Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

LMC80
post May 31 2020, 12:20 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(exoticars @ May 31 2020, 12:35 AM)
Yup this is true, just put this recently at UOB PJ Jalan Tengah..but 10% need put in CASA for 3 months.

Only for new UOB customer

I think this promo ending soon or by end June
[QUOTE]

The interest is monthly transfer or wait until Maturity date?
LMC80
post Jun 29 2020, 05:23 PM

38 posts

Hi everyone,

how do think for the coming month Bank Negara meeting?

will OPR further down?

Thanks. huh.gif
LMC80
post Jun 29 2020, 11:26 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(faradie @ Jun 29 2020, 09:29 PM)
True, during hard times keeping liquid assets and controlling expenditure are correct strategies. If govt reduces interest rates further the immediate result is further weakening of ringgit but unlikely to increase spending in my opinion. Spending only increases when confidence and trust is established and these our govt is hopeless at doing.
Hopefully coming month FD rate will remain without further reduce. Now for normal ppl buying power are weak, If FD rate further down, how to save money for down payment for buying Property or car? Best solution is waive out the sst. This could help to solve cost of living.
LMC80
post Jun 30 2020, 12:58 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 30 2020, 01:13 AM)
Trying to save more with the hope of more interest earned due to higher interest rate.... hmm.gif
if you have 100K at a 2% higher you get 2k extra....
by that time also 2% higher interest rate to be charge for your loan to buy property or car.

your posted: Best solution is waive out the sst as this could help solve cost of living?
try this "better"...
https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=...&sclient=psy-ab
I mean save money for make *down payment* for property or car.

by the way, thanks for sharing the link.

LMC80
post Sep 30 2020, 09:25 PM

38 posts

CIMB new rate 2.45%? For how long tenue?
RHB 2.45%, the interest is monthly transfer?

QUOTE(joeyine @ Sep 28 2020, 10:49 PM)
Cimb - 2.45% with min 1mil fresh fund
Rhb - 2.45% with min 10k fresh fund

Both rate cannot nego further.
[QUOTE]
LMC80
post May 24 2022, 01:54 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(steadypong @ May 24 2022, 01:21 PM)
Bangkok Bank Malaysia got a very attractive FD promotion now.
3months tenure 2.80% p.a. pure FD. Definitely great if you think OPR will raise again very soon.
Try to contact them if you are interested to see if it is still available as this promotion is very limited, close once funds fully collected.
Never try for Bangkok bank, and the location is far to my area. what is the min fund required?
LMC80
post May 24 2022, 06:16 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ May 23 2022, 07:59 PM)
Read the fine print.. effective rate is not 1.88%
I have same thought. I have HSBC CC, the effective rate for 1 Yr to 3 Yr is 3.88%.
LMC80
post May 24 2022, 06:20 PM

38 posts

I went to Maybank, placing 2 months tenue @ 2.35% for fresh fund. Hoping the OPR rate increase again in next BNM meeting.
LMC80
post May 30 2022, 12:16 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ May 28 2022, 11:28 AM)
This straight forward MBB FD promo need to open Islamic acc.

is there extra annual fee for Islamic acc for ATM card....etc, if already have conventional savings acc.
I done my FD transaction at Maybank OTC las week. My account is under conventional saving account, the officer guide me the step via login to maybank2u website, cannot recall click which button, which can convert my existing conventional saving account straight to Islamic saving account. Then, upon maturity, my FD interest will be credited into my saving account. I no need to open a new saving account for Islamic.

LMC80
post May 30 2022, 12:24 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(kevinkit99 @ May 30 2022, 11:22 AM)
HI Sifu, Newbie on FD here.
Sorry for the question, hope that someone could help.
Normally how do you perform the On the counter FD placement, i mean from Bank A (the fund currently resides in) to bank B ( to place OTC FD)?
what i meant is the method of transfering the fund...
depend on the amount you want to transfer. Normally bank allow max 50K for daily transaction.
if amount less than 50K, I will do online transfer. which there is no transaction charge for instant transfer, which I can receive the fund in Bank B on the spot via instant.

if amount is more than 50K, and, I have the cheque book, I will issue cheque, which cost RM0.50 cents per cheque.

if no cheque book, then will request bank issue banker cheque, which cost RM 2.65 per cheque,
LMC80
post Jan 11 2023, 03:52 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(kechung @ Jan 11 2023, 03:04 PM)
Oh yes, monthly do make a difference.
I think Bank Rakyat is no cover by PIDM?
LMC80
post Feb 10 2023, 09:52 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Feb 10 2023, 08:39 PM)
My original CASA just several hundred short of 10k, but they refuse to waive this 10k requirement too. So i just walked out intending to go place in CIMB or Affin until the branch manager offered me the bundle deal. I don't know what's their deal with 10k considering it is not locked in and you can literally withdraw after you place the FD.
I am Ambank Signature banking. No choice, the CASA must have 10K only entitle to get the 4.3% interest per annum.
LMC80
post Jan 29 2024, 12:10 PM

38 posts

Sorry to chip in, may I know which bank currently offer 4% and above interest? I went to Alliance Bank last Saturday, staff told me last Saturday is the last day to enjoy 4.08%. Thank you.
LMC80
post Jan 30 2024, 10:41 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Jan 30 2024, 01:26 AM)
Finally HLB got something effective 30th Jan..
What is the new FD promotion rate?
LMC80
post Jan 30 2024, 11:53 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(fabu8238 @ Jan 30 2024, 11:31 AM)
Person who posted false info must be high on something
I found this.

https://www.hlb.com.my/en/personal-banking/...-promo-efdcny24

LMC80
post Jan 30 2024, 09:49 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 29 2024, 01:59 PM)
UOB
12m
3.75% conventional
3.85% islamic
UOB islamic seems not under PIDM, correct me if I am wrong.
LMC80
post Jan 30 2024, 09:53 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jan 29 2024, 01:54 PM)
ICBC over-the-counter
中国工商银行
If I am not wrong, 4.1% p.a. for 12 months, 4% p.a. for 6 months
May I know the interest is credited by monthly? Or upon maturity?
LMC80
post Jan 31 2024, 10:57 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 30 2024, 10:32 PM)
It is under PIDM
thank you.
LMC80
post Jan 31 2024, 10:58 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(Vickyle @ Jan 31 2024, 10:31 AM)
Anyone has problem with FD account for ambank 4.5% 18m promo (end of 2022)? I received an interest for 12m but they are not 4.5%. The details on the info page is still 4.5% 18m though. The accrued profits are not correct either.
mine is monthly transfer. interest credited is correct.
LMC80
post Feb 14 2024, 04:23 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(BWassup @ Feb 13 2024, 04:49 PM)
BIMB still doesn't require us to open savings account, and they accept bankers cheque for same day value right? I did that for last year's 12 month FD promo. They said can withdraw Principal + Profit on maturity date without going through a savings account.
I did the same last year, without open saving account. Not sure whether the latest promotion apply same condition?

0.0731sec    1.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:23 PM