Credit Cards Recommendation for Credit Cards V4, Please post according to Format stated

a.lifehacks
post Mar 28 2018, 11:57 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(Cornanan @ Mar 27 2018, 09:19 PM)
Hi first time in this group. Also first time considering to take on credit card .

Any sifu here can advise me which credit card is suitable for me ?  I plan to use it more on travelling and maybe some groceries .  My income is RM10k per month .

Last 2 weeks I applied one (UOB PRVI Miles) but waited 2 weeks in the end got rejected cause document incomplete .. they say I'm working at Sg that's why processing abit takes time and strict . If I am to resubmit the document back again then they need to send to kl and it's another 2 weeks time again . Also I am applying personal loan with credit card at once .

I am going travelling end of April so hopefully any advise is good thank you. Thanks SIFU
Hi, given your annual income is RM120k and you're looking to use it on travelling/ grocery, you may consider to apply Maybank 2 Cards Premier (M2P).

These card offers the best air miles conversion (thru M2P AMEX Reserve spent) for Malaysia Airlines Enrich or Singapore Airlines KirsFlyer.

Both the local spend/ overseas RM1 spends earn you 5 TreatPoints (TP) and to convert to:-
1,000 KrisFlyer / Enrich Miles = 4,770 TP
4,770 TP / 5x earning rate = RM954 spending
if RM954 spent on AMEX Reserve will earn you 4,770 TP (for 1,000 KrisFlyer / Enrich Miles), basically:-
the conversion rate is 1 KrisFlyer/ Enrich Miles = RM0.954 spending (954 / 1,000)

I have to emphasis the above conversion rate only applies to card spent on M2P AMEX Reserve (for both local/overseas spent), M2P Visa Infinite (Overseas spends only for 5x TP earning rate)

Further, this card also earns you 5 complimentary accesses to Plaza Premium Lounge (principal cardholder only) - promo ends on 31/12/2018. The list of eligible Plaza Premium Lounge access can be checked from this link http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Hope the above info helps.

a.lifehacks
post May 8 2018, 02:29 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(menime123 @ May 7 2018, 11:04 AM)
1. Annual Income: gross 80k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes or waive with swipe

3. Card required for: Occasional dining, occasional online purchases (lazada, flight tickets, accomodation etc.) and occasional grocery. General monthly spent about RM1-2k on average

4. Existing credit cards (if any): Maybank 2 Card Gold, SCB Master Cash Back Gold

5. Interested in CC from: Public Bank Visa Signature or Public Bank Quantum Signature

6. Others: Need extra cards to maximize CB earned as AMEX only applies on weekend and SCB to maximize CB, need to spend more.
Options Available:-

1) Maybank FC Barcelona Visa Signature (Annual Free: FREE FOR LIFE)
2% Cash back for all purchases all year long (except May and August) and capped at maximum of RM 50 per month.
10% Cash back for all purchases made in the month of May (football season ends) and August (football season begins) and capped at maximum of RM 100 during the specified month.
Only transaction amounting RM 1 and above will be awarded cash rebate to customer
E- statement – Auto enrolment
TreatsPoints is not eligible for this card
Note: No cash back earned for EzyPay transactions.

2) Public Bank Quantum MasterCard and Visa (Annual Fee: FREE for Life)
PB Quantum MasterCard Card
5% Cash Back on Online & Dining transactions, capped at RM30 per monthly statement cycle
PB Quantum Visa Card
5% Cash Back on Entertainment & Departmental Stores transactions, capped at RM30 per monthly statement cycle

3) Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Gold/Platinum (Annual Fee: FREE for Life)
5% rebate on petrol and groceries on Friday and Saturday, capped at maximum of RM50.00 per customer per month (Principal and Supplementary Cardmember)
FREE Maybank Touch ‘n Go Zing card
Charity Fund. With every spending the Bank will contribute 0.1% for charity purposes. The selected charity organisation are:
Islamic Relief Malaysia/ MERCY Malaysia/ Islamic Aid Malaysia
Umrah Trip. One weekly Umrah winner (package for 2pax) will be selected to win an Umrah package (for Muslims) or holiday package (for non-Muslims) - non exchangeable / transferable. Every RM200 and above spend in a single receipt is equivalent to 1x entry. Campaign starts 1st August 2014 and ongoing. Winner selection will be done every three (3) months.
TreatsPoints. Every RM1 spend locally and overseas earn 1 Treatspoints EXCEPT fot GOVT transaction
a.lifehacks
post Jul 28 2020, 09:26 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyCat @ Jul 24 2020, 06:31 PM)
Is there any credit cards out there with points collection which is evergreen? (Except Citibank Rewards Card)
Yes. Alliance Bank credit cards.

