Credit Cards Recommendation for Credit Cards V4, Please post according to Format stated

starry-starry
post Mar 13 2017, 11:18 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 13 2017, 06:38 PM)
Petrol and groceries: Maybank Ikhwan MasterCard. 5% on Fridays and Saturdays.
Or
Petrol: Maybank Ikhwan Visa Petronas. 8% on Saturdays and Sundays for Petronas only.

TnG: Where do you intend to reload? I'm not sure if Penang has a lot of places to reload with CC. You gotta check from this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3757650

Bills: Which bills? If phone bills, may consider UOB YOLO.

Online shopping: UOB YOLO, CIMB Cash Rebate

Dining: HLB MACH

Or an all rounder card - SCB Cash Back Gold. Spend RM 1.5k and get RM 50 cash back. However, petrol is not part of the cash back category. smile.gif

Good luck in choosing.
This Maybank Ikhwan MasterCard offers 5% CB on groceries? Any particular participating merchants or simply based on MCC? I am currently holding this HSBC Platinum MasterCard which seems no benefits at all... Thought might cancel it instead.

This post has been edited by starry-starry: Mar 13 2017, 11:18 PM
starry-starry
post Mar 13 2017, 11:44 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 13 2017, 11:27 PM)
Yes 5%. It follows MCC. I don't find HSBC card is good.
It was my first CC and have been using it for years till I recently got this Maybankard2 and only realized how "useless" the HSBC CC is!

Received a call from MBB offered me Maybank Ikhwan but I rejected that time! I'd have just accepted as the person was persuading to send me the CC and I can decide later if I wanna activate it or not.

Especially now not all shops accept AMEX, I seriously can consider this CC for 5% CB!

Sorry to ask, is it free AF?
starry-starry
post Mar 14 2017, 05:06 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 13 2017, 11:46 PM)
Maybank Ikhwan cards are also free AF. smile.gif
Cool! Guess I'd just apply for the CC then. Thanks for the useful info!!!
starry-starry
post Mar 14 2017, 05:10 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 13 2017, 11:46 PM)
Maybank Ikhwan cards are also free AF. smile.gif
Just a real quick question.. There is no other credit card which offers weekday CB currently huh? Maybank Ikhwan CC offers CB on Friday is good enough, just in case there's any better option. wink.gif
starry-starry
post Mar 14 2017, 10:27 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 14 2017, 07:34 PM)
Yeah, that is what I'm using now. Really useful and don't need to worry which day to use which card, a plus point is it comes with PayWave, easy to tap when I buy groceries or reload TnG in JG... But oh well, my happiness won't last long, soon I will have to cancel this card as I cannot achieve RM 30k of annual usage. sad.gif cry.gif
waa... siao meh! Annual RM30k usage? That's RM2500 a month! I definitely cannot afford... doh.gif

starry-starry
post Mar 14 2017, 10:31 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 14 2017, 07:15 AM)
If you are qualified, there is also maybank visa signature. But not free AF. Use one year and stop lo.. smile.gif
I think I am not qualified after finding out must spend minimum RM30k annually!!! That's really crazy... wait till I get very rich first... tongue.gif

starry-starry
post Mar 15 2017, 05:18 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 14 2017, 11:59 PM)
Actually RM 30k per year is very achievable but just that I cannot convince myself to spend on it when I know no benefits...
I thought it was recommended? Read the features of Maybank Visa Signature, 5% CB all day on petrol & grocery but no Treat Point. So I guess there is no credit card which offers all day CB plus reward points huh?

I'm planning to cancel my HSBC card, seems it serves no purpose as there's not much benefits. Is there any HSBC CC you recommended?
starry-starry
post Mar 15 2017, 05:17 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 15 2017, 11:02 AM)
I prefer cash back over points. I have other cards for other purposes. My MBB VS is purely for groceries and petrol.
True, should maximize 'returns' with our spending! I was dumb enough to use HSBC CC with not much benefits besides reward points for years. Only started to use Maybankard2 now, I'm also trying to look for CC which offers CB for weekday + grocery purchase (but I can't afford RM30k spending requirement for Maybank Signature Visa).
starry-starry
post Mar 15 2017, 08:02 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Mar 15 2017, 05:26 PM)
Try  UOB One Card & Citibank Cash-Back Card

Thanks - very informative! I'll consider and try to find more details on the cards (although they are already pretty much well summarized) smile.gif

starry-starry
post May 20 2019, 04:06 PM

918 posts

1. Annual Income: RM70k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes (will also consider cards that offer AF waiver for spending > xx times)

3. Card required for: online shopping & e-wallet top up (grocery too but I pretty much use M2C AMEX during weekend + Boost during weekday)

4. Existing credit cards (if any): M2C AMEX, FCB & HSBC Platinum - which Im planning to cancel.

5. Interested in CC from: Any

6. Others: Cashback or CC that offers good points to redeem cash vouchers for retail & online shopping. Currently already maximized both CC cashback, wish to cancel HSBC CC and get a better one instead.

This post has been edited by starry-starry: May 20 2019, 04:08 PM
starry-starry
post May 20 2019, 07:04 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(hamjipeng @ Feb 28 2019, 04:03 PM)
Hi sifus, looking for a no frills cashback card similar to mbb amex/fcb. Came across ambank true visa credit card for 3% on all online spendings which sounds good but not many ppl talking about it. Any catch ? Is boost app considered online spending too?

Thanks!
Yes, anyone can advise? I checked out this Ambank True Visa CC, 3% cashback for online spending but excluding certain MCC such as service provider, direct marketing, so is this a good card for me if I wanna use it for Shopee/Lazada shopping and topping up Boost?

https://www.ambank.com.my/eng/cards/truevisa

https://www.ambank.com.my/ambank/Documents/...editCardTnC.pdf

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 20 2019, 04:27 PM)
PBB Quantum.
Does this PBB Quantum come in a combo like M2C? I checked out the CC info in PBB website, it doesn't explain much. If so, do I have to pay 2 x SST?

https://www.pbebank.com/Personal-Banking/Ca...edit-Cards.aspx

There's seriously not much info available, MC 5% online cashback is applicable for Shopee/ Lazada, even Boost? Any catch ie. FCFS? If I may ask, any possibility of SST waiver?

Someone also recommended me UOB YOLO is it good/better?

Currently pretty satisfied with my M2C AMEX & FCB, just wondering if there's any better CC that suits my usage pattern. I use AMEX during weekend, during weekday I use FCB but if there's a better card that can replace FCB, I'd glad to swicth though. I use FCB mainly for online shopping, retail/grocery.

This post has been edited by starry-starry: May 20 2019, 07:09 PM

0.0245sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:55 PM