5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

frozz@holic
post Feb 12 2017, 04:15 PM

438 posts

going through this thread interest rate floating around 4% (with certain conditions)

i am thinking to place some spare cash in FD with these conditions
- at least min 4% @ 12 months (no other conditions don't want to get snaked)
- <50k cash requirement (doesn't matter if FF or not)

So far including promotions only got 3 banks offer @4% p.a, 12months
- OCBC
- Ambank
- Bangkok Bank

Is there any other bank having promotion similar than above or higher interest rate ?
frozz@holic
post Feb 20 2017, 08:01 PM

438 posts

isn't HLB promotion (not taking the bonus into account) only 4% p.a. ?
that is only 2.666% since 8 months ... quite low IMHO.

can someone confirm Ambank 4% is 12 mths or less than ?
frozz@holic
post Feb 22 2017, 09:47 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Feb 21 2017, 05:28 PM)
Because it's 8 months @4% interest the effective rate is 2.666???  If malaysian standard of mathematics is at this level, we are doomed to be 3rd world country for a long long time  bangwall.gif
QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Feb 21 2017, 05:58 PM)
I also got puzzled. I guess the HSBC 4.88 for three months effective rate is 1.22...
QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 22 2017, 07:51 AM)
Hahaha it's not the maths that's faulty, it's the logic that's fubar  smile.gif

Reminds me of the bimbo who was asked how many slices a pizza should be cut into - 8 or 12. She said she'd  like 8 because  she said 12 is too much to eat...Can't  finish 12... LOL
Well its very simple ... all banks advertise their interest rate by " P.A. " which means Per Annum, it's a simple english word that means A Year or every Year
which can further mean those 3 mths / 8 mths / 10 mths types of FD at X amount interest when you think logically if you put less than a year do you think banks (aka licensed loan sharks) will give you that advertised X amount interest ? it's marketing tactics !! Even newbie like me knows about it, simple maths people. But i agree it would be much easier if all banks advertise effective rate rather than P.A. the world would be a better place.

with that out of the way, after some very tired "musical chair" playing, decided to make my FD to OCBC Bank 12mths@4%, anyone on the same page as me ? any advice or things to note for this OCBC FD? i humbly thank you in advance.
frozz@holic
post Feb 22 2017, 11:42 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(Cookie101 @ Feb 22 2017, 10:20 AM)
Calculation in such P.A. Basis is a standardisation.

U can't expect a bank to publish some 3-5 years promo as smth like 20% ~ now that would be misleading!

Like if a bank offering 5 years promo at 4% - u don't really want that be called 20% return. Cause that is 5 years! Instead of the one year effective rate u are looking at. Hence you look at the overall picture of it being 4% per year. You can just swift the funds the next promo that is offering 4% after current one ends to make it to a year - end day u still get 4%

Anyway- I just lol at the initial statement in the previous pages.  No offence.

And yes. I feel like locking it for longer period so that I don't have to bother or move it around.

is this directed to me or those that i quoted ? as i know how banks works already

Anyhow this is why i specifically mentioned "effective rate" ... which dumb bank would publish something like 20% interest ?? that interest is like playing those money game ponzi scheme already.

you can simply just mentioned 4% every year for next 5 years, DONE ~
but the world is not perfect and there are some bank who would use confusing marketing tactics to mislead customers. *ahem*Maybank*ahem*
frozz@holic
post Feb 23 2017, 12:59 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Feb 23 2017, 12:03 AM)
Okuribito, if any pizza bimbo here calculates like that, please ask them to refer to you and michaelchang as their sifus for coming up with this misleading special interpretation of Effective Rate.

If you had not been reading properly, the problem is michaelchang's misinterpretation and those who did not read or understand later. The record is as follows:-

Frozz - Feb 20 8:01 PM

isn't HLB promotion (not taking the bonus into account) only 4% p.a. ?
that is only 2.666% since 8 months ... quite low IMHO.

Deal Hunter - Feb 20 10:17 PM

Yes, HLB interest is actually 2.666% of the principal as you figured 8 /12 x 4 %. It is up to the FD investor whether any luck to make another 4 months worth at 4% or end up with a higher or lower rate.

I agreed with Frozz that ACTUAL INTEREST is 2.666% of the PRINCIPAL which Frozz says is quite low for the risk.

michaelchang - Feb 21 5:28 PM

Because it's 8 months @4% interest the effective rate is 2.666??? If malaysian standard of mathematics is at this level, we are doomed to be 3rd world country for a long long time

Misinterprete and uses irrelevant jargon of EFFECTIVE RATE which was not in discussion at all till he puts this in.

