Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

mcr342
post Nov 17 2020, 03:50 PM

38 posts

Ambank got promo 2.98% for 9 month, 70FD:30saving acc, otc only.

Quite high as now longer tenure have lower rates cuz bank dk if opr will drop again
mcr342
post Apr 8 2021, 02:52 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(paramdav @ Apr 7 2021, 09:50 PM)
Hi All,
I just did  FD in AM AmBank Via FPX from maybank and it failed :-(
then i read in the above messages that Ambank FPX is having issue
anyone else experience issue with ambank FD done via FPX from Maybank?  - Thanks
I had this problem before, the cs told me Maybank put a “Puan” in front my name in my account (Puan xx) which doesnt match with my name with publicbank with is only xx as per my IC, the transaction will fail because of the mismatch. But transferring from other banks got no problem

So now i’ll avoid use maybank to transfer FPX other bank.
mcr342
post Apr 9 2021, 11:22 AM

38 posts

Ambank updated their promo page on FPX transaction
www.ambank.com.my/efd

mcr342
post Apr 14 2021, 02:29 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Apr 14 2021, 02:22 PM)
But did they require 10% earmark for CASA?

Meaning the effective rate is not 2.5%?
No earmark, if u want to place the fd otc, branch need to see u got at least 10k in casa then they will help you to do. This is their practice for higher fd rates that open for priority customer only, maybe now i think they open for all customer due to this is promotion. U just need to let then see u got 10k there, then after the placement they dont care edy, u pandai pandai knw what to do la

If using efd, no 10k requirement.
mcr342
post Apr 14 2021, 03:30 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Apr 14 2021, 02:48 PM)
I'm confused. AFAIK, Ambank ardy have this policy since at least last year to allocate 10% for CASA for all its FD programs.

I have no Ambank accounts. New.

So for my case how?
Affin and ambank need earmark one is fd bundle with casa or UT.

Go and open a new account la, my bm say ambank got another good offer for 24month fd but i dont have funds edy
mcr342
post Apr 16 2021, 01:57 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Apr 16 2021, 03:07 AM)
BTW, why is everyone talking like Ambank is the best and only FD choice?

Hong Leong is giving a good rate for 6 months, although got 10% earmark. 2.55%

And 3.6% rate if apply for their credit card combo (1.6% FD and 2% into CC). The only condition is to spend RM200+ per month for 6 months. This is like a cash rebate....
I calculated roughly, meaning effective rate 2.32% after earmark in casa?
mcr342
post Apr 27 2021, 10:04 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 22 2021, 10:52 AM)

OTC. Need to give banker's cheque to place this OTC 2.85% FD, Rentas not accepted. Very strange.
If have existing fund in Am Bank, then need to rentas out from Am Bank before 12.00pm, then come back to place this FD with the banker's cheque.

Hi may i ask which branch u go to? The bm there suggest to rentas out and bring back cheque?
mcr342
post May 4 2021, 02:45 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 4 2021, 09:46 AM)
I guess no need to pursue the missing fund with bank ? Saw the notice that it will be returned within 5 working days.
I checked with my rm the funds will now return within 3 working days, its updated on tnc too. I guessed they receive many complaints also haha

FPX is really shitty ,try to use individual account for higher success rate.
mcr342
post May 25 2021, 03:01 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 16 2021, 11:33 AM)
Our offerings just got even sweeter!

Apply Bank Rakyat Term Deposit-i Account now to enjoy profit rate up to *2.78% p.a.
Campaign start 16th May until 31st August 2021. Visit our nearest branch now.
T&C apply

is bank rakyat offer protected by pidm? Didnt see the pidm logo
mcr342
post May 27 2021, 11:23 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 26 2021, 10:58 AM)
^ Those going to BR within this few months, be prepared to wait for a long time for your turn. In my branch, they only opened 2 counters and I spent almost 1 hour to settle my FD stuffs alone. Already faced this twice, and have several more certs to go this coming weeks  bangwall.gif I am able to skip queue, so imagine the line. BR is really backward here. They will need to leap 2 steps to bridge the digital gap.
Omg given this covid situation i rather get lower rates than to queue this long…
mcr342
post May 31 2021, 09:55 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ May 30 2021, 10:39 AM)
Does these banks have promo now: RHB, Maybank, CIMB?

Thanks!
If not mistaken cimb current efd promo 12mth 2.2%, 6 mth 2.15%,
I placed for one week then uplift for other banks’ promo that are more attractive
mcr342
post Jun 2 2021, 01:20 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Dhang @ May 27 2021, 02:54 PM)
Hi, this is my first time trying to use FPX for eFD so there are some questions I would like to ask.

1. Let's say I want to get this at Ambank, I just have to go to their branch, open a savings account and transfer my money from another bank via FPX, right?

