Puspakom inspection etc, Buyer pays

TSSeinz
post Dec 24 2016, 06:03 PM, updated 9y ago

22 posts

I'm planning to sell my car direct to the buyer. I understand that the buyer will have to pay for the puspakom check and JPJ transfer of ownership fee RM100. If the buyer,in order to save on expenses,takes my car to puspakom himself without using a runner is it possible for him to run off with my car?

My road tax and insurance will expire on 7 jan' 2017 so how is the buyer going to take my car to puspakom as I'm sure the sale can only happen after 7 jan'. How will he pay for the road tax and insurance without the ownership change?

When will the buyer have to pay me the full sum? How many %tage deposit should I ask for before handing the car to him to take to puspakom? I would appreciate the advice of the taikors here. TQVM.
Post-Je-Ape-Ape
post Dec 24 2016, 06:30 PM

221 posts

Err I think can inspection first. Before roadtax mati. Get the B5 form already then insurance the buyer may buy new one or he settle.

Because if I'm not mistake right, after roadtax mati have to go for another type of inspection..

B5 form is good for 30 days. If I'm wrong I'm sorry, any sifus pls correct me ya.
digilife
post Dec 24 2016, 08:14 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(Seinz @ Dec 24 2016, 06:03 PM)
I'm planning to sell my car direct to the buyer. I understand that the buyer will have to pay for the puspakom check and JPJ transfer of ownership fee RM100. If the buyer,in order to save on expenses,takes my car to puspakom himself without using a runner is it possible for him to run off with my car?

My road tax and insurance will expire on 7 jan' 2017 so how is the buyer going to take my car to puspakom as I'm sure the sale can only happen after 7 jan'. How will he pay for the road tax and insurance without the ownership change?

When will the buyer have to pay me the full sum? How many %tage deposit should I ask for before handing the car to him to take to puspakom? I would appreciate the advice of the taikors here. TQVM.
Easy peasy la. I bought a used car a few mths back.

1) Seller go to Puspakom to do the inspection for the B5 cert , cost less than rm50 , forgotten the actual amt. The B5 will be valid for 30days. If the buyer need to get a loan from a Finance Hse, go for B7 which is higher in cost.

2) Buyer pay the buyer RM1000 deposit as an industry standard.

3) During the actual day of Ownership Transfer , the Buyer need purchase the insurance himself from his own Insurer [ my case I purchase it one day in advance cause I used back my NCB from my previous car.

4) Seller & Buyer go to JPJ, get a Q number, & do the OT at the counter, bring along your NRIC's. Once OT done by JPJ officer, Buyer settle the balance of the car sale price either in Cash[ not recommended ] or via Cashier's Order/Bank Draft which buyer prepared one day in advance. [ my case ]

5) Buyer pay JPJ the OT fee which is RM100

Take note here

1) B5 Cert Puspakom = Seller pay

2) OT to Buyer's name = Buyer pay.

3) Seller can claim back the balance of the his Roadtax from JPJ & JPJ will credit it into the Seller bank ac if needed be.

4) The buyer have the Insurance & Roadtax effective date on the OT day.

5) Dun ever let the buyer to drive your car to Puspakom for the inspection, else if he is dishonest you asked for the trouble only.Atleast go with him together like my case cause my seller duno where is Puspakom & he is a senior citizen & I helped him up on filling the form.

Hope this helps, you can PM me if you have any doubts.

TSSeinz
post Dec 24 2016, 09:05 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Post-Je-Ape-Ape @ Dec 24 2016, 06:30 PM)
Err I think can inspection first. Before roadtax mati. Get the B5 form already then insurance the buyer may buy new one or he settle.

Because if I'm not mistake right, after roadtax mati have to go for another type of inspection.. 

B5 form is good for 30 days. If I'm wrong I'm sorry, any sifus pls correct me ya.
Thank you for trying to help a noob. First time I'm selling direct bcs trade-in when buying new car is really no sweat. Maybe road tax pay 6 months. Thanks again.

TSSeinz
post Dec 24 2016, 09:36 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 24 2016, 08:14 PM)

1) Seller go to Puspakom to do the inspection for the B5 cert , cost less than rm50 , forgotten the actual amt. The B5 will be valid for 30days. If the buyer need to get a loan from a Finance Hse, go for B7 which is higher in cost.

