Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

MGM
post Nov 8 2022, 04:04 AM

18,433 posts

Havent been to fd thread since 7 years ago when i transferred my last fd to epf. Currently have about 60k funds in high interest SA for CC payment. Most funds in ASMx n EPF but lately ASMx payout is really pathetic.
MGM
post Nov 15 2022, 08:29 PM

18,433 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 15 2022, 07:24 PM)
i remember B rakyat 4.05% 6 month pays interest monthly. you check
i prefer money in my hand rather than keep i banks unless bank paying interest

No need 10M so much la, eg my Citibank FD only 1 Million,monthly interest is RM4000, takkan i tak mahu tell them keep till maturity only pay me.

Keeping track of monthly interest coming in can be a headache like my many BR FDss staggering , and allpaid monthly.
i keep manual recording once a while, but after checking  few times i confident they  dont cheat me.

so long as money come in enjoy dont care from Fd kah, shares kah, rentals kah, bonds kah etc.
yes i agree banks would be happier if let them keep. it can be in RM millions if all let them.
R u still active in investment that r high-risk high-returns?
MGM
post Nov 15 2022, 10:44 PM

18,433 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 15 2022, 10:08 PM)
u mean shares , UTs as in 100% equity?... still playing not active.
AMPrec metal good lo, 2 months back bought RM0.40 and below  now sudah untung >15% !
but  can earn that much can lose even more. dont rely on them
better the slow and steady types
Over those years investing in shares n UTs, is the returns better up to now like > 8% average/year as compare to ASMx & EPF?
I was active in KLSE in 1990s but totally switch to FD, ASMx & EPF after 2001 (switch all FD to ASMx & EPF after 2008) and find the returns better and least effort.

This post has been edited by MGM: Nov 15 2022, 10:45 PM
MGM
post Dec 9 2022, 11:15 AM

18,433 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 7 2022, 02:36 PM)
Nope, never have any Islamic TD before.
Could it be that u r already a user of PB islamic product like cc?
MGM
post Dec 26 2022, 04:48 PM

18,433 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Dec 26 2022, 11:15 AM)
In rising interest rate environment, it's advisable to go on the shorter end of the FD, ie 1 month or 3 month. Therefore you will benefit from rising interest rate further down the road.

Inflation rate in Malaysia is still too high at 4% in November. Fed rate is already 4.5%. Market is expecting rate in US to peak around 5% in 2024.

Malaysia latest OPR is 2.75%.

It's a foregone conclusion that there will be further rate hike in Malaysia in 2024. BNM need to tame inflation and shrink the gap with US Fed rate.
U actually meant 2023?
MGM
post Jan 6 2023, 12:26 PM

18,433 posts

QUOTE(TyroneS @ Jan 6 2023, 11:49 AM)
during nov dec highest rate up to 13% for some bank,
normal bank around 9.8%
but this month back to normal 8.x~9%
*mine auto renew at 7%  sweat.gif *
Gain from forex too. thumbsup.gif
MGM
post Jan 16 2023, 08:30 AM

18,433 posts

Which banks allow one to deposit high-interest FD to become priority member and can apply credit card without application form?
MGM
post Jan 26 2023, 11:15 AM

18,433 posts

Govt seems to be friendly to rakyat n biz with loan.
MGM
post Jan 31 2023, 06:49 PM

18,433 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 31 2023, 05:26 PM)
Enjoy eFixed Deposit and eTerm Deposit-i with attractive promo rate at 4.10% for 12 months on A1addin app.
The eFixed Deposit and eTerm Deposit-i are protected by PIDM up to RM250,000 for each depositor.
AFFIN BANK and AFFIN ISLAMIC BANK are members of PIDM.
Terms and conditions apply.
For more info, visit www.a1addin.com

A1addin app is Affin online banking app?
MGM
post Feb 4 2023, 07:00 AM

18,433 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Feb 4 2023, 02:02 AM)
Seriously, now those who did not take 4.8 when they can are really fools.

Hai. After putting so much in 4.5 . The next highest is 4.3 alliance bank for me. Unless you can recommend something similar where I dun have to put in 1 million dollars.

I think I will have to consider short term like this. I really hope we can get 4.5 soon.

Anyway. Do you think I should put in versa cash at the moment. I really dun feel like putting it less then say 4.3
So u put a lot into 4.8% fd?
MGM
post Sep 8 2024, 11:27 AM

18,433 posts

I am curious, why FD n not ASM? My last FD was ~20 years ago, after that all in ASMx.

0.0681sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:01 AM