Credit Cards Recommendation for Credit Cards V4, Please post according to Format stated
LovelyPotato
Feb 12 2018, 04:32 PM
1. Annual Income: RM60-80k 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes, but if can waive after spending a certain amount then I guess > 5k in a year should be ok. 3. Card required for: Good reward points and redemption stuff if possible. or cashback/discounts when spending for foods and shopping in malls and online would be great. (Spend a lot on food daily in mall because I work in a mall) 4. Existing credit cards (if any): CIMB Platinum Cash Rebate Card and Citibank Cash Back card. Planning to cancel either one of those. (New Citibank needs a min 1k spending per month in order to get 10% cashback while CIMB get a flat 2% rate, most probably cancelling my Citibank) - Planning to keep the existing one for petrol, new one for shopping and foods. - Currently using SHELL petrol. 5. Interested in CC from: No preference yet, but currently holding CIMB and Citibank. 6. Other: I used most of my cards during weekdays instead of weekend. (I think some habit can be changed for petrol but food wise I still need them on weekday) Considering to get this for foods rebate though, any review?: https://www.imoney.my/credit-card/mach/visa-credit-cardThis post has been edited by LovelyPotato: Feb 12 2018, 05:05 PM
LovelyPotato
Feb 13 2018, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(joevo2 @ Feb 12 2018, 05:31 PM) Mach has been discontinued. Can check out PBB Quantum MasterCard 5% CB for dining and online spending max CB RM30/month or Maybank 2 card amex (weekend only) 5% CB max RM50 or Maybank FCB, 2% CB max RM50 + May and August 10% CB max RM100 Do you have any recommendation to replace my CIMB 2% cash back for petrol in SHELL?
LovelyPotato
Feb 13 2018, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(joevo2 @ Feb 13 2018, 03:50 PM) For petrol im not so sure... hahaha can use Amex 5% at weekend to pump... hmmm or maybe Maybank FC Barcelona 2% all transaction everyday max RM50 also... Citibank have a shell card? Don't think shell got any good card, I don't drive/pump as much since only using it for work and some occasional weekend shopping. Saw some bonuslink card that get 3x or 5x pts (can't recall how many x), and with enough point can redeem for pumping voucher lol QUOTE(eddievh @ Feb 13 2018, 03:59 PM) If your car tank can last for a week then use ikhwan mastercard on Fri and Sat get 5% cb cap at rm50. Thanks! will check on ikhwan This post has been edited by LovelyPotato: Feb 13 2018, 04:52 PM
LovelyPotato
Feb 13 2018, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(SzeMeng76 @ Feb 13 2018, 04:52 PM) Yes, I have it. But it's useless. Planning to cancel together with the CB cards. https://www.citibank.com.my/english/credit-...credit-card.htmhttps://www.citibank.com.my/shelltnc.pdfFirst I thought everyday 8%. [attachmentid=9592765] After add card baru see this  Ya I saw this, I think if doing sales/long distance trip always then worth, otherwise for normal consumption not really worth it
LovelyPotato
Dec 17 2018, 09:34 AM
1. Annual Income: RM 90k
2. Annual Fee: Free if possible/waiver
3. Card required for: Petrol, shopping online & dining.
4. Existing credit cards (if any): PBB Quantum & CIMB Cash Back & Maybank Amex+Visa Currently I am only using the AMEX from Maybank (Visa kinda pointless) and Quantum for dining and others. CIMB I am going to cancel soon, the cashback 0.2% almost useless
5. Interested in CC from: Any bank
6. Note: I like the AMEX 5% weekend cashback for petrol, I don't really need the Visa but MBB don't let me to only keep one card.
Q: Anything that can replace my PBB Quantum to a single card? Every year I am getting RM125 charges on SST, the cashback all spent on paying these taxes kinda pointless. Wanted to reduce my existing 5 cards to 2-3 if possible. Can I cancel one of the quantum and keep another?
This post has been edited by LovelyPotato: Dec 17 2018, 09:37 AM
LovelyPotato
Dec 17 2018, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 17 2018, 10:04 AM) PBB Visa Signature. By the way, we can call MBB to remove Visa/MasterCard. We have been doing it since long time ago. Just tell them the reason is SST. Really? Crap I called them last time they don't allow me to do so. I'll call them again, thanks a lot! How about PBB? Can I cancel one of them?