https://www.alliancebank.com.my/promotions/...-catalogue.aspx
a.lifehacks
post Sep 20 2020, 05:09 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(hunterlala @ Sep 20 2020, 03:20 PM)
Any good card that can recommend to pay insurance?? Spending almost rm1000 for insurance per month. Thx u sifu
Affin Bank Duo Cards (AFFIN Visa Cash Back) [Free first 3 years annual fees, thereafter, with min 12 swipe per annum per card for waiver]
-Min income requirement: RM24,000 per annum
-3% cash back on e-Commerce/online, eWallet and auto-billing transactions, limited to a maximum of RM80 per month

OCBC 365 MasterCard (Unlimited Cashback) [Free Annual Fees for the First 3 Years, thereafter, RM100 per annum]
-Min income requirement: RM36,000 per annum
-1% Cashback on all retail spending up to first RM1,000
-0.5% Cashback on subsequent retail spending

OCBC World MasterCard (Unlimited Cashback) [Free Annual fee for the First 3 Years, thereafter, RM388 per annum]
-Min income requirement: RM100,000 per annum
-1.2% cashback on spending up to first RM1,000
-0.6% cashback on subsequent retail spending

Standard Chartered JustOne Platinum Mastercard (Up to 15% cashback capped at RM60 per month) [Free annual fee for the FIRST YEAR, thereafter RM250 per annum]
-Min income requirement: RM36,000 per annum
-Tier cashback applies [cap amount also applies for each spending tier amount], need to hit min spending)-> (https://www.sc.com/my/credit-cards/justone-platinum-mastercard/)

Maybank FC Barcelona Visa Signature (1% cashback capped at RM50 per month)
-Min income requirement: RM48,000 per annum
-1% Cash Back for all purchases (except for government bodies, utilities and e-wallet reloads, FPX transaction, 0% easy payment plan transactions)
a.lifehacks
post Nov 4 2020, 06:16 PM

196 posts

1. Annual Income: RM60K to RM100K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Waive for Life / Waiver with min no of swipe

3. Card required for: Dining & Shopping [In-store/ Online] Benefits

4. Existing credit cards (if any): M2C, UOB One Platinum, UOB Privi Miles, AmBank UnionPay

5. Interested in CC from: OCBC / Standard Chartered

6. Others: Application specifically meant to meet RM500 OCBC 360 acc 0.8%pa spend bonus (don't feel like using Debit Card to meet this as I think using a credit card is much more secure / RM1,000 Standard Chartered Privilege$aver 1.0%pa spend bonus

a.lifehacks
post Nov 7 2020, 04:49 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 4 2020, 06:23 PM)
You already know what you wanted for.
Just apply the card that meets your spending behaviour.

For OCBC, probably OCBC Blue/Pink Mastercard while for SC, it'll be LFC or JOP.
Thank you for the recommendation.
a.lifehacks
post Nov 7 2020, 04:50 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Raymond T. @ Nov 5 2020, 01:19 AM)
I think OCBC now stop accepting new credit card application, as previously wanted to apply but they mentioned that now KIV.
Interesting. Thank you for sharing.
a.lifehacks
post Aug 2 2021, 06:48 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(rwb911 @ Aug 1 2021, 01:52 PM)
Hi, looking for recommendation.

1. Annual Income: RM36k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Good to have, but its ok if there's other pros to back it up

3. Card required for: Main thing is to build credit report and good payee status. Other usage is shopping (online, in-store) and petrol.

5. Interested in CC from: Any

6. Others: Would like petrol, or cashback rewards if possible.

Thank you guys!
For first card, you may want to try with UOB Card first as the application approval rate is usually high, can try their UOB YOLO card for cashback.

For Online Shopping/ Petrol: Affin Duo Card [Top Up eWallet earns you cashback, and eWallet can also be used at petrol stations to fill up petrol.]