3) During the actual day of Ownership Transfer , the Buyer need purchase the insurance himself from his own Insurer [ my case I purchase it one day in advance cause I used back my NCB from my previous car.

4) Seller & Buyer go to JPJ, get a Q number, & do the OT at the counter, bring along your NRIC's. Once OT done by JPJ officer, Buyer settle the balance of the car sale price either in Cash[ not recommended ] or via Cashier's Order/Bank Draft which buyer prepared one day in advance. [ my case ]

Take note here

3) Seller can claim back the balance of the his Roadtax from JPJ & JPJ will credit it into the Seller bank ac if needed be.

5) Dun ever let the buyer to drive your car to Puspakom for the inspection, else if he is dishonest you asked for the trouble only. At least go with him together like my case cause my seller duno where is Puspakom & he is a senior citizen & I helped him up on filling the form.

Thank you so much for your kind help,sifu. I find your answers very helpful.

My car is 17 years old. Buying insurance is a problem. A car is also like a person. An old car is like a senior citizen LOL. If the car is more than 15 years old cannot buy insurance online. Online all offer comprehensive only.

I've to try buying at the post office (the MMIP type) bcs now all insurance companies want to sell third party+theft which is quite expensive. They won't let us buy less than RM10k also. My NCB used for another car dy. They can't make much if they sell third party per se. Who would want to steal an old junk? That's why I will just buy third party.

Now I understand the following:-

1) I must take the car for inspection myself (or go with the buyer if he's willing to go with me) to get the B5 cert (hopefully the buyer will pay me cash bcs an old car would be difficult to secure a loan and the sale price is not that much also). The cert is only valid for 30 days!!! They should at least give 90 days which will help very busy people.

2) It is best for me to renew my road tax/insurance before the expiry date. Both can be done at the PO.

3) Can get refund for my road tax but will I get any refund for insurance?

4) Take a deposit of RM1k and then get a bank draft from buyer for the balance on OT day.

Thank you so much once again. I will certainly pm you if I need further info. Tried to research but could not find specific info online,esp'ly the part about who should take the car for JPJ inspection. This JPJ thing is such a hassle. I wonder if it helps with car thefts and other hanky-panky activities. Or is it JPJ's idea to add to our financial burden?

ftan
post Dec 24 2016, 11:22 PM

2,532 posts

You can do it. smile.gif

I just did it in oct after researching around this forum. I had very little knowledge on the process. So, just slowly do and try not rush everything in one day. I took a saturday to be at puspakom (approx 2 hours) and a weekday to go to JPJ (only 2 hours also).

Btw, car inspection is done at puspakom. You have to call them first to make an appointment. If buyer pays cash, the you need to pay $30 (forgot if exclude gst) for the inspection report.

Fees as mentioned below:
http://www.puspakom.com.my/en/inspections-...ction-fees.html

Refer to this thread as well:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2076019

TSSeinz
post Dec 25 2016, 07:05 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 24 2016, 11:22 PM)
You can do it. smile.gif

I just did it in oct after researching around this forum. I had very little knowledge on the process. So, just slowly do and try not rush everything in one day. I took a saturday to be at puspakom (approx 2 hours)  and a weekday to go to JPJ (only 2 hours also).

Btw, car inspection is done at puspakom. You have to call them first to make an appointment. If buyer pays cash, the you need to pay $30 (forgot if exclude gst) for the inspection report.

Fees as mentioned below:
http://www.puspakom.com.my/en/inspections-...ction-fees.html

Refer to this thread as well:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2076019
TQ so much sifu. The links are very helpful.

Lowyat forums are very helpful when we need help bcs they put us in touch with taikors/sifus who are experts in many areas. Now with the replies from the 3 sifus here I'm not so scared and can start to post an advert in a few online sites. As I've had no experience selling direct to buyer I was worried if buyer is dishonest he might just run off with my car since I misunderstood the puspakom checkup part. Now I'm clear that seller does it and pays for it too.

A third party insurance is cheap and buying a 6 months road tax is less burdensome bcs my road tax costs around RM280 (used to be RM480) a year. The balance of the road tax and insurance can be claimed back so no worries.