LovelyPotato
Dec 17 2018, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 17 2018, 10:04 AM) PBB Visa Signature. By the way, we can call MBB to remove Visa/MasterCard. We have been doing it since long time ago. Just tell them the reason is SST. QUOTE(fly126 @ Dec 17 2018, 10:28 AM) Recently, Maybank & PBB allow you to cut off either 1 card of Combo to Avoid the SST. You can Jz call CS request for it... U may get MBB FCB VS to earn more CB & still can safe keep MBB 2 Amex , PBB Quamtum MC for your usage. Checked on the PBB Visa Signature, seemed like something I am looking for to replace my quantum. Can I move my PBB credit card points into this card when I cancel my quantum?
LovelyPotato
Dec 17 2018, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 17 2018, 12:59 PM) Can. I only retain PBB Quantum MC. Why don't keep both? I have both and enjoying them.  I want to reduce my SST amount, having too many cards now and SST cost too much lol. Called in and managed to cancel my MBB Visa just now, want to keep only 2 cards. Maybank AMEX + 1 PBB card should be sufficient for my usage. I also called in PBB to check on the points transfer - We can transfer but we need to have both card active at the same time. If cancel before transfer the point it will be burned. Need to submit some documents to transfer and then only cancel the card. This post has been edited by LovelyPotato: Dec 17 2018, 01:27 PM
LovelyPotato
Dec 17 2018, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 17 2018, 01:30 PM) PBB - worth to pay SST. I only got the cards in Oct, already got few hundreds of cash back. That RM 25 for each card is negligible. Haha I don't swipe as much, I think every month my cashback is like rm10-20 only from pbb, amex i use for petrol
LovelyPotato
Oct 6 2020, 08:32 AM
Hi Sifus,
My situation doesn’t fit into the format required as I have only 4 cards to choose from.
I am currently using PBB Visa Signature (6% CB up to RM38 per month) and MBB AMEX (5% CB weekend up to RM50 per month). I feel like my MBB is somewhat underutilized because most of the time I’m only using it for petrol hence cannot maximize the CB.
I got my mortgage loan recently from PBB and they are offering me PBB Visa Infinite + PBB World MasterCard. Am thinking to replace my AMEX with either one of the card (only activate 1 while cancel the other 1).
I have no experience in Air Miles card before so would like to get some advice from you guys on which one should I go with and why? I have been an avid cashback card user all the while, but I’ve always heard that overall AirMiles card actually perform better in term of value (but need to hit a certain amount of spending to redeem for stuff within a period because the points will expire, while cashback is every month so there is no problem on this)
My monthly spending via credit card (inclusive of bills) is about MYR2-3k. I’m not traveling much due to COVID as well, but I’ll probably go oversea holiday only once or twice a year after COVID, not heavy traveller.
How long will those AirMiles last before expiring on the card as well as does both card share the same miles? As in if I have 1k pts on each card, can I spend 2k to change for something or do I have to spend each 1k separately?
Choice: 1. Keep both PBB Visa Signature and MBB AMEX 2. Keep PBB Visa Signature and add PBB Visa Infinite 3. Keep PBB Visa Signature and add PBB World MasterCard 4. Drop both existing card and add PBB Visa Infinite 5. Drop both existing card and add PBB World MasterCard 6. Drop both existing card and add PBB Visa Infinite and World MasterCard
Cheers.
This post has been edited by LovelyPotato: Oct 6 2020, 08:51 AM
LovelyPotato
Aug 8 2022, 09:13 PM
1. Annual Income: ~160k MYR
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: as long as the benefit outweigh the fee
3. Card required for: Primarily groceries, online shopping, petrol, insurance and dining in malls. Annually swipe around 50k.
4. Existing credit cards (if any): PBB VS, MBB Platinum Amex
5. Interested in CC from: Don’t have any preference. Considering air miles card and airport lounge. Best if can bring spouse along the lounge.
6. Others: Currently I’m mainly maxing my pbb vs cb, while Amex is utilising only around rm20+ a month cashback unless I’m making big purchases that allow Amex. Feels like I’m not using this card at its maximum potential due to limited place to use, while my pbb always go way beyond the cashback min spending (usually go up to 2-3k while the cashback optimal value is around 600+).
I am considering to move away from cashback card to air miles card because my monthly insurance payment doesn’t have any cashback (currently in PBB VS). Planning to move to a single card for consolidation so that I don’t have to manage the Amex weekend and want to gain more on the extra spending that currently not eligible for cb
This post has been edited by LovelyPotato: Aug 8 2022, 09:37 PM