19 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Avangelice
post Jan 27 2017, 10:36 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 27 2017, 10:07 AM)
I think my Anita Mui fund is still in red!
you still holding it? lol I switched it to esther bond. hahahaha
Avangelice
post Jan 27 2017, 10:37 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 27 2017, 10:20 AM)

starting to feel that you really are a fsm advisor. you post links as your reply.
Avangelice
post Jan 27 2017, 12:13 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 27 2017, 11:42 AM)
The Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund?
Yeap.

QUOTE(hurtedheart @ Jan 27 2017, 11:49 AM)
I have high allocation of bond funds & mine is RM85.. 😱
bond platform fee per quarter. Myr 85

per annum 85 x 4= myr 340

bomd performance average 6% (worst case) return
= myr 10200

look at the bigger picture not the small things
Avangelice
post Jan 27 2017, 12:24 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 27 2017, 12:20 PM)
If eUT have zero percent promo for bond fund purchase, one would save
340/10540 x 100% = 3.22%!!!
bro. I think you should start making a eUT thread and promote them there. doing it constantly in fsm is kinda annoying after couple of times. it derails the topic. no offense buddy but I'm here to stay in fsm because of their system.

thanks.
Avangelice
post Jan 27 2017, 12:46 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(hurtedheart @ Jan 27 2017, 12:31 PM)
ya, bond to replace FD though I still have FD. my bond:equity ratio is low.
Haha, I just got to know eUT recently, but don't think I want to change platform for the comments given few posts above.
Perhaps I am too conservative and have not decided which area to extend my portfolio. On the other hand, I think I saw some posting here saying expecting a double digit return from unit trust is ambitious, so isn't 6% p.a 'reasonable' though it is less than the EPF return but better than FD?
some people use epf returns as a benchmark but not me because what you are trading for that 6.++% rate is the ability to use that money anytime where as epf has a lock in period upto 60 years old.
Avangelice
post Jan 27 2017, 03:29 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jan 27 2017, 02:41 PM)
Thanks, so we will be informed each time platform fees are charged.
good to know
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 27 2017, 03:08 PM)
hmm... tq, need to check my email then..
you need to key in a password into the PDF in order to open it. change it in your fsm account under transactions.
Avangelice
post Jan 28 2017, 03:00 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 28 2017, 02:50 PM)
That is because the stock markets plunged in January 2016. So by 28 Jan 2016 the low point had been reached. An extremely fortunate time for those who entered the equity markets/funds at the time. Global equities including EM/China/Malaysia etc dropped by about 5-10% in just that one month period.
I can't wait to see your ROI this coming December.
Avangelice
post Jan 29 2017, 09:16 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(opticc @ Jan 29 2017, 09:14 AM)
ohhh you invested 3.8yers alredy. is same rate 3+%like saving in bank fdeposit.
long term also same rate means your portf is cancelling each other, profit cancelled by negative lost?
you have too manu funds, not using shifus advice method allocation?
bro it's irr. you know that right? ROI and irr is different
Avangelice
post Jan 29 2017, 10:00 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(opticc @ Jan 29 2017, 09:39 AM)
irr=roi/year.

3.75=14.45/3.85years wrong????
Don't think that's how you count irr bro.

Avangelice
post Jan 29 2017, 10:18 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 29 2017, 10:13 AM)
Nope. Not that simple. For a rough indication, yes la... but it will over estimate the irr.
can you believe that I have been attempting to do the excel sheets three times in the past two years to get my irr but I always fuck up the calculations.

may need to do it another time
Avangelice
post Jan 29 2017, 11:52 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(opticc @ Jan 29 2017, 11:44 AM)
that is for acca exam not useful to life.

simple better, you invest 5 yrs, roi 25%. simple average =5%pa. like this wrong meh?
QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 29 2017, 11:47 AM)
Your understanding is on average return

You can also expressed in annual compound which equivalent to FD rate with interest reinvested yearly

These are applicable if you only invest your money once

However, if you do multiple investment throughout the tenure, IRR may be more relevant
what he said. I do not have any financial background. ask me all the diseases affecting the spine and joint, the muscle groups when you are walking but ask me about numbers, I will say i am a novice but I do not let myself be ignorant when people teach me stuff.
Avangelice
post Jan 29 2017, 12:19 PM

5,272 posts

No idea why the current new guys don't seem to want to learn and keep being so stubborn when you give them all the info

Read the first page people!
Avangelice
post Jan 29 2017, 12:44 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 29 2017, 12:23 PM)
The generation like that, what to do?
beats me man. when I first started two years ago I read everything from version 1 and made sure I understood all the principles of unit trust investing before attempting to question the regulars here.

