfy all you passion about helping people in so many other ways.......nursing, physiotherapy, dietetics, etc......not necessarily as a doctor.......

there are easier ways of getting a dr. in front of your name......you can actually buy it from some scam universities.........or you can buy it from russia, ukraine, possibly romania........yes, you don't need to study, just buy the exam papers, of just buy a pass from the examiners.......that is the pathway you are thinking of going..........you will NOT survive a REAL medical school......

having said that........it is a sad fact that many people with similar or weaker academic results have gone to 'easy' med schools, and graduated........in msia......it's a free for all at the moment in msia.......bugger the standards........
what about graduate med skool? maybe coz she / he was interested in med stuff....but cant cope with the non-med stuff in STPM...hence the poor scores.... but say if she/ he does a science degree or physio degree 1st, excelled coz its medical and sit for a grad school entry exam...passed coz of the passion for med stuff = high scores...then be a med student then....a longer route but that would be an option would it?

i mean undergrad is not necessarily the only route...
bhypp
post May 26 2009, 12:38 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ May 22 2009, 06:07 PM)
with 2 weeks experience in gen surg department, for me it looks very typical of a venous ulcer. being on the medial side of the leg, with granulation tissues and pus on the base and signs of lipodermatosclerosis.

let me go mug again and at the same time, you might want to give ur diagnosis. cry.gif
i dont think its venous ulcer...tho it has a lipodermatosclerosis and atrophie blanche....its too deep for venous ulcer...

1st pic...i think its eating under the subcut tissues right into the fascia...so my bet is on necrotising fasciitis..

**add....its purulent discharge...so i thought that might be some infection....but then again...it all has to come down to the patient's history, swab M+C, onset and medical condition**

This post has been edited by bhypp: May 26 2009, 12:40 PM
bhypp
post May 28 2009, 05:52 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

hmm good read, but i seriously dont know why the author is so judgemental, people do change and if they change from a conservative person into a person who's fond of skimpy clothing and weekend flings...that's their choice...

cheating in exams n copying peers' work instead of coming up with one's own is very common in uni...so is wriggling thru the system with lies (for those ponteng-ed classes) n etc....but i think it would be the working world that would be the judge...i hav no problems if one's not a hardworking student but yet is a competent doctor...that author is just bitter...
bhypp
post May 29 2009, 08:07 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ May 28 2009, 06:22 PM)
The author is indeed judgmental about the skimpy clothing and family diginity etc.

But bhypp I guess you dont know how severe the offense of cheating and plagiarism is in overseas universities, it is almost considered as a unforgivable offense that would eventually lead to someone being expelled. THERE SHOULD BE NO CHEATING IN EXAM IN A MEDICAL SCHOOL. A working world as a judge means that someone would have to die/suffer from his treatment/management/choice of medication before he or she is labeled as incompetent. What happened when a doctor does not know beta blocker is contraindicated in asthmatic patients? Chances are he'll kill the patient. Why? he didnt really study during his med school.

You can ponteng class, you can copy school work, but if you cheat in your final exam and shed tears for a pass, it's too much.
QUOTE(limeuu @ May 28 2009, 10:46 PM)
agree.......

bhypp, i am VERY dissappointed with your attitude.......most unbecoming of a potential future doctor.....
i know i sounded harsh but i've seen my share of med students getting away like that...making up lies, ponteng classes, forging signatures n etc...i just thought that no matter how ppl will always find flaws in the system n exploit it....abit cynical i suppose...but not bitter coz i think at the end of the day....if one could be a good doctor...that's good enough....doesn't matter if one cheated or ponteng-ed in med skool...altho most ppl with attitude like this are gonna be bad doctors...but then again...who are we to generalize?

in the healthcare system...there are so many levels of checks in place...so say an intern was dumb enough to give B-blockers to an asthmatic to control his bp....the registrar should at least spot the mistake on the drug chart n correct it....if not the pharmacists who dispense the drug should hav spot it too....and the nurse who gave that to the pt would have picked it up....but yea i agree it is better to put a qualified doctor in the 1st place...rather than an incompetent 1....