Deal Hunter - Feb 21 11:25 PM

Nobody mentioned effective rate except you. Frozz and I both know that we will only get 2.666% return on the money put in.

okuribito - Feb 22 9:37 PM

Pizza bimbo reads this thread & learns that "effective interest" is calculated as "2.666% of the principal as you figured 8 /12 x 4 %" if the deal is 4% for 8mths

which was not what I wrote, but your own wrong interpration
wow so much drama here ... how did my "that is only 2.666% is a little low IMHO" turn into bimbos and pizzas ?
why am i also getting hints that i reported someone's post too ? i welcome all opinions and live in peace, do not have the time to report people
i only mentioned the E.R. for HLB is on the low side in my opinion, what say others ? suddenly bimbos and pizza comes in ... nice jokes

@deal hunter ... seems like you are the only one who gets what i am saying

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Feb 22 2017, 04:44 PM)
The effective rate for hong leong is 4.0p.a regardless what is the duration of the FD.
I hope you can get the concept right.
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif even after i kindly break it down for you ... well if you say so pal cheers whatever floats your boat

Interest Rate = Interest rate / Marketed Rate
Effective Rate = Actual interest Rate you finally get which will be used to multiple with your deposited amount (some banks have started using this term like Maybank 3.91% rate promo)

frozz@holic
post Feb 23 2017, 11:14 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Feb 23 2017, 09:46 AM)
Your definition of effective rate sounds correct but your understanding was not correct.
Just to be on the same page, what do you think is the effective rate per annum for the following case

1 month FD promotion, 4% per annum.
The effective rate per annum is ____ %
it's simple math pal, all banks follow the standard defination of P.A. or Per Annum
but when less than a year they will go by ratio of months you choose for your lock in period.

so taking your example

" 1 month FD promotion, 4% per annum. "

would translate to

Interest Rate = 4.0% (as marketed / mentioned)
Effective Rate = 0.3333% (the ACTUAL interest rate you would be getting that will be used to multiple with your deposited amount as it's only 1 month)

frozz@holic
post Feb 23 2017, 04:58 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Feb 23 2017, 12:25 PM)
just last question before we agree that we are on different pages (and that is perfectly fine)

another promotion from another bank

24 month FD promotion, 4% per annum.
The effective rate per annum is ____ %
I don't know why is it so hard for you to get effective rate but anyway
for your example above

Interest rate = 4%
Effective rate = 4%

frozz@holic
post Feb 23 2017, 06:23 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Feb 23 2017, 05:06 PM)
I cant help but to ask another question.

Why for 1 month, you calculate 4.0* 1months/12months to get effective rate
For 24 months, you did not calculate 4.0* 24months/12months to get the effective rate?

TIME is money in finance. You have to be consistent when involving time in calculation.
you really don't get it do you pal ?

for 24 months@4.0% the calculation is as below

4.0* 12/12 months = 4.0% and its the same for year 2

so effective rate is 4.0% for year 1 and 4.0% for year 2

for month 1 to month 12 = 4.0% * 12/12 = 4.0%
for month 13 to month 24 = 4.0% * 12/12 = 4.0%

take an example 15 months @ 4.0% P.A. (for the sake of telling you that you aren't seeing the picture yet)

interest rate = 4.0%
effective rate = 4.0% for year 1 (mth 1 - mth 12) and 1.0% for year 2 (mth 13 - mth 15)

and this is how banks calculate the for you

for month 1 to month 12 = 4.0% * 12/12 = 4.0%
for month 13 to month 15 = 4.0% * 3/12 = 1.0%

do you get it now pal ? this called Per Annum interest rate try to ask your local bank and they calculate like this too

can we all now proceed back to the main path of this thread and post about latest interest rate offered by banks ?

frozz@holic
post Apr 25 2018, 09:44 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(a.lifehacks @ Apr 24 2018, 02:19 PM)
Consider to open a OCBC Booster Saving Account, RM30,000 balance will earn you 3.25%pa interest rate, plus your get to Enjoy no lock-in period on your funds with MEPS fee waiver for the first 2 withdrawals every month.

https://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ac...ster/index.html
am wondering how this works now, care to explain pal ?

currently have an acc with RHB saving step up interest but up to 2.75% only with stupid conditions so planning to "jump ship"
frozz@holic
post May 2 2018, 05:22 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ May 2 2018, 05:10 PM)
does ambank have the option to open basic S/C withour paying annual fees?
yes you can open a very basic account and pay no fees at all but that also means no card, no online, no nothing and just a receipt only.
I did just that almost a year ago and planning to renew the 4.4% if no better rates out there.

This post has been edited by frozz@holic: May 2 2018, 05:23 PM
frozz@holic
post May 2 2018, 11:20 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(LNYC @ May 2 2018, 05:29 PM)
hihi..no internet also? but that means any withdrawal has to be thru counter??
QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ May 2 2018, 05:36 PM)
no online, then they give book?
i cannot emphasize enough the NO ..... basic no fee SA means NO nothing !! passbook, fees, online, atm, whatever you can name nothing !!
and all activities is mandatory and strictly OTC.

the only thing you get is receipt and a frown from the CS.

