Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Mar 17 2009, 08:51 PM

1,396 posts

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/126/ripoff0126492.htm

anyone from thomas jefferson can clarify if this is a true thing going on there??

and, if any one of you guys really taught medicine would be enjoyable times learning nice and interesting cool stuff. then...you have to see this. if theres any reason doubting you from entering this profession this is something dull and crazy , and the fact that i'll probablly will have to memorize the whole thing later on...

http://www.medstudysites.com/upload/pharma...-inhibitors.pdf

on top of that, pharmacokinetics is quite crazy...
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Mar 24 2009, 09:27 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Mar 23 2009, 10:52 PM)
Maybe I will go.If really worst until not recognized by smc and mmc still can go hong kong mah! rclxms.gif But it is stated in smc website say this qualification are registrable.Not any note to say which programme english or chinese one la. Thank you our beloved senior doctor.  rclxms.gif
uni of hong kong is really competitive. i think one or two got in from malaysia only. not to mention high cost of living over there. i did email them before i make applications. they conduct interviews in CANTONESE. so beware! brush up with your cantonese before applying.

starghazzer and limeuu are talking medical talk beyond my knowledge. rclxub.gif and am lazy to read up unfortunately haha.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Mar 25 2009, 02:12 AM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 24 2009, 10:06 PM)
you would not be required to know these details till your final surgical posting, just before you finals.......there are usually 2 or 3 surgical postings, the first is mainly to familiarise the clerking of patients and diagnosis making..........and the last, details into treatment options........

Added on March 24, 2009, 10:27 pm

does nus still use the old basic sciences subjects method, or have they moved to the intergrated system? pbl is more interesting for students, at the risk of shallower basic science knowledge with black holes in some areas.........
Oh thank god. but i guess treatment plans for patients is a must when i enter clinical years.

I initially thought PBL would be fun and great time to really deepen my knowledge into things i really like and discuss them with my group and facilitator. but in all honesty, what i've come to realize is that it depends on your group. Some groups like to spread the work up. so if topic A is interesting and you dont get it, and if the person that researches it doesnt do a good job, you wont really learn (of course self learning is an option). second of all many of the things covered in PBL has not much application to our exams, even though some of the cases might come out in the exams (as objective) and they ask whats wrong or what treatment sort off (atm its quite basic)

So yeah, its quite shallow , unless you hit a good topic that you're really really interested in. then its good. Did one on Wernickle-Koriskoff Encephalopathy (sp mistake) and that sort off stuck. where else some topics only become Behavourial Science and Community Medicine topics....bores everyone i know. cry.gif

And at the end of the day my pbl scoring (such as team work, polite, content etc) is not gonna be added up to my finals, hence many students dont bother so much and consider it a waste of time whistling.gif . IMU=study lecture notes to death and a bit of extra (to reach A mark)

Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Mar 25 2009, 02:14 AM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Mar 24 2009, 10:01 PM)
hey, i think MBBS siang was talking abt to work in HK upon graduation from China Uni. not to apply HKU.

they conduct interviews in English (70%) and Canto (30%)

both the guys were talking abt clinical stuff , dun think it's covered in medical sciences, at least in my school.
erm, mabbe there are no boundaries for PBL students?
oh sorry make a mistake there i just saw apply Hk and replied!

oh, i'm not anywhere near clinicals so i dont think i can answer. but i did answer the PBL question.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Mar 30 2009, 10:50 PM

1,396 posts

i have a thing to add to the third world med school doctors. one of my acquaintances told me those who are very good at what they do, usually dont come home but rather take an extra exam to practice elsewhere. so maybe the ones coming home are the rotten ones, but we havent see the bright talented ones who did not come back.

but none the less its a majority of them that usually come home blur and unable to do so. Dr.miranda bailey, you can clarify the system, if it is as true as what efenem claims the system to be, that would be true that the students there get less training, and arent properly prepped. if all exams were viva's, with 4 or 5 questions, compared to the students here having to sit for all kinds of papers, OSCE,OSPE, etc etc. than there has to be a difference in the two. how on earth in a viva, can they test you on a wide curriculum. (but he does make russia sound as though its fun and with a lot of free time)
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Mar 31 2009, 03:25 PM

1,396 posts

star.com.my headlines, should be a good reason to not do medicine. limeuu how are you affected? i assume you are in the govt sector from your previous posts, are you among those who do the overtime?
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Apr 5 2009, 03:11 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 5 2009, 09:39 AM)
then you will also not like the idea of mrsm schools, matrikulasi, asasi sains, uitm, mara colleges, mara scholarships, jpa scholarships, klse listing requirements, bhd employment requirements, gov contract bidding requirements, professional firms equity requirements,...........an almost endless list that is part of institutionalised msian life......