i understand the author's predicament but bad unis produce excellent students n good unis produce crappy students too..why not she take it as a challenge to prove that the general perception wrong and be a good doctor herself....instead of whinging and writing an article to malaysiakini....where i think would not do much in terms of changing the status quo....rather used the time to read / revise / practice suturing / reading medical journals....

sorry i just dont really like whingers...the world is full of cheaters and cheaters do...not always get the things they wanted easily, which is a real injustice but i think one like the author should take pride him/herself in her non-cheating, hardworking ways and held his/her head up high knowing that he/she got integrity....unlike the rest......
bhypp
post May 29 2009, 09:58 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 29 2009, 08:54 AM)
checks and balance should and MUST occur at selection into, and during med school level......once a doctor graduates, he/she is like 007......licensed to kill......

during clinical practice, checks and balances should be for HONEST mistakes that will inevitably be made........NOT as a means to weed out incompetent/poor attitude/dishonest doctors........by then it is TOO LATE........

no amount of rationalising about the 'bed real world' can excuse this dishonesty........
i agree....this is not what the checks are really for....but with so many dodgy uni's around...and the govt / medical body is always 1 step behind...when they recognize a uni as a bad one....producing dodgy docs.....the docs would be already out there....in the hospitals, posing threats to patients....

but just to make things clear...im in no way condoning such acts and i hold on to the ideals just like u guys....

@haya....im in no way wanting to be a lawyer...im close enough to hell alrdy...no need to take up a profession that guarantee my spot there... laugh.gif and i dun get ur black book thingy...whats that suppose to mean?

true thats why i said...he/she should try to hard n prove the public worng....not all med students from russia are poor, incompetent n cheats...he/she felt a great sense of injustice, whinges, felt very bitter but i think he/she has lotsa growing up to do....the world is never fair...and instead of whinging on the press, he/she could maybe write a letter to the med. body (MMA issit? or issit MMC?) and ask them to review the whole thing...or to JPA to send someone over an do a thorough evaluation....

maybe he/she already done that....but im just saying...whinging is not the way to go....

This post has been edited by bhypp: May 29 2009, 10:11 AM
bhypp
post Jun 3 2009, 12:23 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Jun 2 2009, 08:43 PM)
I have a question that is long in my mind here. Was PMC initially recognized by SMC? or PMC was never recognized by SMC before, and they only take in graduates on a case by case basis?

(coz I knew of PMC graduates that are working in SG)

Added on June 2, 2009, 8:54 pmOh yea and...

Absence seizure is a type of generalised seizure known as petit mal seizure (i guess). Usually the person will blank out for a few seconds before regaining his consciousness again (posture remained).

I dont know what is coronory steal syndrome. I guess it's coronary artery got stenosed, so there was a higher pressure and blood flow generated from the collateral vessels to reperfuse areas which are supposed to be perfused by the stenosed vessel, leading to some hypoxia of the areas supply by the collaterals.

Ondine's curse is a curse when a patient lost in automaticity to breath (respi center something wrong). He can only breath when he remembered to breath. He must not sleep. (not sure about a mechanical ventilator).

Aseptic peritonitis means er... non infective peritonitis? I supposed it means it's a peritonitis without bacteria lol. Cause ar... er... autoimmune? foreign object?lol

But... are these important? i dont think i'll see a patient with ondine's curse in my life lol
sorry but i was told by a neurologist that the term grand / petit mal is obsolete... unsure.gif

Added on June 3, 2009, 12:37 pmbtw i only know about absence seizure....hav no idea what's coronary steal...heard of subclavian steal la.....and hav no idea what ondine's curse... and aseptic peritonitis....erm no idea....kinda get the picture....but cause?

so does that make me a bad med student? :depressed: sad.gif

This post has been edited by bhypp: Jun 3 2009, 12:37 PM
bhypp
post Jun 3 2009, 06:52 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 3 2009, 01:13 PM)
Probably not entirely obsolete, but yeah less people tend to use those two terms these days... They mean the same thing anyway, so I don't see why people would want to remove the terms other than convenience's sake. I think the more interesting thing is the attempted abolishing of Reiter's Syndrome. Morality and ethics aside, I don't think it's fair to remove Reiter's contributions to the medical field but I couldn't really care less. They can call it whatever they want - medical terms change all the time... Pneumocystis carinii/jerovicii pneumonia bla bla bla... We still call it PCP rather than PJP. 

