Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

IceLeo
post Jun 28 2022, 11:53 AM

287 posts

if the interest increase by 0.5%, all the company with loan from bank will increase their material price.. price hike up will bomb the market..

rental sure the first one to increase..

IceLeo
post Aug 2 2022, 07:37 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 1 2022, 04:35 PM)
I would do 70-20-10
instead of 4x25.. do 10-20-30-40 better..
IceLeo
post Aug 25 2022, 02:31 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 25 2022, 10:57 AM)
RM100000 - RM199000
IceLeo
post Sep 5 2022, 11:06 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Sep 5 2022, 09:14 AM)
Don't get their clause:

6. Eligible Clients who satisfy the following requirements will enjoy the FD / TD-i promotional
rate of 4% p.a. for 6-months as per Table A (“Promotional Rate”).
i) Must be a New-To-Bank Priority Banking client during the Campaign Period
ii) Eligible clients must maintain a minimum AUM of RM250,000 throughout the Campaign
Period
iii) The Promotional Rate Offer is capped at RM200,000 in the FD / TD-i per client

Min AUM must be 250K but promo rate capped at 200K, so where does the balance of rm50K go to? and what's the interest rate for the balance of 50K?
remaining 50k in current/saving account lo.. or investment..
IceLeo
post Sep 7 2022, 07:41 AM

287 posts

4.25% still consider very good FD rate..
IceLeo
post Sep 14 2022, 11:06 AM

287 posts

SGD 2.4% maybe better than MYR 4.2% after 1 year..
depreciation of MYR is too fast..
IceLeo
post Nov 2 2022, 07:37 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(joice11 @ Nov 1 2022, 10:34 PM)
need advise from fd sifu, i place fd on 7/9 at public bank for 18 month @3.3%, now notice the fd rate keep increase espicially from bk islam @4.4% .So it is worth if i widthdrow from public bk, which i will loss almost 2 month interest and put in bk islam for the same tenure or should i put for short term (3 month@4% ) at muamalat since the rate is anticipate to increase further?

u actually loosing 1.04% of principal amount if you continue with PBB FD.. depend on yourself lo.. if the amount is small like 10k.. you only loosing 100 if u remain PBB..
IceLeo
post May 11 2023, 10:02 AM

287 posts

Reminder: Bank Islam not under PIDM protected.
IceLeo
post Jun 21 2023, 01:20 PM

287 posts

For RHB FD, if mature date is 22 June, when can i take out the money?
IceLeo
post Oct 24 2023, 01:37 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(bm_kia @ Oct 24 2023, 01:16 PM)
Just did mine at Ambank Gelugor. Was told 7.45% only apply for 500k and above placement, not sure scam me or not.
Only managed to get 7.25% bundle with monthly interest into TrueSaver
Just need to go bank to do that? need to sign any document to lock your 50% in Truesaver?
no need fresh fund, right?

This post has been edited by IceLeo: Oct 24 2023, 01:52 PM
IceLeo
post Nov 2 2023, 02:51 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 2 2023, 02:46 PM)
This is my calculation for  the Ambank FD bundle with True savers SA for 300K. Bonus for montly deposit and card usage only.

For <200k, eff rate is 4.875%
For 250k, eff rate is 4.700%
For 300k, eff rate is 4.583%
Basically, the first 200k, u get 4.875%,
after that, u only get 4% for the amount after 200k.. better to put in eFD for the money after the 200k..

meaning if you have 300k, better put 200k in bundle FD and 100k in eFD...

IceLeo
post Nov 2 2023, 04:08 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(BWassup @ Nov 2 2023, 03:17 PM)
It's unpublished. but the branch staff have the rates laugh.gif

You will still get 7.25% for any amount of FD. But because the FD has to be bundled with Truesavers account, if your total deposit is 300k, the last 100k will earn you 7.25%x 50k + 0.75% x 50k = 4.00% effective rate on the last 100k.
thats' what i am saying also.. the last 100k can put in any other FD that get more than 4%.. no need to put in this bundle FD..

IceLeo
post Jan 23 2024, 08:14 AM

287 posts

Alliance 4.1% for new to personal (100k AUM) or privilege banking (300k AUM)
IceLeo
post Mar 27 2024, 09:22 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Mar 26 2024, 11:55 PM)
Anyone successful request Public bank red carpet Elte customer to request OTC FD for monthly interest and higher FD amount?

What are the requirements for each request?

My mum tried but being rejected.
I am more curious on why a Public bank Red Carpet Elite customer need to ask a question in this forum instead of asking RM?
the RM that assign to you dont entertain you even you are premier customer?
IceLeo
post Mar 27 2024, 02:57 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Mar 27 2024, 01:43 PM)
not wrong. diff RM might have diff understandings. so it's good to have some idea first so that u can nego or blast the RM.
but this is Elite customer (>1m in bank)
IceLeo
post Mar 27 2024, 03:13 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(ycktech @ Mar 27 2024, 03:03 PM)
SHuld be  > 300K can already
>300k is gold.. >1m is Elite..
IceLeo
post Mar 27 2024, 03:49 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(ycktech @ Mar 27 2024, 03:16 PM)
oh, ok then.
is it elite = private banking ar?
Or still not classified as private.
should be private ba.. PBB no more higher tier..

IceLeo
post Dec 29 2024, 11:20 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 29 2024, 10:24 AM)
Not sure but don't think so.
Banks do not always update on website. Note start Jan 7.

From Affin contact in WhatsApp
Affin contact give you info about Alliance bank offer???
IceLeo
post Jan 7 2025, 01:00 PM

287 posts

i heard that Alliance 4.05% pa 12 month is started today but only for over the counter.. anyone free to go bank to confirm?
IceLeo
post Mar 14 2025, 07:28 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Mar 14 2025, 07:19 AM)
A few precautions:
1. Your Bank phone don't go surf dodgy sites or use Facebook (my sister's phone just got hacked because she download some stuff from FB...supposely it's a menu, but actually a malware. They don't ask you to download app anymore. JUST DON'T USE FB TIKTOK or whatever crap socmed).
2. Do not use same id and password for bank accounts, all use different id and passwords.
3. Don't download any apps more than what's required. Don't play shit mobile games on it. Don't watch porn on it.
4. Install good paid internet security like BitDefender on your phone.
5. Have a dedicated dumb Nokia phone for your OTP SMS from banks. So even malware hack your main phone, they can't get the SMS as it's sent elsewhere.
6. Your main phone make sure has security software update and support. When the software support EOL, then change new phone with at least 4 years of security updates or more(which is what i did recently).

Of course it's not 100% foolproof, nothing is, but surely it makes everything just more secured and more difficult for bad actor.

I don't really bother about limits nowadays.

My Nokia 110.... rclxms.gif
Not really. I have just changed phone.

Maybank, RHB, Islamic Bank all need ATM to activate new device. HLB is crazy, although don't need ATM to activate, send SMS multiple times, then send email with PDF, then use code in PDF, then send SMS again.

CIMB is very unsecured, can straight login to new phone to remove your registered device. WTF.
i am more curious because nowadays most bank do not send out OTP anymore.. how you use the nokia phone for bank transaction..

0.0589sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:03 PM