QUOTE(chyz66 @ Jan 6 2017, 10:59 PM)
My only problem is RM25 switching fee. India is too volatile and will be a waste not to exit on a high.FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
Jan 6 2017, 11:03 PM
5,551 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(chyz66 @ Jan 6 2017, 10:59 PM) My only problem is RM25 switching fee. India is too volatile and will be a waste not to exit on a high. |
Jan 6 2017, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 6 2017, 11:06 PM) the direct definition active management in unit trust would be viewing the status of your portfolio on a regular basis and assert which funds are doing badly in the next few months (base on your belief and reading) so you avoid big lump sum transactions and do a proactive investment via DCA method. But most funds allow you to switch out for free to another fund within that company. Exceptions i am aware of are RHB and Manulife. CIMB-Principal, TA, Affinity Hwang, Kenanga and Eastspring for example all have free switching.an experienced unit trust investor would avoid selling and switching ever so often as the service charges will eat into his or her capital unless he or her has a wrap account. that's a total different ball game altogether. also to add on to your comment on top of mine, any fund that focuses on a specific country will be volatile as the fund manager himself does not have much room to maneuver his or her funds if contained within a country but these funds are better at pin pointing the best place to invest as the FM are "locals" as compared to global fund managers. hence diversified portfolio. So for example if Eastspring Small Cap is getting battered and you see potential in their Global Emerging Markets fund, just switch out. Should be free and according to that day's NAV if you switch before 3pm. At least this is my experience when I tried out switching my AH Select Bond Fund to AH Select Asia Ex Japan Opportunity Fund. But please correct me if I am wrong. |
Jan 6 2017, 11:19 PM
Jan 6 2017, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 6 2017, 11:38 PM) Dear newbie, No, I mean just having a basic and cursory knowledge of the Markets. Like say in February, news of funds exiting China/HK/TW en masse comes out. And more yet are anticipated to exit for whatever reason. Given that info, you could reliably decide to exit your Greater China fund. If I can do it, I won't be commenting here cause i'll be buying stocks. Or I wont be commenting here cause i'll be filthy rich. Hindsight is 20/20. Real life to the future is blur. I'm not talking about micromanaging often, just when the trends are irrefutable and widely spoken about. Of course if that's the case go direct into stocks better use of your time and money. |
Jan 7 2017, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 6 2017, 11:49 PM) 1.what you are talking about is profit lock but you sacrifice your capital appreciation if you do that. meaning you make 5rm but lose 50rm in a long run. Yeah I guess I'm just cocky. Talk only.2. you buy a fund you spent 2%. you sell the fund but reinvest the said money into another fund, you spent another 2%. that's 4% of lost right there. 1) though switching within same houses is free but it is a double edge sword as you can only switch 100% of the fund. meaning the other fund you switch to will be heavily invested and will skewer your allocation. 2) fixed income to eq will be charged accordingly. Yeap. if it were so easy we all would be filthy rich right about now. You raise some good points that I never considered. Switching means whole funds, and also bonds>equities have a charge. But still, I think my example is about equity to equity, and in a case whereby you only keep one fund within that house (or switch to a vacant fund). Still this is all theory for now. When the going gets tough, I have to try it out myself and see if I get any benefit or not. It might work, it might not. But it'd be a lesson learned. |
Jan 7 2017, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 6 2017, 11:56 PM) Not sure about your view since you already invested in dragon fund (cimb greater china) I think the Dragon fund still has got decent annualised returns. But yes it is a risky fund cause it is concentrated in one specific region. CIMB CII fund also looks good. But of course logically between Dragon and CII people should only pick one.But I neither invest that nor manulife india, so instead I invest in CIMB china india indonesia equity fund, 3 countries in 1 fund |
Jan 7 2017, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 7 2017, 10:03 AM) just did a mass top up. Uh...yeah. TA Global Tech (and seemingly all their funds except the European Equity one) is still at 2.0% SC. Did FSM publish a list of funds at SC 0.5%? Hard to check one by one...Avangelice Portfolio. -Ponzi 2 1k -Eastspring global emerging 1k -Amasia REIT 1k -Rhb AIF 600 myr -Dragon fund 1k Girlfriend portfolio Ponzi 2.0 1k Eastspring Global Emerging 1k wanted to top up TA Global but it's not listed as today's event so I skipped it for now. PS shankar_dass93 I do it dengan hati yang rela. she cannot handle her finances so I help her save |
Jan 7 2017, 12:04 PM
Jan 7 2017, 01:06 PM
Next week Dragon fund will take a beating. I just took a look at their major underlying stocks, all at -2% to -3%.