After the xmas hols I'll go to the PO to buy the insurance first. I wonder how many days they need b4 giving us a hard copy of the policy. I guess even if they can't give us the hard copy on the spot they can allow us to buy the road tax right after we have paid for the insurance. Can any of the taikors help out with this question? TQVM

scorgio
post Dec 25 2016, 08:49 AM

4,695 posts

Since we're in the topic of ownership transfer.

What if I'm buying a car, r/tax & insurance expired (say just 1 month). After I did B5, must I buy insurance to facilitate transfer? Cos I don't intend to pay r/tax yet, as the car needs to spend a few weeks at the workshop.
smallbug
post Dec 25 2016, 09:50 PM

874 posts

Take note here

ah raynman, JPJ will tell you not to bother with this, right? Remainder of the roadtax period considered burn already? biggrin.gif
TSSeinz
post Dec 25 2016, 10:20 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Dec 25 2016, 09:50 PM)
ah raynman, JPJ will tell you not to bother with this, right? Remainder of the roadtax period considered burn already? biggrin.gif
If this is really the case then we just buy for the period needed. Insurance better buy for a year bcs can get back balance. Also more expensive/not worth if for shorter period. Let's say I buy 1 year insurance and 6 months road tax (since mine is quite expensive) I can always buy for another 6 months if I delay selling the car.

My car although is 17 years old yet so sayang to sell as it is in tip-top condition. 1 owner all this while and accident-free. But it's an extra car and has been sitting for 1 year+ dy. Even the paintwork is still in its original state (of course not pretty like new paint but if we don't go for high-end repaint after a year it starts to rust etc which is very unsightly). Engine will start even after sitting still for a month bcs the battery is quite new and still powerful.

After learning about the correct procedures from the taikors/sifus here I now feel more confident that I can sell it myself. Like bro digilife says do it slowly. Thank you to all who respond to my post.

This post has been edited by Seinz: Dec 26 2016, 08:13 AM
TSSeinz
post Dec 25 2016, 10:22 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Dec 25 2016, 08:49 AM)

What if I'm buying a car, r/tax & insurance expired (say just 1 month). After I did B5, must I buy insurance to facilitate transfer? Cos I don't intend to pay r/tax yet, as the car needs to spend a few weeks at the workshop.
This question only the sifus here can answer. hope they help you out bcs I don't know as I had never done this b4.

gugukrez
post Jun 30 2017, 05:37 PM

943 posts

Dear sifu,

any idea how to get bank loan? i just make a booking with direct owner..
for mitsubishi mirage..

maybank only can valuate for 26k.. but dealer they give can goes to 42k loan..

now i wonder why same car but bank valuate so big different? and the market is selling btw 33k-45k..
TSSeinz
post Jul 3 2017, 10:07 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Jun 30 2017, 05:37 PM)
Dear sifu,

any idea how to get bank loan? i just make a booking with direct owner..
for mitsubishi mirage..

maybank only can valuate for 26k.. but dealer they give can goes to 42k loan..

now i wonder why same car but bank valuate so big different? and the market is selling btw 33k-45k..
Hey bro no sifu would help answer your qn. Idk so can't help you here,so sorry. Let's hope some taikor who knows about car loans will help answer your qn.

Ginny88
post Jul 3 2017, 10:25 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Dec 25 2016, 08:49 AM)

Buying insurance isn't to facilitate ownership transfer. It is to allow you buy road tax on the spot after you transfer so that you can drive your car. (The existing road tax is cancelled immediately when you transfer). If you don't intend to buy road tax then no need to buy insurance.
TSSeinz
post Jul 4 2017, 01:09 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 3 2017, 10:25 PM)
Buying insurance isn't to facilitate ownership transfer. It is to allow you buy road tax on the spot after you transfer so that you can drive your car. (The existing road tax is cancelled immediately when you transfer).  If you don't intend to buy road tax then no need to buy insurance.
If this be the case can I ask the buyer to pay for the road tax/insurance b4 sending to puspakom once he is serious about buying bcs my car road tax/insurance have expired for 6 months dy?