Added on April 5, 2009, 9:44 am

rclxms.gif

good that you make a stand......the problem is, many malays remain neutral, refuse to make a stand, or even tacitly support these discriminatory policies, in the name of ketuanan melayu and a non-existent 'social contract'.......
yes, everything in malaysia boils down to one's race, connection and money. it is a sad feat in our country. alot of doctors wont be coming back to malaysia. if you read doctorslife.blogspot.com they have a fb page of north american doctors from malaysia, they are in hopkins, mayo clinic. techinically heaven for any doctor. do you think they wanna come back to malaysia to serve with lower pay, and will be secondary option to other doctors. im not sure, but must one need a bumi when publishing papers now?

i understand you believe in equality, but this discussions are the hard facts in life for any non bumi. the best doctors such as those in mayo and hopkins, even in malaysia they are 2nd choice to the bumis, and most of time they are better than those who get chosen first. shouldn't one reward the best, especially when lives are at stake. there is no monetary gains here (i mean there is for the doctor but the main objective for any educational instituition is to get the brightest to fill in the hardest specialities )

its such a shame. dont get me wrong, there are deserving bumi's and those non deserving bumi(there seems to be alot of them..) but giving places to bumis who didnt even apply for the program is horrible when there a so many people vying a spot...
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Apr 6 2009, 02:54 AM

1,396 posts

indians not rreally rempit but rather gangster. all race got their own gangs, its just that rempits are the sort of gang or sort of code to follow. there is of course stereotype, chinese gamble, indian drink, malay rob kinda thing. but its all stereotype.

i wanna ask, to be a world renown surgeon or doctor, one must publish alot of good papers am i right, hence being accepted and spotted as THE specialist of your field of choice..
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Apr 8 2009, 03:58 PM

1,396 posts

just send an email or call up the admissions department. i'm sure they can help.

Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Apr 11 2009, 03:19 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Apr 11 2009, 02:05 PM)
Yeah the funny thing is that I could do the full training in like University of Manchester with the same amount of money with the whole course spend there plus cost of living. Funny to see why some opt for IMU-PMS unless their qualification is not AAB or more.
well i dont know bout you, but i calculated outside london expenses to be 1 million ringgit and above. Most of the time dont use the universities "guideline". my dad stayed in uk for nearly 10 years. most of his time in manchester and a year or so in london, it is very costly. when i did my estimate vs imu, even with australia, one can save around 300 to 400k . as the fee's in imu really helps. over here one year i pay about 60K, as opposed to before (uk pound sterling @ 1 pound to 7 ringgit), some where like 18K ( correct me on the fees if i am wrong, this was a year ago ) pounds. even with the pound dropping, this universities will revise the fees slightly. so can you imagine how much in the long run you're saving.

universities will offer you one year hostel stay, after that when you go into private apartment, heating bills and laundry will take a huge toll especially in uk, manchester rains every other day, and being asians we cant cope in the cold for sure.

but this is opposed to one forumer by the name of optiplex commenting that the difference is only 80K. between twinning and full training overseas. he did mention, that the particular student that did full training there had to work during weekends and holidays, so its not a real comparison. as the money he earned paid for living expenses. its alot of money saved on that end.

but i advice anyone who's parents want them to go straight, please do so. its very different, the asian mentality vs the caucasian mentality. they are more balanced, and are open to studies and other activities, sports etc which really develops a person on a whole. so of my batch mates in imu, they really dont know whats going on in the world around them. politics economy etc also dunno. but you blast them something like name me all the histamine 1 antagonist and functions they'll answer.

