Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Human Nature
post Aug 17 2021, 10:55 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 17 2021, 09:05 AM)
search "ambank 2.78%" OR #spreadsheet you will find.
Are you referring to the one tied with CASA?
Human Nature
post Aug 17 2021, 11:58 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 17 2021, 11:25 AM)
thanks for pointing out.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=101976363

Ambank CASA 2.88% effective rate shd be lower than BR true 2.78%?
Yup, I didnt do the calculation but at a glance, it will be lower.
Human Nature
post Aug 18 2021, 11:43 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 18 2021, 09:57 AM)
https://www.bankrakyat.com.my/d/campaigns/c...0Conditions.pdf
do u know if they accept NEW customers too for this 2.78% 18m FD?
They have the same clause during the promo last year too. I doubt they bother la.
Human Nature
post Aug 18 2021, 12:56 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 18 2021, 11:49 AM)
u mean they accept new customers too for this promo?

hope someone with BR contact can share.

However i'm already hesitant in view of the already pathetic rate plus the funny clauses.
Interesting, someone posted this last year.
QUOTE(batsashimi @ Jun 16 2020, 12:09 PM)
meh i just called, luckily didn't go straight to the branch, so to get this promo you'll have to be their existing customer for purchasing their "financing product or something", i mean seriously this thread needs to be more transparent cos recent promos just feel like bait
Human Nature
post Aug 30 2021, 08:28 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(mrhseinpingq @ Aug 30 2021, 07:41 PM)
I am having "True Savers Account" with AM Bank.

I have the following question:
1. Am I consider "Individual Customer" as customer type, and hence, 2.75%
2. So I go to branch and open RM 8,000 as FD/TD-i at 2.75% 9 months, and keep RM 2,000 in my "True Saver Account"?
Yes to both questions
Human Nature
post Aug 31 2021, 02:00 PM

26,524 posts

Anyone know if BR is extending the promo rate or has a new one? Have one maturing on 1st sept
Human Nature
post Aug 31 2021, 03:11 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(steadypong @ Aug 31 2021, 03:08 PM)
Same for me 1 mature on 1st Sept. Just sharing to see if you interested in this.
thumbsup.gif

No account with Bank Muamalat. If no promo rate for BR, back up plan gonna be Affin 12m 2.5%, provided it is also not ended yet.

Just checked, my BR branch is close tomorrow and just my luck, that is my only cert with instruction credit everything to SA upon mature. So yay! biggrin.gif
Now need to find a new home.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Aug 31 2021, 04:38 PM
Human Nature
post Sep 1 2021, 09:15 AM

26,524 posts

My BR cert renewal instruction is Transfer to Account, but at online portal is shown as auto-renewed doh.gif Cant do anything now as branch is closed.
Human Nature
post Sep 1 2021, 09:43 AM

26,524 posts

On another note, Affin 12m 2.5% promo rate is still shown at the online portal. Didn't proceed to confirm that still can make placement.
Human Nature
post Sep 1 2021, 12:09 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(qse6236 @ Sep 1 2021, 12:04 PM)
Just got the BR manager's reply, TD ice cream promo no extension 😑
Did you ask if there is a new campaign or back to base rate?
Human Nature
post Sep 1 2021, 12:42 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(qse6236 @ Sep 1 2021, 12:34 PM)
Yap. Back to base rate 😑
That is disappointing. Just when they just kick-started their 67 years anniversary campaign today
Human Nature
post Sep 1 2021, 03:30 PM

26,524 posts

OCBC Sept promo

6m @ 1.85% Existing Funds
6m @ 2.10% Fresh Fund

Min placement of RM1,000

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 1 2021, 03:49 PM
Human Nature
post Sep 1 2021, 05:52 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Sep 1 2021, 05:07 PM)
Interesting. I always wanted Bank Rakyat to credit principal to my SA on maturity, but the bank staff always say cannot. So far for me, only the interest can be instructed to credit to SA each month periodically or at maturity. Would be nice if BR  can change. smile.gif

The Bank Muamalat promo is a eFD? That would be some progress into eFD from OTC only last time. If got no internet with Bank Muamalat, maybe have to go and set up things first time or no need? I already have a Bank Muamalat  SA with internet from the last best promo at BM. Luckily kept it alive and active to handle this sort of occasions. Now just have to scrape together some money and try if there is no better rate. Any one have been able to place online yet for this BM promo? Any pointers on the experience?
Still cannot credit to SA even though it is stated as such at online portal. Instead, it got renewed as board rate. So same old.

Cant comment on BM as no experience with the bank.
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2021, 10:54 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Sep 2 2021, 10:23 AM)
This called promo? WTF.

HLB can get 2.35% 6m, And Public 2.2% for 3mth.
Then go to other banks. Simple, no need to curse
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2021, 11:04 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Sep 2 2021, 10:57 AM)
I notice that BR, BM, AB maybe others are consistently having promo on eFD higher than PBB and HLBB.

I only have MBB, RHB, PBB and HLBB. Which one worth to open an online saving account to get better eFD rate?

TIA.
You can forego MBB as they seldom come out with promo. The other 3 banks have eFD promo here and then, but I think currently HLBB has a better offer. Check it out.
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2021, 11:21 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Sep 2 2021, 11:09 AM)
Yup, HLBB has 12, 18, 24 months for 2.40%.

Other banks seem like having higher rate and always.

Just want to know if able to open an online saving which one will be the next choice.
Ah okay, I got your meaning. BR tend to have higher rate when they are having promo; like now they have no promo though. Ambank will have good promo here and then, but sometimes they like to bundle it with CASA which lower down the rate. I have no experience with BM or MBSB, but both are worth checking out.

The above are my summary, hard to pinpoint just 1 bank as it depends on promo rate and other factors like PIDM or not. Note that BR online banking is practically just to transfer money in and out, they dont do eFD.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 2 2021, 11:22 AM
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2021, 02:13 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Sep 2 2021, 01:51 PM)
the most consistent is affin for the past one year or so. 😁
I agree on this. In fact, I moved my BR to Affin today, efd
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2021, 02:39 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Sep 2 2021, 02:37 PM)
I just chat with Affin bank CS.
Tips, you can open BSA with no fee and no debit card. Allows you to place eFD too.
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2021, 03:13 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Sep 2 2021, 03:11 PM)
R u moving the fund via IBFT?

I try to move fund from other bank to Affin Bank, keep showing unsuccessful, wonder is it affin bank duitnow koyak, try from Ocbc and Scb also failed
Duitnow instant transfer from BR and OCBC SA to Affin SA. Didn't face any problem. Around noon.
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2021, 03:29 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Sep 2 2021, 03:28 PM)
just try again and manage to transfer now...

But, I've another issue when placing the FD, it shown error that Transaction not allowed for this branch.

It seem that only islamic saving acc can enjoy the islamic FD promo... My saving acc is conventional...  doh.gif
Maybe they set it such way? I did conventional FD, conventional SA

65 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0651sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:07 PM