Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

BboyDora
post May 13 2018, 11:06 PM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 11 2018, 01:38 PM)
Quite true. Especially foreign banks. Public bank usually has one of the lowest rates for FD as well.  laugh.gif
But public bank service is best for me. maybe the branch at my area la.

P\s : I do not work with PB biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
BboyDora
post Jul 24 2019, 10:40 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(MakcikLum @ Jul 22 2019, 03:31 PM)
Nowaday very susah & tedious to open a new bank account lah ...

I heard it is because got money laundry case happened,
those "kepala" ask their "kaki" to open many many bank accounts with different branches then they use those accounts to do money laundry

BNM new policy to limit CASH withdrawl for 1 day to max RM25K, if over, must submit additional forms

All these is to control the money laundry activities lah ...  blush.gif
My case even worse handle by newbies staff in OCBC bank. When i want to open, they just say our server say need HQ approval for you to open new account.so you cannot open now. nonsense...I small salary with less than RM 5k per month stll need approval meh? they can check my income tax ma.
BboyDora
post Aug 14 2019, 12:18 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(ckinsg @ Aug 13 2019, 02:22 PM)
Cimb now 3.9 for 6 months. Just deposit today.
where to see? just walk in to the branch?

BboyDora
post Oct 4 2019, 01:31 PM

2,367 posts

Public bank promo
Taman Connaught branch (not sure is it nationwide or a particular branch)
3.5 % 3 month
3.7 % 6 month
Fresh fund RM 10k.

Didn't take pictures as the counter showed me the printed A4 paper only
BboyDora
post Mar 17 2020, 12:40 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Mar 9 2020, 09:06 AM)
never try efd from different fund.
do the system PBE provide step by step how to ? thx

This post has been edited by BboyDora: Mar 17 2020, 12:48 AM
BboyDora
post Mar 17 2020, 02:31 PM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Mar 17 2020, 08:07 AM)
thank you.

i mean the system can detect that the money from fpx?
eg : My current PBB bank balance RM 1000. I trf RM 20,000 from Maybank.
then i Open the eFD for the amount RM 20000?
cz its wrote "select from the account" (my PBB)

Is my steps correct?

BboyDora
post Mar 20 2020, 10:28 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Mar 17 2020, 02:57 PM)
no, this is placement directly from PBB Account.

in PBe eFD, you will choose the "From Other Banks Account" to transfer the fund from. After this, you will be redirected to the "other bank"'s login, authorize/approve the transaction, then it will redirect back to PBe.

Arigato!!!
thanks for the help biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
BboyDora
post May 12 2020, 11:25 AM

2,367 posts

simple noob questions,

if Mlaaysia FD rate are so low, 2. xx% , is it better i put in SG bank?
1% FD in SG > 2.xx% FD in MY since SG Dollar 3x of malaysia ringgit.

Dont blast me, im really bad in maths
BboyDora
post May 21 2020, 10:19 AM

2,367 posts

can apply FD form my baby? 1 year +
thanks smile.gif
BboyDora
post May 21 2020, 02:43 PM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 21 2020, 11:22 AM)
Yes you can. for eg HLB https://www.hlb.com.my/en/personal-banking/...ed-deposit.html
However I suggest u do SSPN-I instead.

IINM historical data shows SSPN-I interest will be higher than FD rate.
You may check the dedicated SSPN thread about how to open SSPN-I/SSPN-I Plus account via online.
ok thank you
BboyDora
post May 29 2020, 10:51 PM

2,367 posts

Hi wanna ask

I have SG FD in PB bank. its a foreign currency FD .(Malaysia)
if i wanted to tranfer all the money to SG CIMB bank (Singapore). How?

Is it i need to convert all the SG Dollar in Public bank back to ringgit (i will lose to the conversion rate),
then transfer to CIMB bank and then convert again to SG Dollar (lose to the conversion rate again cry.gif cry.gif )?

