astro byond V13

Anime in HD
post Apr 25 2017, 02:37 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 25 2017, 02:02 AM)
Is it true that Warner TV channel's exclusive licence with Hypp TV has over? Or you're just assuming?

HyppTV Everywhere? RM1/day = RM30/month? Lol? Nope.
Forgot to type "Maybe". My bad blush.gif
If astro brings Warner TV HD this is good news. No more just Marvel series watched on FOX HD channel.. laugh.gif Sometime DC superheroes is more attractive(for me) because i bored with Marvel only shows on astro... biggrin.gif

Warner TV HD(CH730) please... Just my thought for channel numbers if its add on byond HD platform... smile.gif
Talking about this. And when the time comes maybe exclusive on Astro GO or On Demand content only... doh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Apr 25 2017, 02:47 AM
Anime in HD
post Apr 26 2017, 12:57 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Apr 25 2017, 08:53 PM)
“There is a track record of overseas companies launching their OTTs and surviving. If Astro had stayed still, they may survive for another 10 to 20 years at best. It is better to evolve now and suck up the pain rather than risk becoming obsolete,”

Invest million RM(waste money now) for new online strategy & streaming now than lost million of customer(Million of money)in the future... laugh.gif

“The main concern is the Android box that one can find if you walk into a digital mall … Just pay RM600 once off, which is RM300 for the box and RM300 for the installation, and you will have access to many channels under the sun. brows.gif brows.gif Just like that and one can get the same Astro channels and content as the OTT players and even exotic stuff. Piracy is a bigger threat to pay-TV operators and OTT players alike,” she says.

Digitalising Astro

This year, Astro is going full on into its digitalisation initiative. Another clear target is for the group to be 75% digitalised by the end of its financial year ending January 2018. 

What digital? If want to be digital give us other FOX SPORTS 2 & 3 HD!! mad.gif mad.gif We wait almost 4 freaking years!!! And you still don't want to give HD feed for that channel!! sad.gif And please made lower price pack for these sports channel by introduce this packs (FOX SPORTS PACK(1,2&3 in HD) for RM15.90/month)!!
doh.gif  Not all Sports fans watch EPL okay... laugh.gif

Desperate much till want to cover whole global customer by using Tribe... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Apr 26 2017, 01:20 AM
Anime in HD
post Apr 26 2017, 01:31 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 26 2017, 12:44 AM)
No... Nothing gonna do with 4K TV. No need to think until that far.
It's all about aspect ratio and video quality. Initially the channel is in SD 4:3 but now the channel provider provides the channel in HD 16:9. But Astro still offer the same channels in 4:3 without stretching/remove letterbox, so letterbox will appear at all times in order for 16:9 content to display correctly on 4:3 TV. But it won't look good for 16:9 TVs as viewers will see stretched image+letterbox.

Things become worse when the channel is airing a 4:3 programme in 16:9 HD channel. Pillarbox will be added from channel provider + unnecessary letterbox added from Astro = windowboxed (black bars on top, bottom, left and right sides).

Astro has this hidden agenda to display letterbox for 16:9 content on 4:3 channel is for the sake of marketing of HD service. If Astro transmit the channel in native 16:9 aspect ratio, majority of the customers won't be able to see the difference between SD and HD, making HD service (RM26.50/month) no longer a good selling point, and no longer something that is easier to persuade customers to subscribe to.

You can try compare it yourself with Astro Arena channel. Astro Arena is one of the native 16:9 SD channels on Astro. Make sure you're watching from HDMI. Ask yourself, how BIG is the difference you see between CH802 (SD) and ch802 (HD)? Now you know why Astro is reluctant to display all of its SD channels in natove 16:9? Astro only handpicked several SD channels to be in native 16:9 (NHK World, Bloomberg, Disney Channel, Disney Junior, Disney XD, Astro Arena, Eurosport, FYI) and nobody knows what's the reason behind it.

When it shows letterbox, you will see the difference and having the tendency to subscribe to HD service because of its pictures quality differences. And eventually, Astro earn money.
You are smart thinking. rclxms.gif

Both is same because 802 Arena will be in MPEG4 anyway. Because its original feed is HD. And astro transmit the HD channel by using MPEG4 codec. To know this, you need both HDMI & 3 old cable connect to your HDTV & watch the channel. Arena 802 looks like real 480p in Youtube. I try to display some TV channel ads download from Youtube. And the result is same because my eyes cannot see any difference between both 480p vs 720p. Because it almost same for my eyes. You can try to download some Astro ads on Youtube in 480p & 720p and put the files in USB. Both are same anyway laugh.gif

Also you can try to download some Disney Asia ads in 480p & its look good on my HDTV. Almost in 720p HD quality. But i realise that we still don't have Disney Channel HD in astro... cry.gif Oh wait. We have the channel in 16:9 MPEG2 on astro. Wow looks like stunning HD in 16:9 feed rather than 16:9 but has black bars up & down.