This post has been edited by Cristiano-Ronaldo-7: Apr 11 2009, 03:23 PM
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Apr 12 2009, 01:12 AM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 11 2009, 07:30 PM)
Nono, coz i see the senior up there says it costs around Rm1 million with PMS which is 2 and a half year only right whereas my brother's doing 5 years straight there and it costs only Rm 1.5 million. So i feel it's kinda expensive to do PMS.
could go up to 1 million depending on what city you are in. some people claim going to melbourne U could be as expensive as 800 to 900K. but it depends on your extra cost. do you club and spend alot of money shopping. maintaining a car etc.

so its hard to say. but the guidelines i follow would be the uni's suggest living expenses and bump it up more( maybe 20 to 30%) and think of extra expenses you might incure. alot of place dont give internet connection. and that can be hefty overseas depending on your needs. telco line fees etc.

Ibrahimovic, 680K is pretty cheap even for belfast. hmm.gif

St.Andrew's foundation is only for a year i have a friend doing maths and physics foundation, and another who might start this sept. but if you have the money might as well, but i think your ABBB from STPM can def get you a spot in IMU. but 680K i also go already...
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Apr 16 2009, 03:37 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 16 2009, 03:19 PM)
You mean they failed 50% of the student primarily because there are only 50 places?
quite true. they take in more than the available places. more or less 80 or so will be seremban, bulk of the batch is pms. but it seems they have to bring the number down during eos exams, some batches claim about 20% will leave the batch by end of sem 5.

omg what am i doing? i got to study cry.gif

Added on April 16, 2009, 3:46 pmi've got question to add, its quite vague and depending on what year (content covered) but just give an average range.

but what is your average studying time on normal days and the month before exam ? list down your grade if you want to.

myself is average days : (depending on lecture covered), can be 0 heheh, or up to 3 hours. prior exam, now quite hectic i'm pushing about 5 hours some days, and like yesterday i burn out sleepy and sick i got barely even 30 mins done. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Cristiano-Ronaldo-7: Apr 16 2009, 03:46 PM
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 3 2009, 10:19 PM

1,396 posts

where have you been posted to hypermax?
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 9 2009, 12:29 AM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(ashi @ May 9 2009, 12:16 AM)
Thanks a lot for the help!!! smile.gif

So, what is the typical 1st day at Imu like , and a typical learning day for the 1st sem like?  How long is the holiday period after a sem?
sem 1 relax as much as you can honestly, sem 2 only work. but keep track of sem 2 work. you'll be missing out most the years activities when you come in. i dunno if you're a typical imu student or not. if you are you'll love the place if not suffer like me biggrin.gif .

2 hours a day leaves you with alot of time to catch up on work and have fun. so dont neglect either side. you'll be begging for fun in preparing for eos 2 otherwise. so good luck! and i wont be part of your orientation so i wont meet you smile.gif

EOS 2 MONDAY TUESDAY. HELLPPPPPPPPPP.....

SAQ- 5 mins per questions. crazy . OSPE also.

OBA has gotta boost me.

Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 9 2009, 10:14 PM

1,396 posts

thanks chika! really scared not enough time.

well i'm sure the more local ones spring up it will entice more students to do it locally maybe.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 10 2009, 03:04 AM

1,396 posts

EOS= end of semester
SAQ= short answer question
OBA= one best answer
OSPE= honestly i dont know what it means, but its station and each station must answer question within the time.

shane, it depends actually. some people wanna just go off as soon as they can , and have more time spent doing their clinical practice. but if you really wanna try your hand in research i think its worth it. I really think its worth the time. and besides if you dont like practicing you can fall back on research in which you have been exposed to!

Warwick and ANU are rather new. but i guess in terms of prestige, ANU the best university in australia , but am not sure how's their medical faculty standings. like most people have placed melbourne as one of the best.

Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 11 2009, 05:54 PM

1,396 posts

I don't know why you're so caught up on to Romania. but basically obtaining working visa as a doctor in non-uk country is gonna be a bit difficult. having speak the language of that country. and many other factors.

be careful of agents and universities who seemingly place their living expenses so low. you might end up spending more than you can afford. so dont trust all the agents.

depending on your result, you can go to any of the IPTS in malaysia. many of them accept low grades, manipal-melaka was BCC , IMU was BBC, AIMST am not sure. so at the end of the day insurance in your degree, and you know for a fact a loan from PTPTN can be secured, malaysia sounds like a better destination rather than romania. you might not qualify for monash though, heard they have high entry results.