erm well grand mal is more like a blanket term....like say he has large vessel vasculitis without goin into the specifics....but the current terminology like generalized tonic-clonic seizure, complex partial, n etc are more specific... well that what the neurologist in hosp told me.. unsure.gif

Added on June 3, 2009, 6:59 pm
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 3 2009, 01:13 PM)

The third issue would be PSD/JPA scholarships and loans. The aim of the scholarships is for the rakyat's benefit, where students get trained and return to serve the country. I'm not sure about any available statistics, but the majority of my cohort who are actual scholarship/loan holders are probably not going back, at least in the near future and possibly forever. One may argue that it doesn't matter as long as they pay back, which they are planning to do anyway.

So why not use our people's money to train our own doctors, in our country, to serve our community?
hmm well if they can afford to pay JPA back, why don't they just study with their own $$$ instead of taking up the spots...when it could be offered some other medical students who wanna go back to msia to serve instead? unsure.gif

i dunno but i think once one signs a contract one has to stick to it...well if one was unsure about pledging their future to the govt....they shouldnt have signed...

This post has been edited by bhypp: Jun 3 2009, 06:59 PM
bhypp
post Jun 3 2009, 11:10 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 3 2009, 08:08 PM)

"Grand mal" does refer to "generalised tonic clonic seizure", unless there are more subdivisions beyond our level which are used by neurologists. Oh well.

As for why "well if one was unsure about pledging their future to the govt....they shouldnt have signed...", let's just say that there are people who regard JPA's loan as a no frills, no interest, long term loan. No interest loan... seriously how good is that compared to bank loans? After speaking to my JPA friends recently, I only realised that JPA biasiswa and pinjaman are actually different things. Biasiswa means you have no choice but to go back, while pinjaman means you can choose either way. Most pinjaman students that I know are choosing to repay the debts to break the bond, but none of them could answer how much would they have to pay back. All they said was it's likely that they will have to pay back everything including college/pre-U fees as well, but the actual amount and the payment period/installments are uncertain.

yup but it was a lil un-systematic in the old grand mal classification type....grand mal could also be used to describe some other types generalized seizure too...(apart from absence)....that's why "generalized tonic-clonic" is used to differentiate it from other types of generalized seizure...

yea....but i heard JPA if u break u gotta pay one lump sum...say if u take loan....u can sorta finance into monthly payments...i dunno i just thought taht was a lil unethical to do so...treating JPa scholarship as an interest free loan....not saying that they dont have the right to do so...they are entitled to...but im just thinking maybe it would be better to give that spot to someone who will stick to the agreement....

thats just JPA...we havn't got to MARA yet....i heard its like 'pinjaman boleh ubah'...where u dont have to pay a cent if ur grades are good...and if not...you just have to pay back a certain % not the whole sum like JPA....and i think MARA students dont have bonds....talking about brain drain and resources management....i hav no objections if msia's public health system has enough man power but its currently short staffed and here we have a system that 'leaks' out the much needed man power....
bhypp
post Jun 5 2009, 12:36 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 4 2009, 12:41 PM)
I think from your sentence you're actually suggesting that grand mal = generalised convulsions with the exception of petit mal; which literally means grand mal = generalised tonic-clonic (GTC), tonic, clonic, atonic, and myoclonic seizures.

My understanding is that "grand mal" = GTC and nothing more.
I could be wrong though, or maybe there has been changes made in the neurology realm which I missed.

lol...yes coz i think grand mal dated way back...in the 1800? (not too sure) but that time GTC is not around yet...so its imprecise to still use grand mal...