All astro Supersports SD 16:9(black bars) can be viewed in HD 16:9 by LB Expand the channel ratio to be zoom. Now CH810 can be view almost in HD by LB Expand it to 16:9 zoom. No black bars. Watch the channel in ratio 16:9 SD MPEG2 blur... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Apr 26 2017, 01:56 AM
Anime in HD
post Apr 26 2017, 02:08 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 26 2017, 01:52 AM)
Yes you're right.
Not to say no difference between 801 and 802. It's just that the difference is not very obvious for every viewers to notice. Did you know that there are people that cannot differentiate between SD and HD, and they think that both SD and HD are the same thing? Astro aware of this, and that's why they're deliberately find ways to make us customer to be able to see the obvious difference compared over SD and HD. Then only Astro can earn more money mah... This is called, marketing.
Astro thinking:

SD> 4:3
HD>16:9

No wonder astro upgrade Lifetime to HD only channel because to earn more profits. For kids. Astro already upgrade Disney to 16:9. Now you have Disney HD... doh.gif laugh.gif
Again, dirty business tactic used by astro. mad.gif Argh.. strugling to watch the real kids channel in HD. Not so like kids channel. But there is some my faveroute cartoon! And i want to watch in HD! Not 16:9 ratio blur! sad.gif

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Apr 26 2017, 01:56 AM)
Haven't slam astro for its super blurry filter usage and low bitrate video........ vmad.gif

Method of reducing bitrate = apply blurring filter = easier for encoder to compress = lower file size due to more reference frame usage.
Atleast we have Disney Channel HD(CH615). Maybe not real HD but the 16:9 ratio make it look like HD. You watch far from your tv. And yes we have Disney Channel HD(CH615) in 16:9 full! But if you look closer. You will see petak blur... doh.gif laugh.gif

Oh wait. Astro already launch Disney Channel HD here.. laugh.gif
Now waiting Cartoon Network to be upgrade to 16:9 ratio. And walla Cartoon Network HD now available... laugh.gif

Maybe can be solve petak blur if astro using MPEG4 codec for all SD channel... doh.gif

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Apr 26 2017, 02:27 AM
Anime in HD
post Apr 27 2017, 02:03 AM

1,510 posts

Warner TV(CH719) on Astro! drool.gif rclxm9.gif
Finally! Yeay... biggrin.gif
So, TM deals with Warner TV HD have expired & Astro can get the channel... hmm.gif rclxm9.gif
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Apr 27 2017, 02:07 AM
Anime in HD
post Apr 27 2017, 05:58 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 27 2017, 02:37 PM)
smileguy - Warner rojak, yum yum :-)

Here is another piece of news .... seems like tvN Movies also coming soon to astro even though already on Hypp TV

http://worldscreen.com/tvasia/cj-em-astro-...ce-partnership/

"Tschaik Lee, chief strategy officer at CJ E&M, added, “CJ E&M has put efforts to leverage global footprints with strategic know-how in the content creation arena and expertise in the global media business. Astro is a strategic partner for us, as the media group is no stranger to Korean entertainment, having established strong relationships with the major Korean media and entertainment groups with collaboration in Malaysia and beyond. We are thrilled to co-work with Astro in positioning the world’s first and only Korean blockbuster movie channel, tvN Movies, general entertainment channel tvN Asia and our original content amongst its audiences in Malaysia and across the region through multiple platforms to create and deliver new trends with amazing experiences.”
Confirmed if tvN Movies HD be on astro. The channel will be ala carte Movies pack. 10% discount if you subscribe Korean Pack. But i really hope they will give us K+ HD on tv instead made available only on Astro GO.
Got Same Time As Korea drama. rclxm9.gif Which is one new only drama. Other all ulang balik from ONE HD & KBS World.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Apr 27 2017, 03:36 PM)
really disappointed..