If you shop frequently on Shopee then can consider Maybank Shopee card for its Shopee exclusive perks, but if your CCRIS is blank (do not have any credit history), chances of rejection is high for Maybank.

This post has been edited by a.lifehacks: Aug 2 2021, 06:48 PM
a.lifehacks
post Jun 14 2022, 07:13 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(cm344 @ Jun 13 2022, 03:28 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM55K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must or waiveable with certain number of swipes/year

3. Card required for: Cashback from petrol + dining

4. Existing credit cards (if any): 0

5. Interested in CC from: Any banks is fine

6. Others: -
For Both Petrol + Dining Cashback
Choice 1:-Affin Duo Cards [ https://www.affinalways.com/en/affin-duo ]
>By using AffinDuo Visa Cash Back card to top up eWallet to pay for petrol / dining (setback is that not all restaurants accept ewallet payment)
>>3% cashback capped at:-
(i) RM50 [previous month card statement BELOW RM3,000] OR
(ii) RM80 [card statement balance of previous month is ABOVE RM3,000]
Annual Fee Waiver: Waived for the first 3 years. Subsequent years: waived automatically with minimum 12 swipes of retail transactions per annum

Choice 2:- Affin Duo+ Cards [https://www.affinalways.com/en/affin-duo-plus]
>By using AffinDuo+ VISA Signature card to pay USING CONTACTLESS [WAVE] at petrol kiosk / restaurant card terminal
3% Cash back on CONTACTLESS TRANSACTIONS* is capped at RM100 per month with the following conditions:
RM100 for Cardmembers with previous balance of RM8,000 and above
RM50 for Cardmembers with previous balance of below RM8,000

*excluding government services and charity transactions
Annual Fee Waiver: Waived for the first 3 years. Subsequent years: waived automatically with minimum 12 swipes of retail transaction per annum

Choice 3:- Maybank 2 GOLD Cards [ https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala..._gold_card.page? ]
5% Cashback for WEEKEND SPEND on AMEX Card only* [Drawback would be NOT EVERY MERCHANT ACCEPTS AMEX CARD]
Make petrol purchase / Dining on weekend and swipe using AMEX card on WEEKEND only to earn cashback.
*Excludes Government Transactions, Utilities Spending & FPX Transaction ( https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...-wkndCB_tnc.pdf )
Annual Fee: FREE FOR LIFE without Condition
​​

For Petrol Transaction [ALL PETROL STATION- ALL BRANDS/ Gorcery Cashback Only
Choice: Maybank Islamic Mastercard Ikhwan Gold Card
[https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/malaysia/en/personal/cards/credit/islamic_mastercard_ikhwan_gold_card.page? ]
5% rebate on petrol and groceries [PRINCIPAL CARD ONLY] on FRIDAY AND SATURDAY ONLY,
CASHBACK capped at RM50.00 per customer per month

For Petrol Transaction Cashback Onlyy [Only at Selected petrol station brand]
FOR BHPetrol STATION ONLY
Choice: AFFIN BHPetrol Mastercard [https://www.affinalways.com/en/affin-bank-bhpetrol]
Up to 10% Cash Back at BHPetrol Station

2% cash back on weekdays

​​​​​​​Cash back rate on weekends shall be based on the previous month credit card statement balance:-
(i) 10% for card account with previous month credit card statement balance of RM3,000 and ABOVE OR
(ii) 5% for card account with previous month credit card statement balance BELOW RM3,000.

*Cash back is valid for purchases made at BHPetrol station and capped at RM50 per month.
Annual Fee Waiver: Waived for the 1st year. Subsequent years: waived automatically with minimum 12 swipes of retail transactions per annum.

FOR PETRONAS STATION ONLY
Maybank Islamic PETRONAS Ikhwan VISA Gold Card-i
[ https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...old_card_i.page? ]
8% Cash Back for spending at PETRONAS stations on Saturday & Sunday and
1% Cash Back for spending at PETRONAS stations from Monday till Friday
Cashback capped at RM50 per month

The credit card issuer for the above cards do not REQUIRE any minimum spending requirement to earn cashback, except for Affin Bank where previous month credit card balance will determine how much cashback cap amount/ cash back % you can earn in the current month.

0.0301sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:23 PM