FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

dasecret
post Dec 23 2016, 05:12 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 23 2016, 04:05 PM)

So, in summary, the MY market will be flat pending the outcome of the General Election next year. I hope I am proven wrong. I wish the Malaysian stock market and economy well.

Sekian, terima kasih.
Thanks boss, I think it makes sense

Now... is any of your name in the list?

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/artic...aign%202016.pdf

On gender analysis, from the listing 6 out of 13 are female. Actually not bad also ma, maybe the big gap in male and female only exist in public forums, in terms of investing it's not as bad *Wishful thinking? tongue.gif *
dasecret
post Dec 27 2016, 05:48 PM

1,498 posts

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundinfo/topFunds.svdo

Wow, shortly since Affin Hwang Select Bond made available for purchase on FSM it made it on the top volume list. There must be some serious HNWI here. For sure that person is not me because I'm switching gradually

And this is why FSM needs to quietly stalk this thread thumbsup.gif
dasecret
post Dec 28 2016, 05:48 PM

1,498 posts

Let me be notty and kacau ppl a bit

A while back many switched from AIF to ponzi2.0 due to AIF's slow returns. I noticed ponzi 2.0 lost 3% in the past 1 month and 1 year returns also lose to AIF and ponzi 1.0

apa macam? Anyone jumping ship?
dasecret
post Dec 29 2016, 09:34 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 28 2016, 06:00 PM)
Sis, you are stirring up trouble.  biggrin.gif

As usual, investors will lose money from constantly shifting from one fund to another, trying to find the next "hot" fund. This has always been the danger highlighted by any investment books.

What to do? Blame it on internet investing where everything can be done with the click of a mouse! bangwall.gif
rclxs0.gif year end boring ma, still working in office, so make the thread more lively lor

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 28 2016, 06:47 PM)
But my Ponzi 2 have less loss than Ponzi 1 woh.  whistling.gif  During trump massacre, My ponzi 2 became positive while my ponzi 1 never become positive (blame it on the malaysian part bangwall.gif ).
Have you taken into consideration the impending distribution? Anyway, in the short term timing does have some impact lor

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 28 2016, 10:53 PM)
Guys, does anyone know anything about Amara Investment Management Sdn Bhd? How come I search online can't find any of their funds? Supposedly they have three funds. How to buy it?
https://www.sc.com.my/wp-content/uploads/en...s/stats/RIS.pdf
Wholesale funds. I notice you like to look for things that are not available to you. May I ask why? If it's not widely distributed, it's probably not suitable for most people
dasecret
post Dec 29 2016, 09:52 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 29 2016, 09:49 AM)
Well how would we know he's not making 400K a year smile.gif
I do not believe a true HNWI would spend time trying to figure out which platform update trades quicker and spend so much time DIY-ing on platforms that don't even have live help cool2.gif
dasecret
post Dec 29 2016, 02:32 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 29 2016, 09:54 AM)
I switched everything in Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund to Ponzi 1.0
Well done, I did that 2 years ago I think. Opportunity fund fell into the 10 years lowest return chart
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...orst_Funds.svdo
dasecret
post Dec 29 2016, 03:05 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Dec 29 2016, 02:42 PM)
I just asked FSM about the 0.5% SC

It turns out that regardless of your attendance to either event in penang or kl, as long as on 7th and 14th Jan 830 am to 6pm, you place your order and pay within the time frame, you are entitled the promo SC even if they only process it on next working day
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 29 2016, 02:53 PM)
Same practice as per previous years.
QUOTE(ykit_88 @ Dec 29 2016, 02:57 PM)
Sorry din exactly get what u're saying.

U're saying 0.5% for
(a) Only event attendees? Or for all?
(b) Only for purchase submit on 7th and 14th?
Oh, didn't realise there's so many new comers since last January. The discussion is still so fresh in my mind on SC discount may not be the best timing to buy etc and it's been a year since ohmy.gif

(a) For all
(b) Yes, for purchases submitted on 7th and 14th; I think in Jan 2016 it was open up to midnight or something. The discounted sales charge is on the page where you place order.
dasecret
post Dec 30 2016, 08:39 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 30 2016, 12:32 AM)
Guys, can someone tell me which fund site carries the "Advantage BRIC" fund (by AmInvestment Bhd)? I can't find it on FSM, CIMB_Clicks, nor M2U.
I don't have answer for you either. But gonna ask the same old question. Why do you want to buy it? What do you see in its potential?

edit: pulled wrong fund. Now corrected
Only current year looks good, previous years is pretty bad

And please be nice to our T231H, he has always been helpful googling for others while they could have done it themselves and never asked for anything in return. The least you can do is say nothing if you have nothing nice to say

This post has been edited by dasecret: Dec 30 2016, 09:04 AM
dasecret
post Dec 30 2016, 01:35 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 30 2016, 12:27 PM)
Long time no see Pink Spider. Let me stir up some s**t.  biggrin.gif

Fixed deposits is protected by PIDM up to a maximum limit of RM250K per bank. For e.g. if I deposit RM300K FD into Maybank, only RM250K will be covered by PIDM. If Maybank close shop tomorrow, I will lose RM50K.