thinking "true" Warner TV.. but from new reports suggest it's Astro "rojak content" doh.gif
Same 5+min delay both Astro & HyppTV platform... doh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Apr 27 2017, 06:02 PM
Anime in HD
post Apr 27 2017, 06:08 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 27 2017, 06:05 PM)
Slightly more delayed than on HyppTv one...
I have check both platform. Both Astro & HyppTV delay the channel for 5 minute.. Hope astro not troll us by giving SD feed for Warner TV. Considering the channel start from 719. Which is same like Animax & MTV that not even be upgrade to HD... yawn.gif
Anime in HD
post Apr 27 2017, 08:55 PM

1,510 posts

eGG will come to Singapore! biggrin.gif
I wonder why Singtel not make their own eSports channel. All take from astro rojak channel. Even Astro Ria made available in Singtel TV... laugh.gif
http://worldscreen.com/tvasia/asian-esport...-expands-reach/
Semua nak cedok dari astro... doh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Apr 27 2017, 09:04 PM
Anime in HD
post Apr 27 2017, 11:02 PM

1,510 posts

So, its confirmed. That Astro take Warner TV Asia. And not Malaysia or Philippines version... rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
The JV includes co-ownership and joint production of Asian content for Warner TV.

Maybe that just Asia related content produce by joint venture from Turner & Astro to be show in Warner TV Asia soon... hmm.gif

So, this will effective to all provider that carry the channel. Asian content will be made available in Warner TV soon... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Apr 28 2017, 12:02 AM
Anime in HD
post Apr 28 2017, 01:23 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Apr 28 2017, 12:55 AM)
WOW WB TV 1 MAY 2017
Warner TV HD(CH719) now available(coming soon slide)... laugh.gif
Same intro music & layout.. doh.gif laugh.gif
Don't forget this 6.05am start this monday to see channel intro logo... laugh.gif
Anime in HD
post Apr 28 2017, 01:33 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 27 2017, 09:43 PM)
It doesn't sound like its a astro feed for Warner TV ....  But the channel will feature some co-production fr both parties.

There are 2 Warner TV feeds now, Warner TV SEA and the other one being Warner TV Philippines - difference being some difference in prime time programs. Is the EPG already uploaded on astro boxes? If you see American Ninja Hero at 7pm on weekdays and not 'The Big Bang Theory', then that is the PHIL feed.

No HD indicated on the channel logo, btw.
That "(HD)" logo means the channel also available in SD version..Right?
Some don't have this "(HD)" logo. And directly use this logo "HD"... hmm.gif
Anime in HD
post Apr 28 2017, 08:39 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Apr 28 2017, 06:30 AM)
Wait why I can't watch warner tv? It said your package doesn't include this channel?
I already opened variety package preview but no luck.
Me can open the channel(I"m Variety Pack subscriber). Even it still not start. But i can see coming soon slide... hmm.gif
When i remember correctly, they not stated about "Free Preview" for Warner TV from when?... doh.gif laugh.gif

Oh wait. Dirty business tactic to not give free preview.. mad.gif Bagi tayangan sebulan pun kedekut ker?... laugh.gif

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 28 2017, 06:39 AM)
Is Coming soon slide on TV in HD or SD .... that would be a giveaway right?
HD.
But the channel EPG just stated "Warner TV". And put with HD logo in "Channel TV Guide"... smile.gif

Not real HD logo. Just appear HD small logo to know that is HD channel. Same like eGG & BOO. Not say eGG HD & BOO HD. But just the channel name. Maybe because nowadays HD logo not be shown on tv... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Apr 28 2017, 08:44 AM
Anime in HD
post Apr 28 2017, 08:59 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 28 2017, 08:55 AM)
not going to happen  laugh.gif
They not even have 100+ more HD channel! Now we already start to talk about 4K?
You know that Astro not even moved to MPEG4 for all SD channel. Imagine watching TV3 SD on Astro in 4K TV. Extreme pixelated blur & not clear... doh.gif doh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Apr 28 2017, 09:02 AM
Anime in HD
post Apr 28 2017, 09:19 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Apr 28 2017, 09:12 PM)
In case you didn't know it, astro Go now add 6 channels into their lineup alongside Warner TV.
which include Makkal TV, Astro bella, TV ALHIJRAH, TVB XINGHE, CCTV4 and KAH LAI TOI.
[attachmentid=8773665]
But don't know it's website error or not, Astro Go might have TV9, BINTANG, TVi, Celestial Classic Channel, BNC, NAT GEO WILD, HISTORY HD in their lineup.
If this true, there will be 14 astro TV channels will be added to Astro Go soon.
No 16:9 HD channels? No deal. Because if you watch on 5.0" inch screen. The SD with black bars channel looks extremely small. No wonder they upgrade Ria to HD feed for Astro GO. Because the picture is too small... sweat.gif laugh.gif
Anime in HD
post Apr 28 2017, 11:29 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Apr 28 2017, 10:19 PM)
Yes too glad that Warner TV included in variety HD(or any Super Pack) not ala carte.
I know that Warner TV on hypptv everywhere price (for anyone) as low as RM1/day(3 channels in a pack include Warner TV) but too bad VOD need to buy ala carte and that linear channel only can watch 2 hours before live tv.
For astro it's on OD, astro GO and can record on TV.
QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Apr 28 2017, 10:22 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