2. If I transfer 50k on the first day and 50k on the second day, when would the interest start to count? Would there be a difference in the interest that I gain due to different amounts that I deposit on different days?
icon_question.gif
if you dont have any casa, Can go their website to check if can open via their mobile apps. Now many banks can let new customers to open a saving account via their app..
mcr342
post Jun 3 2021, 03:54 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 3 2021, 02:48 PM)
AM Bank vs. Bank Rakyat

AM Bank - Valid until 30 June 2021
(1) 9 Months FD - 2.5%
(2) 18 Months FD - 2.65% (was 2.7%)

Monthly interest: Yes, if over 50
Pro: Faster and more efficient online banking website
Con: Need to keep minimum balance RM 10000 in saving but no earmark.
PIDM: Yes
Submit check from other banks via OTC placement only, no FPX, no cash placement.

Bank Rakyat - Valid until 31 August 2021
(1) 8 Months FD  - 2.48%
(2) 11 Months FD - 2.58%
(3) 18 Months FD - 2.78%  (Best Rate :thumbsup: )

Monthly interest: Yes
Con: Slow online banking website
PIDM: No, but guarantee from Ministry of Finance
The guarantee from MoF got max limit like pidm?
mcr342
post Jun 3 2021, 06:35 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(faradie @ Jun 3 2021, 06:05 PM)
AmBank FD promo not so attractive $10K in savings is substantial. Example $100k FD actual interest is 2.25%pa only
They only wants to see you’re a supportive customer that have savings with their bank. Its not earmarked so you can withdraw anytime.
mcr342
post Jun 4 2021, 08:57 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(Vickyle @ Jun 3 2021, 07:41 PM)
Don't understand. How is it supportive if I withdraw immediately after placement?
There are ppl out there like me are using ambank as main bank so we have funds inside and is the actual ‘supportive customer’. I think the bank wont encourage this but if u need to use the 10k u pannai pannai la.

Actually i’ll dump money into amwafeeq account every month for the cash prize campaign, many ppl dont know this campaign so the chances are high

mcr342
post Jun 10 2021, 02:53 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Rudd San @ Jun 10 2021, 01:06 PM)
Sifus

I,m new on FD.
Appreciated can share :

1. links that show all FD rate offered by all banks
2. Say i want to used FD of Ambank but .. dont have any Svg or Current .. do i have to open the account first ?
3. The FD submission Can it be done thru online application ?

Thank you all
Theres some website will conclude best fd promo every month you can google.

Ambank i think now can open new account on their phone app, you can check their official website might have some tutorial.
Some promo can do eFd on their app via FPX, but i will prefer to go to branch la
mcr342
post Jun 28 2021, 10:30 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 27 2021, 11:17 PM)
pure FD

TnC is as usual fresh fund

i think is specific to branch

in the end i didn't take the offer coz change of mind, so i don't really follow up with the offer anymore
Wow should be big amount u place if they offer this. I went to few banks to ask but only offered 12 2.5 with the amount i place.
mcr342
post Sep 7 2021, 07:01 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 12 2021, 05:19 PM)
9-month FD/TD-i & CASA/-i Combined Campaign [ Ambank | T&Cs ]
Campaign Period : 1 August 2021 - 31 October 2021

Times are uncertain but our returns are rock solid.

Make a fresh funds placement in Fixed Deposit/Term Deposit-i (FD/TD-i) and Current or Savings Account/Current or Savings Account-i (CASA/CASA-i) for 9 months and enjoy returns of up to 2.88% p.a.

Terms and conditions:
Minimum Combined amount of RM10,000 and up to maximum of RM2,000,000 (No capping for AmWafeeq Savings Accountholders).
Placement ratio: 80% in FD/TD-i and 20% in CASA/CASA-i.
Both FD/TD-i and CASA/CASA-i accounts must be earmarked for nine (9) months.
Subject to immediate revision should there be any change to the Overnight Policy Rate (OPR).
Upon maturity, FD/TD-i will be renewed at the prevailing board rate for the same tenure.
Partial withdrawal of the FD/TD-i or CASA/CASA-i before the completion of Tenure is not allowed and the Eligible Customer(s) shall not be allowed to enjoy any interest/profit rate* whatsoever.
Applicable for placements made over the counter only at any AmBank/AmBank Islamic branch.

*Conventional terminologies are applicable to AmBank products, while Islamic terminologies are applicable to AmBank Islamic products.

I just noticed i got extra interest credited into my account last week after I place this (I’m Spb customer and holding amwafeeq) Apparently there is another Casa campaign for spb customer going on right now.

The calculation is a bit complex they will calculate your ‘MAB incremental’. But if you are a priority customer and place with this fd promo you might have higher effective rates.

Cuz the money that locked in your saving account (at least 20k) will have extra 1.5% interest on that month.
mcr342
post Jul 12 2022, 09:17 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(alvin890 @ Jul 11 2022, 09:45 PM)
can sum1 advice and clarify further, if im using fpx online transfer from other banks in order to get the promotion fd rate, can i use from another bank account (individual by not belong to me) to transfer? or izzit compulsary my own account even frm different banks?
It will be rejected, i’ve tried this from my family’s account but failed. Must have same name from both bank.

0.0884sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:14 AM