I have on occasion been scolded by Xuzen, pinkspider and adele123 and all I did was swallow my pride and took it in as valuable tuition.
Avangelice
post Jan 29 2017, 03:30 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 29 2017, 02:12 PM)
Except he isn't driving, the fund manager is smile.gif this is more like, don't pay the bus fare until you know that the bus is going to take you where you want to go smile.gif
Nah you confusing the situation here. Before getting on one of the many buses you need to know who's driving it, if the engine has been maintained or not, which route will it take. You can not just blindly take a word of a total stranger or worst listen advise of an experienced traveler and furthermore go diew them again because you believe you are right.
Avangelice
post Jan 29 2017, 05:52 PM

5,272 posts

since we are in the mood of sharing, I would like to ask if the seniors (nearing retirement) what are the things you regret in life? (eg started investing sooner? or letting greed get the better of you? of do you wish you could have done something in your life but fear of the unknown stopped you?

is there something you can share with us? I'm 29 years old this year and I'm nearing 30. another 11 more years I hit the age of 40. I'm really hoping I can minimize any life mistakes that people tend to make but I am not sure what.
Avangelice
post Jan 29 2017, 06:28 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 29 2017, 06:17 PM)
What is vca?
dude way to go for spamming four posts as one.

vca = value cost averaging.

different from dca method.

there's a hybrid but you need a lot of money for it
Avangelice
post Jan 31 2017, 12:56 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 30 2017, 11:35 PM)
Today it has been a humbling experience. The first time I put in lump sum into all my funds, I got very lucky with timing. But the second time, I have got beaten. Badly.

The Russell 2500 is down by nearly 2% and I tripled my US Small/Mid Cap exposure last Friday. So yeah...if only I had held out a bit longer. On the flip side had I held out and instead the Russell 2500 gained 2%, then I would have regretted my decision too.

Now just thinking if I should be getting my fingers itchy and switching out of any Global and European funds tomorrow. The futures don't look pretty anywhere, but they look worst for developed markets. I know I will regret it if I switch and instead they improve...likewise if I don't switch and they get worse.
how much was your lost?
Avangelice
post Jan 31 2017, 03:30 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(wayne84 @ Jan 31 2017, 03:24 PM)
Ponzi 1 and Kapchai is bek...teng teng teng teng.
just in time. I did a fund switch from GEM to kapchai before CNY flex.gif

Based on the calculation I have covered the losses/prevented more lost by perfect timing of the switch.

Total Loss upon Switching- 2% back in November
Total Gain upon switching- 3.45% (i think) in February
Avangelice
post Jan 31 2017, 03:43 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(wayne84 @ Jan 31 2017, 03:38 PM)
Joey Yap say msia have lots of opportunity ler..say asean huat ler...i believe kapchai n ponzi 1 make a comming bek with double digit return this yr again... reserve 15% for this segment. i love volatile..and i sometime trade my fund like share...lolx hevea, jtiasa, mbsb, wcehb,rgb,superln, sop gogogogo
dont be so happy. Theres an incoming FED meeting on Tuesday their time (dont think there will be a FED hike from this) but it is estimated we will be looking at two more fed hikes in the coming year. If so we are on for a rocky time.
Avangelice
post Jan 31 2017, 03:52 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 31 2017, 03:44 PM)
If I were you I wouldn't celebrate yet. The phase II of Trump is just at the beginning. We don't know if it is positive or negative impact to Asean.
My two cents. He is scaring CEOs and Tech giants especially with his recent Immigration Ban and so far no news on his tax reform pledge and its making people jittery.

http://www.cnbc.com/2017/01/30/stock-marke...iscal-plan.html

also foreign investors just snapped up millions worth of malaysian stocks just recently. That and our currency has improved slightly

19 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.2010sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:52 AM