I dunno if there are any other ways

This post has been edited by BboyDora: May 29 2020, 10:52 PM
BboyDora
post Jun 30 2020, 03:50 PM

2,367 posts

https://www.cimbclicks.com.my/efd-may20.htm...ASAAEgJwZPD_BwE

this eFD CIMB no need fresh fund right?
BboyDora
post Jul 9 2020, 11:11 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 7 2020, 06:35 PM)
needed people to spend spend spend & not keep in banks  bruce.gif

later become like those developed countries..

1% or lower interest rate  innocent.gif
like Singapore FD
BboyDora
post Sep 17 2020, 12:56 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(David_Yang @ Sep 15 2020, 06:06 PM)
If you hold 100k cash when the FD is 4.00% you lose RM 4k a year.
If you hold 100k cash when the FD is 2.00% you lose RM 2k a year.

So cash is even more the least attractive option" when the interest is not so low as it is now.
Why lose 4k a year?
you mean "hold cash " in hand? (such as put under pillow and milo tin) biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
BboyDora
post May 26 2022, 10:27 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 24 2022, 08:43 AM)
Maybank: Islamic Fixed Deposit Mid – Year Campaign [ Maybank | T&Cs ]
Campaign period: 12 May 2022 – 5 June 2022

Gain financial stability when you do Islamic Fixed Deposit-i placement and be rewarded this festive season!

can do online FD? Sorry that im not familiar with Maybank FD.

PB e-FD also 2.3% promo but is 6 month.
BboyDora
post May 26 2022, 10:30 AM

2,367 posts

and also wanna ask about the FD for the above maybank Islamic FD placement. what is the different between the conventional? Same as mentioned in this website?
https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/banking/the...d-deposits.html

means let say the Islamic FD mention 2.35% but it might different from the rates as depends on the bank performance?
Sorry for Noob question because old man like me only understand conventional FD notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
BboyDora
post May 27 2022, 09:27 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ May 26 2022, 11:00 AM)
If it's 2.35% as stated, you will get the 2.35%. The front of how islamic FD and conventional FD works is the same. Usually it's just belakang the bank has to make it "halal".

I'm not well versed in islamic banking but i do have a little bit of working knowledge of islamic finance. The idea is they cant pay you interest because of riba so they model it in a way that is shariah-compliant. The most common term you may hear and also pointed out in the ringgitplus article is profit sharing (aka  mudarabah). This is permitted under shariah.

If you want to know more i suggest relying on bank website instead of places like ringgitplus. I have seen badly written articles that i never really trust them but i admit i'm bias. Hahaha.
i see isee. thank you thank you.
BboyDora
post May 27 2022, 09:28 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 26 2022, 10:42 AM)
I have placed Islamic FD in several banks and treat them the same as conventional. Received the interest based on the stated rate.
https://www.imoney.my/fixed-deposit-islamic
Ohh...the rates is as same only the nma they use is diffrent
BboyDora
post Jul 15 2022, 10:33 AM

2,367 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Jul 15 2022, 10:25 AM)
What's your tried and tested formula to grow? Please share your knowledge. Thanks.
i think he wanted to to say property.

"Like got too much money/income, don't know what to do to make more from the money. " maybe he refer to property that appreciation is faster.
too much money maybe let say got Rm 2mil, put in property, appreciation 6-8% / or even more , rather than 3% in FD.

I think so la. dont blast me. my knowledge is shallow than baby pool biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

BboyDora
post Nov 7 2022, 12:08 PM

2,367 posts

just a noob questions as i not sure how it works

increase 25 basis points is it 0.25 % where out house loan will increase by 0.25%?

and according to the PBB new FD rate , let say 1 month , they just change 2.1% to 2.2% .. Is it suppose to be 2.35%?

https://www.pbebank.com/Personal-Banking/Ra...ed-Deposit.aspx

or just PBB really stingy hmm.gif hmm.gif

0.0609sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:53 PM