CMF has about RM300 million. What are the chances of the money being distributed among all the banks up to a limit of RM250K only per bank. Not likely rite? So IF a bank close shop tomorrow, the Fund Manager of CMF will not get back the entire FD from PIDM.

Therefore CMF is not capital guaranteed because the underlying assets, i.e. Fixed Deposits is only guaranteed up to RM250K per bank.  whistling.gif
Valid points boss.
p/s: glad to see i'm not the only one who likes to stir laugh.gif

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 30 2016, 01:29 PM)
Uh, Brazil and Russia are coming out of recession. At least for 6 months it should have a double digit return. Plus diversify.

And sorry if I was rude to ask about it
Well, I think Msia doesn't give much choices when it comes to BRIC, even FSM SG only has 2 funds on BRIC. I guess if you can stomach the risk you can go ahead with it
dasecret
post Dec 30 2016, 01:42 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 30 2016, 01:36 PM)
Btw guys CIMB Clicks processed my UTs today. However on their site it is very lagged, still showing Dec27 prices for my holdings.
Lol, what kind of response do you expect with comments like that on FSM thread? tongue.gif

Would you share with us why you are so reluctant to use FSM platform? Btw, you should consider using the excel on post 1; it update prices at the click of a button
dasecret
post Jan 3 2017, 12:33 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 2 2017, 02:31 PM)
Specially for those a little thick in the skull:

Dividend from stocks are specifically from profits. Anything else are called capital repayment.

Dsitribution don't give a Jack Sh1t, it can come from profit / surplus or from pool of capital. Hence it is called distribution and not dividend.

Can some bean counter verify this? Hint hint to auntie dasecretwub.gif
Happy new year!
my long winded post went MIA, so this is the summarised version:
Not sure what I'm supposed to verify, but distribution is supposed to come from profits also la, so conceptually same as dividends from stocks. Just that stock trading as you rightly pointed out, is on a willing buyer willing seller basis, so the willing buyer or seller may not be so smart to fully price in the dividends; or feels that the profits announced indicates good/bad news that needs to be reflected in their ask/bid price
Whereas for UT, it's purely based on the value of the underlying assets, so there's no sentiments involved in distribution. So you wont gain/loss just from distribution, you gain/lose from how the underlying stocks are performing

QUOTE(iampokemon @ Jan 2 2017, 05:02 PM)
Just some questions here, I am actually looking into a fixed income funds that could provide me around 6% annual return. But upon clicking the recommended fund list, "RHB Emerging Markets Bond Fund" seems to have a nice chart that provides an average 10% PA with a balanced risk rating of 5.

While "RHB Asian Income Fund" provides a 7.93% projected annual return at a risk rating of 6.

Does that means taking "RHB Emerging Markets Bond Fund" is a better choice since it has lower risk with better returns? And they don't seems to implement any sales charge for it as well.
You may want to look up on the previous discussions on RHB Asian Total Return fund; the fund is similar but not the same as EM bond.
TLDR: Forex is the main cause for the gains for this fund. EM Bonds may not do as well as historical performance due to - forex and US fed rate will increase further
Noticed you didn't think highly of Affin Hwang select bond. As such, what makes you think EM bond would do well?

In the most simplistic manner, you can compare the sharpe ratio or risk return ratio of different funds. Higher means you get more returns from the same risk you undertake. EM bond and RHB ATR's volatility/risk is off the roof in the context of fixed income funds. Not all fixed income funds are the same
dasecret
post Jan 4 2017, 01:06 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(thesnake @ Jan 3 2017, 09:59 PM)
Hi guys, i have been a silent reader in this thread and am interested to start investing in UT by myself via FSM. Before i begin, i just want to thank all of you who have been constantly contributing ideas, thoughts, and valuable opinion in this forum.

My situation;

1. I have about rm 60k FD maturing soon, will have another rm 100k from a property sale recently.

2. Plan to invest all of this amount into UT.

3. I considered myself a newbie, and im looking for a balanced and diversified portfolio as investor.

4. Im very busy working with high mobility (travelling to remote places for work), so I am not looking to switch funds left and right, prefer to hold funds once i have invested in at least >2 months at a time.

5. Aiming for a 7-8% annual returns.

So guys, with the above points, would like to know your portfolios for me to have a start investing in FSM.

