Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

blank_slate
post Nov 4 2017, 06:12 PM

81 posts

Just want to seek clarification from the gurus here:

Is e-FD (especially HLB) can directly updated to the existing FD rather than deposit the interest into saving account? My interest is directly credit to my HLB account instead.
blank_slate
post Nov 6 2017, 08:45 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Nov 4 2017, 08:43 PM)
Not sure what your question is.

For any FD, it is impossible to add monthly interest into a currently running FD to make it grow in a compound style. Fixed simply means no adding at all either from interest or any fixed salary deposit or any kind of variable amount deposit.
You should just think of it as follows. You lend some money to the bank. It takes the money and invest /loan it at a iixed rate to a borrower to cover the interest to pay to you from his profit in the deal.
The bank cannot accept more money into this settled agreed deal as the borrower already not interested in more money at the same terms. Thus any additional money can only placed for another new FD principal for another deal for handling another bank borrower at some other rates or period.

This is not the same way as scam / Ponzi scheme where the final business objective is to collect as much money as possible in whatever attractive way from the sucker.

After period for the FD is over, most novices make the HUGE MISTAKE of not removing/redeeming but let it autorenew or autorenew with interest added on, which will then be at whatever board rate which will usually be lower than promo rate. Over time and a number of FDs, you will usually lose/forego a substantial amount of money by not redeeming quicky and placing at some other promo., and the bank will gain tremendously from such lack of financial understanding or ignorance of the arithmetic on the part of the depositor.

Compulsory or voluntary choices are available in promo eFD or normal lower eFD but this depends on the terms and conditions of the  offer and it can be different for different offers. Just have to look carefully. Even if the interest and principal are auto add-on and auto renew on rollover at maturity , you can still redeem on maturity date, or later (which is losing).
Thanks for the detailed explanation. It helped to clarifies a lot thumbup.gif .

Just wonder does the manual FD (placement over the counter) has compound interest?
blank_slate
post Feb 1 2018, 06:30 PM

81 posts

Just placed my fd at HLB but thinking whether should I withdraw my earlier placement with HLB (which one will mature on March and one is matured few months later with 4.0 interest rate). Any thoughts on this?
blank_slate
post Feb 2 2018, 10:41 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 1 2018, 07:01 PM)
think about the interest you WON'T get if you withdraw before maturity. Then you will know what to do LOL
ah, forgot to add on to my earlier question. How about if my FD credited to savings account monthly? They will deduct accordingly?
blank_slate
post Feb 2 2018, 03:53 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 2 2018, 02:48 PM)
yes, they'll deduct from you principal, I kena one recently
Ok, thanks for the advice. Guess I have to wait until it matured thumbup.gif
blank_slate
post Jul 4 2018, 04:44 PM

81 posts

Maybank FD 4.0% for 5 months (min 5k placement) whistling.gif
*over the counter

This post has been edited by blank_slate: Jul 4 2018, 04:45 PM
blank_slate
post Jul 5 2018, 09:05 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 4 2018, 09:55 PM)
I think this FD promo is no longer available..?
I cannot find it on May Bank 2u website?
Normally bank website will show the rate for e-FD. This 4.0% rate is offered by Maybank branch but not sure whether all or selected branch only.
blank_slate
post Oct 3 2018, 03:34 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(kelsem @ Oct 3 2018, 09:30 AM)
Yesterday I inquired about the FD rate at Ambank. If I'm not mistaken it is also 4.4 %. Don't know the tenure of the deposit. She said must open a saving account.
I don't see this rate on their website. So will put into CIMB Bank. Already have a saving accounts at CIMB. This money originally from RHB Bank.
Thanks for the information. Still will go to Ambank and ask a 2nd time.
Do you mind to share which branch you visited? I went to one branch at PJ but they told me 4.0% sad.gif
blank_slate
post Oct 11 2018, 02:55 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(lyzxs @ Oct 10 2018, 07:40 PM)
For CIMB Preferred customer only

0.0597sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:19 AM