Jan 7 2017, 03:08 PM
Jan 7 2017, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 7 2017, 03:10 PM) US exposed equity fund for me is purely a MYR/USD forex play. Yes, S&P is now trading at around 20 times PER. This is above average. Meaning the index is expensive. But, USD is expected to strengthen against MYR in the short to mid term it is an opportunity to grab some action. Personally I am capping my US exposure to 15% of my portfolio only. Wait, let me clarify.Xuzen Are you saying that the RHB US Equity Focus Fund is also dependent on the USD MYR exchange rate? So if the underlying fund performance is lower but the USD appreciates even more, you could actually see a net positive return? Likewise if the underlying fund does well but the MYR appreciates instead, then the RHB fund could see a net negative return? Is that it? Sounds bad if you ask me if so. Like this if RM crashes all regional and global funds will see lower returns. But when MYR started falling in 2014-2016 the returns from regional and global funds didn't seem to take a hit or improve substantially when compared to the underlying fund performances...so you need to clarify what you're saying. This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 7 2017, 03:40 PM |
Jan 7 2017, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 7 2017, 03:40 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Yes. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Yes. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « That is why when you buy a foreign asset exposed unit trust fund, an additional risk will be borned by the unit holders i.e., forex risk. Welcome to the world of international finance. Exciting isn't it? Xuzen Btw underlying fund for RHB US Focus Equity fund is the Schroder International Selection US Small and Mid Cap Fund. |
Jan 7 2017, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 7 2017, 03:48 PM) Forex risk is only part of the story. I know that. Which is why i am taking about the underlying mother fund. The mother fund is not exposed to forex risk. It is denominated in USD and invests solely in the USA.There is also the movement in the funds, i.e. teh transaction of buy sell by the fund manager within the fund which consist of different timing of forex rate Unless the fund doesnt involve buy sell for the entire period, chances that forex performance wont be a one to one comparison This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 7 2017, 03:51 PM |
Jan 7 2017, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 7 2017, 03:51 PM) RHB US Focus Equity Fundhttps://www.bloomberg.com/quote/OUUSFOE:MK - 1 year return: 20.12% - 5 year return: 88.25% Schroder International Selection Fund - US Small & Mid-Cap Equity https://www.bloomberg.com/quote/SCHUMAA:LX - 1 year return: 22.39% - 5 year return: 86.17% Look at the 5 year graph for the two funds --- EXACTLY the same! 5 year USD/MYR movement --- 42.1% Jan 7 2012 --- 3.1475 Jan 7 2017 --- 4.4725 How do you explain the above? The two funds are seemingly extremely correlated and the RHB fund only keeps less than 2% cash, >98% is invested directly into the underlying fund. If what you say about Forex is true then we should be seeing some major deviations in the returns of the two funds since the USD appreciated by 42% to the MYR in that 5 year period. |
Jan 8 2017, 12:05 AM
Guys, today I was researching on the funds I have to find out which is the most diversified of them all...and I have to say that the CIMB Asia Pacific Fund is pretty much the most diversified of them all. They have substantial assets in Australia, South Korea, India and South East Asia, rather than dumping most of their assets into Greater China as I see many of the Asia/Asia_Pacific funds doing. And I am comparing to each of their past monthly factsheets, they are aggressively managing their holdings. Each month the top 10 and % are vastly different, unlike some of the other funds I have been looking at.
Does anyone here have any suggestions of other high performing and well managed Asia or Asia Pacific funds? I would like to take a look at their holdings distribution from a month to month basis. |
Jan 8 2017, 12:16 AM
Since we were speaking about Forex Risk some pages back, I want to ask some further questions:
1) If the Ringgit keeps gaining ground on the USD, does that mean that capital inflow into the local markets could/would increase? 2) If the Ringgit keeps gaining ground on the USD, does that mean that we stand to lose out on potential returns from foreign domiciled funds? (PS: Regional/global funds wholly domiciled in Malaysia like the CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund and the Affin Hwang Asia Ex Japan Select Opportunity should not be counted in this) |
Jan 8 2017, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 8 2017, 12:17 AM) if you mean most diversified in terms of the number of countries it invested in?.... That's an excellent example - but I was talking more about Asia/APAC funds in my post above. It's on my to-buy list but sadly doesn't look like I can take advantage of the 0.5% SC promo then this is better 21 Vs 12 |
Jan 8 2017, 12:58 AM
QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 8 2017, 12:46 AM) Personally, I think the problem with EI GEM is that its greater china portion took up too much (40%) given that it was suppose to cover emerging market across the globe. Actually yeah 40% exposure to Greater China is quite a bit too much. I overlooked the Taiwan entry there. Compared to the CIMB Asia Pacific which has 30% exposure to Greater China.Unlike Ponzi 2.0 which stay quite diversified within the asia pacific ex japan spectrum Same with EI Global Leader (50% US) even though it suppose to cover globally (I know US kinda affect everywhere in the world and the recent speculation in US does make it seems an advantage in having large portion in US, but still I think they should diversify more in allocation) Unlike Aladdin fund which cover globally with more reasonable allocation Thats just my opinion though |
Jan 8 2017, 04:19 AM
Has anyone done switching before on FSM? For Equity to Equity intra-fundhouse switching, are they really free (unless those specified, like RHB and Manulife)? Like TA European Equity to TA Global Technology...would that be totally free? Just want to confirm.
This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 8 2017, 04:19 AM |
Jan 8 2017, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 8 2017, 04:35 AM) while waiting for responses, if you currently has TA fund,, you can try test it out by doing intra switching......view the Sales charge shown before you do the final key in password confirmation....(if you did not key in the password.....no transaction is done) Yeah, understood. RM25 of RM1000 is already 2.5%, not a small value. But RM25 of RM10000 is just 0.25%, pretty insignificant. tell us the result after you had tried that.... btw, i did some intra switching of other fund houses before (I did not hv TA fund before, so cannot tell) ... it is free except RHB (RM25), which would be insignificants if the switched value is large. Another 2 questions about switching, again just to be sure. 1) Switching from Equity > Bond > Equity will cost you a SC in the second switch transaction? 2) When switching from RMX Fund A to Fund B (where you already owned RMX in Fund B before), there is now a total of RM2X. Is it true that from here, you cannot switch back out a partial amount? That it must be the full amount only? |
| Change to: | 0.1187sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:26 PM |