This post has been edited by Seinz: Jul 4 2017, 01:10 PM
lsm1991
post Jul 4 2017, 03:13 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Seinz @ Jul 4 2017, 01:09 PM)
If this be the case can I ask the buyer to pay for the road tax/insurance b4 sending to puspakom once he is serious about buying bcs my car road tax/insurance have expired for 6 months dy?
no.....

technically to me you have one common option, 3 correct options here (but only 1 of the lot is practical)

1)pay puspakom to come to your house (practical) (then you dont even have to bring your car over)
-it works out
-its still cheap
-noneed to risk any unsavory things happening along the way

2)pay for all of it yourself then sell the car, then claim balik
-technically works out but its stupid and unpractical. It just takes way more money & time, (register roadtax pay for insurance, wait for roadtax to arrive, send car to puspakom, claim remaining rt and insurance value) thats just stupid cause the new owner will still have to apply for it all again.
-you gona paying alot lot more

3)tow car to puspakom (option 1 was invested so you dont have to do this
-waste time loading, unloading
-you gona paying alot more

4)drive car there without rt or insurance(commonly done option, but technically illegal and opens yourself to risks)
-alot of ppl do this
-if you have an accident otw there or otw back, you are screwed, might even be summoned

imo, just go with option 1
maybe you can negotiate it in such a way that he ends up paying for the fee anyway~~ not like its alot of money anyway

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jul 4 2017, 03:14 PM
TSSeinz
post Jul 4 2017, 05:31 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 4 2017, 03:13 PM)
no.....

technically to me you have one common option, 3 correct options here (but only 1 of the lot is practical)

1)pay puspakom to come to your house (practical) (then you dont even have to bring your car over)
-it works out
-its still cheap
-noneed to risk any unsavory things happening along the way

2)pay for all of it yourself then sell the car, then claim balik
-technically works out but its stupid and unpractical. It just takes way more money & time, (register roadtax pay for insurance, wait for roadtax to arrive, send car to puspakom, claim remaining rt and insurance value) thats just stupid cause the new owner will still have to apply for it all again.
-you gona paying alot lot more

3)tow car to puspakom (option 1 was invested so you dont have to do this
-waste time loading, unloading
-you gona paying alot more

4)drive car there without rt or insurance(commonly done option, but technically illegal and opens yourself to risks)
-alot of ppl do this
-if you have an accident otw there or otw back, you are screwed, might even be summoned

imo, just go with option 1
maybe you can negotiate it in such a way that he ends up paying for the fee anyway~~ not like its alot of money anyway
Aiyoh bro,I know they can come to your house and do the check but the idea never entered my mind until you made me pay attention. I think it's the best/cheapest option bcs the road tax saved for 6 months is RM140 (I asked dy JPJ says no 3 months,either 6 months or 1 year) then no hassle of claiming back insurance. TQSVM for giving me this idea. I wonder how much they charge for this premium service. So as soon as the buyer confirms he wants the car and gives me a deposit of 10 or 20% I can call puspakom dy.

Option 2 is troublesome,Option 3 is expensive LOL (towing will cost more than puspakom's premium service) and Option 4 is not worth taking the risk. I'll go with Option 1. Will call them as soon as I get a buyer. Thanks so much bro for your sincere help. Hope this info helps others who need to sell but their RT/insurance have also expired.

TSSeinz
post Jul 4 2017, 06:00 PM

22 posts

I checked dy. The premium service inspection is extra RM100 only but this info was published in 2015. Dun know if there's an increase. I'll call their toll-free number to morrow morning to ask if they provide the service to my area bcs the service is only available in the Klang Valley and I don't know if my area is considered klang valley.

Please take note that in order to get this premium service the transaction must be cash buy,not under hp financing. Aiyah,most old cars above 15 years difficult to get financing anyway but then difficult to find buyer also bcs not many people have ready cash of RM10-15k. Malaysians have become so poor under this najis administration many now kais pagi makan pagi,kais petang makan petang umpama ayam je.

This post has been edited by Seinz: Jul 4 2017, 06:20 PM
Ginny88
post Jul 4 2017, 09:43 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Seinz @ Jul 4 2017, 01:09 PM)
The problem is that you have to transfer ownership first before he can pay the road tax in his name but you have to get the Puspakom cert before transferring ownership. Renewing the road tax in your name is pointless.
TSSeinz
post Jul 5 2017, 09:50 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 4 2017, 09:43 PM)
The problem is that you have to transfer ownership first before he can pay the road tax in his name but you have to get the Puspakom cert before transferring ownership. Renewing the road tax in your name is pointless.
I think my problem will be easily solved by following Option 1 of Ism1991's suggestion. I've contacted their premier mobile service and the whole thing will just cost me about RM200 which is considered cheap since I avoid all the hassle. The service charge for this door-to-door service is only RM100 but they charge RM160 for my area,perhaps bcs it's further from their HQ.

