Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

N9484640
post Jan 28 2022, 04:40 PM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 26 2022, 11:03 AM)
For amount higher than RM10000, need to use their apps. Haven't try but this is what the CS said. I did RM9999 last time too  sweat.gif
That app AffinSecure right, just for authorizing amount above 10k? Is that the one?
N9484640
post Jan 28 2022, 06:17 PM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 28 2022, 05:51 PM)
yes
ok thanks
N9484640
post Feb 4 2022, 03:50 PM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

Went to AFFIN for their CNY offer. Want to put 12 months for 2.58% but what the heck - max is 250k only 🤦🏻‍♂️
Best rate they can give is 2.5% anything above 250k

This post has been edited by N9484640: Feb 4 2022, 03:51 PM
N9484640
post Feb 15 2022, 11:14 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(hychoo @ Feb 10 2022, 11:31 AM)
have few matured e-FD from Affin bank and found short of 1 cent of interest (some may thought 1 cent is nothing, but is principle )

the below formula used by bank according the bank staff:

((Amount * Rate%) / 365) * No of Placement Days)

if RM 10000 at 2.45% for 12 months, then:

((10000.00 * 2.45%) / 365) * 365
= (245 / 365) * 365
= 0.6712328767 * 265 <- the value 0.6712328767 have been truncated on physical calculator, mobile calculator some truncated some not
= 249.9999999955 ~ 249.99 <- after truncate to 2 decimal

The argument is if place thru OTC, u will get exactly 245.00 according to bank staff.
Doesnt computerized is better than manual?

Btw, have write a complaint letter to BNM to clarify the issue
LOL I thought it was a mistake. I noticed 1 sen short too. Mine is OTC
N9484640
post Jun 8 2022, 11:09 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

Is it true that most banks now requires that FD interest be deposited into savings account instead of adding on to the principle amount? Affin wont let me plough back the interest when renew time

Sorry if this is something old and already discussed earlier. Being out of touch
N9484640
post Jun 8 2022, 11:59 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 8 2022, 11:57 AM)
No, depends on the bank or promotion's T&C. Your Affin is OTC or eFD?
OTC.
eFD can plough back no problem
N9484640
post Nov 7 2022, 11:28 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

affin has new rates but i cant login to my account. seems like having some problems over the weekend. their facebook page filled with similar complaints

anyone facing this as well?

N9484640
post Nov 7 2022, 11:53 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(jwongsy90 @ Nov 7 2022, 11:49 AM)
Yes, me too. now can log in ady.

This post has been edited by N9484640: Nov 7 2022, 01:41 PM
N9484640
post Jan 9 2023, 08:46 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

Does your bank allows early withdrawal and still pay you prorated interest? If yes which bank.
N9484640
post Jan 25 2023, 12:45 PM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(babysotong @ Jan 25 2023, 11:00 AM)
i wonder what are the chances that this will be extended.....
N9484640
post Jan 25 2023, 01:54 PM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jan 25 2023, 01:43 PM)
For me it's a "c###" promotion considering that you have to be an invika customer and min deposit is 50k.

If they dun give competitive rates, I will probably close my invika account after my fd expires.
their eFDs is 4.15% for 12m and also ending Feb 3rd. Wonder if this will be extended or even reduce since no OPR increase
Looks like Invikta members only get a tiny bit more. Btw do they charge any membership fees?

This post has been edited by N9484640: Jan 25 2023, 01:56 PM
N9484640
post Jan 31 2023, 09:38 PM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Jan 31 2023, 07:30 PM)
I dont think this app ties in with your existing affin accounts.
Its more like opening a new virtual banking account like MAE

N9484640
post Feb 8 2023, 07:37 PM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Feb 8 2023, 06:20 PM)
Only Affin and Ambank can offer above their promotion rate. Affin best is 4.32% for 12 and 18 months.
Affin must be Invikta account only get this rate right? Thanks
N9484640
post Feb 26 2023, 10:46 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Feb 23 2023, 07:36 PM)
anyone else get better than this? any 4.5%?
I got 4.3% with Invikta couple of weeks back.
Btw is there any special rates for eFD with Invikta?

N9484640
post Feb 26 2023, 02:29 PM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(winterbear @ Feb 26 2023, 02:25 PM)
How do u get 4.3% invikta?
i told them ambank giving 4.3 at that time and ask if they can give me the same rate
N9484640
post Feb 26 2023, 09:44 PM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(oldkiasu @ Feb 26 2023, 09:26 PM)
Are you getting more from Affin Invikta at 4.3 % when compared to Ambank at 4.3 % for 1 year during your placement in February? Both are OTC. Ambank is using 365 divisor days in 2023 and 366 divisor for days in 2024. How is Affin calculating for the 2024 days?
Other than the interest, Ambank can autouplift into the savings account on maturity without need to go to the bank. Does the Affin Invikta allow monthly payment of interest?
- affin requires only 1k in savings acct to open but ambank needs 10k so yes in that sense I am getting more
- no idea how many days they calculate. all i know is the maturity date is the same as the day i place
- i forgot now how i wanted it upon maturity - most of the time i always ask it to be renew automatically and interest plow back into the same FD. But recently, even though I requested this, one of my previous FD was automatically lifted which didnt happen before
- not sure about monthly interest as I am not interested in monthly interest but I dont think so they give monthly interest

btw this is my first time had to open this invikta account to get this rate so I am totally unfamiliar with it. So far Rm10 had been deducted for dunno what fee for this account. It better not be a monthly thing....

This post has been edited by N9484640: Feb 26 2023, 09:46 PM
N9484640
post Apr 1 2023, 04:51 PM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(New2LYN @ Apr 1 2023, 10:06 AM)
RHB premier 3m 4.15%; 6m 4.2%

RHB 3m 4.05%; 6m 4.1%

MBSB combo 3m 4.1%; 6m 4.2%

Cimb 12m 4.2%

Ambank 12m 4.3% (someone said start on 3 April, but to confirm)
Ambank needs to be priority account?

N9484640
post Oct 1 2023, 09:21 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

Affin eFD went down to 3.8 (or was it 3.85) from 4.05? I check like a couple of days ago and it was 4.05

Btw anyone knows whats the rate for HLB OTC 12m using existing funds? fresh funds I know is 3.8
N9484640
post Dec 4 2023, 08:33 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

I tried to buy eFD from HLB but unable to proceed. Ask CS and they said because mine is a Joint Acct and eFD can only be in a single name. Kinda silly why they cant just use the principle account holder's name.

thanks all, got the answer

This post has been edited by N9484640: Dec 4 2023, 11:20 AM
N9484640
post Dec 4 2023, 11:19 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Dec 4 2023, 09:46 AM)
Transfer FPX from another bank, source is Single account? Or you want to make Joint Account eFD?
source is the HLB joint account. eFD i dont care joint or single name.

0.7543sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:31 PM