Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

tbheng
post Jan 9 2017, 02:22 PM

1,188 posts

Got into AmBank 4.1% today for 3years. Rollover from my last FD and backdated to start from last Saturday, no need to ask for weekend interest. (My last FD matured on last Saturday.)
Took 3 years, too tired to run around. So slow doing FD over the counter.

This post has been edited by tbheng: Jan 9 2017, 02:26 PM
tbheng
post Jan 9 2017, 05:17 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jan 9 2017, 03:02 PM)
Is there a minimum amount?
Din ask for min. But it is not advertised rate. Need to ask from branch. Btw, it is also monthly interest crediting to SA. Great!
tbheng
post Jan 9 2017, 05:51 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2017, 05:43 PM)
Talking about AmBank, this made me really "treasure" the 2/3/5 years FD promo with AmBank at 4.6/4.5/4.55% rates that were still running.  rclxms.gif Last one till Oct 2020 ! thumbup.gif
True.. I still hv one more @ 4.5% ending 2018.
I asked, nothing this year? Branch Manager responded only one: 4% for 9mth, min 500k.
tbheng
post Jan 9 2017, 08:19 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Jan 9 2017, 05:08 PM)
I understand when you say you are "tired".    I too moved it to 3 yrs but into fixed income bond funds.    Really tiring after several years hunting for FD. Haha.
Yeah, I also moved some to bond funds, but still diversify some in FD.
tbheng
post Jan 7 2020, 08:26 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Jan 6 2020, 09:17 PM)
SOME FOLKS ARE NOT READY FOR FD PROMO AND STUCK IN RUT

Some folks do not know about FD promos. Some trust the normal board quotes mentioned by bank and blog websites, bank staff,  financial writere and posters as if they are the best. Some just continue their normal FD or ask for better nego rates as they used to do for many years. These are the kind of mistakes I regetably made before started FD deal hunting seriously to increase fund inflow. I hope my children will be financially educated in practical issues to not do the silly things I did before.

Some folks have the idea that the nego rate is better. Like say 2.9 % become 2.95 %.
Or say eFD promo 3.9 % but missing TIA-i promo 4.05 % p0m3 or 4.1 % p0m6
Like it is said - Ignorance is Bliss. But certainly just great for the bank but not the customer.

Some folks think promos usually at 10k minimum requirement, but then the TIA-i  minimum is just 2k.

Some have excuses like don't know how to use internet banking, don' trust, don't want to learn or too much bother to change up.
There are no lack of excuses for poor people to remain poor. Or people not doing better. It is part of their learning environment/culture, risk, earning, providence, laidback mentality that needs to be changed before we can even talk about financial literacy and provision They could have more but they behave in a way that make them not get more!

There are people going to give talks and running campaign or even one-to-one, but seriously do they really  understand the psychologicall and cultural worldviews of those they are trying to reach. It is not just a matter of greed, kiasu or risk appetite.

I believe if more people will change to look for best FD promos or go beyond PIDM, there probably would be a significant shift away from cheap money at board rates for the bank (affected by OPR), toward more competitive and increasing promo rate which depends on the bank's needs or growth plans.
May I know which bank offer the TIA-i? Still available?
tbheng
post Jan 9 2020, 10:02 AM

1,188 posts

I am going for this 4.25% effective, with PIDM.

0.0562sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:35 AM