Added on May 11, 2009, 5:57 pm
QUOTE(ashi @ May 11 2009, 05:21 PM)
I sure will....  How long is the vacation period in IMU?
if you join M209, you'll have break throughout most of december and January, but in december you have a summative, which is peanuts compared to the EOS. so take your time and have fun then. After EOS its about 1 and half months. : )

This post has been edited by Cristiano-Ronaldo-7: May 11 2009, 05:57 PM
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 11 2009, 10:19 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(kaiying @ May 11 2009, 10:01 PM)
you guys are really nice.

and yes, sounded a bit harsh but haihz. you guys are more experienced.. i shall think twice with all your advise.

oh well, i took stpm.. 5 sub... 3 sciences are CCC+..

i called up to check indo and russia U.. they said i can do a top up prog and i can continue study in the month of aug..
as for romania.. they accepted.. and i saw the list of students studying in romania including malaysians, quite many of them..

i really wanna find out who studied there from malaysia then they can share their experiences..

you guys can take a look at medstudentsadvisor.com

sorry.. shouldn't have entered here.. actually i know that i'm smart.. but i am not intelligent.. does that makes any sense to you all? hehe. anyways, thanks alot for telling me the truth, i need that.

cry.gifcry.gif
honestly speaking, CCC wont even get you into an IPTS in malaysia. I strongly suggest you follow your strong points in life. If you say business is what you're good at , do that. further more if you wanna volunteer in aiding Medicine without frontier you can do so but not as a doctor, you'll just help out with food supplies, bringing stuff here and there if that is your life long dream.

personally, i'm damn tired of studying for my current finals, it is tough. last time you go in for papers you think about how many A's. Now its the fight to survive. And sometimes you really fall back thinking why have i done this in the first place? before long it'll suck you in even more. Can you imagine A-Levels AAAA + A thinking skills student can find it tough in a uni like IMU.

exams and test are there for a reason to discriminate between those who are capable and those are who are not. i dont wanna hurt you seriously, but if you cant handle STPM, what makes you think you can handle all the disciplines in medicine? Pathology, Pharmacology, Biochem, Physio, Anatomy etc. There is clinical work as well. They stuff you with stupid stuff like Behavioral science too. zltan is in one of the best universities in the world, he knows what he is dealing with. i guess most people can tell a russian grad and at least a local or 1st world grad. there is a huge difference in quality and understanding.

i think all of us here can agree that some times no matter how much we study wether we are smart with 99% TER to any IPTS borderine entry student. It is tough. futhermore you keep insisting on Romania. rclxub.gif Maybe you should be LYN's first guinea pig to romania then you can tell us about it. but two things is at risk, your working opportunity, if you dont secure EU place (which is not easy at all!) you wont get to work here if the govt doesnt recognize your degree. second of all is your cost. I cant bet you 100% you will be spending more than you budget. If not you'll probs be living off scraps or working like dog part time to foot in the bills.

BACK TO OSPE REVISION sweat.gif
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 15 2009, 06:15 PM

1,396 posts

HKU is very top notch, they dont take alot of foreigners in think. and yes canto cant be as bad as learning russian!!

haha. hypermax also can also stop posting here.

i think for the past 50+ pages this thread has been about entry only. some one should post up a prospective medical student thread. then you can bash all the questions there.

I heard houseman working hour laws have been in placed overseas already. not like malaysia you can be working back to back two 36 hours shifts, happens when they are severely understaffed. but overseas no matter what you're not allowed to work so long. cause alot of careless mistakes etc. am i right?
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 16 2009, 12:54 PM

1,396 posts

wow, how did mbbssiang come abouts to giving you guys his number .

yeah mbbssiang is quite the super star. Okay i'm just gonna star the prospective medical students thread. anyone else has anything to add i'll just update the main 1st post from then on.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0496sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:27 PM