P.S. i also heard that ambanks now slowly not issuing cert too .... some report only got FD receipt so this too.

This post has been edited by frozz@holic: May 2 2018, 11:23 PM
frozz@holic
post May 3 2018, 11:48 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ May 3 2018, 08:50 AM)
My ambank saving acc is basic saving account with no fee.. but it comes with passbook and also debit card n online banking too.. but I opened this acc since college time.. so, maybe they changed their product now by provide nothing to ur new acc, but I just wonder how they verify the acc holder if nothing was given..
identification card and thumb print.

btw your case is similiar to mine over at hong leong i get everything too (open acc N years ago when form 5) now you get nothing at HLB just like ambank
especially passbook citing going green direction blah blah.
frozz@holic
post May 17 2018, 01:53 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ May 17 2018, 01:53 AM)
You know that Ambank allows/empowers branches to offer 4.35 or 4.4 for 12 months? It is not standard but branch dependent.
are they allowed / empowered to offer more than 4.4% ? like say 4.45 or 4.5 or even 4.6 @ 12 mths ? hmm.gif
of course understood the amount deposited will commensurate given rate.
frozz@holic
post May 24 2018, 12:12 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 24 2018, 12:32 AM)
can explain to me a little on these "day" interest thing, if I have an FD maturing on Jul 14 saturday and i can only uplift on Monday the 16th does that means the bank will not automatically pay for the "day" interest for the 14th & 15th ? need to call and force them ?

This post has been edited by frozz@holic: May 24 2018, 12:12 PM
frozz@holic
post Jun 7 2018, 11:48 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 7 2018, 10:52 AM)
After some arm twisting, CIMB RM said can get 4.4% for 12 mth with monthly interest. For FD renewal. So no need to move to AmBank.  rclxms.gif
preferred or normal ?
big amount ? 100 - 200k ?
frozz@holic
post Jul 2 2018, 04:31 PM

438 posts

Anyone know which bank offering more than 4.4% best is 12 mths ?
have an FD maturing real soon and so far those i have visited

Ambank = 4.4
maybank = utter rubbish rates
CIMB = 4.3
Bank M = 4.5 (but too long period)
hong leong = rep told me wait for 7/7 ( i guess rate won't be as good knowing HLB)
RHB = 4.38 (15 mths)

frozz@holic
post Jul 3 2018, 09:36 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ Jul 2 2018, 06:47 PM)
UOB 4.35%p.a. 12mth, monthly interest to CASA.
thanks for the info, though lower but monthly interest makes up for it. the monthly interest is for everyone or seniors only ?

QUOTE(chicaman @ Jul 2 2018, 07:08 PM)
Am Bank 4.4? Really? I cant seem to find it.

My muamalat 4.5% matured, looking to transfer else where
yes not for all Ambank branch (although all branches i go to gives the same 4.4% no question asked) as reported by members here.
I tried to ask for more like 4.5%++ at all branches to no avail ... maybe my substantial amount is not " SUBstantial " enough sad.gif
instead they keep on pushing for me to go for FD+ASNB combo plan lol. I am non - priority member btw.
frozz@holic
post Jul 4 2018, 09:21 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(Wong Kit yew @ Jul 4 2018, 07:34 AM)
https://www.hlb.com.my/ms/personal-banking/...BWCDD18020718B0
HLB Digital Day E-FD on 7July 2018 is 4.37 for 3 months.
and 7 mths @ 4.2% (2.449%) only way lower than others as expected.

This post has been edited by frozz@holic: Jul 4 2018, 09:22 AM
frozz@holic
post Jul 13 2018, 09:48 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 12 2018, 04:51 PM)
AM Bank manager tried to hard sell this. Am Bank special rate FD at 9.88% for 3 months +  Amanah Saham Gemilang by PNB.
Anybody heard before?

9.88% is a sweetener. But for ASG you PNB will charge you 5% on your first deposit with projected returns of 5-7%.
They just want you to invest with them to achieve their quota i guess, yes i heard of this too at all banks i go and ask for FD/UT rates.
asnb is mostly long term deposit (maybe 3yrs min.) cause of the 5% they take from you.
One of the options is i am also thinking to spilt 50/50 for this then 3 mths later put 50% FD into asnb.

frozz@holic
post Jul 17 2018, 03:28 PM

438 posts

did Ambank 4.4% @ 12mths yesterday OTC

RM told me rates now float again and depends on that branch manager's approval
unless of course you go to not so "hot" branch where quota still available.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0470sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:56 PM