Added on June 5, 2009, 12:48 am
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 4 2009, 10:30 PM)
for oz residents and citizens, the higher taxes translates into better healthcare, education, social services, pensions, parks, good public toilets, good roads and highways and hardly any toll in sight......etc.......

you pay less taxes in msia, but you get practically nothing in return.......unless you belong to the privileged class and ethnicity, you will eventually need to pay for private healthcare, education, pay tolls for your roads, and hardly any social service at all........you tax money goes to bail out crony companies, lost in projects like patrol boats and free trade zones........and collapsing stadiums........

given the choice, i would choose oz over msia........not to mention needing to work less time to pay for almost everything.....(eg, for a basic car like toyota corolla....YES that is a basic car in most parts of the world, except msia where it is a 'luxury' car!!.......you need to work 3 years in msia, but 6 months in oz to get one).........

don't look at taxes in the short term.....but look at it as what you will get in return over your lifetime.......
purchasing power!...the value of the currency comes to picture...coz i think the figures are about the same...working i aus / sg / msia....but the things u can buy with that figure is different...but if msia wanted to retain the docs n prevent braindrain, msia hav to raise the income value so that the docs can hav the sorta like smiliar buying power....but then again...it would be disproportionate...as that would make docs uber rich....

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 4 2009, 07:59 PM)
AUD of course.
It's the doctor's job to educate patients about medications. There are still many people who expect antibiotics for viral URTIs. You try to educate them, they will say OK and probably head off to the clinic next door for antis. It's hard to get people into the right mindset, but that doesn't mean we can't try.

One won't be rich until >20 years down the road... and even so, "the seriously rich" is probably limited to hardcore specialists who does fancy high-tech procedures (mainly surgeons to be honest).
hmm....there is a scheme where docs in aus can buy stuffs (cars, houses, even cafeteria food) using pretax money....that's why most of them have beach houses, hobby farms, big cars (and they change cars every 5 years...coz if tak pakai then rugi la)....surgeons lagi best....alot own 911s....once i saw DB9... shakehead.gif spoilt brats....

Added on June 5, 2009, 12:58 am
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 4 2009, 06:22 PM)
After paying that RM30, the patient expect you to give some medicine regardless of whether it is called for or not.

That is why separation of dispensing right may also be a good thing. At least doctor will no longer be pressured to give medication.
big supporter of taking of dispensing right...i think alot of msia docs are just doing it coz they wanted to buy generic stuffs and charge pt's the brand prices....and most of them giv meds in those plastic zipper bag thingy...instead of giving the pt a name of a drug that one can hang on to....one can remember....most (generalizing here) would not want to give away drug names.....coz sked the pt would go to the pharmacy n buy....

it might be a hassle for pts but at least that maintains good practice....and pharmacy can act as another safety net to double check....say some dodgy doc prescribe erm...beta blocker to an asthmatic pt to control bp? laugh.gif then at least the pharmacy can sorta pick that up....if the doc does dispense that.....sei lor....pak Abu sure in deep shit...

apart from the travelling expenses....i think it should come up to about the same....say a doc charges rm30 for consult + meds...tehn if docs no longer prescribing....then maybe can charge the 'actual' consult fee...say sth like rm25 then that rm5 instead of being charged by the doc...its ppaid to the pharma...i mean c'mon...if the doc is prescribing...he gets a cut too right...not like he charge consult fee but charge drugs at cost price? so it should work out to about the same...and 'that MOH excuse - tak cukup pharmacy around...then causes inconvenience" well i would rather be safe....than ending up like Pak Abu...going out to town to see the doc....and usually in the town there will be a pharmacy around....and most klinik kesihatan in small daerah's hav their own pharmacy alrdy...so i dont see why the docs are still dispensing shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by bhypp: Jun 5 2009, 12:58 AM
bhypp
post Jun 5 2009, 01:54 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

erm i got a question for those who are full fledged doctors in msia....i think limeuu is one of them.....just wanna know if there's palliative care in msia....my contact with hosp in msia was very minimal so i dunno....but i got a tutor who bashed msia's healthcare system saying her dying aunt (metastatic colon cancer) has recurrent asacites and was placed in a surgical ward, and the docs are trying to 'cure' her, when she said it would be alot better if her aunt was put under palliative care and and that would reduce her suffering...coz she said there isnt much docs can do for her....be it surgical / onco / or palliative....but at least palliative can make her final leg of life more comfortable.....

well my tutor was originally msian....judging from her masked msian accent i guess she was trained in msia and migrated over...she's a GP atm....