Thanks guys!
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 3 2017, 10:53 PM)

also I would suggest you place 150k into money market first and get your silver where you get a permanent discount for your investment in any EQ fund

from there build up your portfolio as you see fit

Good point on placing in cash management fund instead of partially in FD to max out the tier discount

Ok, I don't know what is the right way, but this is how I did it second time around after I learn from mistakes from the first time

1. Decide on your portfolio - lots of links provided by others and FSM articles are great place to start
2. Stick to max 6-7 funds - This is the toughest for me; always itchy hand want to try out flavor of the month
3. Open your account with FSM; make full use of the 30 days new account benefit
4. I agree with some other comments - dont put in everything lumpsum - set up RSP for all the funds you intended within the first 30 days of acct opening and you get 1% sales charge for the first 6 months. RSP tends to even out your cost, won't be entering at the lowest, but won't be the highest as well. Besides, would suit your schedule, don't need to look at when to buy, just let the RSP run on its own
5. Rebalance after a year or so

All the best and ask away. Many are here to help
dasecret
post Jan 4 2017, 02:08 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(fense @ Jan 4 2017, 12:27 PM)
why must max stick to 6-7 fund only?
I had near 20 funds now, it balanced my profolio, single fund drop wont cause much chabge for me, still averange I have positive profit. It earn slowed but it diversified.
I believe many others have kind of answer your question

My take? I too have close to 20 funds in my first portfolio; slowly cutting down but still no where near 5-7 funds. The idea is simple, same geographical segment, just stick to the fittest horse, what for split your bets and end up with less. It's diworsification
dasecret
post Jan 4 2017, 03:30 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(fense @ Jan 4 2017, 03:04 PM)
ya.. Learning Curve for me...
Is time to seat down and study prperly
I really found no one for proper guide. And I am from medical field too, learning investment from zero since 3 yrs ago.

OK, THis is my Investements
I know got lot of Overlapping
The last three was investement with affinhwang agent.
YA Learning Curve for me..
I need sometime to analysis it again.

As requested
Name of Fund Payment Method Profit (%)
1 Affin Hwang Select AUD Income Fund - MYR Cheque -0.74
2 Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund  Cheque -3.51
3 Affin Hwang Select SGD Income Fund - MYR Cheque 7.54
4 AmAsia Pacific REITs - Class B (MYR)Cheque -0.87
5 CIMB Islamic Asia Pacific Equity Fund - MYR Cheque -1.38
6 CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR Cheque 12.85
7 CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund Cheque 20.44
8 Commodities Equity Cheque 15.78
9 Eastspring Investments Asia Pacific Equity MY FundCheque 20.12
10 Eastspring Investments Asia Pacific Ex-Japan Target Return Fund  Cheque -3.08
11 Eastspring Investments Bond Fund  EPF Account 1 -2.57
12 Eastspring Investments Dana Al-IlhamEPF Account 1 -1.40
13 Eastspring Investments Dynamic FundEPF Account 1 1.33
14 Eastspring Investments Global Leaders MY FundCheque 22.24
15 Eastspring Investments Japan Dynamic MY Fund - MYR HedgedCheque 21.06
16 Eastspring Investments MY Focus Fund EPF Account 1 -4.84
17 Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund  Cheque -6.15
Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund  EPF Account 1 -7.92
18 Kenanga Asia Pacific Total Return Fund Cheque 0.81
19 Kenanga Growth Fund EPF Account 1 -2.55
Kenanga Growth Fund Cheque 4.86
20 Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund EPF Account 1 -2.77
21 Maybank Bosera Greater China ASEAN Equity-I Fund - Class A (MYR) Cheque 9.35
22 Pacific Global Stars Fund Cheque 14.75 (left over Profit)
23 RHB Big Cap China Enterprise Fund  Cheque 7.41 (left over Profit)
24 TA European Equity Fund Cheque 15.90 (left over Profit)
25 RHB Cash Management Fund 2  Cheque 1.74
26 AffinHawang AIIMAN PRS GROWTH fund
27 AffinHawang AIIMAN PRS SHARIAH GROWTH fund 
28 AFFINHWANG AIIMAN GROWTH FUND 

Long list ya...
Those EPF one I admit, I didnt study properly just tembak... was inveested to aim total amount into reward programs
QUOTE(fense @ Jan 4 2017, 03:14 PM)
And I am aiming selling off these

10 Eastspring Investments Asia Pacific Ex-Japan Target Return Fund 
12 Eastspring Investments Dana Al-Ilham
13 Eastspring Investments Dynamic Fund
16 Eastspring Investments MY Focus Fund
20 Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund
22 Pacific Global Stars Fund
23 RHB Big Cap China Enterprise Fund
24 TA European Equity Fund
27 AffinHawang AIIMAN PRS SHARIAH GROWTH fund
28 AFFINHWANG AIIMAN GROWTH FUND

Maybe next week or later..
I am waiting affihwang agent give me a greenl iefe to transfer out into Fundsupermart. Now they are still busy with the last year things, no time entertain my request yet..
wow, this is going to take some time. You may want to really work it out in detailed on allocation and how to move each fund. Would be useful to consider weightage of the funds too

Btw, you don't need affin hwang agent to give you green light to transfer out. Just initiate the move with FSM and they will handle the rest
dasecret
post Jan 5 2017, 12:38 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 4 2017, 07:50 PM)
Just browse through Malaysia funds, see that Eastspring investment Equity Income Fund, which has very similar performance trend with KLCI

Wanted to know anyone invest in this fund and comments?