only this time Astro did the right thing  biggrin.gif

next would be adding & upgrade more HD channels
Astro have more money. They can do anything they want. For HyppTV till today their not provide Dolby Digital 5.1/7.1 & PVR service due to lack of customer & slow UniFi rollout.. sad.gif

Need to think logic about this. Astro already more than 21 years for this business & HyppTV just 7 years and only use IPTV protocol. What i know is HyppTV can launch as many channel they want. Because it's unlimited from internet service. For Astro, they need to depend on existing & new satellite(if full) to launch more HD channel.

But we know that Measat 3b has more space to make Astro to launch 50+ more HD channel. But Astro is monopoly the market. And slowly or not to launch the channel because to earn more profits... doh.gif laugh.gif

And most Astro subscriber, especially old Malay like to watch Ria & Prima channel. Because if you change the channel to english. They will not layan. Because the story always about action & horror(standard english TV Series laugh.gif ). That why i Astro focus to make more in-house content. All TV series, such as new gen layan one like anime, comedy & Korean show can just easily be download from the internet. And they not layan tv everyday. Balik rumah terus main phone. Buka games & Youtube... laugh.gif

No wonder Astro agressively to push Astro GO to the new level. They have more money. The future will change. So, about time they can improve streaming quality and so on.. smile.gif
Anime in HD
post May 1 2017, 02:45 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ May 1 2017, 12:47 PM)
after astro stop showing Sony Be channel, it has not been replaced with anything worth it.

But question, why the next episode of The Flash Season 3 Ep 20, and Supergirl Season 2 Ep 19 is not in this week's schedule?? I just saw Arrow and Gotham
The Flash start every monday at 9:50p.m.
Gonna watch soon.. brows.gif rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(sky3742 @ May 1 2017, 02:28 PM)
[attachmentid=8778047]
Not saying that free astro go channel preview until end of May?
Why I saw (buy)icon on top of warner tv?
I'm on wah pack(with korean pack) btw.
Contact or PM Astro GO FB page to issue this problem.
Me also experience this couple of years ago. And i make call to Astro CS. And they reset it back just 5 minute only. Very efficent.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Anime in HD
post May 3 2017, 06:15 PM

1,510 posts

For what astro want to make other Astro Warna HD?
I thought all Mustika channel in SD will be simulcast on Mustika HD, right? hmm.gif

We already have enough of their in-house content. To make other same content like last year when some show will simulcast on THREE CHANNEL!! I still remember the show will be on Astro Ria , Ria HD & Maya HD. Same content but different channel!! puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif

Just expect that we always getting 60% of their in-house channel rather get international channel... yawn.gif
Hopefully, GEM HD & SONY HD will enter soon... doh.gif sad.gif
Anime in HD
post May 4 2017, 04:34 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ May 4 2017, 04:10 PM)
astro staff entitled :- free breakfast every morning, free astro for our own house, medical cards, free claims for family members like hospital bills, free points systems, free vouchers for shopping
You work at Astro eh? laugh.gif
Anime in HD
post May 5 2017, 04:21 PM

1,510 posts

Astro Warna HD(CH124) still not launch yet. But astro FB page stated the new channel for this MLM Final. Should be Warna & Mustika HD... doh.gif laugh.gif
Anime in HD
post May 5 2017, 04:30 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ May 5 2017, 04:22 PM)
seems like Astro gonna add another channel on their lineup  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WakuWaku_Japan
WakuWaku Japan mostly don't have Asia dedicated feed. If astro adds this channel. Hopefully it will cover some anime like One Piece & Detective Conan same like Indonesia & Singapore feed... drool.gif rclxm9.gif

26 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.1545sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:14 AM