QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 4 2017, 11:39 AM)
itu dia. kantoi to the max.FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
Feb 4 2017, 11:40 AM
664 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Feb 6 2017, 12:46 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
how come contestchris didn't pick up much on india? that stimpack is nuts on india!
Feb 6 2017, 05:01 PM
Feb 6 2017, 06:51 PM
Feb 6 2017, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 6 2017, 08:19 PM) This is the biggest nonsense on this thread. You heard of MAD? There will never be a full out war among the two countries. The modern generation will simply not fight. There is animosity, sure, but it's displayed more on the cricket grounds and hockey pitches more than anywhere else. don't come up with statements like that brother. unless you are Modi or the pakistani president, you don't know what they are thinking. even the slight aggression will send stocks haywire. However, we prove our mettle by walking the talk. Do you have confidence in India? go ahead. You have my respect when you walk the talk and come up on top. |
Feb 6 2017, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 6 2017, 09:05 PM) No I'm not buying the Manulife India and it's nothing about confidence. It's just stupid how he casually mentions that an Indopak war is a legitimate risk that everyone should consider. No, it isn't. Get real. Pakistan is the newest "emerging market" in the world, officially to be upgraded from a "frontier market" status this May. Same status as Malaysia. Indopak wars make good movies but they're the stuff of fiction these days. Like I said even if the governments go to war, the people won't. do you know why pakistan and india is at war till now? I will not even question your "frontier market" thing because I take your word for it since you read a whole lot moer than I do. I would not dismiss the idea of war that easily between Pakistan and India. The fear is always there. All it takes is one bullet, one rocket, one shot. the only movie i know highlighting the war between paki and india is vertical limit way back then. however, nothing is impossible. look at trump. he's already the impossible and we are living in it. Did you think Trump would win against Hillary? If you do, you just beat xuzen's crystal ball. so u say no WAR will happen. idealistic thought . I love a world of peace. You can hope on it but don't bet on it not happening. |
Feb 7 2017, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(wankongyew @ Feb 7 2017, 09:48 AM) I survived the 1998 crisis by basically moving out of the country and working overseas. The 2008 crisis didn't have a big impact on the Malaysian economy but I did not have a very substantial stock investment portfolio before the onset of the crisis and made quite a bit of money by buying in the aftermath. Currently I have a lot invested in equities, both directly and through funds. It would kill me if the equity funds dropped by something like 20% to 30% during a big crisis. Maybe some of you are really tough enough to shrug off such large paper losses and just buy more, but it would give me a heart attack. I would prefer to stay in cash and buy back later even if I had to forgo some gains in the meantime. i mirror your thought. i don't hold substantial amounts of money like you maybe but if it drops to 15% i might take everything out and take profit. going back in once the dust settles. nothing wrong with going with that.personally not that i'm not afraid. I'm shitting my pants thinking about it but what can we do? as long as you can still sleep at night, then leave it there. if not, take it all out. and put somewhere 'safe'. at that moment, your thoughts would not be how much returns but no loss = good return. |
Feb 7 2017, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 7 2017, 11:07 AM) This people ar.... keep thinking about the 2007 crash lar, 1997 crash lar.... to give a thought to that regarding FD, won't FD rates sky rocket when market crash? so would putting in FD while the market is lausai-ing be more worthwhile? don't shoot me. just a question. Forgetting that these things happen so infrequently. So between those times, whatcha gonna do? Put in FD and tunggu like a dungu? FD returns like 3.XX% p.a. and we all can agree that FD is < inflation. OK lar, lets say the market drop like 30% during these times... and you very cleaver - clever buy at the lowest price. But if you DCA regularly in those ten years time, the compounding could be more.... I will do on to Excel it to find out. Xuzen |
| Change to: | 0.0191sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:56 PM |