Also seeing that this fund and eastspring investment my focus fund are both Malaysia general equity fund

JUST that the former is equity income and equity captial growth, what are thebdifference between this two and how much they differ in the kind of stock selection?

Thinking to only keep one Malaysia fund, should I keep kgf or kapchai? innocent.gif
EI equity income is large cap fund. EI MY focus limit its no. of counters held to 30 or so hence the name 'focus'
KGF is broad base and somewhat bottom up approach so it can buy anything from large to small cap
Kapchai only buy small cap counters

That's what I know. I have a bit of EI equity income, it moves pretty much in tandem with KLCI. So if KLCI goes up bagus lor

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jan 4 2017, 10:30 PM)
Anything is possible. I'm just going to stay away from investing in a fund that solely invest in the local market for at least the 1st quarter to see what happens.
On the other hand, is there any funds in Malaysia that only invest in Blue Chip stocks ?
As mentioned above, EI equity income. Quite a number of Public mutual fund focuses on large caps also. Or you can buy index funds

But maybe easier to buy the bluechip counters you have in mind directly instead?

dasecret
post Jan 5 2017, 03:38 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 5 2017, 03:19 PM)
But I remember last month when FSM reintroduce this fund along with esther bond, they were all in 0% SC because in FSM, all of them were fixed income fund hmm.gif

Apparently FSM had reclassified esther income to mixed asset and charged 1% SC  laugh.gif
Yaya, that's what I remembered too. N we were discussing because we did not expect 0% SC

Yet another evidence that FSM staffs lurk here? cool2.gif
dasecret
post Jan 6 2017, 08:29 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 6 2017, 07:49 AM)
Wanted to ask, had anyone received the esther bond distribution?
Not yet, Kenanga usually even slower than FSM tongue.gif
Interestingly Ponzi 1.0 was updated since last week

Anyway, FSM's performance chart is adjusted for distributions very quickly. Just that individual holders' distribution not updated yet until you receive the email on distribution. You can manually calculate the distribution and include in your own spreadsheet. But I don't bother la

This post has been edited by dasecret: Jan 6 2017, 08:30 AM
dasecret
post Jan 6 2017, 08:55 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 6 2017, 08:33 AM)
FSM, yes, x date 12/12, reinvestment 21/12, yet one year gone still havent receive distribution  laugh.gif
Thats why I ask, ponzi 1 received, why esther bond take longer tongue.gif

Very lazy to recalculate tongue.gif
Eh, salah blame, just checked Kenanga online, it's updated already

p/s: must give some pressure to FSM rclxs0.gif
dasecret
post Jan 6 2017, 09:27 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 6 2017, 09:10 AM)
By any chance you are confusing Affin Hwang with Kenanga ? I don't know why Kenanga is suddenly in the picture.  confused.gif
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 6 2017, 09:12 AM)
the lady haven't had her coffee yet or either that we haven't had our coffee yet to get what she meant. either waydasecret I would ask you out for breakfast or most of you if I'm in West malaysia. =)
Lol. I should not expect people to remember my stories

I'm not that confused yet and already had my morning cafe au lait in the car laugh.gif

I bought select bond through our not-so-in-house UTC earlier this year when FSM does not distribute the fund. He's attached with Kenanga Investors Berhad. Hence my holdings is under KIB although it's a Affin Hwang fund

Actually we should thank him for introducing this fund to this thread and subsequently FSM re-introducing the fund on their platform rclxms.gif
dasecret
post Jan 6 2017, 11:19 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jan 5 2017, 09:19 PM)
No one update 2016 ROI one? Lol
So few people took up the challenge to update?

I usually don't do this, but why not right?
For the portfolio I manage for mum that I did after learning from my past mistakes
IRR to-date is 6.56%

It's a 60 EQ: 40 FI portfolio; all funds are in the black except EI SC; best performer being RHB ATR which I'm in the midst of moving to select bond; followed by Global titans fund
1.5 year old but the IRR would resemble annual ROI as profits would be manually 'distributed' on annual basis before CNY

0.1301sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:25 AM