JPJ should allow us to do the name change (once the buyer has paid me in full) as soon as I get puspakom's checkup result slip.

The buyer can then buy the road tax/insurance in his name once the name change has been effected. The reason Ism1991 suggested the door-to-door service is so that I avoid paying the RT/insurance in order to drive the car to their service centre as it has expired for 6 months dy. As soon as he gets hold of the RT he can come and get his car since it's his dy LOL. Thanks for the input.

lsm1991
post Jul 5 2017, 10:16 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Seinz @ Jul 4 2017, 05:31 PM)
Aiyoh bro,I know they can come to your house and do the check but the idea never entered my mind until you made me pay attention. I think it's the best/cheapest option bcs the road tax saved for 6 months is RM140 (I asked dy JPJ says no 3 months,either 6 months or 1 year) then no hassle of claiming back insurance. TQSVM for giving me this idea. I wonder how much they charge for this premium service. So as soon as the buyer confirms he wants the car and gives me a deposit of 10 or 20% I can call puspakom dy.

Option 2 is troublesome,Option 3 is expensive LOL (towing will cost more than puspakom's premium service) and Option 4 is not worth taking the risk. I'll go with Option 1. Will call them as soon as I get a buyer. Thanks so much bro for your sincere help. Hope this info helps others who need to sell but their RT/insurance have also expired.
when i got my car 2 years back, i believe it was around what you mentioned. Don't think it went up, can call them to confirm i guess?

imo its the best solution (least risky at least) solution for cars that are not road 'ready'.

**oh wait realized you have already called em up, good for you! just make sure the car is up to spec and you should be all good to go!
TSSeinz
post Jul 6 2017, 12:34 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 5 2017, 10:16 AM)
when i got my car 2 years back, i believe it was around what you mentioned. Don't think it went up, can call them to confirm i guess?

imo its the best solution (least risky at least) solution for cars that are not road 'ready'.

**oh wait realized you have already called em up, good for you! just make sure the car is up to spec and you should be all good to go!
Hey bro,I can't thank you enuf for giving me such a fantastic idea. Now all I need to do is to advertise on mudah.com or on carlist or somewhere,change the dead battery (don't mind giving a brand-new one if can get a cash buyer bcs this service not available for hp buyer and also my car is too old to qualify for a loan) then drive it to fill up the 4 tyres and it's ready to go. It's in vg condition but bcs the battery was old and I did not drive it around after starting the engine and let it sit for 3 weeks b4 starting again. It won't start so I jump-started the battery with the other car using the booster cable but after driving it around the next day it could not start again so I guess the battery has outlived its life.

The premier mobile inspection charge are the same but they are charging more by RM60 for my area bcs maybe far from their HQ (for this service I'm not sure if it's at PJ Jln Tandang or at Shah Alam). The usual is RM100. The usual RM30 applies. So thanks bro. The extra car has been sitting for almost 1 year 9 months now so that's why the rT/insurance have not been renewed for 6 months dy. The 1 year 3 months RT/insurance were wasted. I sayang to sell bcs it had served me well for so many years but to continue to keep it is a waste of money bcs each year I lose in depreciation. At times sentimentality has to be considered LOL not just ringgit and sen.

Thanks again for taking the trouble to think of all the options opened to me. Not many people bother to be so helpful.

reeve-826
post Jul 24 2017, 08:57 AM

334 posts

Hello everyone, my relative car will transfer ownership to name.
Can i go for puspakom inspection myself?
Tinted need to peel off even passed jpj compliance?
If puspakom no need to peel off tinted, how about next to jpj?
jack2
post Aug 21 2019, 12:14 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Take note here

5) Dun ever let the buyer to drive your car to Puspakom for the inspection, else if he is dishonest you asked for the trouble only.Atleast go with him together like my case cause my seller duno where is Puspakom & he is a senior citizen & I helped him up on filling the form.

If OT is transferred before balance of payment, the buyer won't pay you the balance how?

I think should get payment first by going together to bank and get cash or banked. Then go JPJ together

0.0213sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:21 AM