Only 1 channel??

I'm disappointed doh.gif
nexona88
post May 5 2017, 08:25 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 5 2017, 07:31 PM)
As of 5 May 2017, MTV (ch713) is now the one and only channel that is broadcasts in native 16:9 format but transmits in 4:3 format. Prior to this, only Go Shop (ch118) transmits using this format, but now the channel has upgraded to HD. In simple words, still in 4:3 but no letterbox, so when you watch it on your 16:9 TV, it will display as the correct shape if you don't set the viewing setting as pillarbox.

Now as what I see, besides correct picture shape (aspect ratio), the picture quality of MTV has improved a lot, but still not as good as native SD 16:9 channels like Astro Arena, Bloomberg, Disney XD, etc. But at least, better than nothing.

I was like, finally after been sooo many months, Astro only take action about the aspect ratio thinggy.
Nice one, Astro! Thumbs up!
A lot more channels needs to be in 16:9 format..
Seriously I don't know when they would do it..
I think needs to send remainder email about the channels..

Guys, please do the same. Send them email "forcing" to upgrade to HD
nexona88
post May 5 2017, 08:51 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ May 5 2017, 08:49 PM)
they will close their eyes .... the only thing they know , increase monthly fee and put all trash channels  devil.gif
Well no harm to try spam their email right devil.gif

Let's all of us spam their inbox with our request tongue.gif
nexona88
post May 5 2017, 08:56 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ May 5 2017, 08:53 PM)
lets count how many of us will spam their email .... me & you total 2 , how bout others ?  laugh.gif
Don't worry, later sure got people join in devil.gif
Josh will spam too icon_idea.gif
nexona88
post May 6 2017, 09:29 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 6 2017, 02:31 AM)
You guys don't forget the fact why they chose to transmit most of SD channels with letterbox instead of native 16:9 aspect ratio.
I think this time, they chose to upgrade MTV is because they have no plan to upgrade the channel to HD for now.

MTV's viewership isn't very high as other in-house channels. Astro knows that upgrading the channel to HD won't encourage more customers to subscribe to HD. Ask yourself, how often will you watch MTV channel in your leisure time? If MTV really upgraded to HD, and customers are forced to subscribe to HD + Variety pack, will you subscribe them? Do you think Astro will earn more money, or lose money because customers chose to give up and don't wish to watch MTV anymore?

Unlike the Lifetime channel now (ch709), part of the reason why they chose to upgrade this channel is probably due to well performing viewership ratings, or they find out that certain group of viewers enjoy watching this channel, so after upgrading the channel to HD, they hope those group of viewers will pay more money (if they haven't) to continue watching Lifetime channel in HD quality. As for FYI (ch736), it is the opposite of this.

So if you want to convince Astro to remove pillarbox on those highly rated channels like HBO 411, Fox Movies Premium 413, all Astro SuperSport SD channels, Astro AEC 301, Astri Shuang Xing 324, etc. I can tell you is, it won't be easy.

Because if they really do, they will lose marketing advantage to convince customers to subscribe to HD service. Majority of the customers will react like this: "Ehhh, I watch HBO 411 no letterbox and all, the picture quality looks great to me, looks almost like HD, so why would I pay more money for HD?"

Hah, see that? Now even if you go compare with Astro Arena 801 and Astro Arena HD 802, then you will get what I mean. Majority of viewers like us are just being materialistic. We want to see BIG difference by paying more money, not small differences and we pay nothing and hey gain nothing. Get it now?
Okay. Understand blush.gif
nexona88
post May 6 2017, 02:59 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 6 2017, 12:12 PM)
Haha i didnt know HGTV hd has disappeared from astro laugh.gif

Better also because who in the right mind can buy property like buying fish in market unless you are property tycoon great in playing speculations full time doh.gif

Cooking channel full hd even better because everybody likes 2 cook especially auntie mak cik rclxms.gif
+1

Cooking channels would be good..
Sometimes I do see those programs.. Especially those involving Chef Anis Nabilah blush.gif she looks so cute
nexona88
post May 7 2017, 12:45 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

What such BS reason saying most are using CRT TV!!