Added on June 5, 2009, 2:05 pm
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 5 2009, 12:11 PM)
Assistant? Regardless of whether you're a nurse or any other allied health worker, you're important to doctors. Doctors don't run wards, nurses do. Surgeons don't run theatres, the scrub nurse does.

Without you, we fall. Patients die. Hospitals close. We all get screwed.
3K enough? Well you get pretty much 3-4K in Malaysia anyway. Don't convert AUD into RM, it doesn't work that way.

No one is complaining too much, I'm just pointing out the fact that working overseas doesn't necessarily mean you'll earn much more than working in Malaysia or even Singapore. Note that I did mention that internship pay is similar no matter where you go - It's enough to survive, but it's hardly what the layperson would expect.
Medical school makes you a cynic.

Some doctors treat patients as cashcows (unfortunately), but at the same time some patients treat doctors like thrash or servants.

I admire your noble thoughts, but come talk 5 years down the road and I guarantee you'll have different views. Again, compassion and emphathy are values which any doctor (in fact every profession, not just medicine) should have; but like I mentioned before every layperson out there should ditch the mindset of "oh, but you're a doctor and you should sacrifice everything you have for medicine."

Doctors are people providing healthcare service in order to feed their own families, they're not gods nor saints.
yea scrub nurse the boss but then again...i think there are some who hav some complex and gav med students like me very hard times in my surge rotation....i mean we do work in teams...so we all hav our own roles...theoretically speaking...no one's a boss of another....but by saying just an assistant...sorta shows there are some degree of 'whos the boss' so i think that's the kinda attitude that would go on to develop those complexes.... not good...we are all a team.... should be nice to each other... laugh.gif

yes.....accomodation in Aus is definitely more exp than msia....and its figure comparison....not converted value...3-4k in msia u can get by pretty ok....so is 3-4k post tax in Aus...definitely no luxury but its good...better than being brokeded med student... sad.gif .....yes the pay is not as much as ppl thought...my frens doing econs was laughing at the pay that i will get in 1st year post grad....saying "study so hard n so long for wat...come out pay still like mine" sad.gif

yes...med skool makes u doubt ppl, a naive all believing person would be a cynic...coz ppl will try to get u to sign MCs...give drugs for their addiction.....abuse you for not being competent....etc etc...thats why my idol is still Dr Cox from scrubs....he still has it....after so many years of being a doc....the episode where he lost that patient and became depressed for 1 wk or so....classic dr Cox... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bhypp: Jun 5 2009, 02:05 PM
bhypp
post Jun 6 2009, 10:31 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

depends on ur uni tho....my uni uses moore's....most of the exam questions comes out from moores..... (flame-resistant suit on - just in case we-shudnt-study-just-for-exams critics come in)
bhypp
post Jun 9 2009, 12:18 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Jun 8 2009, 07:56 PM)
I heard that there are a few new Aussie medical schools coming up, the first batch of graduates will be flooding the aussie PGY1 soon. Does anyone know the exact year for it?

When will the vacancy in Aussie be fully filled? Considering the competent authority pathway that AMC created + the new schools.
if im not mistaken those ppl will enter the med sector as interns in 2012? sth like that? not too sure? starghazzer....any comments?

soon melb wont be producing undergrads.....their intern chruning capacity will be taken over by swinburne? deakin? im not too sure...either one...and monash's post grad mainly cater for the rural workforce...shudn't affect those metro jobs...
bhypp
post Jun 9 2009, 11:32 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

oh wait what i mean was melb uni's undergrad intern production....they still got their post-grad intern productin line goin...sorry my bad...im used to say deakin / swinburne interchagably...

im not sure about deakin's course tho...anyone from there? any comments? coz im abit doubtful over Oz's med school now...with Melb uni (the gold standard) being off the playing field....monash is now being let loose and they are pumping in more students per clinical site / hospital...some having a 50% increase....im not sure how thats gonna turn out but im pretty sure it will affect the teaching in some way...

*im refering to undergrad programs here*

This post has been edited by bhypp: Jun 9 2009, 11:36 AM

0.2111sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:02 PM