Since past 2 years.. I go family & friends house.. All using Flat screen TV. FHD, UHD SUHD etc.

None using CRT TV...

nexona88
post May 7 2017, 11:57 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 7 2017, 09:05 AM)
No lah... That's the same kind of nonsense as our minister say Malaysians love cheap and slow Internet. I believe you heard about the news long ago, right?

Customer service representative are just a customer service representative, they're not professionals and necessarily good in tech stuff.
What nonsense!
The minister should be sacked asap..
But hey it's bolehland.. So anything is okay to say doh.gif

And yeah, cannot blame customers service staff too.. They know nuts.. Anything also they will say, would inform to relevant department for future actions laugh.gif
nexona88
post May 9 2017, 02:01 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ May 9 2017, 01:58 PM)
This is true, bcoz they do their own job.
The slogan of staff in malaysia "I makan gaji saja, macam mana tahu, tunggu loh".
Typically Malaysian attitude tongue.gif
nexona88
post May 9 2017, 02:02 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

BTW Astro Warna HD is on now, but no programs broadcast yet.. Got notice posted.
Only 11 May tongue.gif
nexona88
post May 9 2017, 06:26 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ May 9 2017, 05:51 PM)
I think will be on Mustika pack with HD.
Who know there is additional cost for that.. lol..
Don't think so..
I'm not subscribed to Mustika Pack, yet can see access the new channel..

No error saying channel not in your subscription tongue.gif

Well I guess it's for all subscribers of HD service

This post has been edited by nexona88: May 9 2017, 06:27 PM
nexona88
post May 9 2017, 11:47 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(Double_H @ May 9 2017, 10:49 PM)
Astro bagi free review astro warna HD sampai 31 Mei je... Lepas tu kena langgan mustika
Oh yeker..

At least something than nothing..

Bukan mau tengok pun tongue.gif
nexona88
post May 10 2017, 12:37 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

Wah just realized it's new member just join LYN laugh.gif

Working for Astro?? Unofficial Astro CS?? ph34r.gif
nexona88
post May 10 2017, 02:16 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(Double_H @ May 10 2017, 01:12 AM)
Hahahahaha
tongue.gif

So it's No tongue.gif
nexona88
post May 10 2017, 07:28 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(sky3742 @ May 10 2017, 06:19 PM)
Just now watched Taiwan drama on 307.
Just a little kiss also kena cut..(and this is only man and woman kiss only) the..
Well what to do..
Taliban incoming devil.gif

Little cleavage also go blur it mad.gif
nexona88
post May 11 2017, 12:02 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ May 11 2017, 10:33 AM)
because warna programmes are now broadcast on warna hd too, so mustika hd needs new programs. based on the tv guide, i can see a lot of movies (malay, bollywood, korea and chinese) in mustika hd lineup. so i guess that includes SCM movies.
Lol now Mustika HD become "rojak" channel with multiple language content laugh.gif
nexona88
post May 11 2017, 03:09 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(Fazrien97 @ May 11 2017, 01:19 PM)
rojak program from citra and bella channel
Which also taken from multiple source doh.gif
nexona88
post May 11 2017, 03:16 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 11 2017, 02:44 PM)
The rojak is so tasty and even sold to singapore brows.gif
Until now I don't understand why Singapore take astro rojak programs blink.gif
nexona88
post May 11 2017, 08:13 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 11 2017, 03:43 PM)
Mio/Starhub  just want to attract malay and indian customers ,chinese hv other sources but for indians and malays choices are limited in spore cos they cannot access other sources like in msia biggrin.gif
Ahh too bad..
Needs to relay on Astro content cry.gif which I feels like below par only devil.gif
nexona88
post May 11 2017, 08:15 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ May 11 2017, 05:45 PM)
The channel in SG but different Pay TV providers.
You want Astro Ria? You need to subscribe Singtel TV. And if you want Astro Warna.. You need to subscribe Starhub TV. Do note this channel is not available in Family Pack. Probaly in Astrojak Pack... brows.gif devil.gif
Hmm that's bad..
Why not all in 1 Pay TV?

Pity those want to see both Ria & Warna!

45 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.1591sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:15 AM